DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 2, the claim is rendered indefinite, as the limitation of the internal transmittance at a thickness is not attached to a structure in the claim.
For purposes of examination, it assumed to be a internal transmittance of the optical glass plate at a thickness of the optical glass plate.
Regarding Claim 3, the claim is rendered indefinite, as the limitation of the thickness is not attached to a structure in the claim.
For purposes of examination, it assumed to be a thickness of the optical glass plate.
Regarding Claim 4, the claim is rendered indefinite, as a major axis of a main surface is not attached to a structure in the claim
For purposes of examination, it assumed to be a major axis of a main surface of the optical glass plate.
Regarding Claim 5, the claim is rendered indefinite, as a liquidus viscosity is not attached to a structure in the claim
For purposes of examination, it assumed to be a liquidus viscosity of the optical glass plate.
Regarding Claim 6, the claim is rendered indefinite, as a density is not attached to a structure in the claim
For purposes of examination, it assumed to be a density of the optical glass plate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amma (WO 2020/045417 A1) [translated and referenced via (US 2021/0179479 A1)].
Regarding Claim 1, Amma teaches an optical glass plate for use in VR/AR devices (Abstract; Paragraph 0003), where a composition is recited in Example 30. (Table 3). Example 30 teaches the optical plate composition is 4.3 mass% SiO2, 9.5 mass% of B2O3, 1.7 mass% of BaO, 0 mass% of ZnO, 5.9 mass% of ZrO2, 41.5 mass% of La2O3, 8.5 mass% of Gd2O3, 4.8 mass% of Nb2O5, 0 mass% of WO3, 18.4 mass% of TiO2, and 5.3 mass% of Y2O3. (Table 3). Amma teaches a Y3+/Gd3++Y3++Yb3+ ratio of 0.5, a refractive index of 2.01 and an Abbe number of 27. (Table 3).
Regarding Claim 3, Amma teaches making the optical glass plate into a thickness of 1 mm. (Paragraph 0180-0182).
Regarding Claim 4, Amma teaches making an 8- or 6-inch diameter glass plate. (Paragraph 0182).
Regarding Claim 6, Amma teaches the density of 4.9 g/cm3. (Table 3)
Regarding Claim 7, Amma teaches a light-guiding plate comprising the optical glass. (Paragraph 0025).
Regarding Claim 8, Amma teaches the lightguide plate can be used in wearable image display device of VR or AR displays devices and google displays. (Paragraph 0170).
Regarding Claim 9, Amma teaches a wearable image display device comprising the light-guiding plate. (Paragraph 0170-0171)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102/103
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated or under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amma.
Regarding Claims 2 and 5, Example 30 does not specifically teach the internal transmittance or the liquidus viscosity. However, as Example 30 teaches a composition that lies within the claimed ranges, then Example 30 would inherently have the same properties as the claimed invention. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. (MPEP §2112.01).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amma.
Regarding Claim 1, Amma teaches an optical glass plate for virtual reality and augmented reality devices (Abstract; Paragraph 0003) comprising 5 to 44 mol% of SiO2, 0 to 40 mol% of B2O3, 0 to 15 mol% of BaO, 0 to 5 mol% of ZnO, 0 to 20mol% ZrO2, 0 to 35 mol% of La2O3, 0 to 15 mol% of Gd2O3, 0 to 35 mol% of Nb2O5, 0 to 10 mol% of WO3, up to 80 mol% of TiO2, and 0 to 7 mol% of Y2O3. (Paragraph 0047-0078). These range overlap the composition range and the Y/Gd+Y+Yb cation range.
Amma teaches the glass should have a refractive index of 1.81 to 2.15 (Paragraph 0011) and an Abbe number of 60 or less. (Paragraph 0025). These ranges overlap the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05)
Regarding Claim 2, Amma does not specifically teach the internal transmittance at the claimed wavelength. However, given Amma teaches an overlapping range of the components of the claimed composition, then it would be reasonable to one with ordinary skill in the art to expect the glass plate of Amma would also inherently have the same physical properties, including the internal transmittance, as the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 3, Amma teaches the glass plate has a thickness of 0.011 to 2 mm. (Paragraph 0029). This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05)
Regarding Claim 4, Amma teaches the glass plate can have a diameter of 8 inches. (Paragraph 0032). Therefore, Amma teaches the glass plate has a major axis of a main surface is greater than or equal to 100 mm.
Regarding Claim 5, Amma does not specifically teach the liquidus viscosity. However, given Amma teaches an overlapping range of the components of the claimed composition, then it would be reasonable to one with ordinary skill in the art to expect the glass plate of Amma would also inherently have the same physical properties, including the liquidus viscosity, as the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 6, Amma teaches the density can be 6.0 g/cm3 or less. (Paragraph 0011).
Regarding Claim 7, Amma teaches a light-guiding plate comprising the optical glass. (Paragraph 0025).
Regarding Claim 8, Amma teaches the lightguide plate can be used in wearable image display device of VR or AR displays devices and google displays. (Paragraph 0170).
Regarding Claim 9, Amma teaches a wearable image display device comprising the light-guiding plate. (Paragraph 0170-0171)
Claim 2 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amma in view of Marques et al. (US 2022/0073410 A1). [hereinafter Marques ‘10]
Regarding Claim 2, Amma does not teach the internal transmittance at the claimed wavelength.
Marques ‘10 also teaches a glass composition for use in VR/AR applications. (Paragraph 0003). Marques ‘10 teaches a sample having a thickness of 10 nm should have an internal transmittance at 460 nm to be greater than 90%. (Paragraph 0096). Having this high optical transmittance ensures improved optical performance, especially at the visible and near-UV range, is also very desirable. (Paragraph 0047, 0096). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to ensure high internal transmittance of the glass of Amma at 460 nm and the wavelength region around 460 nm, the blue region which includes 450 nm, as it ensures proper light transmittance and improved optical properties when the glass is used in VR and AR applications as taught by Marques ‘10. (Paragraph 0003, 0096).
Claim 5 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amma in view of Marques et al. (US 2020/0172427 A1) [hereinafter Marques ’27).
Regarding Claim 5, Amma does not teach the liquidus viscosity of the glass plate.
Marques ’27 teaches a glass plate that can be used in virtual reality devices (Paragraph 0003) Marques ’27 teaches types of glasses should have a liquidus viscosity greater than 25 Poise (Paragraph 0027). This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05) Marques ’27 teaches this liquidus viscosity range ensures the glass will be easier to process and ensure early crystallization will not occur, which reduces the changes of non-uniform optical properties or visible defects (Paragraph 0027). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to set the liquidus viscosity of Amma to the claimed range as taught by Marques ’27 to ensure proper glass formation without defects.
Correspondence
/Michael Zhang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781