DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Applicant’s Argument A:
“However, Cui does not disclose, or even teach or suggest, measurement objects with different priority levels. Cui is silent as to a method of configuring measurement gap configuration information using different configuration manners for measurement objects with different priority levels” [Reply; page 12].
In response to applicant's argument:
The newly amended independent claims, now, contains subject matter from claim 7 (“priority level of the first measurement objects is higher than a priority level of the second measurement objects”). The previous 103 rejection showed the “Cui reference does not specifically disclose a priority level of the first measurement objects is higher than a priority level of the second measurement objects”. Therefore, based on the new amendments to the independent claims, the previous 102 rejection of the independent claims has been withdrawn. Also, the argument states “using different configuration manners”, which is not within the instant claim language. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “using different configuration manners”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s Argument B:
“However, Moon does not mention any contents about measurement gap configuration. Moon is silent about using different configuration manners to configure measurement gap configuration information for measurement objects with different priority levels” [Reply; page 13].
In response to applicant's argument:
The Moon reference discloses measurements and measurement status of measurement objects [Moon; para 0006 and 0059]. The Moon reference does not specifically disclose “measurement gap configuration” but the Cui reference does disclose the “measurement gap configuration”. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The Moon reference discloses the measurement objects with different priority levels [Moon; para 0006, 0039, 0046, and 0054]. It is the combination of the teachings of different priority levels, of Moon, into the configure measurement gap configuration information for measurement objects system, of Cui. Also, the argument states “using different configuration manners”, which is not within the instant claim language. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “using different configuration manners”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. Therefore, based on the new amendments to the independent claims, there is a new 103 rejection of independent claims of Cui in view of Moon.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 18 depends upon a canceled claim (claim 12).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8-11, 15-18, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. ("Cui") [PG PUB 2019/0342801] (cited in IDS, filed 10/25/2024) in view of Moon et al. ("Moon") [PGPUB 2024/0187912].
Regarding claim 1, the Cui reference discloses a method for reporting a terminal capability, performed by a terminal, comprising: reporting terminal capability information to a base station [ie. UE ("terminal") indicates whether the UE's capability of supporting multiple per-UE MG (Measurement Gap) patterns in parallel; Cui; paragraph 0044, 0071, and 0074],
wherein the terminal capability information is configured to indicate a maximum number of measurement gaps supported by the terminal ["the UE signals 'N' to indicate that it can support 'N' number of per-UE MG patterns in parallel, where N is positive integer'' and "when the UE only supports per-UE MG but it can support up to 2 per-UE MG patterns in parallel, then the UE would send this capability indication of supporting up to 2 per-UE MG patterns in parallel to the serving cell via, e.g. RRC signaling"; ie the "N" and the "2" read upon the broad terminology of "maximum number" of MGs; Cui; para 0044 and 0074-0076];
receiving pieces of measurement gap configuration information corresponding to measurement objects sent by the base station; and measuring a corresponding measurement object based on a measurement gap indicated by the measurement gap configuration information [The "pieces of measurement gap configuration information" is broad terminology for configuration information. The Instant Specification does not further describe the "pieces"; ie. can communicate configuration information; Cui; para 0044, 0065, and 0070-0071];
wherein receiving the pieces of measurement gap configuration information corresponding to the measurement objects sent by the base station comprises: receiving one of the pieces of corresponding measurement gap configuration information configured by the base station for each of first measurement objects, and one piece of shared measurement gap configuration information configured for all second measurement objects [Cui; figure 2; para 0044 and 0065];
wherein measuring the corresponding measurement object based on the measurement gap indicated by the measurement gap configuration information comprises: measuring each of corresponding first measurement objects based on a measurement gap indicated by the measurement gap configuration information corresponding to each of the first measurement objects; and measuring each of second measurement objects based on a measurement gap indicated by the measurement gap configuration information shared by all second measurement objects [Cui; figure 2; para 0044, 0052, and 0065-0067].
The Cui reference does not specifically disclose “a priority level of the first measurement objects is higher than a priority level of the second measurement objects”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Moon reference discloses wherein a priority level of the first measurement objects is higher than a priority level of the second measurement objects [ie. second measurement object ("priority level of the first measurement objects") has higher priority the first measurement object ("first measurement object"); Moon; para 0006, 0039, 0046-0047, and 0054]. The Cui and Moon references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to measure radio characteristics of measurement objects. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the priority levels of MOs, taught by Moon, into the system, taught by Cui. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow the requesting network node to make an informed decision on whether to wait for the higher priority measurement report or not [Moon; para 0039].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Cui-Moon further discloses the terminal capability information is configured to indicate one of: a maximum number of measurement gaps supported by the terminal at a same frequency range; or a maximum number of measurement gaps supported by the terminal in each of a first frequency range and a second frequency range [Cui; para 0074 and 0076-0078].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Cui-Moon further discloses receiving the pieces of measurement gap configuration information corresponding to the measurement objects sent by the base station comprises: receiving pieces of measurement gap configuration information corresponding to the measurement objects sent by the base station through a second signaling [ie. return signal from UE; Cui; fig 1A; para 0044 and 0068]. The Cui reference does not specifically disclose determining the first measurement objects with a priority level higher than the second measurement objects based on first measurement object configuration information comprised in the second signaling]; the method further comprises: determining the first measurement objects with a priority level higher than the second measurement objects based on first measurement object configuration information comprised in the second signaling [Cui; fig 1A; para 0044 and 0068] [ie. second measurement object ("priority level of the first measurement objects") has higher priority the first measurement object ("first measurement object"); Moon; para 0006, 0039, 0046-0047, and 0054].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Cui-Moon further discloses at least one of: different measurement objects corresponding to a same RAT; measurement objects corresponding to different RA Ts; measurement objects based on synchronization signal blocks or channel state information reference signals; or measurement objects based on positioning reference signals [ie. SSB; Cui; para 0065-0067].
Regarding claim 10, the Cui reference discloses a method for reporting a terminal capability, performed by a base station, comprising: receiving terminal capability information reported by a terminal, wherein the terminal capability information is configured to indicate a maximum number of measurement gaps supported by the terminal ["the UE signals 'N' to indicate that it can support 'N' number of per-UE MG patterns in parallel, where N is positive integer" and "when the UE only supports per-UE MG but it can support up to 2 per-UE MG patterns in parallel, then the UE would send this capability indication of supporting up to 2 per-UE MG patterns in parallel to the serving cell via, e.g. RRC signaling"; ie the "N" and the "2" read upon the broad terminology of "maximum number'' of MGs; Cui; para 0044 and 007 4-0076];
configuring pieces of measurement gap configuration information corresponding to measurement objects for the terminal based on the terminal capability information and measurement configuration information at least configured to indicate the measurement objects; and sending the pieces of measurement gap configuration information corresponding to the measurement objects to the terminal [The "pieces of measurement gap configuration information" is broad terminology for configuration information. The Instant Specification does not further describe the "pieces"; ie. can communicate configuration information; Cui; para 0044, 0065, and 0070-0071 ];
wherein configuring the pieces of measurement gap configuration information corresponding to the measurement objects for the terminal based on the terminal capability information and the measurement configuration information at least configured to indicate the measurement objects comprises: determining first measurement objects and second measurement objects in the measurement objects indicated by the measurement configuration information, wherein the maximum number of measurement gaps is less than the total number of the measurement objects indicated by the measurement configuration information; and configuring one of pieces of measurement gap configuration information corresponding to each of the first measurement objects, and configuring one of pieces of measurement gap configuration information shared by all second measurement objects [ie. UE is only capable for one out of two frequency ranges; Cui; para 0071 -0077].
The Cui reference does not specifically disclose “a priority level of the first measurement objects is higher than a priority level of the second measurement objects”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Moon reference discloses a priority level of the first measurement objects is higher than a priority level of the second measurement objects [ie. second measurement object ("priority level of the first measurement objects") has higher priority the first measurement object ("first measurement object"); Moon; para 0006, 0039, 0046-0047, and 0054]. The Cui and Moon references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to measure radio characteristics of measurement objects. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the priority levels of MOs, taught by Moon, into the system, taught by Cui. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow the requesting network node to make an informed decision on whether to wait for the higher priority measurement report or not [Moon; para 0039].
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Cui-Moon further discloses the terminal capability information is configured to indicate one of: a maximum number of measurement gaps supported by the terminal at a same frequency range; or a maximum number of measurement gaps supported by the terminal in each of a first frequency range and a second frequency range [Cui; para 007 4 and 0076-0078].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Cui-Moon further discloses sending the pieces of measurement gap configuration information corresponding to the measurement objects to the terminal comprises: sending the pieces of measurement gap configuration information corresponding to the measurement objects to the terminal through a second signaling [Cui; fig 1A (192A); para 0044].
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Cui-Moon further discloses the second signaling comprises first measurement object configuration information [Cui; fig 1A (192A); para 0044] but does not specifically disclose the first measurement objects are measurement objects with a priority level higher than the second measurement objects], and the first measurement objects are measurement objects with a priority level higher than the second measurement objects [Cui; para 0044] [ie. second measurement object ("priority level of the first measurement objects") has higher priority the first measurement object ("first measurement object"); Moon; para 0006, 0039, 0046-0047, and 0054].
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Cui-Moon further discloses the second signaling is a measurement configuration information unit signaling [Cui; fig 1A (192A); para 0044].
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Cui-Moon further discloses the measurement objects comprise at least one of: different measurement objects corresponding to a same RAT; measurement objects corresponding to different RA Ts; measurement objects based on synchronization signal blocks or channel state information ref ere nee signals; and/or measurement objects based on positioning reference signals [ie. SSB; Cui; para 0065-0067].
Regarding claim 23, the apparatus of claim 23 performs the similar steps as the method of claim 1. The combination of Cui-Moon teaches the method of claim 1, as referenced above. The additional limitations of a "processor" and "memory" are rejected with the citation of paragraph 0083. Therefore, claim 23 is rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, by the teachings of Cui-Moon.
Regarding claim 24, the apparatus of claim 24 performs the similar steps as the method of claim 10. The combination of Cui-Moon teaches the method of claim 10, as referenced above. The additional limitations of a "processor" and "memory" are rejected with the citation of paragraph 0083. Therefore, claim 24 is rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 10, by the teachings of Cui-Moon.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui-Moon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yiu et al. ("Yiu") [PG PUB 2022/0046454].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Cui-Moon further discloses reporting the terminal capability information to the base station comprises: reporting the terminal capability information to the base station through a first signaling, for reporting a terminal mobility measurement parameter [Cui; para 0029, 0067, and 0074-0076] but does not specifically disclose wherein the first signaling is at least one of: a measurement and mobility parameter information unit signaling; or a measurement and mobility parameter information unit of multi-radio access technology (RAT) dual connectivity signaling.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Yiu reference discloses wherein the first signaling is at least one of: a measurement and mobility parameter information unit signaling; or a measurement and mobility parameter information unit of multi-radio access technology(RAT) dual connectivity signaling [Yiu; para 0020-0022, 0062-0063, and 0101]. The Cui-Moon and Yiu references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage for the UE to comply with measurement gaps. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the measurement and mobility parameter information, taught by Yiu, into the system, taught by Cui-Moon. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide utilize radio resources by two distinct schedulers in two different nodes [Yiu; para 0020 and 0027].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON D CARDONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458