DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-9 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Herrema et al. (US 2017/0279167) (hereinafter Herrema).
Regarding claim 1, Herrema teaches a sensor comprising:
a probe (probe) (24) that is electrically conductive and thermally conductive and configured to be disposed in an electrically-conductive liquid (electrolyte liquid) (see Fig. 1-2 and paragraphs 0004, 0006-0009 and 0021);
a thermal coupler (head portion) (22) coupled to the probe (probe) (24) (see Figures 1-2 and paragraph 0021);
a temperature determination circuit (thermistor) (54) electrically coupled to the probe (probe) (24) and configured to output a signal indicative of a temperature of the probe (probe) (24) (see Figure 5 and paragraph 0028); and
a fluid detection circuit (electrodes) (44) electrically coupled to the thermal coupler (head portion) (22) and configured to output a signal indicative of a presence of the liquid on the probe (“includes a data/power cable 28”; see paragraph 0022) (see Figures 2-3 and paragraphs 0021-0023).
Regarding claim 2, Herrema further teaches comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) (circuit board) (60) (see Figures 6-7 and paragraph 0029), wherein the temperature determination circuit (thermistor) (54) and the fluid detection circuit (electrodes) (44) are on the PCB (circuit board) (60) (see Figures 5-7 and paragraphs 0028-0029).
Regarding claim 3, Herrema further teaches comprising an overmolded body , wherein the probe extends from the body, wherein the PCB is disposed within the body (“The circuit board 60 is typically overmolded or potted within the probe 24 of FIGS. 2-4 to protect the electrodes 44 from corrosion”; see paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 6, Herrema further teaches the temperature detection circuit (thermistor) (54) is electrically isolated from the fluid detection circuit (Note: the thermistor is disposed in the circuit board (60) and the circuit board 60 is overmolded within the probe to electrically insulate electrodes 44 and thermistor 54) (see paragraphs 0029 and claim 7).
Regarding claim 7, Herrema teaches a battery comprising:
a battery cell (battery cell of a lead-acid battery) (100) comprising a cell body and a liquid electrolyte disposed in the cell body (see paragraphs 0020-0021), the cell body defining an aperture (opening) (18) (see Figures 1-3 and paragraphs 0021-0022);
a sensor comprising:
a probe (probe) (24) that is electrically conductive and thermally conductive, the probe extending through the aperture (opening) (18) and configured to be disposed in the liquid electrolyte (see Fig. 1-2 and paragraphs 0004, 0006-0009 and 0021-0022);
a thermal coupler (head portion) (22) coupled to the probe (probe) (24) (see Figures 1-2 and paragraph 0021);
a temperature determination circuit (thermistor) (54) electrically coupled to the probe (probe) (24) and configured to output a signal indicative of a temperature of the probe (probe) (24) (see Figure 5 and paragraph 0028); and
a fluid detection circuit (electrodes) (44) electrically coupled to the thermal coupler (head portion) (22) and configured to output a signal indicative of a presence of the liquid on the probe (“includes a data/power cable 28”; see paragraph 0022) (see Figures 2-3 and paragraphs 0021-0023).
Regarding claim 8, Herrema further teaches comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) (circuit board) (60) (see Figures 6-7 and paragraph 0029), wherein the temperature determination circuit (thermistor) (54) and the fluid detection circuit (electrodes) (44) are on the PCB (circuit board) (60) (see Figures 5-7 and paragraphs 0028-0029).
Regarding claim 9, Herrema further teaches the sensor further comprising an overmolded body , wherein the probe extends from the body, wherein the PCB is disposed within the body (“The circuit board 60 is typically overmolded or potted within the probe 24 of FIGS. 2-4 to protect the electrodes 44 from corrosion”; see paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 12, Herrema further teaches the temperature detection circuit (thermistor) (54) is electrically isolated from the fluid detection circuit (Note: the thermistor is disposed in the circuit board (60) and the circuit board 60 is overmolded within the probe to electrically insulate electrodes 44 and thermistor 54) (see paragraphs 0029 and claim 7).
Regarding claim 13, Herrema further teaches wherein the sensor further comprises a gasket (gaskets) (30) configured to form a fluid-tight seal with the aperture (opening) (18) (see Figure 3 and paragraph 0022).
Regarding claim 14, Herrema further teaches the battery cell is a lead-acid cell (lead-acid battery) (100) (see paragraphs 0020-0021).
Regarding claim 15, Herrema teaches a battery system comprising:
a battery cell (battery cell of a lead-acid battery) (100) comprising a cell body and a liquid electrolyte disposed in the cell body (see paragraphs 0020-0021), the cell body defining an aperture (opening) (18) (see Figures 1-3 and paragraphs 0021-0022);
a sensor comprising:
a probe (probe) (24) that is electrically conductive and thermally conductive, the probe extending through the aperture (opening) (18) and configured to be disposed in the liquid electrolyte (see Fig. 1-2 and paragraphs 0004, 0006-0009 and 0021-0022);
a thermal coupler (head portion) (22) coupled to the probe (probe) (24) (see Figures 1-2 and paragraph 0021);
a temperature determination circuit (thermistor) (54) electrically coupled to the probe (probe) (24) and configured to output a signal indicative of a temperature of the probe (probe) (24) (see Figure 5 and paragraph 0028); and
a fluid detection circuit (electrodes) (44) electrically coupled to the thermal coupler (head portion) (22) and configured to output a signal indicative of a presence of the liquid on the probe (“includes a data/power cable 28”; see paragraph 0022) (see Figures 2-3 and paragraphs 0021-0023); and
an electronic battery monitor (controller) (42) in electronic communication with the fluid detection circuit (electrodes) (44) and with the temperature determination circuit (thermistor) (54) (see Figures 5-9 and paragraphs 0023 and 0028) and configured to:
determine a temperature of the probe (probe) (24) according to the output of the temperature detection circuit (thermistor) (54) (see paragraphs 0007, 0009 and 0028);
determine a presence of liquid on the probe according to the output of the fluid detection circuit (electrodes) (44) (see paragraphs 0005-0009 and 0023) ; and
output an alert when the battery monitor determines an absence of fluid on the probe (probe) (24) (see paragraphs 0005, 0023 and 0028).
Regarding claim 16, Herrema further teaches the electronic battery monitor (controller) (42) comprises a display configured to output the alert (“The user is then alerted to low liquid levels, optionally via LEDs in one embodiment or via an application program on a smartphone or tablet in other embodiments”; see paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 17, Herrema further teaches the battery cell is a lead-acid cell (lead-acid battery) (100) (see paragraphs 0020-0021).
Regarding claim 18, Herrema further teaches comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) (circuit board) (60) (see Figures 6-7 and paragraph 0029), wherein the temperature determination circuit (thermistor) (54) and the fluid determination circuit (electrodes) (44) are on the PCB (circuit board) (60) (see Figures 5-7 and paragraphs 0028-0029).
Regarding claim 19, Herrema further teaches the sensor further comprising an overmolded body , wherein the probe extends from the body, wherein the PCB is disposed within the body (“The circuit board 60 is typically overmolded or potted within the probe 24 of FIGS. 2-4 to protect the electrodes 44 from corrosion”; see paragraph 0029).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 10-11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herrema in view of Moore et al. (US 2006/0022135) (hereinafter Moore).
Regarding claim 4, Herrema teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Herrema does not explicitly teach the thermal coupler comprises a sleeve crimped to the probe.
Moore teaches the thermal coupler comprises a sleeve (collar) (210) crimped to the probe (probe) (110) (see paragraph 0045).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal coupler as taught by Herrema with a sleeve crimped to the probe as taught by Moore. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to securely fix the thermal coupler to the probe as known in the art.
Regarding claim 5, the prior combination teaches all the limitations of claim 4.
However, Herrema as modified by Moore does not explicitly teach the sleeve comprises copper.
Moore teaches the sleeve comprises copper (see paragraph 0045).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal coupler as taught by the prior combination with the sleeve comprising copper as taught by Moore. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide a sleeve with high thermal conductivity and high electrical conductivity as known in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Herrema teaches all the limitations of claim 7.
However, Herrema does not explicitly teach the thermal coupler comprises a sleeve crimped to the probe.
Moore teaches the thermal coupler comprises a sleeve (collar) (210) crimped to the probe (probe) (110) (see paragraph 0045).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal coupler as taught by Herrema with a sleeve crimped to the probe as taught by Moore. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to securely fix the thermal coupler to the probe as known in the art.
Regarding claim 10, the prior combination teaches all the limitations of claim 11.
However, Herrema as modified by Moore does not explicitly teach the sleeve comprises copper.
Moore teaches the sleeve comprises copper (see paragraph 0045).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal coupler as taught by the prior combination with the sleeve comprising copper as taught by Moore. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide a sleeve with high thermal conductivity and high electrical conductivity as known in the art.
Regarding claim 20, Herrema teaches all the limitations of claim 15.
However, Herrema does not explicitly teach the thermal coupler comprises a sleeve crimped to the probe.
Moore teaches the thermal coupler comprises a copper sleeve (collar) (210) crimped to the probe (probe) (110) (see paragraph 0045).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermal coupler as taught by Herrema with a copper sleeve crimped to the probe as taught by Moore. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to securely fix the thermal coupler to the probe and to provide a sleeve with high thermal conductivity and high electrical conductivity as known in the art.
Conclusion
/JANICE M SOTO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855