DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13, 16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zink et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7852280, made of record in IDS dated 27 August 2025), hereinafter known as Zink.
Regarding claim 1, Zink discloses (Fig. 2) providing an antenna embedment non-resonant cavity (cavity, see Fig. 2) configured for positioning inside an aircraft fuselage thereby reducing or eliminating antenna protrusion (col. 3, lines 18-20); and placing radiofrequency absorber material (foam absorber, see Fig. 2) inside the embedment non-resonant cavity thereby enhancing embedded antenna input impedance matching (col. 2, lines 50-67).
Regarding claim 2, Zink discloses (Fig. 2) placing includes placing the radiofrequency absorber material is placing in the embedment cavity lateral walls or bottom (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Zink discloses (Fig. 2) operating at is applied for any frequency range including VLF, LF, VHIF, UHF and SHF (col. 1, lines 49-52).
Regarding claim 4, Zink discloses (Fig. 2) an antenna embedment conductive cavity (cavity, see Fig. 2) configured for positioning inside an aircraft fuselage thereby reducing or eliminating antenna protrusion (cavity, see Fig. 2), the antenna embedment conductive cavity further configured to receive receiving ate at least one radiofrequency absorber material (foam absorber, see Fig. 2) placed inside the embedment conductive cavity to enhance the embedded antenna input impedance matching (col. 2, lines 50-67).
Regarding claim 5, Zink discloses (Fig. 2) wherein the antenna embedment conductive cavity can have a plurality of shapes (see Fig. 2, cavity not restricted in shape).
Regarding claim 6, Zink discloses (Fig. 2) wherein the radiofrequency absorber material can have a plurality of geometries and sizes shapes (see Fig. 2, material not restricted in size or geometry).
Regarding claim 7, Zink discloses (Fig. 2) wherein the antenna embedment conductive cavity receives more than one radiofrequency absorber material placed inside the antenna embedment conductive cavity to enhance the embedded antenna input impedance matching (see Fig. 2, multiple materials shown).
Regarding claim 8, Zink discloses (Fig. 2) wherein the at least one radiofrequency absorber material placed inside the antenna embedment conductive cavity enhances the embedded antenna input impedance matching by absorbing electromagnetic wave as a load and eliminating multiple reflections of waves that mismatch antenna sintonization at an intended operating frequency band (col. 2, lines 50-67).
Regarding claim 9, Zink discloses (Fig. 2) an antenna (radiators, see Fig. 2) having an input impedance at an intended operating frequency band; an antenna embedment cavity (cavity, see Fig. 2) configured for positioning inside an aircraft fuselage (col. 3, lines 18-20), the antenna disposed within the antenna embedment cavity (see Fig. 2); and at least one radiofrequency absorber material (foam absorber) disposed within the antenna embedment cavity (see Fig. 2), the radiofrequency absorber material matching the input impedance of the antenna by absorbing electromagnetic waves as a load and eliminating multiple reflections of the electromagnetic waves (col. 2, lines 50-67).
Regarding claim 10, Zink discloses (Fig. 2) wherein the antenna embedment cavity is non-resonant and comprises cavity lateral walls and a cavity bottom forming a depression, the walls and bottom configured to accept an active radiating part of the antenna (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Zink discloses (Fig. 2) wherein at least one radiofrequency absorber is disposed in the cavity lateral walls or cavity bottom (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Zink discloses (Fig. 2) wherein the cavity bottom is planar (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Zink discloses (Fig. 2) wherein the cavity lateral walls form a rectangular depression (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Zink discloses (Fig. 2) wherein the at least one radiofrequency absorber is disposed on at least a portion of the cavity bottom and does not cover the cavity lateral walls (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Zink discloses (Fig. 2) wherein the antenna comprises a disc structure with spacers supporting the disc structure within the depression (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Zink discloses (Fig. 2) wherein the cavity is conductive (see Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zink.
Regarding claim 14, Zink teaches the limitations of claim 10, but does not teach further details of the cavity lateral walls.
Zink does teach in Fig. 1 prior art circular radiatiors.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of invention to one of ordinary skill in the art change the shape of the cavity lateral wallas of Zink to be circular since it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) Making the walls circular can accommodate many antenna types more effectively, such as spiral antennas.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not teach or render obvious claim 15 as arranged, specifically “wherein the at least one radiofrequency absorber is disposed on at least a portion of the cavity lateral walls and does not cover the cavity bottom.”
The prior art does not teach or render obvious claim 17 as arranged, specifically “wherein the at least one radiofrequency absorber comprises plural concentric absorbers arranged to frame the depression.”
Claim 18 is allowable based on its dependence from claim 17.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL MUNOZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896