DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Floyd (US Patent 5,920,766, 02/08/24 IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Floyd discloses a laser component (FIGS. 3-4) comprising:
at least one first laser diode (200, FIG. 4, col. 6 lines 11-15), and
at least one second laser diode (122, FIG. 4, col. 5 lines 63-67), wherein
the first laser diode and the second laser diode each comprise an active zone (214 for 200 and 114 for 112, FIG. 4, col. 6 lines 11-15 and col. 5 lines 63-67) in a semiconductor layer,
the active zones each extend parallel to the main plane of extension of the respective laser diode (FIGS. 3-4),
the semiconductor layers each comprise a first side and a second side facing away from the first side (respective upper/lower sides of the semiconductor layers of 200/122, FIG. 3), the first side and the second side each extending parallel to the main plane of extension of the respective laser diode (FIGS. 3-4),
the second laser diode is arranged on the first laser diode in a vertical direction which runs perpendicular to the main plane of extensions of the laser diodes (122 is arranged on 200 in a vertical direction, FIG. 4),
the first laser diode has a larger extent in its main plane of extension than the second laser diode in its main plane of extension (200 has a lateral extension beyond 122, FIG. 4), and
at least one electrical contact (320, FIG. 4, col. 6 lines 11-15) is arranged in a contact region of the first laser diode, which is arranged on the side of the first laser diode facing the second laser diode (FIG. 4).
Claims 1-6, 8-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al. (US PG Pub 2010/0074289 A1, 02/08/24 IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi discloses a laser component (FIG. 2) comprising:
at least one first laser diode (100, FIG. 2, [0065]), and
at least one second laser diode (200, FIG. 2, [0068]), wherein
the first laser diode and the second laser diode each comprise an active zone (105 for 100 and 205 for 200, FIG. 2, [0065] and [0068]) in a semiconductor layer,
the active zones each extend parallel to the main plane of extension of the respective laser diode (FIG. 2),
the semiconductor layers each comprise a first side and a second side facing away from the first side (respective upper/lower sides of the semiconductor layers of 100/200, FIG. 2), the first side and the second side each extending parallel to the main plane of extension of the respective laser diode (FIG. 2),
the second laser diode is arranged on the first laser diode in a vertical direction which runs perpendicular to the main plane of extensions of the laser diodes (200 is arranged on 100 in a vertical direction, FIG. 2),
the first laser diode has a larger extent in its main plane of extension than the second laser diode in its main plane of extension (100 has a lateral extension beyond 200, FIG. 2), and
at least one electrical contact (111, FIG. 2, [0067]) is arranged in a contact region of the first laser diode, which is arranged on the side of the first laser diode facing the second laser diode (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi discloses both active zones are each arranged closer to the second side than to the first side of the respective semiconductor layer (FIG. 2), and wherein the second side of the semiconductor layer of the first laser diode faces the second side of the semiconductor layer of the second laser diode (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Kobayashi discloses the semiconductor layers comprise a p-doped region on their second side (p-type clad layers 108 and 207, FIG. 2, [0054] and [0058]) or the semiconductor layers comprise an n-doped region on their second side, and wherein in both cases the second side of the semiconductor layer of the first laser diode faces the second side of the semiconductor layer of the second laser diode (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Kobayashi discloses the contact region is free of the second laser diode (111 is free of 200, FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Kobayashi discloses the electrical contact is connected to the second side of the semiconductor layer of the first laser diode via an electrically conductive connection (109, FIG. 2, [0065]).
Regarding claim 6, Kobayashi discloses in the contact region a further electrical contact (210, FIG. 2, [0070]) is arranged, which is connected to the second side of the semiconductor layer of the second laser diode via an electrically conductive connection (208, FIG. 2, [0068]).
Regarding claim 8, Kobayashi discloses the first laser diode comprises an electrically insulation layer (110, FIG. 2, [0066]) on its side facing the second laser diode and the second laser diode comprises a further electrically insulation layer (209, FIG. 2, [0069]) on its side facing the first laser diode.
Regarding claim 9, Kobayashi discloses the electrically insulation layer and the further electrically insulation layer each comprise a via (109/208, FIG. 2, [0065] and [0068]) which extends in the vertical direction and is at least partially filled with an electrically conductive material.
Regarding claim 10, Kobayashi discloses the first laser diode comprises a first mirror (124, FIG. 1, [0082]) and a second mirror (123, FIG. 1, [0082]), wherein the first mirror has a distance (L1, FIG. 1) to the second mirror, and wherein the distance is less than an extent of the first laser diode (L0, FIG. 1) parallel to a connection axis between the first mirror and the second mirror (L1<L0, FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Kobayashi discloses the second mirror is arranged entirely within the first laser diode (FIGS. 1-2).
Regarding claim 12, Kobayashi discloses the first laser diode is configured to emit, in operation, laser radiation of a first wavelength at a side which is transverse or perpendicular to the main plane of extension of the first laser diode ([0103]), and the second laser diode is configured to emit, in operation, laser radiation of a second wavelength at a side which is transverse or perpendicular to the main plane of extension of the second laser diode ([0103]).
Regarding claim 13, Kobayashi discloses the first wavelength is different from the second wavelength ([0103]).
Regarding claim 16, Kobayashi discloses a laser device (FIG. 7) comprising the laser component according to claim 1 and a carrier (11, FIG. 7, [0092]), wherein the laser component is arranged on the carrier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al.
Regarding claim 14, Kobayashi has disclosed the laser component outlined in the rejection to claim 13 above except the difference between the first wavelength and the second wavelength is at most 5 nm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the active layers of the first and second laser diodes with gain materials so that the emission wavelengths difference is at most 5 nm in order to minimize dispersion when used in dense wavelength division multiplexing application, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 15, Kobayashi has disclosed the laser component outlined in the rejection to claim 12 above except the first wavelength and the second wavelength are identical. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the active layers of the first and second laser diodes with the same gain material so that the emission wavelength are identical in order to maximize optical output power at a single wavelength, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. in view of Galvano et al. (US PG Pub 2018/0278011 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Kobayashi has disclosed the laser device outlined in the rejection to claim 16 above and further discloses the side of the carrier facing away from the laser component forms a bottom side of the laser device (FIG. 7 of Kobayashi) except the carrier comprises an integrated circuit. Galvano discloses a support substrate for laser diodes comprises a driver IC (4, FIG. 5, [0032]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the carrier of Kobayashi with embedding driver IC in the carrier as taught by Galvano in order to obtain control of the first and second laser diodes.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. in view of Shiomoto (US PG Pub 2001/0026569 A1, 02/08/24 IDS).
Regarding claim 18, Kobayashi has disclosed the laser device outlined in the rejection to claim 16 above except the laser device comprises an encapsulation enclosing the laser component. Shiomoto discloses “The first and second semiconductor laser elements 30, 40 are covered with a case to keep them hermetic or airtight.” ([0027]) It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser device of Kobayashi with an encapsulation/case hermetically sealing the laser component as taught by Shiomoto in order to maximize optical efficiency of the laser device by preventing contaminants from interfering with the laser component.
Regarding claim 19, Kobayashi, as modified, discloses a leakage rate of air to the laser component is at most 5*10.sup.−8 mbar*liter/second (a leakage rate of air of zero due to being hermetically sealed, [0027] of Shiomoto).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. in view of Inoue et al. (US PG Pub 2006/0054906 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Kobayashi has disclosed the laser device outlined in the rejection to claim 16 above except the electrical contact is electrically connected to at least one portion of the carrier. Inoue discloses the electrical contact (10b, FIG. 2, [0175]) is electrically connected (via W3, FIG. 2, [0183]) to at least one portion of the carrier (5, FIG. 2, [0172]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser device of Kobayashi with the electrical contact being electrically connected to at least one portion of the carrier as taught by Inoue in order to facilitate electrical connection with other components of the laser device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hata et al. (US PG Pub 2006/0227838 A1) discloses a laser component comprising a second laser diode vertically stacked on a first laser diode similar to the claimed invention (see FIG. 2).
/YUANDA ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828