DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,5-8,10-15,17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Fuechtling 20140075912.
Examiner Annotated Figure 3
Examiner Annotated Figure 5a
Referring to claims 1 and 15, Fuechtling discloses a pivot assembly for an arm of an agricultural header, the pivot assembly comprising: a fastener (21a) coupled to a frame (13 of element 2) of the agricultural header; and a cross-member ( elements 23 and 19 in combination) coupled to the fastener, wherein the cross-member extends at least partially through a slot in the arm ( see fig. 5a, element 19 of cross member extends through slot 18 of arm 15), and the cross-member is configured to move along the slot in the arm and to engage an end of the slot in the arm to limit a range of motion of the arm relative to the frame (See paragraph 0042).
Referring to claim 2, Fuechtling discloses one or more nuts (see Examiner annotated Figure 3 at A) coupled to the fastener (21a, through bolt 24), wherein the one or more nuts are configured to rigidly couple the fastener to the cross-member (23).
Referring to claim 5, Fuechtling discloses wherein the cross-member comprises a cylindrical bushing, a cylindrical block, square tubing, a square block, or a combination thereof ( as broadly claimed element 19 can be considered bushing).
Referring to claim 6, Fuechtling discloses the fastener (21a) is configured to pivot relative to the frame (see paragraph 0040).
Referring to claim 7, Fuechtling discloses the cross-member (element 19) is disposed perpendicular to the fastener (24) while coupled to the fastener.
Referring to claim 8, Fuechtling discloses the fastener ( 21a) extends from the frame (13), and the cross-member (23) extends parallel to the frame.
Referring to claim 9, Fuechtling discloses an additional fastener (see fig 3, at 22) directly coupled to the frame (13), wherein the fastener (21a) is coupled to the additional fastener (22).
Referring to claim 10, Fuechtling discloses an arm assembly for an agricultural header, the arm assembly comprising: an arm ( 15) configured to rotate about a pivot axis ( at 24) relative to a frame (13) of the agricultural header, wherein the arm is configured to support a cutter bar assembly ( 6) of the agricultural header; and a pivot assembly ( 16 and 19 in combination) extending at least partially through the arm, wherein the pivot assembly is configured to move along the arm and to limit a range of motion of the arm (see paragraph 0042).
Referring to claim 11, Fuechtling discloses the arm (15) comprises a bracket (see Examiner annotated Figure 5a) having one or more slots (18), and the pivot assembly (19) is configured to extend at least partially through the one or more slots.
Referring to claim 12, Fuechtling (see fig. 2) discloses the arm (15) comprises: a first end configured to interface with the pivot assembly ( at 19) ; and a second end coupled to the cutter bar assembly ( at 6), wherein the first end is opposite the second end.
Referring to claim 13, Fuechtling discloses wherein the pivot assembly (16) is configured to couple to the frame (13).
Referring to claim 14, Fuechtling (see fig. 4) discloses the pivot assembly (16) is configured to rotate about an additional pivot axis ( at 25, see paragraph 0046), and the pivot axis ( at 24) and the additional pivot axis ( at 25) are parallel to one another.
Referring to claim 17, Fuechtling discloses the arm (15) is coupled to the frame (13) at the pivot axis ( at 24).
Referring to claim 18, Feuchtling discloses :a frame (2); an arm ( 15) configured to rotate about a pivot axis relative to the frame; and a pivot assembly (16 and 19 in combination) coupled to the frame, wherein the pivot assembly is configured to engage the arm to limit a range of motion of the arm relative to the frame (see paragraph 0042).
Referring to claim 19, Fuechtling discloses wherein the pivot assembly is adjustable to adjust a location of the range of motion of the arm ( element 19 is adjustable in the slot).
Referring to claim 20 Feuchtling discloses wherein the frame (2) comprises a bracket (13), the pivot assembly comprises a fastener ( element 16), and the fastener is coupled to the bracket.
Claim(s) 1,5,7,10-12,17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by WO2020101859 to Kemmerer et al.
Referring to claims 1 and 15, Kemmerer discloses a pivot assembly for an arm of an agricultural header, the pivot assembly comprising: a fastener (304) coupled to a frame (214) of the agricultural header; and a cross-member (302) coupled to the fastener, wherein the cross-member extends at least partially through a slot (234) in the arm (216), and the cross-member is configured to move along the slot in the arm and to engage an end of the slot in the arm to limit a range of motion of the arm relative to the frame (See paragraph 0035, in one position rotation of the arm is allowed, in a different position rotation of the arm is limited).
Referring to claim 5, Kemmerer discloses wherein the cross-member comprises a cylindrical bushing, a cylindrical block, square tubing, a square block, or a combination thereof ( as broadly claimed element 302 can be considered bushing).
Referring to claim 7, Kemmerer discloses the cross-member (302) is disposed perpendicular to the fastener (304) while coupled to the fastener.
Referring to claim 10, Kemmerer discloses an arm assembly for an agricultural header, the arm assembly comprising: an arm ( 216) configured to rotate about a pivot axis ( at 16) relative to a frame (214) of the agricultural header, wherein the arm is configured to support a cutter bar assembly ( 6) of the agricultural header; and a pivot assembly ( 304,301) extending at least partially through the arm ( pin 302 extends through slot 234 in arm 216) , wherein the pivot assembly is configured to move along the arm and to limit a range of motion of the arm (see paragraph 0035, in one position rotation of the arm is allowed, in a different position rotation of the arm is limited).
Referring to claim 11, Kemmerer discloses the arm (216) comprises a bracket (236 and 238) having one or more slots (234), and the pivot assembly (302) is configured to extend at least partially through the one or more slots (pin 302 extends through slot 234).
Referring to claim 12, Kemmerer discloses the arm (216) comprises: a first end configured to interface with the pivot assembly ( the end at 240) ; and a second end coupled to the cutter bar assembly ( see fig. 3, at 202), wherein the first end is opposite the second end.
Referring to claim 17, Kemmerer discloses the arm (216) is coupled to the frame (214) at the pivot axis ( at 16, see paragraph 0032).
Referring to claim 18, Kemmerer discloses :a frame (214); an arm ( 216) configured to rotate about a pivot axis ( at 16) relative to the frame; and a pivot assembly (302,304) coupled to the frame, wherein the pivot assembly is configured to engage the arm to limit a range of motion of the arm relative to the frame (see paragraph 0035, in one position rotation of the arm is allowed, in a different position rotation of the arm is limited).
Referring to claim 19, Kemmerer discloses wherein the pivot assembly (304,302) is adjustable to adjust a location of the range of motion of the arm ( see paragraph 0035).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2020101859 to Kemmerer et al in view of Martin et al. 20210120740.
Referring to claim 2, Kemmerer does not disclose one or more nuts coupled to the fastener. Kemmerer does disclose the fastener 304 can be a screw drive (see paragraph 0033). Martin teaches that it is known for a screw drive to have a nut couple to a member where the screw drives the member (see fig. 7). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly disclosed by Kemmerer to have a screw drive with a nut in view of the teachings of Martin with a reasonable expectation of success as this is a mere substitution one type of actuating means of moving the cross member 302 disclosed by Kemmerer for another actuating means.
Referring to claim 3, Kemmerer, as modified, discloses the one or more nuts are adjustable along the fastener to adjust the range of motion of the arm ( Using the nut on the screw drive taught by Martin, will cause the cross member 302 disclosed by Kemmerer to move one position where are can move freely to another position where arm cannot move, see paragraph 0035).
Referring to claim 4, Kemmerer, as modified, discloses a plate (310) disposed between the one or more nuts, the cross-member, and sides of the arm, wherein the plate is configured to limit a lateral range of motion of the pivot assembly along an axis perpendicular to the arm ( due to slots in plate).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Fuechtling 20140075912 in view of Hindman 3038366.
Referring to claim 16, Fuechtling does not disclose the pivot assembly comprises a plurality of nuts configured to rigidly couple the fastener to the cross-member. Hindman teaches that a threaded pin with nuts on either end is a type of fastener (see fig. 1). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly disclosed the Feuchtling to have a fastener with a nut on each end in view of the teachings of Hindman with a reasonable expectation of success, as this is merely a simple substitution of one type of fastener for another type of fastener.
Conclusion
/Giovanna Wright/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672