DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Claretti, US 20180257241.
Regarding claim 1, Claretti discloses: A robot hand (Fig. 1a, system 100) comprising:
a pair of fingers (Fig. 1a, manipulators 102) provided so as to freely approach and separate from each other in order to hold a workpiece therebetween; and
a pair of jaw members (Fig. 1a, grippers 106 and numerous other embodiments of like grippers, such as 304 in 3a, 3b, 404 in 4a, 4b, 502 in Figs. 5a, 5b, 602 in 6a, 6b, 702 in 7a, 7b, 806 in 8a, 8b, etc.) provided on the pair of fingers, respectively, in order to hook another workpiece, wherein
the jaw members are provided so as to be changeable between a state of protruding from contact surfaces of the fingers with the workpiece and a state of being pushed into the fingers ( see figs. 4a vs 4b, 5a vs 5b, 6a vs 6b, 7a vs 7b, 8a vs 8b.).
Regarding claim 2, Claretti further discloses: the fingers are formed as straight columns with flat contact surfaces ( see figs. 4a - 8b.).
Regarding claim 3, Claretti further discloses: an urging member configured to urge the jaw members in a direction to protrude from the contact surfaces ( see figs. 4a - 8b.- numerous urging members are used, such as hydraulic or pneumatic reservoir 402, hydraulic or pneumatic cylinder 504, biasing member 708, rotary actuator 712, rotary actuators 804 ).
Regarding claim 4, Claretti further discloses: the jaw members are provided on tip sides of the fingers ( see figs. 4a - 8b.).
Regarding claim 5, Claretti further discloses: the jaw members are configured in a wide thin plate shape ( see figs. 1a - 8b.).
Regarding claim 6, Claretti further discloses: the jaw members are formed in an L-shape in plan view (see Figs. 3a-3d and 13a-13c, which shows that when several of the inflatable bladders are inflated and some not, the shape can form both an L and a U shape. Furthermore, the shape of the gripper can be altered as needed - [0084] “The specific configurations, machines, and the size and shape of various elements can be varied according to particular design specifications or constraints requiring a device, system, or method constructed according to the principles of this disclosure. Such changes are intended to be embraced within the scope of this disclosure.”).
Regarding claim 7, Claretti further discloses: the jaw members are formed in a U-shape in plan view (see Figs. 3a-3d and 13a-13c, which shows that when several of the inflatable bladders are inflated and some not, the shape can form both an L and a U shape. Furthermore, the shape of the gripper can be altered as needed - [0084] “The specific configurations, machines, and the size and shape of various elements can be varied according to particular design specifications or constraints requiring a device, system, or method constructed according to the principles of this disclosure. Such changes are intended to be embraced within the scope of this disclosure.”).
Regarding claim 8, Claretti further discloses: the jaw members can be completely housed inside the fingers ( see figs. 4a - 8b.).
Regarding claim 9, Claretti further discloses: the jaw members are rotatably supported by the fingers at tip sides of the fingers ( see figs. 4a - 8b.).
Regarding claim 10, Claretti further discloses: the robot hand includes a support member for suppressing sway of the workpiece held between the pair of fingers or the another workpiece hooked by the pair of jaw members ([0042] “As shown in FIG. 3D, placing the gripper 106 horizontally, for example, can enable unpackaged or oddly shaped items (like a soccer ball 212) to be securely handled. In other words, this configuration can enable the inflatable bladders 304 to conform to the shape of the soccer ball 212 for a more secure hold. The inflatable bladders 304 can be flexible and can be inflated with a common air or hydraulic source. Thus, while the inflatable bladders 304 may all be at the same pressure, the inflatable bladders 304 may extend different amounts before they encounter the target item 204. In this case, the inflatable bladders 304a located nearer the top and bottom of the soccer ball 212 may extend more than those inflatable bladders 304b located closer to the center of the soccer ball 212 before encountering resistance. Thus, the middle inflatable bladders 304b encounter the soccer ball 212 almost immediately, while the outer inflatable bladders 304a extend further. This has the effect of cradling the soccer ball 212, as shown, providing a secure grip. “).
Conclusion
.
/DANIEL JEREMY LEEDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731