DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/14/2025 (2). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202110922415.4, filed on 08/12/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al [US 2012/0256802 A1].
In regards to claims 21. Wong discloses an electronic device comprising an antenna structure, wherein the antenna structure (Fig. 1) comprises:
a first antenna element, wherein the first antenna element comprises a first slot and a first feed point; and (Fig. 1, 15 & Paragraph [0020])
a second antenna element, wherein the second antenna element comprises a second slot and a second feed point, (Fig. 1, 14 & Paragraph [0020])
wherein the first slot and the second slot extend in a first direction and are spaced apart in a second direction, the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction, projections of the first slot and the second slot in the second direction at least partially overlap, (Fig. 1, 14 and 15 are parallel to y-direction and spaced apart in x-direction)
the first wavelength corresponds to a first operating frequency band of the first antenna element (Fig. 1, 15 & 222-223 & Paragraph [0021-23]), and the second wavelength corresponds to a second operating frequency band of the second antenna element (Fig. 1, 14 & 222 and 221 & Paragraph [0022-23]),
a spacing distance between the first slot and the second slot in the second direction is less than a quarter of a first wavelength or a quarter of a second wavelength (Paragraph [0022] since the substrate 11 accommodating 3 slots has height of 11mm it is implicit that the spacing between the slots 14 and 15 is less than ¼ of a wavelength of resonances 221-223) wherein the first operating frequency band of the first antenna element is the same as or adjacent to the second operating frequency band of the second antenna element (Paragraph [0022] “then the resonant mode 221 as well as the higher-order resonant modes 222 and 223 of the third slot 15 can be combined to form a wide second (higher-frequency) operating band (such as, the second operating band 22 shown in FIG. 2)”)
Wong does not specify in Fig. 1, wherein the first feed point is disposed in a central region of the first slot, or the first feed point is disposed at an end of the first slot, and the first feed point is configured to feed the first antenna element, and wherein the second feed point is disposed at an end of the second slot, and the second feed point is configured to feed the second antenna element,
Wong discloses wherein the first feed point (Fig. 3, 362) is disposed in a central region of the first slot (Fig. 3, 15), or the first feed point is disposed at an end of the first slot, and the first feed point (Fig. 3, 362) is configured to feed the first antenna element (Fig. 3, 15 & Paragraph [0023]), and
wherein the second feed point (Fig. 3, 361) is disposed at an end of the second slot (Fig. 3, 14), and the second feed point (Fig. 3, 361) is configured to feed the second antenna element (Fig. 3, 14 & Paragraph [0023]), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Wong of Fig. 1 with Fig. 3 to discloses wherein the first feed point is disposed in a central region of the first slot, or the first feed point is disposed at an end of the first slot, and the first feed point is configured to feed the first antenna element, and wherein the second feed point is disposed at an end of the second slot, and the second feed point is configured to feed the second antenna element for purpose of forming two similar wide operating bands covering the eight-band LTE/WWAN operation as disclosed by Wong (Paragraph [0023])
In regards to claims 28. Wong discloses the electronic device according to claim 21, wherein the spacing distance between the first slot and the second slot in the second direction is less than 10 mm (Paragraph [0022] since the substrate).
In regards to claims 29. Wong discloses the electronic device according to claim 21, wherein the electronic device further comprises: one or more conductive parts (Paragraph [0020] “electrical conductor 111 (i.e., the metal surface) of the substrate 11”), wherein the first slot (Fig. 1, 15 & Paragraph [0020]) of the first antenna element is either one of: a slot disposed on a conductive part in the one or more conductive parts, or a slot formed between at least two of the one or more conductive parts (Paragraph [0020] “electrical conductor 111 (i.e., the metal surface) of the substrate 11”).
In regards to claims 30. Wong discloses the electronic device according to claim 21, wherein the electronic device further comprises: one or more conductive parts (Paragraph [0020] “electrical conductor 111 (i.e., the metal surface) of the substrate 11”), wherein the second slot of the second antenna element (Fig. 1, 14 & Paragraph [0020]) is either one of: a slot disposed on a conductive part of the one or more conductive parts, or a slot formed between at least two of the one or more conductive parts (Paragraph [0020] “electrical conductor 111 (i.e., the metal surface) of the substrate 11”).
Claims 31 and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindenmeier et al [US 2010/0302112 A1]
In regards to claims 31. Lindenmeier discloses an electronic device comprising an antenna structure, wherein the antenna structure (Fig. 5) comprises:
a first antenna element, wherein the first antenna element comprises a slot and a first feed point; and (Fig. 5, slot 3 with corresponding feed point 7)
a second antenna element, wherein the second antenna element comprises a radiator and a second feed point, (Fig. 5, dipole radiator 1 with corresponding feed point at location 8)
wherein the slot and the radiator extend in a first direction and are spaced apart in a second direction, the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction, projections of the slot and the radiator in the second direction at least partially overlap, (Fig. 5, the dipole 1 and slot 3 are parallel and overlapping)
a spacing distance between the slot and the radiator in the second direction is less than a quarter of a first wavelength or a quarter of a second wavelength (Paragraph [0040] the height of Fig. 1, the spacing of the dipole, is one quarter of the free space wave length), the first wavelength corresponds to a first operating frequency band of the first antenna element, and the second wavelength corresponds to a second operating frequency band of the second antenna element, (Paragraph [0040] both the slot and dipole have the same frequency as dipole and slot)
the first feed point is configured to feed the first antenna element, and (Fig. 5, feed point 7 feeds the slot)
wherein the second feed point is disposed in a central region of the radiator, or the second feed point is disposed at an end of the radiator, and the second feed point is configured to feed the second antenna element, and (Fig. 5, location 8 of the feedpoint of the dipole is in center of dipole 1)
wherein the first operating frequency band of the first antenna element is the same as or adjacent to the second operating frequency band of the second antenna element (Paragraph [0040] both the slot and the dipole have the same frequency as both antennas form a circularly polarized antenna which in the art implies that both have the same frequency)
Lindenmeier does not specify wherein the first feed point is disposed at an end of the slot
Lindenmeier discloses wherein the first feed point is disposed at an end of the slot (Paragraph [0054] “It changes toward smaller values with an increasing distance 16 from the center Z. In the interests of better adaptation to such line structures, it is therefore advantageous, according to the invention, to select the distance 16 accordingly. In this connection, fulfillment of the phase and power conditions takes place, according to the invention, in the part of the line conducted between the parallel branching of the antenna line 11 and the slot radiator connection location 7, on the one hand, and toward the dipole connection location 8, on the other hand.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to modify Lindenmeier with wherein the first feed point is disposed at an end of the slot for purpose of better adaptation to such line structures, it is therefore advantageous, according to the invention, to select the distance as disclosed by Lindenmeier (Paragraph [0054]).
In regards to claims 34. Lindenmeier discloses the electronic device according to claim 31, wherein a first electrical length of the slot is the first wavelength (Lindenmeier Paragraph [0033]), and a second electrical length of the radiator is the second wavelength (Lindenmeier Paragraph [0032]).
In regards to claims 35. Lindenmeier discloses the electronic device according to claim 31, wherein the electronic device further comprises: one or more conductive parts (Paragraph [0061]), wherein the slot of the first antenna element (Fig. 5, slot 3 with corresponding feed point 7) is either one of: a slot (Fig. 5, slot 3 with corresponding feed point 7) disposed on a conductive part in the one or more conductive parts (Paragraph [0061]), or a slot formed between at least a first conductive part and a second conductive part in the one or more conductive parts.
In regards to claims 36. Lindenmeier discloses the electronic device according to claim 35, wherein the radiator of the second antenna element (Fig. 5, dipole radiator 1 with corresponding feed point at location 8) is a third conductive part in the one or more conductive parts (Paragraph [0061]), and two ends of the radiator are open.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 37-39 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In regards to claims 37-39, “a first electrical length of the first radiator is the first wavelength or a second electrical length of the second radiator is the second wavelength, wherein a first electric field generated by the first antenna element is orthogonal to a second electric field generated by the second antenna element, or a first current generated by the first antenna element is orthogonal to a second current generated by the second antenna element, and wherein the first operating frequency band of the first antenna element is the same as or adjacent to the second operating frequency band of the second antenna element.” as shown in claim 37.
Claims 22-27 and 32-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
“wherein that the first operating frequency band is adjacent to the second operating frequency band includes that a difference between a start frequency point of the first operating frequency band and an end frequency point of the second operating frequency band is less than 10% of a center frequency of the first operating frequency band, and a first frequency of a first frequency point in the first operating frequency band is greater than a second frequency of a second frequency point in the second operating frequency band” as shown in claim 22.
“wherein a spacing distance between a first virtual symmetry axis of the first slot and a second virtual symmetry axis of the second slot in the first direction is less than a quarter of the first wavelength or a quarter of the second wavelength.” as shown in claim 23
“wherein a spacing distance between a first virtual symmetry axis of the slot and a second virtual symmetry axis of the radiator in the first direction is less than a quarter of the first wavelength or a quarter of the second wavelength.” as shown in claim 32.
Conclusion
WEI (VICTOR) CHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844
/WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844