DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 14 are pending in the present application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Fitton et al. (GB 2551111 A; hereinafter Fitton – all reference to copy of record 12/02/2025 filed with IDS of the same date).
Regarding claim 1, Fitton teaches a sensor device (abstract; 1), comprising:
a housing within which a space is formed (20; see fig. 2 and figs. 3-6 showing the housing 20 with constituent portions from several views including cutaway views showing the space within);
a sensor module (11) which is movably coupled to the housing (via spring elements 32; see at least fig. 4 showing this moveably coupled assembly; see also fig. 2; see abstract “springs 32 act to urge the heat flux sensor into a close and secure fitting” and further that “provision for relative movement between the heat flux sensor 11 and the housing 20” is provided by these spring elements) and is exposed at one end thereof to the outside (see fig. 2 and abstract) and configured to sense information on the state of an external member (abstract – at least the heat flux of a wall); and
an electrically conducting part which is accommodated in the space of the housing and is in electrical communication with the sensor module to receive the detected information transferred from the sensor module and supply power to the sensor module therethrough (at least circuit board 10, connection cable 11a/b, communication unit 13, data store 14, battery 15 and microcontroller 12; see fig. 1; see figs. 5 and 6 showing these electrically conducting elements/part accommodated in the housing; see p.10, lines 3-16; see p.6, lines 5-10 teaching regarding control/connectivity of the sensor via the processing unit and p.8, lines 16-18 regarding provision of power to the sensor 11),
wherein the sensor module comprises:
a body part which is exposed to the outside (at least top as drawn face of 11; see fig. 2; see abstract teaching that regarding a close and secure fitting to a wall/measurement surface/external member outside of the housing); and
an elastic member (springs 32) which is coupled to the body part (see figs. 4 and 5 showing this configuration) and presses the body part toward the external member (at least abstract teaches urging/pressing toward the wall/external member; see figs. 2, 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 9, Fitton teaches that the sensor module comprises: a sensing element (at least sensitive portion of heat flux sensor 11; see also surface temperature sensor 16) which is accommodated in a body hollow formed inside the body part (see at least fig. 2 showing such accommodation), detects the information (see at least abstract), and conducts electricity with the electrically conducting part to transmit the detected information to the electrically conducting part (see at least p.8, ¶ starting at line 7; see also p.10, ¶ at 3 teaching specifically regarding electrical connectivity between the heat flux sensor 11 and microcontroller 12 via serial connection cable 11a).
Regarding claim 10, Fitton teaches that the body part is disposed such that one end thereof is in contact with the external member (see fig. 2 in view of abstract teaching that the device is pressed against a wall/external member), and wherein the sensing element is configured to contact an inner surface of the body part (abstract teaches that the heat flux sensor detects the heat flux of an object/wall through the face of element 11 and as such must be at least in thermal contact with the face contacting the wall/object; see figs. 2 and 5 showing this configuration) and receive heat transferred from the external member (abstract – at least a wall) to the body part (see fig. 2 in view of abstract showing and teaching this is the heat transfer path).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fitton et al. (GB 2551111 A; hereinafter Fitton – all reference to copy of record 12/02/2025 filed with IDS of the same date).
Regarding claim 2, Fitton teaches that the body part comprises: a body outer periphery which forms an outer periphery thereof and is formed to extend in a direction toward the housing and a direction toward the external member (outer periphery of body element 11; see figs. 2-4 showing such extension in view of abstract); and a base (30) which is located at one end facing the external member among the ends of the body outer periphery and has a cross-section greater than the cross-section of the body outer periphery (see figs. 2, 3 and 4 showing that element 30 which acts as a base has a cross-section with greater diameter than the outer periphery of the body).
Fitton may be construed as not directly and specifically teaching a diameter as the drawings show a generally square set of cross-sections (see e.g. figs. 2 and 5).
However, Fitton does disclose that the base/frame (30) has a greater cross-section than the body outer periphery portion (outer periphery of body element 11; see figs. 2 and 5) and further circles that fit within the body outer periphery portion and the base have the relation where the diameter of the base circle is greater than the diameter of the body periphery circle.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cross-sectional relationship of the base and body periphery of Fitton with specific mathematical geometry of circles which have specific diameters. This is because one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected any design indicated geometry such as a circle to be one of several straightforward ways of providing contact with an external member because contacting a wall/external member is a known design goal (see at least abstract of Fitton).
Regarding claim 13, Fitton teaches that the electrically conducting part comprises: a power supply unit (at least battery 15) which conducts electricity with the sensor module and supplies the power to the sensor module (p.8, lines 16-18 regarding provision of power from the battery 15 to the sensor 11); and a circuit board (10) which conducts electricity with the power supply unit and the sensor module and receives the detected information (see p.10, lines 3-16 and p.6, lines 5-10 teaching regarding control/connectivity of the sensor via the processing unit and connecting cable therebetween; see also p.8, lines 16-18 regarding provision of power to at least the microcontroller on the circuit board).
Fitton lacks direct teaching that the circuit board is specifically a printed circuit board (PCB).
However, Fitton does disclose that the circuit board has plural devices thereon (see p.10, lines 15-16) which is a common feature of PCBs.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify circuit board with devices mounted thereon of Fitton with the knowledge that PCBs are useful for this configuration and ubiquitous in the art of electronics. This is because one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected a PCB to be a desirable and widely used circuit board to hold the electronics. This is important to provide a well-known and widely used circuit board for the design goal of holding the electronics.
Regarding claim 14, Fitton teaches that the power supply unit is provided with a battery (15)
Fitton lacks direct teaching that the battery is specifically capable of charging and discharging.
However, Fitton does disclose that the device may be provided with a generic power supply which may be a battery (p.5, lines 20-21).
Official Notice is taken that rechargeable batteries / secondary batteries (i.e. batteries that may be charged and discharged) are a well-known and conventional power supply option.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use a rechargeable battery in designs where charging the device will simplify or make more economical the power supply for an end user. This is important to provide a well-known and widely used power source for the design goal of powering the electronics.
Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fitton et al. (GB 2551111 A; hereinafter Fitton – all reference to copy of record 12/02/2025 filed with IDS of the same date) as applied to claim 1 (and claim 2 for claims 3-5) above and further in view of Hoare et al. (US 20200196397, hereinafter Hoare).
Regarding claim 3, Fitton lacks direct and specific teaching that inside the elastic member, an elastic hollow is formed into which the body outer periphery is inserted, and wherein the elastic member is formed to extend in the same direction as the body outer periphery, and one end in the extension direction elastically supports the base.
However, Hoare teaches a temperature sensor mount (abstract; see fig. 4, 5 and 6) having an elastic member (419) having a hollow (see figs. 4-6 showing the hollow inside the spring 419) into which an outer periphery of a temperature sensor housing/holder is inserted along a same direction of extension (at least 409; see figs. 4-6 showing this housing / holder inside the lumen of the spring along the extension direction) and where the spring / elastic member supports the base/brackets of the holder (see figs. 4-6 showing this configuration).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor with elastic element for urging of Fitton with the specific knowledge of using the sensor with elastic element for urging having an elastic hollow / lumen and holder therein of Hoare. This is because such an arrangement allows for placing the sensing holder / housing / body internal to the spring for ease of assembly. This is important in order to provide a sensor with spring urging in a simplified manner to an end user.
Regarding claim 4, Fitton lacks direct and specific teaching that the housing comprises: a lifting space which is formed to have a diameter greater than the outer diameter of the elastic member, extends in the extension direction around the body outer periphery, and has one end of the extension direction communicating with the outside; and a support through-hole which is formed to have a diameter greater than the outer diameter of the body outer periphery but smaller than the outer diameter of the elastic member, and is formed to extend in the extension direction of the body outer periphery such that one end of the extension direction communicates with the lifting space and the other end of the extension direction communicates with the space of the housing.
However, Hoare teaches a temperature sensor mount (abstract; see fig. 4, 5 and 6) having an elastic member (419) having a hollow (see figs. 4-6 showing the hollow inside the spring 419) into which an outer periphery of a temperature sensor housing/holder is inserted along a same direction of extension (at least 409; see figs. 4-6 showing this housing / holder inside the lumen of the spring along the extension direction) and where the spring / elastic member supports the base/brackets of the holder (see figs. 4-6 showing this configuration) with a lifting space communication with the outside (see space delimited by at least opening 401; see figs. 4-6) and a support through-hole (see fig. 4; especially “lower generally cylindrical sensor bracket 405”; [0046]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor with elastic element for urging of Fitton with the specific knowledge of using the sensor with elastic element for urging having a configuration similar to that of Hoare. This is because such an arrangement allows for placing the sensor in a desired location. This is important in order to provide a sensor with spring urging in a simplified manner to an end user.
Regarding claim 5, Fitton teaches that the housing comprises: an elastic member support which surrounds the support through-hole radially from the outside and partially surrounds one end of the lifting space (see figs. 2 and 3 showing that the housing has a portion surrounding and supporting the opening of the support frame 30 and in view of fig. 4 showing the partial surrounding of one end of the lifting space), wherein the other end of the extension direction of the elastic member elastically supports the elastic member support (see fig. 4 showing that the other end of the housing supports the springs).
Regarding claim 6, Fitton teaches that the body part comprises: a body outer periphery which forms an outer periphery thereof and is formed to extend in a direction toward the housing and a direction toward the external member (see figs. 2-6 showing this configuration).
Fitton lacks direct and specific teaching regarding a coupling groove which is located to be biased toward one end in the direction toward the housing among the ends of the extension direction of the body outer periphery, is formed to be recessed in the body outer periphery, and extends along the outer peripheral direction.
However, Hoare teaches a temperature sensor mount (abstract; see fig. 4, 5 and 6) having an elastic member (419; see figs. 4-6) and grooves for coupling the portions along an outer periphery (see at least fig. 10 showing several grooves / threads / grooved seals for connecting and sealing the body of the sensor holder; see also fig. 4 showing additional grooves for connecting).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor with elastic element for urging of Fitton with the specific knowledge of the sensor with elastic element for urging having coupling grooves of Hoare. This is because such an arrangement allows for attaching/coupling the sensing holder/housing/body into the assembly. This is important in order to provide connecting portions for a sensor with spring urging in a simplified manner to an end user.
Regarding claim 7, Fitton lacks direct and specific teaching that the sensor module comprises: a fixed ring which is inserted into and coupled to the coupling groove and is configured to adjust a diameter thereof by being pressed in the radial direction, wherein the fixed ring is located in the space of the housing.
However, Hoare teaches a temperature sensor mount (abstract; see fig. 4, 5 and 6) having an elastic member (419; see figs. 4-6) and grooves for coupling the portions along an outer periphery (see at least fig. 10 showing several grooves / threads / grooved seals for connecting and sealing the body of the sensor holder; see also fig. 4 showing additional grooves for connecting) and clamping rings (see at least [0046-49] teaching regarding the clamping rings 418, 431 and 402; see also rings 603; 604; 801; 2207; 2211).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor with elastic element for urging of Fitton with the specific knowledge of the sensor with elastic element for urging having coupling grooves and clamping rings of Hoare. This is because such an arrangement allows for attaching/coupling the sensing holder/housing/body into the assembly. This is important in order to provide connecting portions for a sensor with spring urging in a simplified manner to an end user.
Regarding claim 8, Fitton teaches that the housing comprises: a support depression which is formed to be recessed on the inner surface in one direction facing the external member (see figs. 3 and 6 showing this configuration; see also Hoare fig. 9).
Fitton lacks direct and specific teaching regarding that the depression is into which the fixed ring is seated.
However, Hoare teaches a temperature sensor mount (abstract; see fig. 4, 5 and 6) having an elastic member (419; see figs. 4-6) and grooves for coupling the portions along an outer periphery (see at least fig. 10 showing several grooves / threads / grooved seals for connecting and sealing the body of the sensor holder; see also fig. 4 showing additional grooves for connecting) and clamping rings (see at least [0046-49] teaching regarding the clamping rings 418, 431 and 402; see also rings 603; 604; 801; 2207; 2211) where the grooves include at least a depression (“circumferential groove 1051” [0049]; see fig. 5) with a ring of “vulcanization silicone” therein ([0049]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor with elastic element for urging of Fitton with the specific knowledge of the sensor with elastic element for urging having grooves and rings seated therein of Hoare. This is because such an arrangement allows for attaching/coupling/sealing the sensing holder/housing/body into the assembly. This is important in order to provide connecting portions for a sensor with spring urging in a simplified manner to an end user.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fitton et al. (GB 2551111 A; hereinafter Fitton – all reference to copy of record 12/02/2025 filed with IDS of the same date) as applied to claims 1, 9 and 10 above and further in view of Sidoni (US 20040028118).
Regarding claim 11, Fitton lacks direct and specific teaching that inside the body hollow, a fixing material for fixing the sensing element to the body part is accommodated, and wherein the fixing material is formed of a thermally conductive material.
However, Sidoni teaches that it is known that a “thermal sensing device is fitted into the mounting well with a thermally conductive epoxy” (abstract).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor of Fitton with the specific knowledge of thermally conductive epoxy for holding/fixing sensors of Sidoni. This is because such fixing with thermally conductive epoxy allows for holding a sensor in place and allow thermal flows to reach the sensor. This is important in order to provide a robust and accurate device to an end user.
Regarding claim 12, Fitton lacks direct and specific teaching that the fixing material is an epoxy material.
However, Sidoni teaches that it is known that a “thermal sensing device is fitted into the mounting well with a thermally conductive epoxy” (abstract).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor of Fitton with the specific knowledge of thermally conductive epoxy for holding sensors of Sidoni. This is because such fixing with thermally conductive epoxy allows for holding a sensor in place and allow thermal flows to reach the sensor. This is important in order to provide a robust and accurate device to an end user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/PHILIP L COTEY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/LAURA MARTIN/ SPE, Art Unit 2855