This communication is in response to application No. 18/682,180; Footrest Assembly for a Straddle Seat Vehicle, Straddle-Seat Vehicle and outer Part for Footrest Assembly; filed on 02/08/2024, with an Amendment / Request for Reconsideration submitted on 3/18/2026. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-16, 19-20, 23 and 25-27 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-16, 19-20, 23 and 25-27 have been rejected as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued that it would not have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the primary reference, Chen, under the teachings of the secondary reference Parvey.
Primary reference Chen discloses all the features of independent claim 1 except for the use of a fastener (bolt) to secure the two pieces together. Chen discloses a footpeg constructed of two pieces with one piece mounted to the frame and a second piece connected to the first piece and extending along the length of the first piece. These two pieces being connectable in at least two positions with a change in overall length. Chen does not disclose a through fastener (bolt) or the required holes in the first and second parts for such a fastening. However, bolted fastenings are well understood and the arrangement of multiple holes allowing for more than a single, lengthwise configuration of an assembled device are within the ability of a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. As an example, reference Parvey describes a similarly adjustable footpeg, constructed of two pieces with the second piece extending along the length of the first piece in such a way that the two pieces can be combined in more than a single, lengthwise configuration. Parvey utilizes a bolt and corresponding holes in the two pieces to allow the repositioning of the second piece in relation to the first piece in order to affect a lengthwise change of the combined structure. Parvey differs only in that the direction of adjustment (extension) is not in a lateral direction of the vehicle. As Parvey is adjustable in at least five degrees of freedom, an adjustment in the lateral direction of the vehicle is not outside the ability of a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Applicant has argued that Chen teaches away from adding a fastener as suggested by Parvey.
While an example can be suggested of a simpler modification to Chen, this does not prevent a different modification from being obvious, given a suitable reference which suggests such a modification. Chen, in paragraph 14, discloses advantages of its invention as; a simple structure, convenient operations, easy improvement and low improvement cost. While these are described as beneficial effects by Chen, they do not reach the point of teaching away from a different design which can utilize features of Chen while improving upon any deficiencies through the use of teachings from a suitable reference.
MPEP 2145(X)(D) describes three considerations with regards to a reference teaching away from a particular combination. The first consideration notes that the nature of the teaching is highly relevant. A suggestion that a proposed combination of references may simply be inferior or that an alternative to a combination may exist, does not constitute a teaching-away reference. The second consideration suggests that a combination of references where one of the references expressly excludes a feature of the other reference, would constitute a teaching-away situation. The third consideration suggest that a combination which goes against accepted wisdom would also constitute a teaching-away reference.
With regards to the primary reference Chen, while a modification under the teaching of Parvey may not be an improvement of Chen as regards the stated goals of Chen, no teaching away from an adjustable connection utilizing a bolted fastening is present. Likewise, reference Parvey does not teach away from a modification in which the bolted adjustment may be arranged along a lateral direction of a vehicle rather than the longitudinal direction.
As no amendment to the claims has been made as part of the Amendment / Request for Reconsideration submitted on 3/18/2026, the rejection presented below is unchanged from the most recent rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-10, 12, 23, and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 106240697 B) in view of Parvey (US 20150217826 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses;
A footrest assembly for a straddle-seat vehicle having a frame, the footrest assembly comprising: (Chen, beginning in paragraph 4, describes a footrest assembly for a motorcycle)
a first part (main rod 1; Fig. 1, 2) connectable to the frame; and
a second part (rubber body 2; Fig. 2, paragraph 22) being selectively connectable to the first part at at least two positions along a length of the first part, the second part having a footrest portion extending generally parallel to the length of the first part; (Fig. 2 and paragraph 25 demonstrate the second part as movable between multiple position along the length of the first part and as having a rubber upper surface for use as a footrest along the length of the part.)
a combined length of the first and second parts changing in response to the second part being selectively moved from a first position of the at least two positions to a second position of the at least two positions; (Paragraph 25 describes the operation of the second part as it can be adjusted inward and outwards over the first part in order to increase or decrease the length of the footrest.)
Chen does not disclose the first part defines a first and second aperture, the second aperture being disposed further from the frame than the first aperture. Or the second part defining a third aperture. Or a fastener which is received in the third aperture and in the first or second aperture. Or that the second part being connected to the first part at the first position with the fastener being received in the first and third apertures, or the second part being connected to the first part at the second position with the fastener being received in the second and third apertures. However, Parvey teaches;
the first part (first arm portion 52; Fig. 2, paragraph 14, Parvey) at least defines a first aperture and a second aperture (holes 74);
the second aperture (holes 74) being disposed relative to the first aperture to be disposed further from the frame than the first aperture (holes 74); (Parvey, Fig. 2 illustrates two holes in the first part (52) with the first hole closer to the mounting point of the part than the second hole.)
the second part (second arm portion 54) defines a third aperture (holes 76);
a fastener received in the third aperture (holes 76) and in the first aperture or the second aperture (holes 74);
the second part being connected to the first part at the first position (retracted) with the fastener being received in the first and third apertures; the second part being connected to the first part at the second position (extended) with the fastener being received in the second and third apertures. (Parvey teaches two fasteners which pass through two holes in the first part and interact with a series of holes in the second part allowing extension of the second part. In a first, retracted position one of the fasteners would pass through a first hole in the first part and a third hole in the connected part. Likewise, in a second, extended position one of the fasteners would pass through a second hole in the first part and through the third hole in the connected part.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Chen to include footrest assembly further comprising a first part defining a first and second aperture, a second part defining a third aperture and a fastener which is received in a combination of the apertures as taught by Parvey, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to adjustable footrest assemblies for staddle-seat vehicles. As disclosed by Parvey, it is well known for an adjustable footrest assembly to comprise a first part defining a first and second aperture, a second part defining a third aperture and a fastener which is received in a combination of the apertures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include a footrest assembly comprising a first part defining a first and second aperture, a second part defining a third aperture and a fastener which is received in a combination of the apertures as taught by Parvey, as such a modification would provide the ability to securely affix the extendable part to the fixed portion in order to prevent an accidental release of the footrest resulting from incidental contact with an external surface.
Regarding Claim 2, Chen discloses;
a first distance extends between a first connecting portion of the first part (main rod 1; Fig. 2) adjacent to the frame and the footrest portion when the second part (rubber body 2) is at the first position (fully retracted); a second distance extends between the first connecting portion of the first part adjacent to the frame and the footrest portion when the second part is at the second position (fully extended); and the second distance is greater than the first distance. (Fig. 2 and paragraph 25 describe the second part as being movable over the first part such that the overall length of the unit can move between a short length when the outer part is fully retracted over the first part and a longer length when the second part is fully extended from the first part.)
Regarding Claim 3, Chen discloses;
the combined length of the first (main rod 1; Fig. 2) and second parts (rubber body 2) when the second part is at the first position (fully retracted) is a first combined length; the combined length of the first and second parts when the second part is at the second position (fully extended) is a second combined length; and the second combined length is greater than the first combined length. (Fig. 2 and paragraph 25 describe a first combined length where the second part is fully over the first part which is shorter than a second position where the second part is fully extended from the first part.)
Regarding Claim 5, Chen discloses the limitation of claim 1 above, and additionally discloses
wherein: the at least two positions include three positions, (A third position can be attained at any location between the two extreme positions of furthest extended and fully retracted.)
Chen does not disclose a fourth aperture in the second part or that the third position is defined by a fastener being received in a third and fourth aperture. However, Parvey teaches;
the second part (second arm portion 54) defines a fourth aperture (holes 76), and
the first part (first arm portion 52) is connected to the second part at the third position the fastener (connectors 78) being received in the third and fourth apertures.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Chen to include a fourth aperture in the second part such that a third position is defined by a fastener being received in a third and fourth aperture as taught by Parvey, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to adjustable footrest assemblies for staddle-seat vehicles. As disclosed by Parvey, it is well known for a second part to include a fourth aperture such that a third position is defined by a fastener being received in a third and fourth aperture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include a fourth aperture in the second part such that a third position is defined by a fastener being received in a third and fourth aperture as taught by Parvey, as such a modification would allow for more options with regards to footrest position.
Parvey teaches a series of five holes along the length of the second part 54, which would allow a total of four extension positions for adjusting the overall combined length of the two parts. However, Parvey places the multiple holes in the second (footrest) part rather than the first (base) part. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to place the multiple holes (either four holes to allow for a three position adjustment or five holes to allow for a four position adjustment) in the first part instead of the second part, since such a modification would have involved a mere rearrangement of parts. A rearrangement of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Further, such a modification would be expected to yield predictable results, namely the total length of the footrest would have three overall lengths, set by the use of two fasteners. Additionally, the subject specification does not provide any critically or specific reasons for the three holes in the first part rather than the second part.
Regarding Claim 6, Chen discloses;
the first part (main rod 1) has at least a first engaging member and a second engaging member (tooth grooves 3; Fig. 2, paragraph 25);
the second part (rubber body 2) has a third engaging member (locking plate 5) engageable to at least one of the first and second engaging members; (Fig. 2 and paragraph 25 describe the locking plate as engaging with the tooth grooves of the first part.)
when the second part is connected to the first part at the first position, the third engaging member engages the first engaging member; and when the second part is connected to the first part at the second position, the third engaging member engages the second engaging member. (The toothed grooves of the first part (main rod 1) allow the second part to be positioned at multiple positions. The first position corresponds to the shortest, most retracted position, while the second position corresponds to the furthest extended position, therefore the first and second engaging members would correspond to those locations (furthest outwards and furthest inwards).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen discloses;
the first part (main rod 1; Fig. 1) includes a beam-like portion extending along the length of the first part, and the second part (rubber body 2) defines a receiving aperture configured to at least partially receive the beam-like portion. (cross-sectional view Fig. 3 of Chen demonstrates that the first part is circular which extends lengthwise into the body of the second part. Paragraph 22 describes the “...end of the front footrest main rod 1 extends into the adapter hole in the corresponding end shock-absorbing rubber body.”)
Regarding Claim 9, Chen discloses;
wherein the second part has a second connecting portion configured to engage with the beam-like portion. (Fig. 2 and cross-sectional view Fig. 3 demonstrate that the second part contains an engagement cavity for accepting the first part within the U-shaped reinforcing plate 4. Paragraph 22)
Regarding Claim 10, Chen discloses;
wherein the footrest portion has traction enhancing members extending from a top surface of the second part. (The second part (rubber body 2) functions as a damping feature for the operator foot and is grooved as shown in Fig. 2 which would enhance the traction of the feature.)
Regarding Claim 12, Chen discloses;
wherein the first part is an inner part (main rod 1), and the second part (rubber body 2) is an outer part. (Fig. 2 demonstrates that the second part extends over the outside to the first part.)
Regarding Claim 23, Chen discloses;
An outer part (rubber body 2; Fig. 2) for a footrest assembly, the outer part being selectively connectable to an inner part (main rod 1) connected to a frame of a vehicle, the outer part comprising:
a footrest portion defined on a top surface of the outer part; (Fig. 2 demonstrates the upper surface of the outer part is grooved for interfacing with an operator’s foot.)
a connecting portion defined on an inner side of the outer part (rubber body 2), the connecting portion being selectively connectable to the inner part (main rod 1) at at least two positions along a length of the inner part, and the outer part defining a receiving aperture configured to receive at least a portion of the inner part. (Fig. 2, and cross-sectional view Fig. 3, demonstrate an aperture within the outer part which receives the inner part and allows adjustment between an innermost (retracted) position and an outmost (extended direction).)
Chen does not disclose that the connection portion defines an aperture which is configured to receive an fastener. However, Parvey teaches;
the connecting portion defining an aperture (holes 76) configured to receive a fastener (connectors 78; Fig. 2, paragraph 14, Parvey)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Chen to include footrest assembly further comprising a connecting portion defining an aperture configured to receive a fastener as taught by Parvey, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to adjustable footrest assemblies for staddle-seat vehicles. As disclosed by Parvey, it is well known for an adjustable footrest assembly to include a connecting portion defining an aperture configured to receive a fastener. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include a footrest assembly comprising a connecting portion defining an aperture configured to receive a fastener as taught by Parvey, as such a modification would provide the ability to securely affix the extendable part to the fixed portion in order to prevent an accidental release of the footrest resulting from incidental contact with an external surface.
Regarding Claim 25, Chen in view of Parvey further discloses;
wherein the outer part (rubber body 2) defines an engaging member (locking plate 5) engageable with at least one engaging member (tooth grooves 3) of the inner part (main rod 1). (See Fig. 2, paragraph 25 of Chen)
Regarding Claim 26, Chen in view of Parvey further discloses;
wherein the footrest portion has traction enhancing members extending from the top surface of the outer part. (The rubber body (2) functions as a damping feature for the operator foot and is grooved as shown in Fig. 2 which would enhance the traction of the feature.)
Claims 11, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Parvey and further in view of Nakamura (US 4591179 A).
Regarding Claim 11, Nakamura teaches;
wherein the footrest portion has a side member (upturned end portion 6b; Fig. 4, Nakamura) disposed on an outward end of the second part and extending upwardly from a top surface of the second part. (Nakamura, Fig. 4 and Col. 3, lines 20-23, demonstrate an upturned outer lip of a footrest for a motorcycle.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Chen to include a side member disposed on an outward end of the second part and extending upwardly from a top surface of the second part as taught by Nakamura, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to staddle-seat vehicle footrest assemblies. As disclosed by Nakamura, it is well known to include a side member disposed on an outward end of the second part and extending upwardly from a top surface of the second part. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include to include a side member disposed on an outward end of the second part and extending upwardly from a top surface of the second part as taught by Nakamura, as such a modification would provide for a more secure location of the vehicle operator’s foot on the footrest.
Regarding Claim 27, Chen in view of Parvey disclose the limitations set forth above, but does not disclose a side member disposed on the footrest portion. However, Nakamura teaches;
wherein the footrest portion has a side member (upturned end portion 6b; Fig. 4, Nakamura) disposed on a second lateral side of the outer part and extending upwardly from the top surface. (Nakamura, Fig. 4 and Col. 3, lines 20-23, demonstrate an upturned outer lip of a footrest for a motorcycle.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Chen to include a side member disposed on an outward end of the outer part and extending upwardly from the top surface as taught by Nakamura, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to staddle-seat vehicle footrest assemblies. As disclosed by Nakamura, it is well known to include a side member disposed on an outward end of the outer part and extending upwardly from the top surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include to include a side member disposed on an outward end of the outer part and extending upwardly from the top surface as taught by Nakamura, as such a modification would provide for a more secure location of the vehicle operator’s foot on the footrest.
Claims 13-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 106240697 B) in view of Parvey (US 20150217826 A1) and further in view of Laberge (US 20190315429 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Chen discloses a two part extendable footrest for use on a straddle-seat vehicle.
a first footrest assembly disposed on a first side of the longitudinal center plane; and a second footrest assembly disposed on a second side of the longitudinal center plane: (Paragraph 7 of Chen describes a front footrest arranged at the left and right ends of the front footrest main rod as mounted on a motorcycle.)
a first part (main rod 1; Fig. 2) connected to the frame, a length of the first part extending generally transversally to the longitudinal center plane; (Fig. 1 demonstrates the first part extended transversely with respect to the vehicle frame in order to provide a footrest position to either side of the straddle vehicle. See paragraphs 22-25)
a second part (rubber body 2) having a footrest portion, the second part being selectively connectable to the first part at at least two positions along the length of the first part, (Fig. 2 and paragraph 25 demonstrates the second part as having a rubber upper surface for use as a footrest along the length of the part.)
the second part being selectively positionable at different distances from the longitudinal center plane, (Paragraph 25 describes the operation of the second part as it can be adjusted inward and outwards over the first part in order to increase or decrease the length of the footrest, in the width direction of the vehicle.)
Chen does not disclose the first part defines a first and second aperture, the second aperture being disposed further from the frame than the first aperture. Or the second part defining a third aperture. Or a fastener which is received in the third aperture and in the first or second aperture. Or that the second part being connected to the first part at the first position with the fastener being received in the first and third apertures, or the second part being connected to the first part at the second position with the fastener being received in the second and third apertures. However, Parvey teaches;
the first part (first arm portion 52; Fig. 2, paragraph 14, Parvey) at least defines a first aperture and a second aperture (holes 74);
the second aperture (holes 74) being disposed relative to the first aperture to be disposed further from the frame than the first aperture (holes 74); (Parvey, Fig. 2 illustrates two holes in the first part (52) with the first hole closer to the mounting point of the part than the second hole.)
the second part (second arm portion 54) defines a third aperture (holes 76);
a fastener received in the third aperture (holes 76; Fig. 2) and in the first aperture or the second aperture (holes 74);
the second part being connected to the first part at the first position (retracted) with the fastener being received in the first and third apertures; the second part being connected to the first part at the second position (extended) with the fastener being received in the second and third apertures. (Parvey teaches two fasteners which pass through two holes in the first part and interact with a series of holes in the second part allowing extension of the second part. In a first, retracted position one of the fasteners would pass through a first hole in the first part and a third hole in the connected part. Likewise, in a second, extended position one of the fasteners would pass through a second hole in the first part and through the third hole in the connected part.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Chen to include footrest assembly further comprising a first part defining a first and second aperture, a second part defining a third aperture and a fastener which is received in a combination of the apertures as taught by Parvey, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to adjustable footrest assemblies for straddle-seat vehicles. As disclosed by Parvey, it is well known for an adjustable footrest assembly to include a fastener. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include a footrest assembly comprising a first part defining a first and second aperture, a second part defining a third aperture and a fastener which is received in a combination of the apertures as taught by Parvey, as such a modification would provide the ability to securely affix the extendable part to the fixed portion in order to prevent accidental release of the footrest resulting from an incidental contact with an external surface.
Further regarding claim 13, Chen does not disclose the rest of the straddle-seat vehicle. However, Laberge teaches the rest if the straddle vehicle.
A straddle-seat vehicle (vehicle 10; Fig. 1, Laberge) comprising:
a frame (frame 12) defining a longitudinal center plane;
a motor (motor 30) supported by the frame;
at least one front wheel (front wheel 14) and at least one rear wheel (rear wheel 14), the at least one front and rear wheels being supported by the frame and being operatively connected to the motor;
a straddle-seat (straddle seat 20) supported by the frame;
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Chen to include a frame, motor, wheels, and a seat as taught by Laberge, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to footrest assemblies for straddle-seat vehicle. As disclosed by Laberge, it is well known for a straddle-seat vehicles to be comprised of a frame, motor, wheels, and a seat. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include a frame, motor, wheels, and a seat as taught by Laberge, as such a modification would establish the complete straddle-seat vehicle.
Regarding Claim 14, Chen further discloses;
a first distance extends between a first connecting portion of the first part (main rod 1; Fig. 2) adjacent to the frame and the footrest portion when the second part (rubber body 2) is at the first position (fully retracted);
a second distance extends between the first connecting portion of the first part adjacent to the frame and the footrest portion when the second part is at the second position (fully extended); and the second distance is greater than the first distance. (Fig. 2 and paragraph 25 describe the second part as being movable over the first part such that the overall length of the unit can move between a short length when the outer part is fully retracted over the first part and a longer length when the second part is fully extended from the first part.)
Regarding Claim 15, Chen further discloses;
a combined length of the first and second parts changes in response to the second part being selectively moved from the first position to the second position. (Fig. 2 and paragraph 25 describe the second part as being movable over the first part such that the overall length of the unit can be changed.)
Regarding Claim 16, Chen further discloses;
when the second part (rubber body 2; Fig.2) is connected to the first part (main rod 1) at the first position (fully retracted), the first and second parts have a first combined length; when the second part is connected to the first part at the second position (fully extended), the first and second parts have a second combined length; and the second combined length is greater than the first (Fig. 2 and paragraph 25 describe a first combined length where the second part is fully over the first part which is shorter than a second position where the second part is fully extended from the first part.)
Regarding Claim 19, Chen further discloses;
the first part (main rod 1) has at least a first engaging member and a second engaging member (tooth grooves 3; Fig. 2, paragraph 25);
the second part (rubber body 2) has a third engaging member (locking plate 5) engageable to one of the first and second engaging members (Fig. 2 and paragraph 25 describe the locking plate as engaging with the tooth grooves of the first part.);
when the second part is connected to the first part at the first position, the third engaging member engages the first engaging member; and when the second part is connected to the first part at the second position, the third engaging member engages the second engaging member. (The toothed grooves of the first part (main rod 1) allow the second part to be positioned at multiple positions. The first position corresponds to the shortest, most retracted position, while the second position corresponds to the furthest extended position, therefore the first and second engaging members would correspond to those locations (furthest outwards and furthest inwards).
Regarding Claim 20, Chen further discloses;
the first part (main rod 1; Fig. 1) includes a beam-like portion extending along the length of the first part and outwardly from the frame, and the second part (rubber body 2) defines a receiving aperture configured to at least partially receive the beam-like portion. (cross-sectional view Fig. 3 of Chen demonstrates that the first part is circular which extends lengthwise into the body of the second part.)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT LAWRENCE STRICKLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
April 22, 2026