DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 46-50, 52, 54-61, and 64-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hauptman (WO 2021/062554 A1) in view of Thomson (USP 5,145,664) alone or in further view of Smigel (USP 11,484,664).
Regarding claims 46-50, 52, 54-61, and 64-65, Hauptman teaches the following:
An oral rinse composition (mouthwash)
See paragraph 0163.
Wherein the oral rinse composition is water up to 99% by weight of the composition.
See paragraph 0164.
Wherein oral rinse composition has an antimicrobial agent which is an essential oil including: (1) Thyme Oil, (2) Lemongrass Oil, (3) Peppermint oil, and (4) Tea tree oil.
See paragraphs 0052-0054,
Wherein the antimicrobial amounts are optimizable between 1-10% by weight, with specificity at .2-2%.
See paragraphs 0055, 0162, and 0168.
Because of the notoriously well known use of essential oils in mouthwashes for antibacterial/antimicrobial effects and the overlap between the claimed ranges and the ranges described in Hauptman the essential oil amounts would be an optimizable variable depending on the needs of the specific mouthwash formulation.
The addition of an emulsifier.
See paragraphs 0153-0154.
With respect to claims 46-50, 52, 54-61, and 64-65 Hauptman does not explicitly disclose high (95%+) water-based compositions that are alcohol free.
However, Thomson teaches that water based (non-alcohol based) mouthwashes are desired as alcohol use has many known undesirable impacts. (See column 1 lines 7-33).
It would have been obvious to select water at high contents as Thomson has shown effective use as a mouthwash which lead to minimal deleterious impacts.
If it is determined that Hauptman does not provide a teaching of selecting thyme, lemongrass, tea tree and peppermint in combination. It would have been obvious to in view of Smigel’s teaching that Thyme, Lemongrass, Peppermint, and Tea Tree oils are effective antimicrobials in oral care compositions. (See column 2 lines 57-61).
As the prior art has already called out this combination with specificity it would have been an obvious combination for use in oral compositions.
Claim(s) 51, 53, and 62-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hauptman (WO 2021/062554 A1) in view of Thomson (USP 5,145,664) alone or in further view of Smigel (USP 11,484,664) in further view of Hall (US 2015/0139920 A1).
Regarding claims 51,53, and 62-63 the combination of Haputman, Thomson, and Smigel does not teach wherein water and oils are the only constituents (no other chemicals).
However, Hall teaches that creating oral care compositions that are organic and natural are desired and that is why oils are desired in oral compositions. (See paragraph 0023).
It would have been obvious to use only the essential oils and water to create a product that would be marketed as natural and organic.
Conclusion
AMJAD A. ABRAHAM
SPE AU 1663
Art Unit 1663
/Amjad Abraham/SPE, Art Unit 1663