DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 have been examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Communication section… is performed (claim 1 lines 2-7)
Control section… from the parent node (claim 1 lines 8-10)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In reference to claim 5
The language “performing a simultaneous communication operation and a single communication operation, the simultaneous communication operation being an operation in which first communication with a child node or a terminal and second communication with a parent node are simultaneously performed, the single communication operation being an operation in which either the first communication or the second communication is performed” renders the claim indefinite because the simultaneous communication operation and single communication operation are mutually exclusive such that only one may be performed at a time. The examiner assumes the language should read “performing one of a simultaneous communication operation or a single communication operation, the simultaneous communication operation being an operation in which first communication with a child node or a terminal and second communication with a parent node are simultaneously performed, the single communication operation being an operation in which either the first communication or the second communication is performed”.
In reference to claim 8
The limitation "a guard symbol section" and “a resource” in claim 8, line 2 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the “guard symbol section" and “resource” in claim 8 line 2 are the same “guard symbol section" and “resource” of parent claim 3 or if they are different. If they are the same, the applicant should amend claim 8 to recite "the guard symbol section" and “the resource”. If they are different, the applicant should amend claim 8 to recite "a second guard symbol section" and “a second resource”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LUO et al. (US 2022/0322299).
- In reference to claim 1
LUO et al. teaches a radio node (e.g. IAB node 204; Fig. 6, par. 0059) comprising:
a communication section (e.g. combination of transceiver 602/RF Front End 688, and Antenna 665; Fig. 6 par. 0062-0067), that performs a simultaneous communication operation (e.g. SDM-half duplex configuration 402; Fig. 4, par. 0052) and a single communication operation (e.g. TDM configuration 400; Fig. 4, par. 0052), the simultaneous communication operation being an operation in which first communication with a child node or a terminal and second communication with a parent node are simultaneously performed (e.g. simultaneous communication operation with first communication with child node UE or downstream IAB node and second communication with a upstream parent node 202; see 402, Fig. 4; par. 0052), the single communication operation being an operation in which either the first communication or the second communication is performed (e.g. single communication operation with first communication with child node or second communication with a upstream parent node 202; see 400, Fig. 4; par. 0052); and
a control section (e.g. processor 612; Fig. 6 par. 0059-0060) that determines to switch between the simultaneous communication operation and the single communication operation, based on either one of or both of a report to the parent node and indication from the parent node (e.g. switching between the simultaneous communication operation and the single communication operation based on resource configuration 500 from an upstream parent node 202; par. 0053-0057).
- In reference to claim 5, as best understood
LUO et al. teaches radio communication method, comprising:
performing one of a simultaneous communication operation (e.g. SDM-half duplex configuration 402; Fig. 4, par. 0052) and a single communication operation (e.g. TDM configuration 400; Fig. 4, par. 0052), the simultaneous communication operation being an operation in which first communication with a child node or a terminal and second communication with a parent node are simultaneously performed (e.g. simultaneous communication operation with first communication with child node UE or downstream IAB node and second communication with a upstream parent node 202; see 402, Fig. 4; par. 0052), the single communication operation being an operation in which either the first communication or the second communication is performed (e.g. single communication operation with first communication with child node or second communication with a upstream parent node 202; see 400, Fig. 4; par. 0052); and
determining to switch between the simultaneous communication operation and the single communication operation, based on either one of or both of a report to the parent node and indication from the parent node (e.g. switching between the simultaneous communication operation and the single communication operation based on resource configuration 500 from an upstream parent node 202; par. 0053-0057).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LUO et al. (US 2022/0322299) in view of “Discussion on enhancements to resource multiplexing between child and parent links of an IAB node” by CEWiT (R1-2006329).
- In reference to claim 2
LUO et al. teaches a system and method that covers substantially all limitations of the parent claim.
LUO et al. does not teach the control section determines to switch between a transmission operation and a reception operation in the simultaneous communication operation, based on either one of or both of the report and the indication.
R1-2006329 teaches determining to switch between a transmission operation and a reception operation in the simultaneous communication operation, based on either one of or both of the report and the indication (e.g. IAB node determines to switch between a transmission operation and a reception operation in a simultaneous communication operation based on an signaling indication from parent node; See Section 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control section of LUO et al. to determine to switch between a transmission operation and a reception operation in the simultaneous communication operation, based on either one of or both of the report and the indication as suggested by R1-2006329 because it would allow the radio node to perform a transmission operation or a reception operation based upon signaling indication from a parent node so it could both transmit and received node with a parent or child node.
Claim(s) 3-4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LUO et al. (US 2022/0322299) in view of LUO et al. (US 2021/0298036)
- In reference to claim 3
LUO et al. ‘299 teaches a system and method that covers substantially all limitations of the parent claim.
LUO et al. ‘299 does not teach the communication section stops communication in a guard symbol section in a resource before switching.
LUO et al. ‘036 teaches stopping communication in a guard symbol section in a resource before switching (e.g. child 1003 stopping transmitting in a guard symbol section 1018 in a time resource before DU to MT switch; Fig. 10, par. 0077-0078).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control section of LUO et al. ‘299 to stop communication in a guard symbol section in a resource before switching as suggested by LUO et al. ‘036 in order to avoid interference between a first communication and second communication within a network.
- In reference to claim 4
LUO et al. ‘299 teaches a system and method that covers substantially all limitations of the parent claim.
LUO et al. ‘299 does not teach the communication section stops communication in a guard symbol section in a resource after switching.
LUO et al. ‘036 teaches stopping communication in a guard symbol section in a resource after switching (e.g. child 1003 stopping receiving in a guard symbol section 1016 in a time resource after MT to DU switch; Fig. 10, par. 0077-0078).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control section of LUO et al. ‘299 to stop communication in a guard symbol section in a resource after switching as suggested by LUO et al. ‘036 in order to avoid interference between a first communication and second communication within a network.
- In reference to claim 8, as best understood
The combination of LUO et al. ‘299 and LUO et al. ‘036 teaches a system and method that covers substantially all limitations of the parent claim.
LUO et al. ‘299 does not teach the communication section stops communication in a guard symbol section in a resource after switching.
LUO et al. ‘036 teaches stopping communication in a guard symbol section in a resource after switching (e.g. child 1003 stopping receiving in a guard symbol section 1016 in a time resource after MT to DU switch; Fig. 10, par. 0077-0078).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control section of LUO et al. ‘299 to stop communication in a guard symbol section in a resource after switching as suggested by LUO et al. ‘036 in order to avoid interference between a first communication and second communication within a network.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LUO et al. (US 2022/0322299) in view of “Discussion on enhancements to resource multiplexing between child and parent links of an IAB node” by CEWiT (R1-2006329), as applied to the parent claim, and further in view of LUO et al. (US 2021/0298036).
- In reference to claim 6
The combination of LUO et al. ‘299 and R1-2006329 teaches a system and method that covers substantially all limitations of the parent claim.
The combination of LUO et al. ‘299 and R1-2006329 does not teach the communication section stops communication in a guard symbol section in a resource before switching.
LUO et al. ‘036 teaches stopping communication in a guard symbol section in a resource before switching (e.g. child 1003 stopping transmitting in a guard symbol section 1018 in a time resource before DU to MT switch; Fig. 10, par. 0077-0078).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control section of LUO et al. ‘299 to stop communication in a guard symbol section in a resource before switching as suggested by the combination of LUO et al. ‘299 and R1-2006329 in order to avoid interference between a first communication and second communication within a network.
- In reference to claim 7
The combination of LUO et al. ‘299 and R1-2006329 teaches a system and method that covers substantially all limitations of the parent claim.
The combination of LUO et al. ‘299 and R1-2006329 does not teach the communication section stops communication in a guard symbol section in a resource after switching.
LUO et al. ‘036 teaches stopping communication in a guard symbol section in a resource after switching (e.g. child 1003 stopping receiving in a guard symbol section 1016 in a time resource after MT to DU switch; Fig. 10, par. 0077-0078).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control section of the combination of LUO et al. ‘299 and R1-2006329 to stop communication in a guard symbol section in a resource after switching as suggested by LUO et al. ‘036 in order to avoid interference between a first communication and second communication within a network.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
US 2020/0337056 receiving a semi-static resource allocation (812) from a central unit (CU) (806) based on one multiplexing capability of the first node. A change request (818) is communicated to the CU to modify the semi-static resource allocation. The first multiplexing capability provides one of Spatial Division Multiplexing (SDM) or Frequency Division Multiplexing (FDM), and the SDM includes one of SDM Full Duplex (SDM FD) or SDM Half-Duplex (SDM HD). The first multiplexing capability is with respect to multiple transmission direction combinations of the first node. The first node includes a mobile terminal (MT) and a distributed unit (DU), and where the multiple transmission direction combinations provides one of MT transmission and DU transmission, MT transmission and DU reception, MT reception and DU transmission, or MT reception and DU reception.
US 2020/0351753 pertains to a node in a multi-hop network may receive a configuration for a notification signal, wherein the configuration indicates a receive (RX) resource to be used by the node to monitor for the notification signal and a transmit (TX) resource to be used by the node to transmit the notification signal, wherein the RX resource and the TX resource are included in a time period that also includes one or more other RX resources and one or more other TX resources to be used by one or more other nodes in the multi-hop network for the notification signal. The node in a multi-hop network may refrain from transmitting or receiving in any resources within the time period except for the RX resource and the TX resource.
US 2021/0360482 pertains to Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) nodes communicating with one another in half-duplex mode.
BRIAN S. ROBERTS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2466
/BRIAN S ROBERTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466