DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is based on the 18/682340 application originally filed February 08, 2024.
Amended claims 24-43, filed February 08, 2024, are pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Becker et al. (US 2007/0155646) hereinafter “Becker”.
Regarding Claims 24-43
Becker discloses in paragraph 0001, for treating hard surfaces, comprising a water-soluble or water-dispersible compound and water, to a process for the preparation of a water-soluble or water-dispersible compound, to water-soluble or water-dispersible compounds preparable by the process, and to the use of water-soluble or water-dispersible compounds according to the present application in compositions for treating hard surfaces for rapid and streak-free drying, ease of soil release, reduction in or prevention of the condensation of water and/or the formation of dried-on traces of water on the hard surfaces.
Becker discloses in paragraph 0025, the water-soluble or water-dispersible compound (component A) and the at least one surfactant (component B), the composition can comprise further components which are customarily used in cleaners for hard surfaces.
Becker discloses in paragraph 0026, compositions comprising:
a) at least one water-soluble or water-dispersible compound according to the present application as component A;
b) at least one surfactant chosen from the group consisting of anionic, nonionic, amphoteric and cationic surfactants, as component B;
c) if appropriate at least one water-soluble organic solvent, as component C;
d) if appropriate ammonia and/or at least one alkanolamine, as component D;
e) if appropriate at least one inorganic acid, carboxylic acid and/or sulfonic acid, as component E;
f) if appropriate at least one builder, as component F;
g) if appropriate further auxiliaries and additives, as component G; and
h) water.
Becker further discloses in paragraph 0036, a composition comprising:
a) 0.01 to 40% by weight, of component A;
b) 0.01 to 80% by weight, of component B;
c) 0 to 50% by weight, of component C;
d) 0 to 5% by weight, of component D;
e) 0 to 5% by weight, of component E;
f) 0 to 10% by weight, of component F;
g) 0 to 5% by weight, of component G;
h) and water as the remainder;where the total amount of components A to G and water is 100% by weight.
Becker discloses in paragraph 0047, component A is obtained by reacting the components Aa, if appropriate Ab and Ac. The water-soluble or water-dispersible compound can thus be present in crosslinked or uncrosslinked form, where component Aa has in any case been modified with component Ac.
Becker discloses in paragraph 0049, polyalkylenepolyamines can be used as component Aa. Polyalkylenepolyamines should be understood as meaning compounds which contain at least 3 nitrogen atoms, for example diethylenetriamine, triethylenetetramine, tetraethylenepentamine, pentaethylenehexamine, diaminopropyleneethylenediamine, trisaminopropylamine and polyethyleneimines. The polyethyleneimines preferably have an average molar mass (Mw) of at least 300, determined by light scattering.
Becker discloses in paragraph 0050, the polyalkylenepolyamines can be partially amidated. Products of this type are prepared, for example, by reacting polyalkylenepolyamines with carboxylic acids, carboxylic esters, carboxylic anhydrides or carboxylic acid halides. The polyalkylenepolyamines are preferably 1 to 30% amidated, for the subsequent reactions.
Becker discloses in paragraph 0051, the amidated polyalkylenepolyamines also have free NH groups so that they can be reacted with the compounds Ab and Ac. Suitable carboxylic acids for the amidation of the polyalkylenepolyamines are C1-C28-carboxylic acids, for example formic acid, acetic acid, propionic acid, benzoic acid, lauric acid, palmitic acid, stearic acid, oleic acid, linoleic acid and behenic acid. It is likewise possible for the amidation to be carried out by reacting the polyalkylenepolyamines with alkyldiketene.
Becker discloses in paragraph 0053, furthermore, polyamidoamines are suitable as component Aa. The polyamidoamines are obtainable, for example, by reacting C4-C10-dicarboxylic acids with polyalkylenepolyamines which preferably contain 3 to 10 basic nitrogen atoms in the molecule. Suitable dicarboxylic acids are, for example, succinic acid, maleic acid, adipic acid, glutaric acid, suberic acid, sebacic acid or terephthalic acid. It is also possible to use mixtures of carboxylic acids, for example mixtures of adipic acid and glutaric acid or maleic acid and adipic acid. Preference is given to using adipic acid for the preparation of the polyamidoamines. Suitable polyalkylenepolyamines which are condensed with the dicarboxylic acids have already been specified above, for example diethylenetriamine, triethylenetetramine, dipropylenetriamine, tripropylenetetramine, dihexamethylenetriamine, aminopropylethylenediamine and bis-aminopropylethylenediamine are suitable. The polyalkylenepolyamines can also be used in the form of mixtures for the preparation of the polyamidoamines. The preparation of the polyamidoamines preferably takes place without a diluent, but can also, where appropriate, be carried out in inert solvents.
Becker further discloses in paragraph 0054, polyamidoamines grafted with ethyleneimine can be used as component Aa. Products of this type can be prepared by allowing ethyleneimine to act upon the above-described polyamidoamines in the presence of Bronstedt acids or Lewis acids, for example sulfuric acid, phosphoric acid or boron trifluoride etherate. Under the conditions stated, ethyleneimine is grafted onto the polyamidoamine. For example, per basic nitrogen group in the polyamidoamine, 1 to 10 ethyleneimine units, graft on, i.e. approximately 10 to 500 parts by weight of ethyleneimine are used per 100 parts by weight of a polyamidoamine.
Becker discloses in paragraph 0057, suitable as component Ab are at least bifunctional crosslinkers which have a halohydrin, glycidyl, aziridine or isocyanate unit or a halogen atom as functional groups.
Becker discloses in paragraph 0058, suitable crosslinkers are, for example, epihalohydrins and α,ω-bis(chlorohydrin) polyalkylene glycol ethers and the α,ω-bis(epoxides) of polyalkylene glycol ethers obtainable therefrom by treatment with bases. The chlorohydrin ethers are prepared, for example, by reacting polyalkylene glycols in the molar ratio 1 to at least 2 to 5 with epichlorohydrin. Suitable polyalkylene glycols are, for example, polyethylene glycol, polypropylene glycol and polybutylene glycols, and block copolymers of C2- to C4-alkylene oxides. The average molar masses (Mw) of the polyalkylene glycols are generally 100 to 6000 g/mol. α,ω-Bis(chlorohydrin) polyalkylene glycol ethers. As is likewise disclosed therein, the corresponding bisglycidyl ethers of the polyalkylene glycols are produced from the dichlorohydrin ethers by treatment with bases.
Becker discloses in paragraph 0063, suitable as component Ac are monoethylenically unsaturated carboxylic acids which preferably have 3 to 18 carbon atoms in the alkenyl radical. Suitable monoethylenically unsaturated carboxylic acids are acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, dimethacrylic acid, ethylacrylic acid, allylacetic acid, vinylacetic acid, maleic acid, fumaric acid, ethaconic acid, methylenemalonic acid, citraconic acid, oleic acid and linolenic acid. Preference is given to the monoethylenically unsaturated carboxylic acids chosen from the group consisting of acrylic acid, methacrylic acid and maleic acid.
Becker further discloses in paragraph 0075, the water-soluble or water-dispersible compounds (component A) comprising the components Aa, Ab and Ac are prepared by a process comprising the steps: i) crosslinking of polyalkylenepolyamines, polyamidoamines, polyamidoamines grafted with ethyleneimine, polyether-amines, and mixtures of said compounds as component Aa, with at least bifunctional crosslinkers which have, as functional group, a halogenhydrin, glycidyl, aziridine or isocyanate unit or a halogen atom, as component Ab; and ii) reaction of the product obtained in step i) with monoethylenically unsaturated carboxylic acids, salts, esters, amides or nitriles of monoethylenically unsaturated carboxylic acids, chlorocarboxylic acids and/or glycidyl compounds, such as glycidyl acid, glycidylamide or glycidyl esters, as component C.
Becker further discloses in paragraph 0081, in step ii), the reaction of the product obtained in step i) with those compounds of group Ac which contain a monoethylenically unsaturated double bond takes place by a type of Michael addition, while chlorocarboxylic acids and glycidyl compounds of the formula I react via the chloro group or the epoxide group with the primary or secondary amino groups of the crosslinked product obtained in step i). The reaction generally takes place at temperatures of from 10 to 200° C. The reaction is usually carried out at atmospheric pressure. The reaction time is dependent on the components used. In general, the reaction time is 0.5 to 100 hours.
Becker further discloses in paragraph 0086, the compositions comprise 0.01 to 80% by weight, of at least one surfactant, chosen from the group consisting of anionic, nonionic, amphoteric and cationic surfactants, as component B.
Becker further discloses in paragraph 0119 and 0120, the further auxiliaries and additives may be present in an amount of from 0 to 5% by weight, in the composition. Suitable auxiliaries and additives include all auxiliaries and additives customarily used in treatments and cleaners for hard surfaces, preferably dyes, perfume oils, pH regulators, for example citric acid, alkanolamines or NaOH, preservatives, complexing agents for alkaline earth metal ions, enzymes, bleach systems, soil release polymers, foam boosters, foam suppressors or foam inhibitors, biocides, antitarnish and/or anticorrosion agents, suspension agents, fillers, inorganic extenders, disinfectants, hydrotropic compounds, antioxidants, solubility promoters, dispersants, processing auxiliaries, solubilizers, plasticizers and antistatic substances.
Becker discloses in paragraph 0123, the compositions can, for example, be used as pre- or after-treatment compositions for hard surfaces, in particular glass and ceramic, or cleaners such as glass cleaners, floor cleaners, all-purpose cleaners, bath cleaners, rinse aids, dishwashing detergents for hand or machine dishwashing, machine cleaners, metal degreasers, high-pressure cleaners, alkaline cleaners, acidic cleaners, point degreasers, dairy cleaners etc. Preferably, the compositions are used as pre- or after-treatment compositions for hard surfaces, in particular glass and ceramic, or cleaners such as glass cleaners, floor cleaners, all-purpose cleaners and bath cleaners.
The claimed invention is anticipated by the reference because the reference teaches a composition which comprises all of the claimed components. In the alternative, no patentable distinction is seen to exist between the reference and the claimed invention absent evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Becker et al. (US 2008/0194449) discloses in the abstract, the use of water-soluble or water-dispersible polymers obtainable by reaction of (a) polyalkylenepolyamines, polyamidoamines or ethyleneimine-grafted polyamidoamines or mixtures thereof, (b) if desired at least bifunctional crosslinkers and (c) monoethylenically unsaturated carboxylic acids, salts, esters, amides or nitrites of monoethylenically unsaturated carboxylic acids, chlorocarboxylic acids and/or glycidyl compounds, said component (a) having an average molecular weight M, in the range from 20,000 to 2,000,000 and the molar ratio of the hydrogen atoms on the nitrogen in said component (a) to said component (b) being in the range from 1:0.7 to 1:0.9,as a laundry detergent additive.
Kanzaki (JP 2003-286344A) discloses in the abstract, the polyalkyleneimine derivative is an adduct of two or more unsaturated carboxylic acids to a polyakyleneimine chain. The method for producing a polyalkyleneimine derivative comprises reacting a polyalkyleneimine with two or more unsaturated carboxylic acids.
Kanzaki et al. (JP 2004-002589 A) discloses in the abstract, the detergent composition is a powdery one containing, as an essential component, a polymer prepared by the addition reaction of at least one unsaturated carboxylic acid with a polyalkyleneimine chain and at least one component selected from the group consisting of a polycarboxylic acid (salt), a citrate, zeolite, and a layered silicate or a liquid one containing, as an essential component, a polymer prepared by the addition reaction of at least one unsaturated carboxylic acid with a polyalkyleneimine chain.
/Latosha Hines/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771