DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“biasing member” and “additional biasing member” as used in claims 11, 12 and 13. The specification discloses that the corresponding structure to perform the recited biasing function is a spring. See also claim 4 (which claims that “the biasing member and the additional biasing member are springs”.)
“fluid supply unit configured to supply fluid” as used in claims 11 and 15. The specification discloses that the corresponding structure to perform the recited biasing function is a tube and a fluid supplier. See also claim 6 (which claims that the fluid supply unit comprises a tube and a fluid supplier).
“determination part configured to determine” as used in claim 19 and 20. The specification discloses that the corresponding structure to perform the recited biasing function “may be implemented, for example, by a processor executing a program stored in a storage medium” (see paragraph 0061 of the specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "a heat seal bar" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be a reference back to “a heat seal bar as used earlier in line 2. The examiner suggests amending lines 5-6 to recite “the heat seal bar” for proper antecedent basis.
Claims 12-20 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 11.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the flow channel hole" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first recitation of the limitation of flow channel hole in claim 16 or parent claim 11. It is noted that reference to “a flow channel hole” is made in earlier claim 15; however, claim 15 is not a parent claim to claim 16. The examiner suggests either (1) amending line 3 to recite “a flow channel hole”; or alternatively (2) amending claim 16 dependent to be from claim 15 (and ensuring that all other limitations have proper antecedent basis).
Claim 17 is rejected based on its dependency from claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Totani (US 20130059710 A1) in view of Irwin (US 20040256373 A1).
As to claim 11, Totani discloses a heat seal bar attachment device (“the machine”)for use in a bag making apparatus and for detachably attaching a heat seal bar (“heat seal bar 2”) to a heater (“heater 3”), the heat seal bar attachment device comprising:
a rod (“tension pin 16”) inserted through the heater and having an attachment head (“head 17”) at a first end of thereof, the attachment head being configured to be detachably attached to an insert (“insert 8”) fitted into a heat seal bar;
a support (“heater hunger 5”) for supporting the heater, the support having a guide recess (see the figures, showing the hole through which tension pin 16 extends”) facing the heater;
a slider (“slide 21”) having a receiving recess (the hole which tension pin 16 extends, see Figures) for receiving a second end of the rod, the slider being received in the guide recess to be slidable together with the rod towards and away from the heater;
a biasing member (“spring 27”).
See especially Figures 1 and paragraphs 0015-29, below:
[0015] Turning now to the drawings, FIG. 1 illustrates an apparatus according to the invention. The apparatus belongs to a machine successively making plastic bags. The machine includes a heater unit 1 and a heat seal bar 2, the heater unit 1 comprising a heater 3, a thermal insulator 4 and a heater hunger 5. The apparatus is arranged to mount the heat seal bar 2 on the heater unit 1, at the lower surface of the heater unit 1. The heat seal bar 2 is therefore heated by the heater 3. In addition, plastic films 6 are fed longitudinally thereof and intermittently. The machine further includes a receiver not shown for the heat seal bar 2. The heater unit 1 is moved and lowered toward the plastic films 6 and the receiver so that the plastic films 6 should be sandwiched between the heat seal bar 2 and the receiver when the plastic films 6 are stopped. The plastic films 6 are therefore heat sealed with each other by the heat seal bar 2 to successively make the plastic bags of plastic films 6. The heat seal bar 2 is formed of aluminum and therefore soft.
[0016] The apparatus includes a receiving recess 7 formed in the heat seal bar 2 to be opposed to the heater unit 1, at the upper surface of the heat seal bar 2. An insert 8 is received in and fixed to the receiving recess 7 to extend in a direction in which the receiving recess 7 is opposed to the heater unit 1. The insert 8 includes axially outer and inner end portions and a side. The insert 8 further includes an axial groove 9 formed therein to open to the side so that an axial opening 10 should be formed in the side, as shown in FIG. 2. The insert 8 is formed of iron or brass. In addition, an adjacent recess 11 is formed in the heat seal bar 2 to be disposed adjacent the receiving recess 7. The adjacent recess 11 is communicated with the axial opening 10 and the axial groove 9. The adjacent recess 11 is larger than the receiving recess 7.
[0017] In the embodiment, an inner groove 12 is formed in the heat seal bar 2 about the receiving recess 7 at the axially inner end portion of the insert 8. An outward protrusion 13 is formed on the insert 8 at the axially inner end portion. The outward protrusion 13 is flanged shaped. In this connection, it should be understood that the insert 8 is firstly inserted into the adjacent recess 11. The insert 8 is then pushed into and received in the receiving recess 7 from the adjacent recess 11 so that the outward protrusion 13 can be fitted into the inner groove 12. In addition, an inner groove 14 is formed in the heat seal bar 2 about the adjacent recess 11 at the axially inner end portion of the adjacent recess 11. A snap ring 15 is inserted into the adjacent recess 11, fitted into the inner groove 14 and engaged with the insert 8 so that the insert 8 should be fixed to the receiving recess 11 by the snap ring 15, the outward protrusion 13 and the inner groove 12.
[0018] Furthermore, a tension pin 16 is supported by the heater unit 1 to extend toward the heat seal bar 2 and terminate at a head 17 formed on the tension pin 16. The heat seal bar 2 is manipulated and lifted by hand to be engaged with the heater unit 1 when mounting the heat seal bar 2 on the heater unit 1, so that the tension pin 16 can be inserted into the adjacent recess 11, as shown in FIG. 1(A). The heat seal bar 2 is then manipulated by hand to be moved along the heater unit 1 so that the tension pin 16 can be inserted into the axial groove 9 through the axial opening 10, as shown in FIG. 1(B).
[0019] Moreover, an inward protrusion 18 is formed on the insert 8 to protrude into the axial groove 9 at the axially outer end portion of the insert 8. An actuator is provided at the heater unit 1, the tension pin 16 being pulled and moved axially thereof by the actuator after being inserted into the axial groove 9 so that the head 17 should be engaged with the inward protrusion 18. In the embodiment, the actuator comprises a push lever 19, the tension pin 16 extending through the heater unit 1 so that a guide 20 can be fitted with the tension pin 16 and engaged with the heater unit 1 at the upper surface of the heater unit 1. A slide 21 is disposed above the guide 20 and fitted with the tension pin 16 for movement along the tension pin 16. The slide 21 and the guide 20 are connected to each other by the push lever 19. In addition, the tension pin 16 includes an outer thread formed thereon. A nut 22 is engaged with the tension pin 16 threadedly to be engaged with the slide 21.
[0020] The push lever 19 comprises a pair of links connected to each other by a center pin 23 so that the push lever 19 can be swung and bent about the center pin 23. The push lever 19 is bent into a position of FIG. 1(A) and held and locked at the position by the center pin 23. It should therefore be understood that the tension pin 16 is supported by the heater unit 1, the guide 20, the push lever 19, the slide 21 and the nut 22. The tension pin 16 and the head 17 can be moved by rotating the nut 22 for adjustment of height.
[0021] The push lever 19 is then pushed by hand at the position of the center pin 23 after the tension pin 16 is inserted into the axial groove 9 so that the push lever 19 can be swung about the center pin 23 for elongation. The tension pin 16 is therefore pulled and moved axially thereof and upwardly by the push lever 19, the slide 21 and the nut 22 after being inserted into the axial groove 9 so that the head 17 should be engaged with the inward protrusion 18. The heat seal bar 2 is pulled upwardly by the tension pin 16 and the insert 8 to be pressed against the heater unit 1. In addition, the push lever 19 is bent reversely and slightly about the center pin 23 as shown in FIG. 1(B) and held and looked at the position by the center pin 23. It should therefore be understood that the tension pin 16 and the insert 8 cooperate with each other to mount the heat seal bar 2 on the heater unit 1.
[0022] By contraries, the push lever 19 is pulled by hand at the position of the center pin 23 to be swung and bent about the center pin 23 when removing the heat seal bar 2 from the heater unit 1. The tension pin 16 is therefore moved axially thereof and lowered so that the head 17 can be disengaged from the inward protrusion 18. The push lever 19 is bent into the position of FIG. 1(A) and locked at the position by the center pin 23. The heat seat bar 2 is then manipulated by hand to be moved along the heater unit 1 so that the tension pin 16 can be drawn out of the receiving recess 9 and return to the adjacent recess 11 through the axial opening 10. In addition, the heat seal bar 2 is manipulated and lowered by hand so that the tension pin 16 can be drawn out of the adjacent recess 11 to remove the heat seal bar 2 from the heater unit 1.
[0023] It should be understood that in general, the machine includes more than 4 heat seal bars 2. In addition, a plurality of receiving recesses 7 and adjacent recesses 11 are formed for each of the heat seal bars 2, as shown in FIG. 3. A plurality of tension pins 16 and inserts 8 are used for each of the heat seal bars 2 to mount it.
[0024] In the embodiment, the insert 8 is U-shaped in section so that the axial groove 9 should comprise a semi-circular portion and a straight portion. The inward protrusion 18 is flanged shaped to protrude into the semi-circular portion and the straight portion. The semi-circular portion has a center, the inward protrusion 18 including a tapered surface 24 formed thereon about the center of the semi-circular portion. The tapered surface 24 faces downward and extends through the inward protrusion 18 of semi-circular portion to reach the inward protrusion 18 of straight portion. The tapered surface 24 is therefore formed at an angle of over 180.degree.. In addition, inclined surfaces 25 are formed on the inward protrusion 18 of straight portion. The inclined surfaces 25 face downward to be inclined upward and inward of the straight portion and inclined upward and toward the tapered surface 24. On the other hand, the head 17 is circular-shaped in section to include a tapered surface 26 formed thereon. The tapered surface 26 faces upward. The tapered surfaces 24 and 26 are therefore engaged with each other to center the tension pin 16 and the insert 8 and position the heat seal bar 2 when the tension pin 16 is pulled axially thereof by the push lever 19 and the head 17 is engaged with the inward protrusion 18.
[0025] Accordingly, in the apparatus, it is not required to manipulate bolts by tool when removing each of the heat seal bars 2 and mounting it again. The push lever 19 can make the tension pin 16 moved axially thereof to mount and remove the heat seal bar 2. The apparatus can therefore mount and remove the heat seal bar 2 without difficulty and without taking time and labor. Even if the heat seal bar 2 is kept being heated at a high temperature, the apparatus does not take time for removing the heat seal bar 2, not to make the work serious.
[0026] In addition, the apparatus can make the heat seal bar 2 formed of aluminum without problem. The heat seal bar 2 is reinforced by the insert 8 not to be damaged by stress when mounting.
[0027] It should be understood that the actuator not always comprises the push lever 19. The actuator may comprise a cylinder, a servo motor or a linear solenoid valve by which the tension pin 16 is pulled and moved. The actuator may comprise some others.
[0028] A spring 27 may be interposed between the slide 21 and the nut 22 about the tension pin 16, as shown in FIG. 4. In this case, the spring 27 exerts action on the nut 22, the tension pin 16 and the head 17 so that the head 17 can be engaged with the inward protrusion 18 reliably when the tension pin 16 is pulled axially thereof by the push lever 19.
[0029] The receiving recess 7 may comprise a hole including an inner thread formed therein, as shown in FIG. 5(A). The insert 8 includes an outer thread formed thereon. The insert 8 is engaged with the hole threadedly to be fixed to the hole by the inner and outer threads. In addition, the heat seal bar 2 and the insert 2 include a hole 28 formed therein so that a pin 29 can be fitted into the holes 28 to keep the insert 8 from rotating. Other features are the same as the embodiments of FIGS. 1 and 4.
However, Totani does not disclose the full limitation of a biasing member disposed between the heater and the slider to bias the slider towards a bottom surface of the guide recess; or a fluid supply unit configured to supply fluid to the guide recess and stop supplying the fluid, wherein the fluid supply unit is configured to supply the fluid to the guide recess to slide the slider together with the rod against the biasing member towards the heater.
However, Irwin makes obvious an arrangement utilizing the full limitation of a biasing member (springs 106, 107) disposed between the heater and the slider to bias the slider towards a bottom surface of the guide recess; as well as a fluid supply unit configured to supply fluid to the guide recess and stop supplying the fluid, wherein the fluid supply unit (pneumatic manifold 132) is configured to supply the fluid to the guide recess to slide the slider together with the rod against the biasing member towards the heater. See Figure 3, below:
See also paragraph 0059-62, 0069 and 0095, disclosing:
[0059] Upper seal bar assembly 88 also includes a pair of vertical die posts 92 and. 94, at opposite ends. Springs 106 and 107 are provided along each die post 92 and 94, respectively. Functioning of these springs will be described below with reference to FIG. 4. Additionally, a pneumatic manifold 132 is supported atop cross-member 130 for receiving a supply of compressed air (not shown) which is used to drive movement of certain machine components and to provide for cooling air relating to other components in the machine, as described below in greater detail. Accordingly, FIG. 3 depicts components of seal bar assembly 36 used in heat-sealing and severing a folded web of thermoformable plastic material.
[0060] FIG. 4 illustrates in an exploded perspective view the construction of upper seal bar assembly 88 and lower seal bar assembly 90 that cooperate to form seal bar assembly 36. More particularly, upper seal bar assembly 88 includes a pair of upper clamp plates 114 and 116 that are supported on either side of seal bar assembly 110.
[0061] As shown in FIG. 4, clamp plates 114 and 118 are secured at either end to mounting blocks 180 and 182, respectively, using threaded fasteners. Springs 106 and 107 downwardly depress mounting blocks 180 and 182 and respective clamping plates 114 and 116 to a maximum downward position relative to seal bar assembly 110. However, clamping collars 109 on die posts 92 and 94 limit the maximum downward position. As clamp plates 114 and 116 engage with a complementary, corresponding set of lower clamp plates 118 and 120, springs 106 and 108 each compress, enabling further downward displacement of seal bar assembly 110 relative to a seal bar substrate assembly 112 as plates 114 and 116 stop moving.
[0062] Seal bar assembly 110 includes a seal bar 194 that is heated with a pair of opposed and axially aligned heater rods 186 that deliver heat via electrical resistance. Seal bar 194 is heated to a temperature sufficient to seal and sever a folded web of thermoformable plastic material as it is compressed between a leading nip edge of seal bar 194 and a pneumatically inflated tube 200 of seal bar substrate assembly 112.
…
[0069] According to one construction, manifold 132 receives a supply of pressurized air from an outlet end of resilient tube 200 of seal bar substrate assembly 112. According to such construction, a supply of pressurized air is received from a supply line of a compressor system at an inlet 206 to tube 200. The compressed air originates from a storage tank of a compressor. The air is dropped in pressure using a pressure regulator to a desired pressure, which cools the air. A pressure regulator 29 (of FIG. 1) is used to locally set pressure for the air to maintain a certain, desired pressure and rigidity within tube 200, after which the air exits via outlet 208 where it is supplied to manifold 132 for delivery and cooling of seals 146 and 147 via orifices 179. Flow of pressurized air is received from outlet 208 to manifold 132 via a flexible pneumatic line (not shown).
…
[0095] FIG. 9 illustrates the further movement together between upper seal bar assembly 88 and lower seal bar assembly 90. More particularly, seals 146, 147 and 148, 149, respectively, remain engaged as clamp plates 114, 116 and 118, 120 remain engaged together through the force of springs 106 and 107 (see FIG. 3). Such springs enable retraction of plates 114 and 116, while such plates maintain contact with plates 118 and 120, respectively, and while also enabling further downward displacement of seal bar 194.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of a biasing member disposed between the heater and the slider to bias the slider towards a bottom surface of the guide recess; and a fluid supply unit configured to supply fluid to the guide recess and stop supplying the fluid, wherein the fluid supply unit is configured to supply the fluid to the guide recess to slide the slider together with the rod against the biasing member towards the heater as suggested by Irwin in order to maintain retraction and contact and displacement via the springs and to locally set and maintain a certain, desired pressure and rigidity of pressure.
As to claim 15, Totani does not disclose wherein a flow channel hole is formed in the support to be in communication with the guide recess at the bottom surface of the guide recess, and wherein the fluid supply unit is configured to supply the fluid to the guide recess through the flow channel hole.
However, Irwin as incorporated discloses and makes obvious wherein a flow channel hole is formed in the support to be in communication with the guide recess at the bottom surface of the guide recess, and wherein the fluid supply unit is configured to supply the fluid to the guide recess through the flow channel hole. See especially paragraphs 0065-69, disclosing:
[0065] Upper clamp plates 114 and 116 each include an air manifold comprising an array of channels, or grooves, 226 (see FIG. 7) which are encased by a thin, stainless steel cover plate, such as cover plate 178 on clamp plate 114. The channels extend through each clamp plate 114 and 116 from a manifold 170 and 172 that is secured in sealing engagement with an inner surface of each upper clamp plate 114 and 116. A bore is provided through each plate 114 and 116 to deliver a supply of compressed air through each plate 114 or 116 to an outer surface that is beneath fastening plate 174 and 176, respectively, and communicating with the manifold.
[0066] Plates 174 and 176 mount atop cover plate 178, and the through-bore communicates with an array of channels on the outer surface of each plate 114 and 116 that radiate out to orifices 179 that feed a flow of cooling air beneath cover plate 178 to emit air, under pressure, from a plurality of the orifices, or apertures, 179 provided along a bottom edge of cover plate 178. The channels forming the manifold can be laser cut into clamp plates 114 and 116 when clamp plates 114 and 116 are fabricated from aluminum plates (see channel 226 in FIG. 7).
[0067] Orifices 179 comprise slits that are cut into a bottom edge of cover plate 178. Orifices 179 are spaced along a bottom edge length of cover plate 178, adjacent a bottom edge of each clamp plate 114 and 116 so as to direct cooling air from orifices 179 adjacent and along a longitudinal seal 146 and 147 (made of rubber, O-ring-type material) that is provided on a bottom edge surface of each clamp plate 114 and 116, respectively. Hence, a supply of cooling air is received from a manifold 132 atop manifold cross-member 130 (via a flexible pneumatic hose) into each manifold 170 and 172 for delivery to orifices 179 to cool the rubber seals 146 and 147 of O-ring-type material. Hence, such seals are cooled and protected from being overheated because of their proximity to the heated seal bar 94 of seal bar assembly 110.
[0068] In one case, stainless steel cover plates 178 receive a bead of RTV silicone on their inner surface, prior to engaging against an outer surface of each cover plate 146 and 147 so as to prevent leaking of air between cover plate 178 and the respective clamp plates 146 and 147. Accordingly, pressurized air is only emitted from the resulting manifold via orifices 179.
[0069] According to one construction, manifold 132 receives a supply of pressurized air from an outlet end of resilient tube 200 of seal bar substrate assembly 112. According to such construction, a supply of pressurized air is received from a supply line of a compressor system at an inlet 206 to tube 200. The compressed air originates from a storage tank of a compressor. The air is dropped in pressure using a pressure regulator to a desired pressure, which cools the air. A pressure regulator 29 (of FIG. 1) is used to locally set pressure for the air to maintain a certain, desired pressure and rigidity within tube 200, after which the air exits via outlet 208 where it is supplied to manifold 132 for delivery and cooling of seals 146 and 147 via orifices 179. Flow of pressurized air is received from outlet 208 to manifold 132 via a flexible pneumatic line (not shown).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein a flow channel hole is formed in the support to be in communication with the guide recess at the bottom surface of the guide recess, and wherein the fluid supply unit is configured to supply the fluid to the guide recess through the flow channel hole as suggested by Irwin in order to locally set and maintain a certain, desired pressure and rigidity of pressure.
As to claim 16, Totani does not disclose wherein the fluid supply unit comprises: a tube connected to the flow channel hole; and a fluid supplier connected to the tube to supply the fluid to the guide recess through the tube and the flow channel hole.
However, Irwin discloses wherein the fluid supply unit comprises: a tube (such as a “channels”) connected to the flow channel hole; and a fluid supplier (such as pneumatic cylinders) connected to the tube to supply the fluid to the guide recess through the tube and the flow channel hole. See paragraphs 0065-69, cited above. See also paragraph 0081, below:
[0081] In order to raise and lower tube 200 and mount bar 198 during a sealing and severing operation to form bag edges, an extension line 222 delivers a supply of pressurized air to extend pneumatic cylinders 102-104 and a retraction line 224 delivers pressurized air to cylinders 102-104 to retract or lower pneumatic cylinders 102-104. In one case, a flexible pneumatic line delivers the pressurized air from outlet fitting 208 back up to upper manifold 132 (of FIG. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the fluid supply unit comprises: a tube connected to the flow channel hole; and a fluid supplier connected to the tube to supply the fluid to the guide recess through the tube and the flow channel hole as suggested by Irwin in order to locally set and maintain a certain, desired pressure and rigidity of pressure.
As to claim 17, Totani does not disclose the fluid supplier is an air cylinder configured to supply air as the fluid.
However, Irwin discloses that the fluid supplier is an air cylinder (“pneumatic cylinders”) configured to supply air as the fluid. See paragraphs 0065-69, cited above. See also paragraph 0081, below:
[0081] In order to raise and lower tube 200 and mount bar 198 during a sealing and severing operation to form bag edges, an extension line 222 delivers a supply of pressurized air to extend pneumatic cylinders 102-104 and a retraction line 224 delivers pressurized air to cylinders 102-104 to retract or lower pneumatic cylinders 102-104. In one case, a flexible pneumatic line delivers the pressurized air from outlet fitting 208 back up to upper manifold 132 (of FIG. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the fluid supplier is an air cylinder configured to supply air as the fluid as suggested by Irwin in order to locally set and maintain a certain, desired pressure and rigidity of pressure.
Claim(s) 12-14 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Totani (US 20130059710 A1) in view of Irwin (US 20040256373 A1) as applied to claims 11 and 15-17 above, and further in view of Anderson (US 20180057198 A1).
As to claim 12, Totani does not disclose wherein the rod has a protrusion at the second end, the protrusion extending in a radial direction of the rod, wherein the slider comprises a stopper at an opening of the receiving recess, and wherein the heat seal bar attachment device further comprises an additional biasing member disposed in the receiving recess to bias the protrusion for engaging the protrusion with the stopper.
However, Anderson makes obvious wherein the rod has a protrusion at the second end, the protrusion extending in a radial direction of the rod, wherein the slider (bar 82, sliding on slide rails 58 and 62) comprises a stopper (stoppers 90 and 110) at an opening of the receiving recess, and wherein the heat seal bar attachment device further comprises an additional biasing member (first bumper 86) disposed in the receiving recess to bias the protrusion for engaging the protrusion with the stopper. See especially Figure 3, below:
See also paragraphs 00-26, disclosing:
[0022] With continued reference to FIG. 3, the product detection system 10 further includes a first detector bar 82. The first detector bar 82 is coupled (e.g., fixed) to ends of both the first slide rail 58 and the second slide rail 62. In the illustrated construction the first detector bar 82 is elongate and generally rectangular, although other constructions include different shapes than that illustrated. The first detector bar 82 includes at least one first bumper 86 and at least one first stopper 90. In the illustrated construction the first detector bar 82 includes a single first bumper 86 that is a thin elongate rubber structure that extends generally perpendicularly from a first side 94 of the first detector bar 82. In the illustrated construction the first detector bar 82 includes two first stoppers 90 that are each cylindrical metal structures that extend generally perpendicularly from the first side 94 of the first detector bar 82. The two first stoppers 90 are located on opposite ends of the first detector bar 82, although other constructions include different locations for the first stoppers 90, as well as different materials and shapes than that illustrated. As illustrated in FIG. 3, the first detector bar 82 further includes a second side 98 opposite the first side 94. In the illustrated construction the first slide rail 58 and the second slide rail 62 are coupled to the first detector bar 82 on the second side 98.
[0023] With continued reference to FIG. 3, the product detection system 10 further includes a second detector bar 102. The second detector bar 102 is coupled (e.g., fixed) to ends of both the third slide rail 66 and the fourth slide rail 70. In the illustrated construction the second detector bar 102 is elongate and generally rectangular, although other constructions include different shapes than that illustrated. The second detector bar 102 includes at least one second bumper 106 and at least one second stopper 110. In the illustrated construction the second detector bar 102 includes a single second bumper 106 that is a thin elongate rubber structure that extends generally perpendicularly from a first side 114 of the second detector bar 102. In the illustrated construction the second detector bar 102 includes two second stoppers 110 that are each cylindrical metal structures that extend generally perpendicularly from the first side 114 of the second detector bar 102. The two second stoppers 110 are located on opposite ends of the second detector bar 102, although other constructions include different locations for the second stoppers 110, as well as different materials and shapes than that illustrated. As illustrated in FIG. 3, the second detector bar 102 further includes a second side 118 opposite the first side 114. In the illustrated construction the third slide rail 66 and the fourth slide rail 70 are coupled to the second detector bar 102 on the second side 118.
[0024] With continued reference to FIG. 3, the first side 94 of the first detector bar 82 faces the first side 114 of the second detector bar 102. The first bumper 86 of the first detector bar 82 is aligned with and directly faces the second bumper 106 of the second detector bar 102, and the first stoppers 90 of the first detector bar 82 are aligned with and directly face the second stoppers 110 of the second detector bar 102. As illustrated in FIGS. 4-10, when the product detection system 10 is coupled to the sealing machine 22 the first detector bar 82 is positioned below and adjacent the first sealing jaw 26, and the second detector bar 102 is positioned below and adjacent the second sealing jaw 30.
[0025] In the illustrated construction the product detection system 10 is oriented generally horizontally, such that the first detector bar 82 and the second detector bar 102 travel horizontally underneath the first sealing jaw 26 and the second sealing jaw 30. However, in other constructions the product detection system 10 may be oriented vertically, or at any other angle.
[0026] With continued reference to FIG. 3, the product detection system 10 further includes a first linear actuator 122. The first linear actuator 122 is coupled to the first detector bar 82, to generate linear movement of the first detector bar 82 along the common axes 74, 78 when activated. In the illustrated construction the first linear actuator 122 is an air cylinder that includes a first housing 126 that is fixed via at least one fastener 128 to the first frame piece 14, and a first moving member 130 (e.g., a rod) that is coupled to both the housing 126 and the first detector bar 82. When the first linear actuator 122 is actuated, the first detector bar 82 is driven linearly relative to the first frame piece 14 along the common axes 74, 78. Other constructions include different types of actuators than a pneumatic first linear actuator 122. For example, in some constructions the first linear actuator 122 is a hydraulic actuator, or a servo driven linear actuator.
…
[0042] The overall product detection system 10 thus acts as a live monitoring system to check for and detect mis-aligned products, and to safely shut down the sealing machine 22 in the event of a mis-aligned product. In the illustrated construction, the sealing jaws 26, 30 can close within about a 250 millisecond period, although other construction include different values and ranges. The live monitoring system can sense the bounce-back displacement of the second detector bar 102, via displacement observed by the linear encoder 158, and stop movement of the sealing jaws 26, 30 within about a 5-10 millisecond period to provide the rapid response needed for preventing damage to the product. In other constructions include different values and ranges of time for stopping movement of the sealing jaws 26, 30.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the rod has a protrusion at the second end, the protrusion extending in a radial direction of the rod, wherein the slider comprises a stopper at an opening of the receiving recess, and wherein the heat seal bar attachment device further comprises an additional biasing member disposed in the receiving recess to bias the protrusion for engaging the protrusion with the stopper as suggested by Anderson in order to acts as a live monitoring system to check for and detect mis-aligned products.
As to claim 13, Totani does not disclose wherein the protrusion is flange-shaped and has a convex spherical surface, wherein the stopper is annular-shaped and has a concave spherical surface complementary to the convex spherical surface, and wherein the convex spherical surface and the concave spherical surface are in surface contact with each other when the protrusion is engaged with the stopper by the additional biasing member.
However, Anderson discloses the use of protrusions and stoppers. See the citations above in claim 12. Additionally, changes in size and shape is often obvious, and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein the protrusion is flange-shaped and has a convex spherical surface, wherein the stopper is annular-shaped and has a concave spherical surface complementary to the convex spherical surface, and wherein the convex spherical surface and the concave spherical surface are in surface contact with each other when the protrusion is engaged with the stopper by the additional biasing member would have been an obvious changes in size and shape, and rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the stoppers and protrusions of Anderson with an arrangement wherein the protrusion is flange-shaped and has a convex spherical surface, wherein the stopper is annular-shaped and has a concave spherical surface complementary to the convex spherical surface, and wherein the convex spherical surface and the concave spherical surface are in surface contact with each other when the protrusion is engaged with the stopper by the additional biasing member would have been an obvious changes in size and shape, and rearrangement of parts of Anderson.
As to claim 14, Totani does not disclose wherein the biasing member and the additional biasing member are springs
Totani discloses using a spring (spring 27), and Irwin also discloses using springs (such as springs 106 and 107). Therefore, Totani and Irwin as combined would make obvious wherein the biasing member and the additional biasing member are springs.
Additionally, duplication of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the biasing member and the additional biasing member are springs such as the combination of the springs of in Totani and Irwin as an obvious duplication of the parts.
As to claim 19, Totani does not disclose wherein the heat seal bar attachment device is configured to bring the heat seal bar into close contact with a first surface of the heater when the heat seal bar is attached to the heater, the heater having an injection hole as a through hole extending between the first surface and a second surface different from the first surface, wherein the heat seal bar attachment device further comprises: a tubular member defining a flow channel which is in communication with the injection hole at the second surface; an air injector configured to inject air through the flow channel into the injection hole; a pressure sensor for detecting air pressure in the flow channel; and a determination part configured to determine whether or not the heat seal bar is in close contact with the first surface based on the air pressure measured by the pressure sensor.
However, Irwin discloses wherein the heat seal bar attachment device is configured to bring the heat seal bar into close contact with a first surface of the heater when the heat seal bar is attached to the heater, the heater having an injection hole as a through hole extending between the first surface and a second surface different from the first surface, wherein the heat seal bar attachment device further comprises: a tubular member (“a flexible pneumatic line (not shown)”) defining a flow channel which is in communication with the injection hole at the second surface; an air injector (“compressor system”) configured to inject air through the flow channel into the injection hole; a pressure sensor (“pressure regulator 29”) for detecting air pressure in the flow channel. See especially paragraph 0069, cited above, and reprinted below, which recites that:
[0069] According to one construction, manifold 132 receives a supply of pressurized air from an outlet end of resilient tube 200 of seal bar substrate assembly 112. According to such construction, a supply of pressurized air is received from a supply line of a compressor system at an inlet 206 to tube 200. The compressed air originates from a storage tank of a compressor. The air is dropped in pressure using a pressure regulator to a desired pressure, which cools the air. A pressure regulator 29 (of FIG. 1) is used to locally set pressure for the air to maintain a certain, desired pressure and rigidity within tube 200, after which the air exits via outlet 208 where it is supplied to manifold 132 for delivery and cooling of seals 146 and 147 via orifices 179. Flow of pressurized air is received from outlet 208 to manifold 132 via a flexible pneumatic line (not shown).
See also paragraph 0080, which recites:
[0080] In one case, the supply of pressurized air is regulated using regulator 29 (of FIG. 1) which regulates pressure from a pneumatic shop line for delivery to inlet 206 (or to a control manifold (not shown)). A user can merely adjust the pressure setting at regulator 29 to realize a desired value.
Additionally, Anderson discloses wherein the heat seal bar attachment device is configured to bring the heat seal bar into close contact with a first surface of the heater when the heat seal bar is attached to the heater, the heater having an injection hole as a through hole extending between the first surface and a second surface different from the first surface, wherein the heat seal bar attachment device further comprises: a pressure sensor (“low pressure variable regulator 150”) for detecting air pressure in the flow channel; and a determination part (“the controller 186 is a computer”) configured to determine whether or not the heat seal bar is in close contact with the first surface based on the air pressure measured by the pressure sensor. See especially Anderson, paragraph 0028:
[0028] With reference to FIG. 2, the product detection system 10 further includes a control module 146 that controls forces and/or pressures in the first linear actuator 122 and the second linear actuator 134. In the illustrated construction the control module 146 includes a low pressure variable regulator 150 and a switch valve 154, although other constructions include different regulators and/or valves.
[0029] With reference to FIG. 3, the product detection system 10 further includes an encoder 158 coupled to the second detector bar 102. In the illustrated construction the encoder is a linear encoder. The linear encoder 158 includes a main housing 162. In some constructions the main housing 162 is coupled to (e.g., fixed) the second frame piece 18. In other constructions the main housing 162 is fixed to another structure. The linear encoder 158 further includes a shaft 166 that extends from the main housing 162 and is movable linearly relative to the main housing 162. As illustrated in FIG. 3, the second detector bar 102 includes a slot 170 that receives an end of the shaft 166. A fastener (e.g., bolt) 174 passes into the slot 170 and secures the end of the shaft 166 within the slot 170.
[0030] With continued reference to FIG. 3, the main housing 162 includes an aperture 178 along a bottom of the main housing 162. A cable 182 is positioned within the main housing 162 and is exposed and accessible through the aperture 178. The cable 182 is coupled to a controller 186 (illustrated schematically). In some constructions the controller 186 is a computer. The linear encoder 158 measures displacement of the shaft 166 relative to the main housing 162. In some constructions the controller 186 includes software that calculates and/or displays displacements of the shaft 166, based on one or more signals from the linear encoder 158. In some constructions the controller 186 (or a different controller) controls the control module 146, and/or the forces and/or pressures in the first linear actuator 122 and the second linear actuator 134.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the heat seal bar attachment device is configured to bring the heat seal bar into close contact with a first surface of the heater when the heat seal bar is attached to the heater, the heater having an injection hole as a through hole extending between the first surface and a second surface different from the first surface, wherein the heat seal bar attachment device further comprises: a tubular member defining a flow channel which is in communication with the injection hole at the second surface; an air injector configured to inject air through the flow channel into the injection hole; a pressure sensor for detecting air pressure in the flow channel; and a determination part configured to determine whether or not the heat seal bar is in close contact with the first surface based on the air pressure measured by the pressure sensor as suggested by the combination of Irwin and Anderson in order to achieve control over the operating pressure on the heat seal bar attachment device
As to claim 20, Totani does not disclose wherein the determination part is configured to determine: that the heat seal bar is in close contact with the heater, when the pressure sensor detects pressure exceeding a threshold value during injection of the air into the injection hole; and that the heat seal bar is not in close contact with the heater, when the pressure sensor does not detect air pressure exceeding the threshold value during the injection of the air into the injection hole.
However, Irwin makes obvious wherein the determination part is configured to determine: that the heat seal bar is in close contact with the heater, when the pressure sensor (pressure regulator) detects pressure exceeding a threshold value during injection of the air into the injection hole; and that the heat seal bar is not in close contact with the heater, when the pressure sensor does not detect air pressure exceeding the threshold value (“a desired value”) during the injection of the air into the injection hole. See especially paragraph 0069, cited above, and reprinted below, which recites that:
[0069] According to one construction, manifold 132 receives a supply of pressurized air from an outlet end of resilient tube 200 of seal bar substrate assembly 112. According to such construction, a supply of pressurized air is received from a supply line of a compressor system at an inlet 206 to tube 200. The compressed air originates from a storage tank of a compressor. The air is dropped in pressure using a pressure regulator to a desired pressure, which cools the air. A pressure regulator 29 (of FIG. 1) is used to locally set pressure for the air to maintain a certain, desired pressure and rigidity within tube 200, after which the air exits via outlet 208 where it is supplied to manifold 132 for delivery and cooling of seals 146 and 147 via orifices 179. Flow of pressurized air is received from outlet 208 to manifold 132 via a flexible pneumatic line (not shown).
See also paragraph 0080, which recites:
[0080] In one case, the supply of pressurized air is regulated using regulator 29 (of FIG. 1) which regulates pressure from a pneumatic shop line for delivery to inlet 206 (or to a control manifold (not shown)). A user can merely adjust the pressure setting at regulator 29 to realize a desired value.
Additionally, Anderson makes obvious wherein the determination part is configured to determine: that the heat seal bar is in close contact with the heater, when the pressure sensor detects pressure exceeding a threshold value during injection of the air into the injection hole; and that the heat seal bar is not in close contact with the heater, when the pressure sensor does not detect air pressure exceeding the threshold value during the injection of the air into the injection hole.. See especially Anderson, paragraph 0028:
[0028] With reference to FIG. 2, the product detection system 10 further includes a control module 146 that controls forces and/or pressures in the first linear actuator 122 and the second linear actuator 134. In the illustrated construction the control module 146 includes a low pressure variable regulator 150 and a switch valve 154, although other constructions include different regulators and/or valves.
[0029] With reference to FIG. 3, the product detection system 10 further includes an encoder 158 coupled to the second detector bar 102. In the illustrated construction the encoder is a linear encoder. The linear encoder 158 includes a main housing 162. In some constructions the main housing 162 is coupled to (e.g., fixed) the second frame piece 18. In other constructions the main housing 162 is fixed to another structure. The linear encoder 158 further includes a shaft 166 that extends from the main housing 162 and is movable linearly relative to the main housing 162. As illustrated in FIG. 3, the second detector bar 102 includes a slot 170 that receives an end of the shaft 166. A fastener (e.g., bolt) 174 passes into the slot 170 and secures the end of the shaft 166 within the slot 170.
[0030] With continued reference to FIG. 3, the main housing 162 includes an aperture 178 along a bottom of the main housing 162. A cable 182 is positioned within the main housing 162 and is exposed and accessible through the aperture 178. The cable 182 is coupled to a controller 186 (illustrated schematically). In some constructions the controller 186 is a computer. The linear encoder 158 measures displacement of the shaft 166 relative to the main housing 162. In some constructions the controller 186 includes software that calculates and/or displays displacements of the shaft 166, based on one or more signals from the linear encoder 158. In some constructions the controller 186 (or a different controller) controls the control module 146, and/or the forces and/or pressures in the first linear actuator 122 and the second linear actuator 134.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the determination part is configured to determine: that the heat seal bar is in close contact with the heater, when the pressure sensor detects pressure exceeding a threshold value during injection of the air into the injection hole; and that the heat seal bar is not in close contact with the heater, when the pressure sensor does not detect air pressure exceeding the threshold value during the injection of the air into the injection hole as suggested by the combination of Irwin and Anderson in order to achieve control over the operating pressure on the heat seal bar attachment device
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Totani (US 20130059710 A1) in view of Irwin (US 20040256373 A1) as applied to claims 11 and 15-17 above, and further in view of Kovacs (US 5377474 A)
As to claim 18, Totani does not disclose further comprising a user interface, wherein the fluid supply unit is configured to switch supply of the fluid and stop of the supply in response to an input through the user interface.
However, Kovacs makes obvious further comprising a user interface, wherein the fluid supply unit is configured to switch supply of the fluid and stop of the supply in response to an input through the user interface.
See Figure 34, disclosing:
See also column 14, line 66, disclosing:
The controller 500 shown in FIG. 34 controls the operation of the form, fill and seal packaging apparatus described above. The controller 500 is programmable for controlling the packaging apparatus according to fixed and variable parameters. Controller 500 may be a Bam-432 Machine Controller sold by Berkeley Process Control, Inc. using an Opto-22 Pamux interface. The Dam-432 Controller is a self-contained processor which handles motion control and input/output functions. It includes two serial communication ports for communication with other data collection systems and for the connection of a user interface such as a panelmaker touch screen 502. The user interface 502 provides a display and a touch screen for inputting data and other operating parameters and for receiving data regarding operating conditions. The Bam-432 controller also includes a number of dedicated input terminals and industrial input/output terminals. The dedicated input terminals are handled by controller interrupts and provide fast response for motion control commands. The industrial I/O terminals provide slower response times and are used to interface elements such as solenoid valves, pilot lights, and proximity switches where fast response time is not required. The Bam-432 controller includes an interface for driving up to sixteen quad pack I/O racks. Each rack is assigned a unique address ranging from 0 to 15 for a total of 512 I/O points for the system. The first 16 inputs can be used on an interrupt basis.
See also column 17, line 54, disclosing:
Operation of the platen cylinder C1, stager cylinder C2, knife cylinder C3, pancake cylinders C4 and stripper cylinders C5 and C6 is controlled by controller 500 through solenoid actuated valves V1 through V6, respectively. Controller 500 functions to actuate valve V1 to actuate cylinder C1 to move the platen 177 into sealing engagement with margin 11 of the web W in the tubing T on the mandrel 13, to hold the platen in sealing engagement with margin 11 for a predetermined time interval during the dwell of the tubing. The platen, heated by heater 181 therein, effects heat-sealing together of margins 11 and 9 to form the longitudinal seam for the tubing. The valve is deactivated at the end of the-platen sealing step deactuate cylinder C1 and retract the platen. The temperature of sealing is sensed by a temperature sensor 532. Controller 500 adjusts the temperature of the platen to maintain the sensed temperature near a preset temperature value input through user interface 502.
See also column 18, line 22, disclosing:
One example of the timing that may be programmed into controller 500 for controlling all of the above operations during a machine cycle is shown in FIG. 36. This timing is calculated by controller 500 from parameters input through user interface 502. The input parameters include package length, cycle rate, and sealing time for jaws J1, J2. Controller 500 calculates the period of time for one machine cycle from the cycle rate parameter and subtracts the parameter for sealing time. Controller 500 further subtracts additional time for the time required to open and close sealing jaws J1 and J2. Controller 500 then allocates the remaining time between the pull time for measuring roll 19 and pull belts 133 to feed forward a package length of material and a pull delay time period which immediately precedes the pull. Additional time may be required for staging and shaking. Controller 500 then calculates the acceleration and deceleration of the web required to complete the pull within the allocated pull time. Accordingly, the sealing time for a cycle is independent of the cycle rate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising a user interface, wherein the fluid supply unit is configured to switch supply of the fluid and stop of the supply in response to an input through the user interface as taught by in Kovacs order to achieve operation and timing control of the parameters such as the cylinders.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK