DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Wang and Wenger does not explicitly teach a single NAL packetization mode, wherein the transmission packet comprises a slice of one subpicture; an aggregation packet mode, wherein the transmission packet comprises an aggregation packet for each subpicture or the aggregation packet comprises multiple subpictures; or a fragmentation packet mode, wherein the subpicture header is included to a first fragmentation unit.
Wenger teaches that in the VVC RTP payload format, three different types of RTP packet payload structures are specified. A receiver can identify the type of an RTP packet payload through the Type field in the payload header. Single NAL unit packet contains a single NAL unit in the payload, and the NAL unit header of the NAL unit also serves as the payload header. Aggregation Packet (AP) contains more than one NAL unit within one access unit, and are not further described herein. Fragmentation Packets contain a Fragmentation Unit (FU) that in turn contains a subset of a single NAL unit. Fragmentation Units (FUs) enable fragmenting a single NAL unit into multiple RTP packets. A fragment of a NAL unit may be composed of an integer number of consecutive octets of the NAL unit. Fragments of the same NAL unit may be transmitted in consecutive order with ascending RTP sequence numbers. When a NAL unit is fragmented and conveyed within FUs, it is referred to as a fragmented NAL unit. [0040] – [0041].
In an embodiment, a method for packetization by a packetizer of a NAL unit into a plurality of RTP packets in accordance with at least one RTP payload specification, may include splitting the NAL unit into a plurality of fragments; packetizing each fragment into an RTP packet including an FU header, the FU header including an R bit. In an embodiment, the R bit may be set by the packetizer if the NAL unit is the last NAL unit of a coded picture, and otherwise cleared. [0054].
FIG. 8 is a flowchart is an example process 800 for packetizing a plurality of NAL units of a picture using at least one processor. In some implementations, one or more process blocks of FIG. 8 may be performed by, for example, the packetizer or de-packetizer discussed above. In some implementations, one or more process blocks of FIG. 8 may be performed by another device or a group of devices, for example the endpoints and MANEs discussed above. As shown in FIG. 8, process 800 may include obtaining the plurality of NAL units, including a first NAL unit of the picture and a last NAL unit of the picture (block 810). As further shown in FIG. 8, process 800 may include splitting the first NAL unit of the picture into a first plurality of fragments and splitting the last NAL unit of the picture into a last plurality of fragments (block 820). As further shown in FIG. 8, process 800 may include packetizing the first plurality of fragments into a first plurality of fragmentation unit (FU) packets and packetizing the last plurality of fragments in to a last plurality of FU packets. In embodiments, a last FU packet of the last plurality of FU packets may include a last FU header including a last R bit, and the last R bit may be set, for example set to 1 (block 830). As further shown in FIG. 8, process 800 may include transmitting the first plurality of FU packets and the last plurality of FU packets (block 840). In an embodiment, the first plurality of FU packets and the last plurality of FU packets may include real-time transport protocol (RTP) packets. In an embodiment, a first FU packet of the first plurality of FU packets may include a first FU header including a first R bit, and the first R bit may be set to 0. In an embodiment, a first FU packet of the first plurality of FU packets may include a first FU header including a first S bit, and the last FU header may include a last S bit. In an embodiment, the first S bit may be set to 1, and the last S bit may be set to 0. In an embodiment, the plurality of NAL units may include a middle NAL unit between the first NAL unit and the last NAL unit, the middle NAL unit may be split into a middle plurality of fragments, and the middle plurality of fragments may be packetized into a middle plurality of FU packets. In an embodiment, a first FU packet of the first plurality of FU packets may include a first FU header including a first E bit, a last FU packet of the middle plurality of FU packets may include a middle FU header including a middle E bit, and the last FU header may include a last E bit. In an embodiment, the first E bit may be set to 0, wherein the middle E bit may be set to 1, and the last E bit may be set to 0. [0056] – [0067]. See also Fig. 8.
To further clarify, Wenger teaches that RTP follows the general approach of application layer framing, and hence the adaptation to certain payloads, such as coded video formats specified according to certain video coding standards, can be specified by helper specifications outside of the main RTP specification known as RTP payload formats. Certain RTP payload formats re-use the bits of the Network Abstraction Header, as present in certain video coding standards such as H.264 or H.265, as their payload header. In such RTP payload formats and video coding standards, a Network Abstraction Layer Unit (NAL unit or NALU) can be a bitstring of finite size, covering one coded picture or a well-defined part thereof, such as, for example, a slice, tile, GOB, and so forth. The bitstring can include, at its beginning, a comparatively short data structure of, for example 8 or 16 bits in length, that contains minimal information related to the type of the bitstring included and, in some scenarios, layering information. [0027] – [0028].
In the same or another embodiment, the RTP packet can further include an RTP payload header (302). The RTP payload header format can be specified, for example, in the RTP payload specification applicable for a given payload. A given payload can be, for example video coded in accordance with the VVC specification, also known as ITU-T Rec. H.266. The purpose of an RTP payload header can be include, for example: a) provide control information related to the payload and useful for the depacketizer, jitter buffer management, and so forth, to the extent it is not available in the RTP header (301) and/or not available or not easily obtainable from the payload (303) itself. For example, the payload (303) may be coded using complex variable length codes, arithmetic codecs, and so forth, that may be adequate for decoding purposes but too heavyweight for a depacketizer located in a MANE; b) provide for additional functionality. Example of the latter include the fragmentation of units of video (such as, for example, codec pictures, coded slices, NAL units, and so forth); aggregation of units of video; redundant copies of certain syntax elements to enable easy access and/or redundancy in case of packet loss, and so forth. [0031] – [0033].
Embodiments may relate to video coded in accordance with the VVC specification, and a corresponding RTP payload format. VVC uses a video bitstream structure based on NAL units. A NAL unit can be a bitstring of coded video bits representing control data—non-Video Coding Layer (VCL-) NAL units—or compressed video data pertaining to a picture, slice, tile, or similar structure (VCL NAL units). According to certain RTP payload formats, one RTP packet can carry in its payload (203) either a single NAL unit (in which case the NAL unit header co-serves as RTP payload format header), multiple NAL units (aggregation packet, which has its own NAL-unit-like structure as the RTP payload header, followed by two or more NAL units), and a fragment of a NAL unit (in which case the RTP payload header is used for control information for the fragmentation, and is followed by the fragment of the NAL unit.). [0035] – [0036].
Claim 17 and 25
Applicant argues that the combination of Wang and Wenger does not explicitly teach generate a transmission packet comprising the subpictures and a packet header; insert a subpicture header into the transmission packet, and transmit the transmission packet to be delivered to a receiver apparatus.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Wenger teaches in the VVC RTP payload format, three different types of RTP packet payload structures are specified. A receiver can identify the type of an RTP packet payload through the Type field in the payload header. Single NAL unit packet contains a single NAL unit in the payload, and the NAL unit header of the NAL unit also serves as the payload header. Aggregation Packet (AP) contains more than one NAL unit within one access unit, and are not further described herein. Fragmentation Packets contain a Fragmentation Unit (FU) that in turn contains a subset of a single NAL unit.
[0041] Fragmentation Units (FUs) enable fragmenting a single NAL unit into multiple RTP packets. A fragment of a NAL unit may be composed of an integer number of consecutive octets of the NAL unit. Fragments of the same NAL unit may be transmitted in consecutive order with ascending RTP sequence numbers. When a NAL unit is fragmented and conveyed within FUs, it is referred to as a fragmented NAL unit. [0040] – [0041].
In an embodiment, a method for packetization by a packetizer of a NAL unit into a plurality of RTP packets in accordance with at least one RTP payload specification, may include splitting the NAL unit into a plurality of fragments; packetizing each fragment into an RTP packet including an FU header, the FU header including an R bit. In an embodiment, the R bit may be set by the packetizer if the NAL unit is the last NAL unit of a coded picture, and otherwise cleared. [0054].
FIG. 8 is a flowchart is an example process 800 for packetizing a plurality of NAL units of a picture using at least one processor. In some implementations, one or more process blocks of FIG. 8 may be performed by, for example, the packetizer or de-packetizer discussed above. In some implementations, one or more process blocks of FIG. 8 may be performed by another device or a group of devices, for example the endpoints and MANEs discussed above. As shown in FIG. 8, process 800 may include obtaining the plurality of NAL units, including a first NAL unit of the picture and a last NAL unit of the picture (block 810). As further shown in FIG. 8, process 800 may include splitting the first NAL unit of the picture into a first plurality of fragments and splitting the last NAL unit of the picture into a last plurality of fragments (block 820). As further shown in FIG. 8, process 800 may include packetizing the first plurality of fragments into a first plurality of fragmentation unit (FU) packets and packetizing the last plurality of fragments in to a last plurality of FU packets. In embodiments, a last FU packet of the last plurality of FU packets may include a last FU header including a last R bit, and the last R bit may be set, for example set to 1 (block 830). As further shown in FIG. 8, process 800 may include transmitting the first plurality of FU packets and the last plurality of FU packets (block 840). In an embodiment, the first plurality of FU packets and the last plurality of FU packets may include real-time transport protocol (RTP) packets. In an embodiment, a first FU packet of the first plurality of FU packets may include a first FU header including a first R bit, and the first R bit may be set to 0. In an embodiment, a first FU packet of the first plurality of FU packets may include a first FU header including a first S bit, and the last FU header may include a last S bit. In an embodiment, the first S bit may be set to 1, and the last S bit may be set to 0. In an embodiment, the plurality of NAL units may include a middle NAL unit between the first NAL unit and the last NAL unit, the middle NAL unit may be split into a middle plurality of fragments, and the middle plurality of fragments may be packetized into a middle plurality of FU packets. In an embodiment, a first FU packet of the first plurality of FU packets may include a first FU header including a first E bit, a last FU packet of the middle plurality of FU packets may include a middle FU header including a middle E bit, and the last FU header may include a last E bit. In an embodiment, the first E bit may be set to 0, wherein the middle E bit may be set to 1, and the last E bit may be set to 0. [0056] – [0067].
Wenger’s FU header is considered to be the subpicture header. As discussed in Wenger, Fragmentation Packets contain a Fragmentation Unit (FU) that in turn contains a subset of a single NAL unit. a method for packetization by a packetizer of a NAL unit into a plurality of RTP packets in accordance with at least one RTP payload specification, may include splitting the NAL unit into a plurality of fragments; packetizing each fragment into an RTP packet including an FU header, the FU header including an R bit. In an embodiment, the R bit may be set by the packetizer if the NAL unit is the last NAL unit of a coded picture. In other words, packetizing includes inserting FU header into a FU packet.
To further clarify, Wenger teaches that RTP follows the general approach of application layer framing, and hence the adaptation to certain payloads, such as coded video formats specified according to certain video coding standards, can be specified by helper specifications outside of the main RTP specification known as RTP payload formats. Certain RTP payload formats re-use the bits of the Network Abstraction Header, as present in certain video coding standards such as H.264 or H.265, as their payload header. In such RTP payload formats and video coding standards, a Network Abstraction Layer Unit (NAL unit or NALU) can be a bitstring of finite size, covering one coded picture or a well-defined part thereof, such as, for example, a slice, tile, GOB, and so forth. The bitstring can include, at its beginning, a comparatively short data structure of, for example 8 or 16 bits in length, that contains minimal information related to the type of the bitstring included and, in some scenarios, layering information. [0027] – [0028].
In the same or another embodiment, the RTP packet can further include an RTP payload header (302). The RTP payload header format can be specified, for example, in the RTP payload specification applicable for a given payload. A given payload can be, for example video coded in accordance with the VVC specification, also known as ITU-T Rec. H.266. The purpose of an RTP payload header can be include, for example: a) provide control information related to the payload and useful for the depacketizer, jitter buffer management, and so forth, to the extent it is not available in the RTP header (301) and/or not available or not easily obtainable from the payload (303) itself. For example, the payload (303) may be coded using complex variable length codes, arithmetic codecs, and so forth, that may be adequate for decoding purposes but too heavyweight for a depacketizer located in a MANE; b) provide for additional functionality. Example of the latter include the fragmentation of units of video (such as, for example, codec pictures, coded slices, NAL units, and so forth); aggregation of units of video; redundant copies of certain syntax elements to enable easy access and/or redundancy in case of packet loss, and so forth. [0031] – [0033].
Embodiments may relate to video coded in accordance with the VVC specification, and a corresponding RTP payload format. VVC uses a video bitstream structure based on NAL units. A NAL unit can be a bitstring of coded video bits representing control data—non-Video Coding Layer (VCL-) NAL units—or compressed video data pertaining to a picture, slice, tile, or similar structure (VCL NAL units). According to certain RTP payload formats, one RTP packet can carry in its payload (203) either a single NAL unit (in which case the NAL unit header co-serves as RTP payload format header), multiple NAL units (aggregation packet, which has its own NAL-unit-like structure as the RTP payload header, followed by two or more NAL units), and a fragment of a NAL unit (in which case the RTP payload header is used for control information for the fragmentation, and is followed by the fragment of the NAL unit.). [0035] – [0036].
Since a NAL unit can be compressed video data pertaining to a picture, slice, tile, or similar structure and a slice is part of a subpicture according to VVC standard, the fragmentation units containing fragments of NAL units are considered as subpicture and the fragmentation unit header is considered as subpicture unit header.
Claims 26 and 32
Applicant argues that the combination of Wang and Wenger does not explicitly teach “extract one or more subpictures…based on the subpicture header; generate a bitstream from the one or more subpictures; and transmit the bitstream to a receiver apparatus.”
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Wang teaches a picture may also be partitioned into one or more sub-pictures. A sub-picture is a rectangular set of tile groups/slices that begins with a tile group that has a tile_group_address equal to zero. Each sub-picture may refer to a separate PPS and may therefore have a separate tile partitioning. Sub-pictures may be treated like pictures in the decoding process. The reference sub-pictures for decoding a current sub-picture are generated by extracting the area collocated with the current sub-picture from the reference pictures in the decoded picture buffer. The extracted area is treated as a decoded sub-picture. Inter-prediction may take place between sub-pictures of the same size and the same location within the picture. A tile group, also known as a slice, is a sequence of related tiles in a picture or a sub-picture. Several items can be derived to determine a location of the sub-picture in a picture. For example, each current sub-picture may be positioned in the next unoccupied location in CTU raster scan order within a picture that is large enough to contain the current sub-picture within the picture boundaries. [0049].
FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram illustrating an example picture 600 partitioned into sub-pictures 622. For example, a picture 600 can be encoded in and decoded from a bitstream 500, for example by a codec system 200, an encoder 300, and/or a decoder 400. Further, the picture 600 can be partitioned and/or included in a sub-bitstream 501 to support encoding and decoding according to method 100. The picture 600 may be substantially similar to a picture 521. Further, the picture 600 may be partitioned into sub-pictures 622, which are substantially similar to sub-pictures 522. The sub-pictures 622 each include a sub-picture size 631, which may be included in a bitstream 500 as a sub-picture size 531. The sub-picture size 631 includes sub-picture width 631a and a sub-picture height 631b. The sub-picture width 631a is the width of a corresponding sub-picture 622 in units of luma samples. The sub-picture height 631b is the height of a corresponding sub-picture 622 in units of luma samples. The sub-pictures 622 each include a sub-picture ID 633, which may be included in a bitstream 500 as a sub-picture ID 633. The sub-picture ID 633 may be any value that uniquely identifies each sub-picture 622. In the example shown, the sub-picture ID 633 is a sub-picture 622 index. The sub-pictures 622 each include a location 632, which may be included in a bitstream 500 as a sub-picture location 532. The location 632 is expressed as an offset between the top left sample of a corresponding sub-picture 622 and a top left sample 642 of the picture 600. Also as shown, some sub-pictures 622 may be temporal motion constrained sub-pictures 634 and other sub-pictures 622 may not. In the example shown, the sub-picture 622 with a sub-picture ID 633 of five is a temporal motion constrained sub-picture 634. This indicates that the sub-picture 622 identified as five is coded without reference to any other sub-picture 622 and can therefore be extracted and separately decoded without considering data from the other sub-pictures 622. An indication of which sub-pictures 622 are temporal motion constrained sub-pictures 634 can be signaled in a bitstream 500 in motion constrained sub-pictures flags 534. As shown, the sub-pictures 622 can be constrained to cover a picture 600 without a gap or an overlap. A gap is a region of a picture 600 that is not included in any sub-picture 622. An overlap is a region of a picture 600 that is included in more than one sub-picture 622. In the example shown in FIG. 6, the sub-pictures 622 are partitioned from the picture 600 to prevent both gaps and overlaps. Gaps cause picture 600 samples to be left out of the sub-pictures 622. Overlaps cause associated slices to be included in multiple sub-pictures 622. Therefore, gaps and overlaps may cause samples to be impacted by differential treatment when sub-pictures 622 are coded differently. If this is allowed at the encoder, a decoder must support such a coding scheme even when the decoding scheme is rarely used. By disallowing sub-picture 622 gaps and overlaps, the complexity of the decoder can be decreased as the decoder is not required to account for potential gaps and overlaps when determining sub-picture sizes 631 and locations 632. Further, disallowing sub-picture 622 gaps and overlaps reduces complexity of RDO processes at the encoder. This is because the encoder can omit considering gap and overlap cases when selecting an encoding for a video sequence. Accordingly, avoiding gaps and overlaps may reduce the usage of memory resources and/or processing resources at the encoder and the decoder. [0107] – [0110].
FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram illustrating another example picture 800 partitioned into sub-pictures 822. Picture 800 may be substantially similar to picture 600. In addition, a picture 800 can be encoded in and decoded from a bitstream 500, for example by a codec system 200, an encoder 300, and/or a decoder 400. Further, the picture 800 can be partitioned and/or included in a sub-bitstream 501 to support encoding and decoding according to method 100 and/or mechanism 700. Picture 800 includes sub-pictures 822, which may be substantially similar to sub-pictures 522, 523, 622, and/or 722. The sub-pictures 822 are divided into a plurality of CTUs 825. A CTU 825 is a basic coding unit in standardized video coding systems. A CTU 825 is sub-divided by a coding tree into coding blocks, which are coded according to inter-prediction or intra-prediction. As shown, some sub-pictures 822a are constrained to include sub-picture widths and sub-picture heights that are multiples of CTU 825 size. In the example shown, sub-pictures 822a have a height of six CTUs 825 and a width of five CTUs 825. This constraint is removed for sub-pictures 822b positioned on the pictures right border 801 and for sub-pictures 822c positioned on the pictures bottom border 802. In the example shown, sub-pictures 822b have a width of between five and six CTUs 825. However, sub-pictures 822b that are not positioned on the pictures bottom border 802 are still constrained to maintain a sub-picture height that is a multiple of CTU 825 size. In the example shown, sub-pictures 822c have a height of between six and seven CTUs 825. However, sub-pictures 822c that are not positioned on the pictures right border 801 are still constrained to maintain a sub-picture width that is a multiple of CTU 825 size. As noted above, some video systems may limit sub-pictures 822 to include heights and widths that are multiples of CTU 825 size. This may prevent sub-pictures 822 from operating correctly with many picture layouts, for example with a picture 800 that contains a total width or height that is not a multiple of CTU 825 size. By allowing the bottom sub-pictures 822c and right sub-pictures 822b to include heights and widths, respectively, that are not multiples of CTU 825 size, sub-pictures 822 may be used with any picture 800 without causing decoding errors. This results in increasing encoder and decoder functionality. Further, the increased functionality allows an encoder to code pictures more efficiently, which reduces the usage of network resources, memory resources, and/or processing resources at the encoder and the decoder. As described herein, the present disclosure describes designs for sub-picture based picture partitioning in video coding. A sub-picture is a rectangular area within a picture that can be decoded independently using a similar decoding process as is used for a picture. The present disclosure relates to the signaling of sub-pictures in a coded video sequence and/or bitstream as well as the process for sub-picture extraction. The descriptions of the techniques are based on VVC by the JVET of ITU-T and ISO/IEC. However, the techniques also apply to other video codec specifications. The following are example embodiments described herein. Such embodiments can be applied individually or in combination. Information related to sub-pictures that may be present in the coded video sequence (CVS) may be signaled in a sequence level parameter set, such as an SPS. Such signaling may include the following information. The number of sub-pictures that are present in each picture of the CVS may be signaled in the SPS. In the context of the SPS or a CVS, the collocated sub-pictures for all the access units (AUs) may collectively be referred to as a sub-picture sequence. A loop for further specifying information describing properties of each sub-picture may also be included in the SPS. This information may comprise the sub-picture identification, the location of the sub-picture (e.g., the offset distance between the top-left corner luma sample of the sub-picture and the top-left corner luma sample of the picture), and the size of the sub-picture. In addition, the SPS may signal whether each sub-picture is a motion-constrained sub-picture (containing the functionality of an MCTS). Profile, tier, and level information for each sub-picture may also be signaled or be derivable at the decoder. Such information may be employed to determine profile, tier, and level information for a bitstream created by extracting sub-pictures from the original bitstream. The profile and tier of each sub-picture may be derived to be the same as the entire bitstream's profile and tier. The level for each sub-picture may be signaled explicitly. Such signaling may be present in the loop contained in the SPS. The sequence-level hypothetical reference decoder (HRD) parameters may be signaled in the video usability information (VUI) section of the SPS for each sub-picture (or equivalently, each sub-picture sequence). When a picture is not partitioned into two or more sub-pictures, the properties of the sub-picture (e.g., location, size, etc.), except the sub-picture ID, may be not present/signaled in the bitstream. When a sub-picture of pictures in a CVS is extracted, each access unit in the new bitstream may contain no sub-pictures. In this case, the picture in each AU in the new bitstream is not partitioned into multiple sub-pictures. Thus there is no need to signal sub-picture properties such as location and size in the SPS since such information can be derived from the picture properties. However, the sub-picture identification may still be signaled as the ID may be referred to by VCL NAL units/tile groups that are included in the extracted sub-picture. This may allow the sub-picture IDs to remain the same when extracting the sub-picture. [0113] – [0118].
Sub-picture IDs may be present immediately after the NAL unit header to assist the sub-picture extraction process without requiring the extractor to parse the remainder of the NAL unit bits. For VCL NAL units, the sub-picture ID may be present in the first bits of tile group headers. For non-VCL NAL unit, the following may apply. For SPS, the sub-picture ID need not be present immediately after the NAL unit header. For PPS, if all tile groups of the same picture are constrained to refer to the same PPS, the sub-picture ID need not be present immediately after its NAL unit header. If tile groups of the same picture are allowed to refer to different PPSs, the sub-picture ID may be present in the first bits of PPS (e.g., immediately after the NAL unit header). In this case, any tile groups of one picture may be allowed to share the same PPS. Alternatively, when tile groups of the same picture are allowed to refer to different PPSs, and different tile group of the same picture are also allowed to share the same PPS, no sub-picture ID may be present in the PPS syntax. Alternatively, when tile groups of the same picture are allowed to refer to different PPSs, and different tile group of the same picture are also allowed to share the same PPS, a list of sub-picture IDs may be present in the PPS syntax. The list indicates the sub-pictures to which the PPS applies. For other non-VCL NAL units, if the non-VCL unit applies to the picture level or above (e.g., access unit delimiter, end of sequence, end of bitstream, etc.), then the sub-picture ID may not be present immediately after the NAL unit header. Otherwise, the sub-picture ID may be present immediately after the NAL unit header. [0123].
Method 1100 may begin when a decoder begins receiving a bitstream containing sub-pictures. The bitstream may include a complete video sequence or the bitstream may be a sub-bitstream containing a reduced set of sub-pictures for separate extraction. At step 1101, a bitstream is received. The bitstream comprises one or more sub-pictures partitioned from a picture. The bitstream also comprises a sub-picture level indicator indicating resource requirements for decoding a current sub-picture. At step 1103, the bitstream is parsed to obtain the sub-picture level indicator and the current sub-picture. In some examples, the sub-picture level indicator is included in a SEI messages in the bitstream. In other examples, the sub-picture level indicator is included in a SPS in the bitstream. As such, parsing the bitstream includes parsing the SPS, SEI messages, and/or other parameter sets such as PPS, slice headers, etc. The sub-picture level indicator may indicate sub-picture size, sub-picture pixel count, sub-picture bitrate, or combinations thereof. The SPS may also comprise additional sub-picture information such as sub-picture IDs for each of the sub-pictures, a sub-picture location for each of the sub-pictures, a sub-picture size for each of the sub-pictures, etc. As such, parsing the SPS may also obtain such information as well. At step 1105, resources are allocated to decode the current sub-picture based on the sub-picture level indicator. The current sub-picture is then decoded at step 1107 to create a video sequence by employing the allocated resources. The video sequence can then be forwarded for display at step 1109. Accordingly, a sub-picture level indicator can be transmitted in a bitstream and a decoder can separately allocate hardware and/or software resources for each sub-picture to be decoded. In this way, each sub-picture can be coded independently of other sub-pictures. Further, resources are not over allocated as occurs when level is allocated at the picture level. In addition, resources can be allocated appropriately when a sub-set of the sub-pictures are separately extracted. Hence, the sub-picture level indicators support increased functionality and/or increased coding efficiency, which reduces the usage of network resources, memory resources, and/or processing resources at the encoder and the decoder. [0176] – [0178].
To further clarify, Wang teaches the number of bits used for signaling sub-picture ID may be signaled in a NAL unit header. When present in NAL unit header such information may assist sub-picture extraction processes in parsing sub-picture ID value at the beginning of a NAL unit's payload (e.g., the first few bits immediately after NAL unit header). For such signaling, some of the reserved bits (e.g., seven reserved bits) in a NAL unit header may be used to avoid increasing the length of NAL unit header. The number of bits for such signaling may cover the value of sub-picture-ID-bit-len. For example, four bits out of seven reserved bits of a VVCs NAL unit header may be used for this purpose. [0126].
Applicant argues that the combination of Wang and Wenger does not explicitly teach “receive a transmission packet having a subpicture header comprising information regarding subpictures of an image data.”
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Wang teaches a picture may also be partitioned into one or more sub-pictures. A sub-picture is a rectangular set of tile groups/slices that begins with a tile group that has a tile_group_address equal to zero. Each sub-picture may refer to a separate PPS and may therefore have a separate tile partitioning. Sub-pictures may be treated like pictures in the decoding process. The reference sub-pictures for decoding a current sub-picture are generated by extracting the area collocated with the current sub-picture from the reference pictures in the decoded picture buffer. The extracted area is treated as a decoded sub-picture. Inter-prediction may take place between sub-pictures of the same size and the same location within the picture. A tile group, also known as a slice, is a sequence of related tiles in a picture or a sub-picture. Several items can be derived to determine a location of the sub-picture in a picture. For example, each current sub-picture may be positioned in the next unoccupied location in CTU raster scan order within a picture that is large enough to contain the current sub-picture within the picture boundaries. [0049].
FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram illustrating an example picture 600 partitioned into sub-pictures 622. For example, a picture 600 can be encoded in and decoded from a bitstream 500, for example by a codec system 200, an encoder 300, and/or a decoder 400. Further, the picture 600 can be partitioned and/or included in a sub-bitstream 501 to support encoding and decoding according to method 100. The picture 600 may be substantially similar to a picture 521. Further, the picture 600 may be partitioned into sub-pictures 622, which are substantially similar to sub-pictures 522. The sub-pictures 622 each include a sub-picture size 631, which may be included in a bitstream 500 as a sub-picture size 531. The sub-picture size 631 includes sub-picture width 631a and a sub-picture height 631b. The sub-picture width 631a is the width of a corresponding sub-picture 622 in units of luma samples. The sub-picture height 631b is the height of a corresponding sub-picture 622 in units of luma samples. The sub-pictures 622 each include a sub-picture ID 633, which may be included in a bitstream 500 as a sub-picture ID 633. The sub-picture ID 633 may be any value that uniquely identifies each sub-picture 622. In the example shown, the sub-picture ID 633 is a sub-picture 622 index. The sub-pictures 622 each include a location 632, which may be included in a bitstream 500 as a sub-picture location 532. The location 632 is expressed as an offset between the top left sample of a corresponding sub-picture 622 and a top left sample 642 of the picture 600. Also as shown, some sub-pictures 622 may be temporal motion constrained sub-pictures 634 and other sub-pictures 622 may not. In the example shown, the sub-picture 622 with a sub-picture ID 633 of five is a temporal motion constrained sub-picture 634. This indicates that the sub-picture 622 identified as five is coded without reference to any other sub-picture 622 and can therefore be extracted and separately decoded without considering data from the other sub-pictures 622. An indication of which sub-pictures 622 are temporal motion constrained sub-pictures 634 can be signaled in a bitstream 500 in motion constrained sub-pictures flags 534. As shown, the sub-pictures 622 can be constrained to cover a picture 600 without a gap or an overlap. A gap is a region of a picture 600 that is not included in any sub-picture 622. An overlap is a region of a picture 600 that is included in more than one sub-picture 622. In the example shown in FIG. 6, the sub-pictures 622 are partitioned from the picture 600 to prevent both gaps and overlaps. Gaps cause picture 600 samples to be left out of the sub-pictures 622. Overlaps cause associated slices to be included in multiple sub-pictures 622. Therefore, gaps and overlaps may cause samples to be impacted by differential treatment when sub-pictures 622 are coded differently. If this is allowed at the encoder, a decoder must support such a coding scheme even when the decoding scheme is rarely used. By disallowing sub-picture 622 gaps and overlaps, the complexity of the decoder can be decreased as the decoder is not required to account for potential gaps and overlaps when determining sub-picture sizes 631 and locations 632. Further, disallowing sub-picture 622 gaps and overlaps reduces complexity of RDO processes at the encoder. This is because the encoder can omit considering gap and overlap cases when selecting an encoding for a video sequence. Accordingly, avoiding gaps and overlaps may reduce the usage of memory resources and/or processing resources at the encoder and the decoder. [0107] – [0110].
FIG. 8 is a schematic diagram illustrating another example picture 800 partitioned into sub-pictures 822. Picture 800 may be substantially similar to picture 600. In addition, a picture 800 can be encoded in and decoded from a bitstream 500, for example by a codec system 200, an encoder 300, and/or a decoder 400. Further, the picture 800 can be partitioned and/or included in a sub-bitstream 501 to support encoding and decoding according to method 100 and/or mechanism 700. Picture 800 includes sub-pictures 822, which may be substantially similar to sub-pictures 522, 523, 622, and/or 722. The sub-pictures 822 are divided into a plurality of CTUs 825. A CTU 825 is a basic coding unit in standardized video coding systems. A CTU 825 is sub-divided by a coding tree into coding blocks, which are coded according to inter-prediction or intra-prediction. As shown, some sub-pictures 822a are constrained to include sub-picture widths and sub-picture heights that are multiples of CTU 825 size. In the example shown, sub-pictures 822a have a height of six CTUs 825 and a width of five CTUs 825. This constraint is removed for sub-pictures 822b positioned on the pictures right border 801 and for sub-pictures 822c positioned on the pictures bottom border 802. In the example shown, sub-pictures 822b have a width of between five and six CTUs 825. However, sub-pictures 822b that are not positioned on the pictures bottom border 802 are still constrained to maintain a sub-picture height that is a multiple of CTU 825 size. In the example shown, sub-pictures 822c have a height of between six and seven CTUs 825. However, sub-pictures 822c that are not positioned on the pictures right border 801 are still constrained to maintain a sub-picture width that is a multiple of CTU 825 size. As noted above, some video systems may limit sub-pictures 822 to include heights and widths that are multiples of CTU 825 size. This may prevent sub-pictures 822 from operating correctly with many picture layouts, for example with a picture 800 that contains a total width or height that is not a multiple of CTU 825 size. By allowing the bottom sub-pictures 822c and right sub-pictures 822b to include heights and widths, respectively, that are not multiples of CTU 825 size, sub-pictures 822 may be used with any picture 800 without causing decoding errors. This results in increasing encoder and decoder functionality. Further, the increased functionality allows an encoder to code pictures more efficiently, which reduces the usage of network resources, memory resources, and/or processing resources at the encoder and the decoder. As described herein, the present disclosure describes designs for sub-picture based picture partitioning in video coding. A sub-picture is a rectangular area within a picture that can be decoded independently using a similar decoding process as is used for a picture. The present disclosure relates to the signaling of sub-pictures in a coded video sequence and/or bitstream as well as the process for sub-picture extraction. The descriptions of the techniques are based on VVC by the JVET of ITU-T and ISO/IEC. However, the techniques also apply to other video codec specifications. The following are example embodiments described herein. Such embodiments can be applied individually or in combination. Information related to sub-pictures that may be present in the coded video sequence (CVS) may be signaled in a sequence level parameter set, such as an SPS. Such signaling may include the following information. The number of sub-pictures that are present in each picture of the CVS may be signaled in the SPS. In the context of the SPS or a CVS, the collocated sub-pictures for all the access units (AUs) may collectively be referred to as a sub-picture sequence. A loop for further specifying information describing properties of each sub-picture may also be included in the SPS. This information may comprise the sub-picture identification, the location of the sub-picture (e.g., the offset distance between the top-left corner luma sample of the sub-picture and the top-left corner luma sample of the picture), and the size of the sub-picture. In addition, the SPS may signal whether each sub-picture is a motion-constrained sub-picture (containing the functionality of an MCTS). Profile, tier, and level information for each sub-picture may also be signaled or be derivable at the decoder. Such information may be employed to determine profile, tier, and level information for a bitstream created by extracting sub-pictures from the original bitstream. The profile and tier of each sub-picture may be derived to be the same as the entire bitstream's profile and tier. The level for each sub-picture may be signaled explicitly. Such signaling may be present in the loop contained in the SPS. The sequence-level hypothetical reference decoder (HRD) parameters may be signaled in the video usability information (VUI) section of the SPS for each sub-picture (or equivalently, each sub-picture sequence). When a picture is not partitioned into two or more sub-pictures, the properties of the sub-picture (e.g., location, size, etc.), except the sub-picture ID, may be not present/signaled in the bitstream. When a sub-picture of pictures in a CVS is extracted, each access unit in the new bitstream may contain no sub-pictures. In this case, the picture in each AU in the new bitstream is not partitioned into multiple sub-pictures. Thus there is no need to signal sub-picture properties such as location and size in the SPS since such information can be derived from the picture properties. However, the sub-picture identification may still be signaled as the ID may be referred to by VCL NAL units/tile groups that are included in the extracted sub-picture. This may allow the sub-picture IDs to remain the same when extracting the sub-picture. [0113] – [0118].
Sub-picture IDs may be present immediately after the NAL unit header to assist the sub-picture extraction process without requiring the extractor to parse the remainder of the NAL unit bits. For VCL NAL units, the sub-picture ID may be present in the first bits of tile group headers. For non-VCL NAL unit, the following may apply. For SPS, the sub-picture ID need not be present immediately after the NAL unit header. For PPS, if all tile groups of the same picture are constrained to refer to the same PPS, the sub-picture ID need not be present immediately after its NAL unit header. If tile groups of the same picture are allowed to refer to different PPSs, the sub-picture ID may be present in the first bits of PPS (e.g., immediately after the NAL unit header). In this case, any tile groups of one picture may be allowed to share the same PPS. Alternatively, when tile groups of the same picture are allowed to refer to different PPSs, and different tile group of the same picture are also allowed to share the same PPS, no sub-picture ID may be present in the PPS syntax. Alternatively, when tile groups of the same picture are allowed to refer to different PPSs, and different tile group of the same picture are also allowed to share the same PPS, a list of sub-picture IDs may be present in the PPS syntax. The list indicates the sub-pictures to which the PPS applies. For other non-VCL NAL units, if the non-VCL unit applies to the picture level or above (e.g., access unit delimiter, end of sequence, end of bitstream, etc.), then the sub-picture ID may not be present immediately after the NAL unit header. Otherwise, the sub-picture ID may be present immediately after the NAL unit header. [0123].
Method 1100 may begin when a decoder begins receiving a bitstream containing sub-pictures. The bitstream may include a complete video sequence or the bitstream may be a sub-bitstream containing a reduced set of sub-pictures for separate extraction. At step 1101, a bitstream is received. The bitstream comprises one or more sub-pictures partitioned from a picture. The bitstream also comprises a sub-picture level indicator indicating resource requirements for decoding a current sub-picture. At step 1103, the bitstream is parsed to obtain the sub-picture level indicator and the current sub-picture. In some examples, the sub-picture level indicator is included in a SEI messages in the bitstream. In other examples, the sub-picture level indicator is included in a SPS in the bitstream. As such, parsing the bitstream includes parsing the SPS, SEI messages, and/or other parameter sets such as PPS, slice headers, etc. The sub-picture level indicator may indicate sub-picture size, sub-picture pixel count, sub-picture bitrate, or combinations thereof. The SPS may also comprise additional sub-picture information such as sub-picture IDs for each of the sub-pictures, a sub-picture location for each of the sub-pictures, a sub-picture size for each of the sub-pictures, etc. As such, parsing the SPS may also obtain such information as well. At step 1105, resources are allocated to decode the current sub-picture based on the sub-picture level indicator. The current sub-picture is then decoded at step 1107 to create a video sequence by employing the allocated resources. The video sequence can then be forwarded for display at step 1109. Accordingly, a sub-picture level indicator can be transmitted in a bitstream and a decoder can separately allocate hardware and/or software resources for each sub-picture to be decoded. In this way, each sub-picture can be coded independently of other sub-pictures. Further, resources are not over allocated as occurs when level is allocated at the picture level. In addition, resources can be allocated appropriately when a sub-set of the sub-pictures are separately extracted. Hence, the sub-picture level indicators support increased functionality and/or increased coding efficiency, which reduces the usage of network resources, memory resources, and/or processing resources at the encoder and the decoder. [0176] – [0178].
To further clarify, Wang teaches the number of bits used for signaling sub-picture ID may be signaled in a NAL unit header. When present in NAL unit header such information may assist sub-picture extraction processes in parsing sub-picture ID value at the beginning of a NAL unit's payload (e.g., the first few bits immediately after NAL unit header). For such signaling, some of the reserved bits (e.g., seven reserved bits) in a NAL unit header may be used to avoid increasing the length of NAL unit header. The number of bits for such signaling may cover the value of sub-picture-ID-bit-len. For example, four bits out of seven reserved bits of a VVCs NAL unit header may be used for this purpose. [0126].
Furthermore, Wang teaches receiving a bitstream that contains the NAL unit header.
Wenger teaches receiving a transmission packet in [0040] – [0041], [0054] – [0067] and Fig. 8.
For instance, a receiver can identify the type of an RTP packet payload through the Type field in the payload header. Single NAL unit packet contains a single NAL unit in the payload, and the NAL unit header of the NAL unit also serves as the payload header. [0040].
Claim 21
Applicant argues the Wang II does not qualify as prior art because the cited portion is not supported by Wang II’s International Patent Applications (PCT/CN2021/070411 (“‘411 application”) and PCT/CN2020/138662 (” ‘662 application”).
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited portions [0015], [0018], [0121] are supported by at least p. 11-21 of the ‘411 application and p. 11-21 of the ‘662 application. A review of those pages in both said application is strongly recommended because the cited paragraphs are fully supported by the mentioned pages in both applications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-20, 22-27, 31-33, 37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0337226 A1) in view of Wenger et al. (US 2021/0306443 A1).
Consider claim 17, Wang teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one processor ([0019], [0167] – [0168]); and at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code ([0019], [0167] – [0168]); the at least one non-transitory memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to receive an image data ([0067] – [0068] and Fig. 1); partition the image data into subpictures ([0049], [0107] – [0110], [0113] – [0118], [0121] – [0123], [0126], [0163], [0169] – [0174], Fig. 6, Fig. 8, Fig. 10); wherein the subpicture header comprises information regarding the subpictures ([0049], [0107] – [0110], [0113] – [0118], [0121] – [0123], [0126], [0163], [0169] – [0174], Fig. 6, Fig. 8, Fig. 10);
However, Wang does not explicitly teach generate a transmission packet comprising the subpictures and a packet header; insert a subpicture header into the transmission packet, wherein the subpicture header comprises information regarding the subpictures; and transmit the transmission packet to be delivered to a receiver apparatus.
Wenger teaches generate a transmission packet comprising the subpictures and a packet header ([0027] – [0028], [0031] – [0033], [0035] – [0036], [0040] – [0041], [0054], [0056] – [0067], Fig. 8); insert a subpicture header into the transmission packet ([0027] – [0028], [0031] – [0033], [0035] – [0036], [0040] – [0041], [0054], [0056] – [0067], Fig. 8), and transmit the transmission packet to be delivered to a receiver apparatus ([0027] – [0028], [0031] – [0033], [0035] – [0036], [0040] – [0041], [0054], [0056] – [0067], Fig. 8); and operate in one of following packetization modes: a single NAL packetization mode, wherein the transmission packet comprises a slice of one subpicture; an aggregation packet mode, wherein for at least one subpicture the transmission packet further comprises an aggregation packet aggregating a plurality of aggregation units or a plurality of network abstraction layer units; or a fragmentation packet mode, wherein the transmission packet further comprises a fragmentation unit, and the transmission packet further comprises a fragmentation unit header comprising information regarding the fragmentation unit ([0027] – [0028], [0031] – [0033], [0035] – [0036], [0040] – [0041], [0054], [0056] – [0067], Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the known technique of generating a transmission packet comprising the subpictures and a packet header because such incorporation would allow the identification of the last packet of a given coded picture. [0037].
Consider claim 18, Wang teaches the subpicture header comprises one or more of following fields: an identifier of a subpicture ([0049], [0107] – [0110], [0113] – [0118], [0121] – [0123], [0126], [0163], [0169] – [0174], Fig. 6, Fig. 8, Fig. 10); a type of the subpicture; an indication of a start of the subpicture; an indication of an end of the subpicture; an indication whether network abstraction layer (NAL) units followed by the subpicture header are parameter sets required for independent decoding by a separate decoder instance; an indication whether an NAL unit is applicable to the subpictures in a coded video sequence; or an indication of a last subpicture for an access unit.
Consider claim 19, Wenger teaches to generate the transmission packet, the apparatus is caused to generate a real time protocol packet comprising an real-time transport protocol (RTP) header and an RTP payload header for versatile video coding ([0040] – [0041], [0054], [0056] – [0067], Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the known technique of generating a transmission packet comprising the subpictures and a packet header because such incorporation would allow the identification of the last packet of a given coded picture. [0037].
Consider claim 20, Wenger teaches to insert the subpicture header into the transmission packet, the apparatus is caused to include the subpicture header in the RTP payload header ([0040] – [0041], [0054], [0056] – [0067], Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the known technique of generating a transmission packet comprising the subpictures and a packet header because such incorporation would allow the identification of the last packet of a given coded picture. [0037].
Consider claim 22, Wenger teaches to generate the transmission packet, the apparatus is caused to: include one subpicture in a single transmission packet ([0040] – [0041], [0054], [0056] – [0067], Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the known technique of generating a transmission packet comprising the subpictures and a packet header because such incorporation would allow the identification of the last packet of a given coded picture. [0037].
Consider claim 23, Wang teaches the apparatus is further caused to: include one or more of following indications into the subpicture header: a start of the subpicture; an end of the subpicture; or a picture complete ([0064], [0103] – [0104], [0167]).
Consider claim 24, Wenger teaches the apparatus is caused to operate in the fragmentation packet mode, wherein the subpicture header is included to a first fragmentation unit ([0027] – [0028], [0031] – [0033], [0035] – [0036], [0040] – [0041], [0054], [0056] – [0067], Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the known technique of generating a transmission packet comprising the subpictures and a packet header because such incorporation would allow the identification of the last packet of a given coded picture. [0037].
Consider claim 25, claim 25 recites the method implemented by the apparatus in claim 17. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 26, Wang teaches an apparatus comprising at least one processor ([0019], [0167] – [0168]); and at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code ([0019], [0167] – [0168]); the at least one non-transitory memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: receive ([0049], [0107] – [0110], [0113] – [0118], [0123], [0126], [0169] – [0174] Fig. 6, Fig. 8, Fig. 10; [0176] – [0178], Fig. 11); examine the subpicture header ([0049], [0107] – [0110], [0113] – [0118], [0123], [0126], [0169] – [0174] Fig. 6, Fig. 8, Fig. 10; [0176] – [0178], Fig. 11); extract one or more subpictures from the transmission packet based on the subpicture header ([0049], [0107] – [0110], [0113] – [0118], [0123], [0126], [0169] – [0174] Fig. 6, Fig. 8, Fig. 10; [0176] – [0178], Fig. 11); generate a bitstream from the one or more subpictures ([0049], [0107] – [0110], [0113] – [0118], [0123], [0126], [0169] – [0174] Fig. 6, Fig. 8, Fig. 10; [0176] – [0178], Fig. 11); and transmit the bitstream to a receiver apparatus ([0049], [0107] – [0110], [0113] – [0118], [0123], [0126], [0169] – [0174] Fig. 6, Fig. 8, Fig. 10; [0176] – [0178], Fig. 11).
However, Wang does not explicitly teach receiving a transmission packet; wherein the received transmission packet reflects a packetization mode of the receiving apparatus and also has one of: a slice of one subpicture; for at least one subpicture, a plurality of aggregation units or a plurality of network abstraction layer units; or a fragmentation unit, and a fragmentation unit header comprising information regarding the fragmentation unit.
Wenger teaches receiving a transmission packet ([0027] – [0028], [0031] – [0033], [0035] – [0036], [0040] – [0041], [0054], [0056] – [0067], Fig. 8), wherein the received transmission packet reflects a packetization mode of the receiving apparatus and also has one of: a slice of one subpicture; for at least one subpicture, a plurality of aggregation units or a plurality of network abstraction layer units; or a fragmentation unit, and a fragmentation unit header comprising information regarding the fragmentation unit ([0027] – [0028], [0031] – [0033], [0035] – [0036], [0040] – [0041], [0054], [0056] – [0067], Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the known technique of generating a transmission packet comprising the subpictures and a packet header because such incorporation would allow the identification of the last packet of a given coded picture. [0037].
Consider claim 27, Wang teaches the apparatus is further caused to: examine the subpicture header to determine which image data carried by the transmission packet belong to the same subpicture ([0049], [0121] – [0125]).
Consider claim 31, Wang teaches the apparatus is further caused to: indicate a subpicture layout to the receiver apparatus ([0033], [0044], [0060] – [0061], [0103], [0111], [0115]); and receive feedback from the receiver apparatus which subpictures of the subpicture layout are requested to be the one or more subpictures for extracting ([0055], [0059] – [0061], [0063] – [0064], [0103] – [0109], [0112], [0118], [0121] – [0129], [0135]).
Consider claim 32, claim 32 recites the method performed by the apparatus recited in claim 26. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 33, claim 33 recites the method performed by the apparatus recited in claim 27. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 37, claim 37 recites a non-transitory program storage device readable by an apparatus, tangibly embodying a program of instructions executable with the apparatus for performing operations ([0019], [0167] – [0168]), the operations comprising the method as claimed in claim 25 (see rejection for claim 25).
Consider claim 38, claim 38 recites a non-transitory program storage device readable by an apparatus, tangibly embodying a program of instructions executable with the apparatus for performing operations ([0019], [0167] – [0168]), the operations comprising the method as claimed in claim 32 (see rejection for claim 32).
Claim(s) 21, 29-30, 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0337226 A1) in view of Wenger et al. (US 2021/0306443 A1) and Wang et al. (US 2023/0336753 A1) (hereinafter “Wang II”).
Consider claim 21, the combination of Wang and Wenger teaches all the limitations in claim 17 but does not explicitly teach apparatus is further caused to: declare usage of the subpicture header as a sender property in a session description protocol.
Wang II teaches apparatus is further caused to: declare usage of the subpicture header as a sender property in a session description protocol ([0015], [0018], [0121]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the known technique of declaring usage of the subpicture header as a sender property in a session description protocol because such incorporation would help avoid and/or reduce the occurrences of video decoder reinitialization during an application session, and thus helping improve user experience. [0045].
Consider claim 29, Wang II teaches the apparatus is further caused to: negotiate with the receiver apparatus whether a subpicture header functionality is supported by the apparatus, by the receiver apparatus or by both the apparatus and the receiver apparatus (In one example, the video decoder initialization information is signaled in an RTP header extension or as SDP parameters used in SDP offer/answer. One or more of the following items may apply. In one example, the DII is optional and may only be signaled in the SDP lines for a particular video codec during the session negotiation (e.g., the SDP offer/answer) when the same profile for the video codec is to be used for the entire session. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when all CVSs of the bitstreams are indicated to conform to the same profile, and, for VVC and HEVC, all CVSs of the bitstream are indicated to conform to the same tier. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when there is one profile to which all CVSs of the bitstreams conform. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when there is one profile to which all CVSs of the bitstream conform and, for VVC and HEVC, there is one tier to which all CVSs of the bitstream conform. In one example, the DII is optional and may only be signaled in an RTP header extension after session negotiation when all CVSs of the bitstreams to be carried in the RTP streams in the entire session use the same video codec. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when all CVSs of the bitstreams are indicated to conform to the same profile. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when all CVSs of the bitstreams are indicated to conform to the same profile, and, for VVC and HEVC, all CVSs of the bitstream are indicated to conform to the same tier. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when there is one profile to which all CVSs of the bitstreams conform. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when there is one profile to which all CVS s of the bitstream conform and, for VVC and HEVC, there is one tier to which all CVSs of the bitstream conform. [0075]. Whether sub-picture partitioning is enabled/used for at least one of the bitstreams. [0067], [0069], [0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the known technique of declaring usage of the subpicture header as a sender property in a session description protocol because such incorporation would help avoid and/or reduce the occurrences of video decoder reinitialization during an application session, and thus helping improve user experience. [0045].
Consider claim 30, Wang II teaches to negotiate, the apparatus is caused to: prepare an offer (In one example, the video decoder initialization information is signaled in an RTP header extension or as SDP parameters used in SDP offer/answer. One or more of the following items may apply. In one example, the DII is optional and may only be signaled in the SDP lines for a particular video codec during the session negotiation (e.g., the SDP offer/answer) when the same profile for the video codec is to be used for the entire session. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when all CVSs of the bitstreams are indicated to conform to the same profile, and, for VVC and HEVC, all CVSs of the bitstream are indicated to conform to the same tier. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when there is one profile to which all CVSs of the bitstreams conform. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when there is one profile to which all CVSs of the bitstream conform and, for VVC and HEVC, there is one tier to which all CVSs of the bitstream conform. In one example, the DII is optional and may only be signaled in an RTP header extension after session negotiation when all CVSs of the bitstreams to be carried in the RTP streams in the entire session use the same video codec. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when all CVSs of the bitstreams are indicated to conform to the same profile. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when all CVSs of the bitstreams are indicated to conform to the same profile, and, for VVC and HEVC, all CVSs of the bitstream are indicated to conform to the same tier. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when there is one profile to which all CVSs of the bitstreams conform. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when there is one profile to which all CVS s of the bitstream conform and, for VVC and HEVC, there is one tier to which all CVSs of the bitstream conform.); include in the offer, an indication whether the subpicture header functionality is supported by the apparatus (In one example, the video decoder initialization information is signaled in an RTP header extension or as SDP parameters used in SDP offer/answer. One or more of the following items may apply. In one example, the DII is optional and may only be signaled in the SDP lines for a particular video codec during the session negotiation (e.g., the SDP offer/answer) when the same profile for the video codec is to be used for the entire session. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when all CVSs of the bitstreams are indicated to conform to the same profile, and, for VVC and HEVC, all CVSs of the bitstream are indicated to conform to the same tier. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when there is one profile to which all CVSs of the bitstreams conform. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when there is one profile to which all CVSs of the bitstream conform and, for VVC and HEVC, there is one tier to which all CVSs of the bitstream conform. In one example, the DII is optional and may only be signaled in an RTP header extension after session negotiation when all CVSs of the bitstreams to be carried in the RTP streams in the entire session use the same video codec. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when all CVSs of the bitstreams are indicated to conform to the same profile. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when all CVSs of the bitstreams are indicated to conform to the same profile, and, for VVC and HEVC, all CVSs of the bitstream are indicated to conform to the same tier. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when there is one profile to which all CVSs of the bitstreams conform. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when there is one profile to which all CVS s of the bitstream conform and, for VVC and HEVC, there is one tier to which all CVSs of the bitstream conform. [0075]. Whether sub-picture partitioning is enabled/used for at least one of the bitstreams. [0067], [0069], [0072]); send the offer to the receiver apparatus; receive an answer from the receiver apparatus (In one example, the video decoder initialization information is signaled in an RTP header extension or as SDP parameters used in SDP offer/answer. One or more of the following items may apply. In one example, the DII is optional and may only be signaled in the SDP lines for a particular video codec during the session negotiation (e.g., the SDP offer/answer) when the same profile for the video codec is to be used for the entire session. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when all CVSs of the bitstreams are indicated to conform to the same profile, and, for VVC and HEVC, all CVSs of the bitstream are indicated to conform to the same tier. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when there is one profile to which all CVSs of the bitstreams conform. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when there is one profile to which all CVSs of the bitstream conform and, for VVC and HEVC, there is one tier to which all CVSs of the bitstream conform. In one example, the DII is optional and may only be signaled in an RTP header extension after session negotiation when all CVSs of the bitstreams to be carried in the RTP streams in the entire session use the same video codec. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when all CVSs of the bitstreams are indicated to conform to the same profile. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when all CVSs of the bitstreams are indicated to conform to the same profile, and, for VVC and HEVC, all CVSs of the bitstream are indicated to conform to the same tier. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when there is one profile to which all CVSs of the bitstreams conform. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when there is one profile to which all CVS s of the bitstream conform and, for VVC and HEVC, there is one tier to which all CVSs of the bitstream conform. [0075]. Whether sub-picture partitioning is enabled/used for at least one of the bitstreams. [0067], [0069], [0072]); and examine whether the answer indicates whether the subpicture header functionality is supported by the receiver apparatus (In one example, the video decoder initialization information is signaled in an RTP header extension or as SDP parameters used in SDP offer/answer. One or more of the following items may apply. In one example, the DII is optional and may only be signaled in the SDP lines for a particular video codec during the session negotiation (e.g., the SDP offer/answer) when the same profile for the video codec is to be used for the entire session. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when all CVSs of the bitstreams are indicated to conform to the same profile, and, for VVC and HEVC, all CVSs of the bitstream are indicated to conform to the same tier. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when there is one profile to which all CVSs of the bitstreams conform. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when there is one profile to which all CVSs of the bitstream conform and, for VVC and HEVC, there is one tier to which all CVSs of the bitstream conform. In one example, the DII is optional and may only be signaled in an RTP header extension after session negotiation when all CVSs of the bitstreams to be carried in the RTP streams in the entire session use the same video codec. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when all CVSs of the bitstreams are indicated to conform to the same profile. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when all CVSs of the bitstreams are indicated to conform to the same profile, and, for VVC and HEVC, all CVSs of the bitstream are indicated to conform to the same tier. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when there is one profile to which all CVSs of the bitstreams conform. In one example, the DII may only be signaled when there is one profile to which all CVS s of the bitstream conform and, for VVC and HEVC, there is one tier to which all CVSs of the bitstream conform. [0075]. Whether sub-picture partitioning is enabled/used for at least one of the bitstreams. [0067], [0069], [0072]).
With the knowledge and technique of signaling video decoder initialization information in an RTP header extension or as SDP parameters used in SDP offer/answer during session negotiation, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention is able to modify the combination of Wang and Wenger to arrive at the claimed feature because the actual implementation is within programming skill of one of ordinary skill in the art once the knowledge and technique is shown.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the known technique of declaring usage of the subpicture header as a sender property in a session description protocol because such incorporation would help avoid and/or reduce the occurrences of video decoder reinitialization during an application session, and thus helping improve user experience. [0045].
Consider claim 35, claim 35 recites the method performed by the apparatus recited in claim 29. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 36, claim 36 recites the method performed by the apparatus recited in claim 30. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 28 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0337226 A1) in view of Wenger et al. (US 2021/0306443 A1) and He et al. (US 2022/0191543 A1).
Consider claim 28, the combination of Wang and Wenger teaches all the limitations in claim 26 but does not explicitly teach the apparatus is further caused to: examine the subpicture header to determine which the subpictures carried by one or more transmission packets depend from each other; and collect dependent subpictures to be delivered together to the receiver apparatus.
He teaches the apparatus is further caused to: examine the subpicture header to determine which the subpictures carried by one or more transmission packets depend from each other ([0092] – [0095], [0076], [0084], [0107] – [0109]); and collect dependent subpictures to be delivered together to the receiver apparatus ([0092] – [0095], [0076], [0084], [0107] – [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the known technique of examining the subpicture header to determine which the subpictures carried by one or more transmission packets depend from each other because such incorporation would reduce the frame size. [0107].
Consider claim 34, claim 34 recites the method performed by the apparatus recited in claim 28. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/TAT C CHIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486