DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first determining module,” “a constructing module,” “a triggering module,” and “a generating module in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims describe a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions. However, the specification does not clearly define the nature of the “computer-readable storage medium"; therefore, the “computer-readable storage medium” can be interpreted to include non-statutory media such as a wireless signal or carrier wave. The Examiner recommends replacing “computer-readable storage medium” with “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium”.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims fail to fall within a statutory category of invention. It is directed to the program itself, not a process occurring as a result of executing the program, a machine programmed to operate in accordance with the program nor a manufacture structurally and functionally interconnected with the program in a manner which enables the program to act as a computer component and realize its functionality. It’s also clearly not directed to a composition of matter. Therefore, it is non-statutory under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-14, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2018/0139377 A1) in view of Park (US 2014/0177974 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses an image processing method, wherein the method comprises: determining, based on a smear region in an image to be processed, a target image from the image to be processed; (Paragraph 0025, obtaining a cropped image from a captured image based on various visual factors) constructing, by taking the target image as an image of a bottom layer, an image pyramid for the target image; (Figure 2 and paragraphs 0026-0027, generation of an image pyramid using the cropped image) wherein the image pyramid includes at least two image layers arranged in an ascending order of resolution from a top layer to the bottom layer (Figure 1, element 140, image pyramid with increasing resolution at lower layers). Zhang does not clearly disclose performing a matching updating process on an image of each layer in the image pyramid in an order from the top layer to the bottom layer, sequentially; wherein the matching updating process comprises: determining an input image of a current layer; determining a patch to be matched on the input image of the current layer; determining, on the input image of the current layer, a target patch corresponding to the patch to be matched based on similarity matching; updating the input image of the current layer based on the target patch to obtain an updated image; wherein the updated image is used for determining an image of a lower layer; and generating, after the matching updating process is completed for the image of each layer in the image pyramid, a target effect image corresponding to the image to be processed based on an updated image corresponding to the image of the bottom layer in the image pyramid. Park discloses performing a matching updating process on an image of each layer in the image pyramid in an order from the top layer to the bottom layer, sequentially; wherein the matching updating process comprises: determining an input image of a current layer; (Paragraph 0054, selection of a recovery object region) determining a patch to be matched on the input image of the current layer; (Paragraph 0050, selection of a patch region) determining, on the input image of the current layer, a target patch corresponding to the patch to be matched based on similarity matching; (Paragraph 0054, selecting the patch region so that it naturally matches adjacent regions) updating the input image of the current layer based on the target patch to obtain an updated image; wherein the updated image is used for determining an image of a lower layer; (Paragraph 0055, inpainting based on the recovery object region and patch region that can be enlarged for a higher resolution level) and generating, after the matching updating process is completed for the image of each layer in the image pyramid, a target effect image corresponding to the image to be processed based on an updated image corresponding to the image of the bottom layer in the image pyramid (Paragraph 0080, recovering an image from the image pyramid after completion of the inpainting in each layer). Park’s technique of inpainting layers of an image pyramid for recovery of an image would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to be applicable to the cropping of an image based on various visual factors for generating an image pyramid of Zhang and the results would have been predictable in the recovery of an image through inpainting layers of an image pyramid generated based on various visual factors. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses wherein determining the patch to be matched on the input image of the current layer comprises: determining a target pixel point in the input image of the current layer; determining, on the input image of the current layer, the patch to be matched based on the target pixel point; (Paragraph 0045, filling pixels using the selected patch for recovery) and correspondingly, updating the input image of the current layer based on the target patch to obtain the updated image comprises: updating a value of the target pixel point in the input image of the current layer to obtain the updated image based on a value of a pixel point, which corresponds to the target pixel point, in the target patch (Paragraphs 0045 and 0080, inpainting the pixels of the image in the image pyramid for recovery).
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses updating, based on the target patch, pixel values of pixel points in each image region in the input image of the current layer, sequentially, to obtain the updated image (Paragraph 0045, filling pixels using the selected patch for recovery).
Regarding, claim 8, Park discloses wherein determining the input image of the current layer comprises: determining an updated image corresponding to an input image of an upper layer; (Paragraph 0055, inpainting of the image) enlarging, based on a resolution proportional relationship between the image of the current layer and an image of the upper layer in the image pyramid, the updated image to obtain an enlarged image; (Paragraph 0055, enlarging regions during the inpainting) and determining the enlarged image as the input image of the current layer (Paragraph 0062, enlarging the regions towards other layers that are inpainted).
Regarding claims 9 and 11, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 1 is applied.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses a computer-readable storage medium, wherein instructions are stored on the computer-readable storage medium, and the instructions, upon being executed by a terminal device, cause the terminal device to implement the method according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 and paragraphs 0057 and 0062, storage media storing instructions for execution).
Regarding claim 12, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 10 is applied.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 2 is applied.
Regarding claim 19, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 7 is applied.
Regarding claim 20, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 8 is applied.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art does not clearly disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein determining, on the input image of the current layer, the patch to be matched based on the target pixel point comprises: determining, on the input image of the current layer, the patch to be matched with the target pixel point as a center point.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art does not clearly disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein determining, on the input image of the current layer, the target patch corresponding to the patch to be matched based on the similarity matching comprises: determining, on the input image of the current layer, an initial patch corresponding to the patch to be matched, and performing an iterative matching process; wherein the iterative matching process comprises: calculating a similarity value between the initial patch and the patch to be matched; taking the initial patch as a starting point, determining an adjacent candidate patch according to a preset propagation mode, sequentially, and calculating a similarity value between the adjacent candidate patch and the patch to be matched until an iteration number reaches a preset maximum iteration number; and determining a patch with a maximum similarity value to the patch to be matched as the target patch corresponding to the patch to be matched.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art does not clearly disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the smear region in the image to be processed is stored in an Alpha channel of the image of each layer in the image pyramid.
Regarding claim 15, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 3 is applied.
Regarding claim 16, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 4 is applied.
Regarding claim 18, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 6 is applied.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lubin et al. (US 6,137,904) discloses pyramid decomposition for smearing and downsampling an image.
/PHI HOANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619