DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed 08 February 2024, in which claims 3-6, 8, 10, 11, and 13-15 were amended, has been entered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “4” (middle of page 13). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested:
Damper Control Arrangement in a Two-Wheeled Vehicle
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because Examiner suggests removing the reference to Fig. 9. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claims 2-14 are objected to because of the following informalities. Examiner suggests the changes below:
“A damper control arrangement” be changed to --The damper control arrangement-- (claims 2-10, line 1), since this feature has already been claimed;
“an impact” be changed to --the impact-- (claim 7, line 2), since this feature has already been claimed;
“a detected upward lifting action” be changed to --the detected upward lifting action-- (claim 8, line 3), since this feature has already been claimed;
“a timer module” be changed to --the timer module-- (claim 9, lines 1-2); since this feature has already been claimed;
“the damper open position” be changed to --the open damper position-- (claim 9, line 2), so as to use the same terminology as previously presented;
the open parenthesis “()” be removed (claim 11, end of line 3);
“a damper control arrangement” be changed to --the damper control arrangement-- (claim 11, line 5), since this feature has already been claimed;
“An electronic suspension assembly” be changed to --The electronic suspension assembly-- (claim 12, line 1), since this feature has already been claimed;
“an electronic suspension assembly” be changed to --the electronic suspension assembly-- (claim 13, line 1), since this feature has already been claimed;
“an electronic suspension assembly” be changed to --the electronic suspension assembly-- (claim 14, line 1), since this feature has already been claimed;
“an upward lifting action” be changed to --the upward lifting action-- (claim 14, line 3), since this feature has already been claimed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the sprung mass" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the sensor outputs" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the accelerometer output" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the damper spring" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the inclination" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the magnitude" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the front wheel" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the severity" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the inclination" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the duration" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the impact severity" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the vehicle inclination" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the front wheel" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In regards to claim 11, it is unclear which damper is being referenced by “the damper” (line 6) since “a damper” was set forth in preceding claim 1, and “an electronically controllable damper” was set forth in line 4 of claim 11. Clarification and rephrasing are required.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the detected upward displacement" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the two-wheeled vehicle" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the sprung mass" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the sensor outputs" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the damper" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuchizawa et al. (US 2020/0023703 A1). Tsuchizawa et al. discloses a damper control arrangement (suspension control device #12) for a damper (including front and rear suspensions #FS, RS) in an electronic suspension assembly (#10) of a two-wheeled vehicle (#1), the damper control arrangement comprising:
(claim 1) a sensor arrangement comprising a number of sensors (including front and rear multi-axis acceleration sensors #20, 22, front and rear tire load sensors #26, 28, front and rear suspension load sensors #30, 32) arranged to measure motion-related parameters of the two-wheeled vehicle (#1; paragraphs 0044, 0046-0061; figure 2);
an upward lift detection means configured to detect an upward lifting action on the sprung mass from the sensor outputs (including jumping, wheelie, jack knife, and off-road states; paragraphs 0063-0072; figures 3-5, 7, 11);
a decision module configured to generate a control signal to open the damper (lockout OFF for front suspension #FS and/or rear suspension #RS, depending on detected state) in response to the detected upward lifting action (paragraphs 0045, 0063-0140; figures 6, 9, 10, 13, 14);
(claim 2) wherein the sensor arrangement comprises a 3-axis accelerometer (including front and rear multi-axis acceleration sensors #20, 22) configured to detect motion along three orthogonal axes, and wherein the upward lifting action is deduced on the basis of the accelerometer output (paragraphs 0046-0053, 0062-0085);
(claim 3) wherein the sensor arrangement comprises a pressure sensor (including front and rear suspension load sensors #30, 32) configured to measure pressure in the damper spring (#FS, RS), and wherein the upward lifting action is deduced on the basis of the measured pressure (paragraphs 0058-0061, 0120-0139);
(claim 6) a computation module configured to compute the magnitude of an impact to the front wheel (#FW; paragraph 0038) of the vehicle (#1) from an output of the sensor arrangement (paragraphs 0045-0139);
(claim 11) an electronic suspension assembly (#10) of a two-wheeled vehicle (#1), comprising:
a shock absorber (including front suspension #FS) arranged to provide suspension to the front wheel (#FW) and comprising an electronically controllable damper (#FS; paragraph 0038);
the damper control arrangement (#12) for controlling the damper (#FS; figure 2; paragraphs 0037-0061);
(claim 12) wherein the shock absorber (including front suspension #FS) is a telescopic front fork, and wherein the electronically controllable damper (#FS) is arranged in a stanchion of the telescopic fork (figure 1; paragraph 0038);
(claim 13) a bicycle (#1) comprising the electronic suspension assembly (#10; figure 1; paragraphs 0036-0039);
(claim 14) a method of controlling the electronic suspension assembly (#10), comprising the steps of:
detecting an upward lifting action (including jumping, wheelie, jack knife, and off-road states) on the sprung mass (paragraphs 0063-0072; figures 3-5, 7, 11);
opening the damper (lockout OFF for front suspension #FS, depending on detected state) in response to the detected upward displacement (paragraphs 0045, 0063-0140; figures 6, 9, 10, 13, 14);
(claim 15) a computer program product comprising a computer program that is directly loadable into a memory (#16b) of a damper control arrangement (#12; paragraphs 0040-0139), which comprises:
a sensor arrangement comprising a number of sensors (including front and rear multi-axis acceleration sensors #20, 22, front and rear tire load sensors #26, 28, front and rear suspension load sensors #30, 32) arranged to measure motion-related parameters of the two-wheeled vehicle (#1; paragraphs 0044, 0046-0061; figure 2);
an upward lift detection means configured to detect an upward lifting action on the sprung mass from the sensor outputs (including jumping, wheelie, jack knife, and off-road states; paragraphs 0063-0072; figures 3-5, 7, 11);
a decision module configured to generate a control signal to open the damper (lockout OFF for front suspension #FS and/or rear suspension #RS, depending on detected state) in response to the detected upward lifting action (paragraphs 0045, 0063-0140; figures 6, 9, 10, 13, 14);
program elements for performing steps of the method when the computer program is executed by a processor (electronic controller #16) of the damper control arrangement (#12; paragraphs 0040-0139).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchizawa et al. (US 2020/0023703 A1) in view of Santurbane et al. (US 2021/0179222 A1). Tsuchizawa et al. does not specifically disclose measuring movement of a damper stanchion. Santurbane et al. teaches a damper control arrangement for a damper (including front fork #108, rear shock #110; paragraphs 0025-0026) of a two-wheeled vehicle (#100), comprising a sensor arrangement (including electronic monitoring devices #138; paragraphs 0029-0031, 0038-0068), wherein the sensor arrangement comprises a movement sensor (pressure sensor) configured to measure movement of a damper stanchion (legs of front fork #108; figures 2, 3), and vehicle, rider, and terrain characteristics are deduced on the basis of the measured movement (pressure in front fork #108 is measured, which can be correlated to position of the legs via the ideal gas law; paragraphs 0019, 0031, 0037). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the damper control arrangement of Tsuchizawa et al. to include measuring movement of a damper stanchion, as taught by Santurbane et al., so as to use the ideal gas law to correlate pressure within the damper, which is already measured by Tsuchizawa et al., to the position of the legs of the damper, which determines displacement of the damper and provides additional performance metrics to help aid the decision module in determining vehicle, rider, and terrain characteristics (Santurbane et al.: paragraphs 0019, 0031, 0037).
Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchizawa et al. (US 2020/0023703 A1) in view of Ebersbach et al. (US 2016/0153515 A1). Tsuchizawa et al. does not disclose computing the inclination of the two-wheeled vehicle. Ebersbach et al. teaches a damper control arrangement for a damper (front and rear suspension systems #300, 400) of a two-wheeled vehicle (#100), comprising determining the inclination of the two-wheeled vehicle from an output of a sensor arrangement, and adjusting damper characteristics based on the vehicle inclination (paragraphs 0038-0039, 0043, 0071-0072; claim 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the damper control arrangement of Tsuchizawa et al. to include computing the inclination of the vehicle, as taught by Ebersbach et al., so as to adjust damper characteristics based on the vehicle inclination, thereby providing electric power consumption savings/economy (Ebersbach et al.: paragraph 0043).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchizawa et al. (US 2020/0023703 A1) in view of Fox (US 2003/0075402 A1). Tsuchizawa et al. does not disclose a timer module configured to determine the duration of an open damper position. Fox teaches a damper control arrangement for a damper (suspension members #34, 38) of a two-wheeled vehicle (#20), comprising a timer module configured to determine the duration of an open damper position following a detected upward lifting action of the sprung mass (Abstract; paragraphs 0007-0016, 0109, 0118-0119, 0158-0161, 0214-0215). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the damper control arrangement of Tsuchizawa et al. to include a timer module, as taught by Fox, so as to retain the damper in an open position for a predetermined period of time after it is initially opened, thereby allowing the damper to maintain the lowered damping rate for the entire bump, not just the first half (Fox: Abstract; paragraphs 0112-0119).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchizawa et al. (US 2020/0023703 A1) in view of Fox (US 2003/0075402 A1), further in view of Ebersbach et al. (US 2016/0153515 A1). Tsuchizawa et al. does not disclose a timer module configured to determine the duration of the damper open position, or detecting vehicle inclination. Fox teaches a damper control arrangement for a damper (suspension members #34, 38) of a two-wheeled vehicle (#20), comprising a timer module configured to determine the duration of an open damper position on the basis of impact severity (Abstract; paragraphs 0007-0016, 0109, 0118-0119, 0158-0161, 0214-0215). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the damper control arrangement of Tsuchizawa et al. to include a timer module, as taught by Fox, so as to retain the damper in an open position for a predetermined period of time after it is initially opened, thereby allowing the damper to maintain the lowered damping rate for the entire bump, not just the first half (Fox: Abstract; paragraphs 0112-0119). Ebersbach et al. teaches a damper control arrangement for a damper (front and rear suspension systems #300, 400) of a two-wheeled vehicle (#100), comprising determining vehicle inclination (paragraphs 0038-0039, 0043, 0071-0072; claim 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the damper control arrangement of Tsuchizawa et al. to include determining vehicle inclination, as taught by Ebersbach et al., so as to adjust damper characteristics based on the vehicle inclination, thereby providing electric power consumption savings/economy (Ebersbach et al.: paragraph 0043).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchizawa et al. (US 2020/0023703 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US 9676441 B2). Tsuchizawa et al. does not disclose detecting vibration of the sprung mass. Chen et al. teaches a damper control arrangement for a damper (front and rear shock absorbers #11, 12) of a two-wheeled vehicle (#10), configured to detect vibration of the sprung mass and to open the damper in response to the detected vibration (column 3, line 19-column 5, line 53; column 7, lines 21-32; column 14, line 20-column 22, line 22; figures 17-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the damper control arrangement of Tsuchizawa et al. to include detecting vibration of the sprung mass, as taught by Chen et al., so as to logically determine whether to increase or decrease the level of the damping force, thereby increasing pedaling efficiency on smooth pavement and increasing comfort and control on bumpy pavement, which improves rider convenience and safety (Chen et al.: column 1, lines 56-59; column 3, lines 15-18; column 7, lines 9-32; column 5, lines 48-53; column 22, lines 7-22).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses suspension assemblies for bicycles.
/LAURA FREEDMAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614B