DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 08/21/2026, with respect to the double patenting rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-17 and 19-21 under US 12,251,733 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 12,663,815 which was issued after the non-final rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/21/2026 with respect to the 102 and 103 rejections based on Lert have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Lert does not disclose that the structure data of the sorting shelf indicates a longitudinal and transversal structure of the sorting shelf and information of an available basket; and the positional information of the basket unit indicates a position of the basket unit in a coordinate system composed of the sorting shelf. However, though Lert does not use terms longitudinal and transversal, these can be equated to any two dimensional storage structure face such as those disclosed in Lert, and Lert knows the positions of all of its baskets in system to route robots to them (para 0041, 0158, figure 3C). Additionally applicant argues that Lert does not disclose wherein the server is configured to control sorting batches, sorting orders, and multiple three-dimensional sorting robots, and to establish the binding relationship between the three- dimensional sorting robots and the sorting shelves for a certain batch and a certain order; and the server executes releasing and order updating steps to release a current binding relationship after an order is completed, so as to realize the three-dimensional sorting without limiting the baskets or sorting shelves. However, Lert clearly discloses wherein the server is configured to control sorting batches, sorting orders, and multiple three-dimensional sorting robots, and to establish the binding relationship between the three- dimensional sorting robots and the sorting shelves for a certain batch and a certain order; and the server executes releasing and order updating steps to release a current binding relationship after an order is completed, so as to realize the three-dimensional sorting without limiting the baskets or sorting shelves by assigning totes and robots for specific tasks until there respective tasks are completed (para 0051, 0154). For at least the foregoing reasons the 102 and 103 rejections based on Lert are maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1,3,4,8,10,11 and 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,663,815. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because The present claims are in general broader than those previously allowed.
The subject matter of claim 1 is disclosed in claim 1 of US 12,663,815.
The subject matter of claim 3 is disclosed in claim 1 of US 12,663,815.
The subject matter of claim 4 is disclosed in claim 6 of US 12,663,815.
The subject matter of claim 8 is disclosed in claim 1 of US 12,663,815.
The subject matter of claim 10 is disclosed in claim 1 of US 12,663,815.
The subject matter of claim 11 is disclosed in claim 6 of US 12,663,815.
The subject matter of claim 13 is disclosed in claim 1 of US 12,663,815.
The subject matter of claim 14 is disclosed in claim 1 of US 12,663,815.
The subject matter of claim 15 is disclosed in claim 6 of US 12,663,815.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,6-8,11-13,15-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lert US 2014/0288696.
Lert discloses a three-dimensional sorting method, wherein the three-dimensional sorting
method comprises:
(Re claim 1) “an acquiring step, comprising acquiring identity information of a target sorting shelf, wherein the identity information comprises: structure data of the sorting shelf and/or positional
information of a basket unit in the sorting shelf” (abstract, para 0043, 0063) all locations of all totes on all shelves is maintained by the system to direct picks and puts. “wherein the structure data of the sorting shelf indicates a longitudinal and transversal structure of the sorting shelf and information of an available basket; and the positional information of the basket unit indicates a position of the basket unit in a coordinate system composed of the sorting shelf (figure 3C). Each shelf has a two-dimensional face which reads on longitudinal and transversal structure. “a binding step, comprising binding the identity information of the target sorting shelf to information of the three-dimensional sorting robot, wherein the binding relationship is associated through a target order of a server” (‘assigning them the tasks’ para 0158). “a sorting step, comprising sorting goods to be sorted according to the identity information of the shelf under a sorting task of the target order” (‘o-totes’ para 0029, 0041, 0123). “wherein the server is configured to control sorting batches, sorting orders, and multiple three-dimensional sorting robots, and to establish the binding relationship between the three-dimensional sorting robots and the sorting shelves for a certain batch and a certain order; and the server executes releasing and order updating steps to release a current binding relationship after an order is completed, so as to realize the three-dimensional sorting without limiting the baskets or sorting shelves (‘CCS’ 130 figure 2A, ‘assigned’ para 0051, 0154).
(Re claim 6) “an order updating step, comprising: updating a current order condition to be completed when all goods of the target order are put; and releasing a binding relationship of a current shelf and the sorting robot” (para 0041) Completed orders are shipped from the facility.
(Re claim 7) “wherein a plurality of sorting robots are provided; and during a period of executing the target order, the binding relationship of the three-dimensional sorting robot and the target sorting shelf is sole” (para 0158). The bots are assigned to a specific tote on a specific shelf.
(Re claim 20) “updating a current order condition to be completed when all goods of the target order are put; and releasing a binding relationship of a current shelf and the sorting robot” (para 0041) Completed orders are shipped from the facility.
Lert discloses a three-dimensional sorting robot, wherein the three-dimensional sorting robot
comprises:
(Re claim 8) “an acquiring unit, configured to acquire identity information of a target sorting shelf, wherein the identity information comprises: structure data of the sorting shelf and/or positional
information of a basket unit in the sorting shelf” (abstract, para 0043, 0063). “wherein the structure data of the sorting shelf indicates a longitudinal and transversal structure of the sorting shelf and information of an available basket; and the positional information of the basket unit indicates a position of the basket unit in a coordinate system composed of the sorting shelf (figure 3C). Each shelf has a two-dimensional face which reads on longitudinal and transversal structure. “a binding unit, configured to bind the identity information of the target sorting shelf to information of the three-dimensional sorting robot, wherein the binding relationship is associated through a target order of a server” (‘assigning them the tasks’ para 0158). “a sorting unit, configured to sort goods to be sorted according to the identity information of the shelf under a sorting task of the target order” (‘o-totes’ para 0029, 0041, 0123). “wherein the server is configured to control sorting batches, sorting orders, and multiple three-dimensional sorting robots, and to establish the binding relationship between the three-dimensional sorting robots and the sorting shelves for a certain batch and a certain order; and the server executes releasing and order updating steps to release a current binding relationship after an order is completed, so as to realize the three-dimensional sorting without limiting the baskets or sorting shelves (‘CCS’ 130 figure 2A, ‘assigned’ para 0051, 0154).
(Re claim 11) “parsing sorting information of the goods to be sorted, wherein the sorting information carries a correspondence relationship with a certain basket unit in the sorting shelf” (para 0158). “looking up the correspondence relationship table, and acquiring a coordinate value of the
basket unit in a three-dimensional coordinate system composed of the sorting shelf” (para 0158). “indexing the coordinate value and positioning, and putting the goods to be sorted into the
basket unit” (para 0041, 0158). The o-totes are assigned to specific orders and the goods are placed in the o-totes.
(Re claim 12) “a plurality of three-dimensional sorting robots are provided; and during a
period of executing the target order by the sorting unit, the binding relationship of the three-dimensional sorting robot and the sorting shelf is sole” (para 0158). The bots are assigned to a specific tote on a specific shelf.
Lert discloses a three-dimensional sorting system, wherein the three-dimensional sorting
system comprises: a three-dimensional sorting robot, a server and a sorting shelf, wherein the three-dimensional sorting robot executes following steps:
(Re claim 13) “an acquiring step, comprising acquiring identity information of a target sorting shelf, wherein the identity information comprises: structure data of the sorting shelf and/or positional
information of a basket unit in the shelf” (abstract, para 0043, 0063). “wherein the structure data of the sorting shelf indicates a longitudinal and transversal structure of the sorting shelf and information of an available basket; and the positional information of the basket unit indicates a position of the basket unit in a coordinate system composed of the sorting shelf (figure 3C). Each shelf has a two-dimensional face which reads on longitudinal and transversal structure. “a binding step, comprising binding the identity information of the target sorting shelf to information of the sorting robot, wherein the binding relationship is associated with a target order through executing by the server” (‘assigning them the tasks’ para 0158). “a sorting step, comprising sorting goods to be sorted according to the identity information of the shelf under a sorting task of the target order” (‘o-totes’ para 0029, 0041, 0123). “wherein the server is configured to control sorting batches, sorting orders, and multiple three-dimensional sorting robots, and to establish the binding relationship between the three-dimensional sorting robots and the sorting shelves for a certain batch and a certain order; and the server executes releasing and order updating steps to release a current binding relationship after an order is completed, so as to realize the three-dimensional sorting without limiting the baskets or sorting shelves (‘CCS’ 130 figure 2A, ‘assigned’ para 0051, 0154).
(Re claim 15) “parsing sorting information of the goods to be sorted, wherein the sorting information carries a correspondence relationship with a certain basket unit in the sorting shelf” (para 0041, 0158). “looking up the correspondence relationship table, and acquiring a coordinate value of the basket unit in a three-dimensional coordinate system composed of the sorting shelf” (para 0041, 0158). “indexing the coordinate value and positioning, and putting the goods to be sorted into the basket unit” (para 0041, 0158). The o-totes are assigned to specific orders and the goods are placed in the o-totes.
(Re claim 17) “the server executes releasing and order updating steps: updating a current order condition to be completed when all goods of the target order are put; and releasing a binding relationship of a current shelf and the sorting robot” (para 0041) Completed orders are shipped from the facility.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,9 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lert in view of Lert Jr. et al. US 2018/0150793.
(Re claim 2) Lert discloses the system as rejected above and totes with different size liners.
Lert does not disclose acquiring attribute data of the basket unit of the sorting shelf, wherein the attribute data comprise: one or a combination of more of dimensional data, volumetric data and type data; and matching the goods to be sorted in the target order according to the attribute data, and
generating a correspondence relationship table of the goods to be sorted and the basket unit.
Lert Jr. teaches acquiring attribute data of the basket unit of the sorting shelf, wherein the attribute data comprise: one or a combination of more of dimensional data, volumetric data and type data; and matching the goods to be sorted in the target order according to the attribute data, and
generating a correspondence relationship table of the goods to be sorted and the basket unit (para 0062, 0066).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Lert to include acquiring attribute data of the basket unit of the sorting shelf, wherein the attribute data comprise: one or a combination of more of dimensional data, volumetric data and type data; and matching the goods to be sorted in the target order according to the attribute data, and generating a correspondence relationship table of the goods to be sorted and the basket unit because it allows for the most efficient use of space.
(Re claim 9) Lert does not disclose acquiring attribute data of the basket unit of the sorting shelf, wherein the attribute data comprise: one or a combination of more of dimensional data, volumetric data and type data; and matching the goods to be sorted in the target order according to the attribute data, and generating a correspondence relationship table of the goods to be sorted and the basket unit.
Lert Jr. teaches acquiring attribute data of the basket unit of the sorting shelf, wherein the attribute data comprise: one or a combination of more of dimensional data, volumetric data and type data; and matching the goods to be sorted in the target order according to the attribute data, and generating a correspondence relationship table of the goods to be sorted and the basket unit (para 0062, 0066).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Lert to include acquiring attribute data of the basket unit of the sorting shelf, wherein the attribute data comprise: one or a combination of more of dimensional data, volumetric data and type data; and matching the goods to be sorted in the target order according to the attribute data, and generating a correspondence relationship table of the goods to be sorted and the basket unit because it allows for the most efficient use of space.
(Re claim 21) “parsing sorting information of the goods to be sorted, wherein the sorting information carries a correspondence relationship with a certain basket unit in the sorting shelf” (para 0041, 0158). “looking up the correspondence relationship table, and acquiring a coordinate value of the basket unit in a three-dimensional coordinate system composed of the sorting shelf” (para 0041, 0158). “indexing the coordinate value and positioning, and putting the goods to be sorted into the basket unit” (para 0041, 0158). The o-totes are assigned to specific orders and the goods are placed in the o-totes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 10 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The present prior art of record does not disclose acquiring the identity information through reading a label provided on the target sorting shelf by RFID, wherein the label carries structure data of the sorting shelf and/or positional information of the basket unit, wherein: the structure data of the sorting shelf refer to a longitudinal and transversal structure of the sorting shelf and positional information of an available basket unit; and the positional information of the basket unit refers to a position of the basket unit in a coordinate system composed of the sorting shelf.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TIMOTHY R. WAGGONER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655 B
/TIMOTHY R WAGGONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655