DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office action on the merits based on the 18/682,503 application filed on 02/09/2024 and applicant’s preliminary amendments filed 02/09/2024. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The effective filing date of the present application is 08/12/2021. In applicant’s preliminary amendments filed 02/09/2024, claim 10 was amended. Claims 1-21, as filed on 02/09/2024, are currently pending and considered below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/09/2024 and 01/07/2025 were in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because poor quality, line weight, and overall drawing sizes used in the illustrations of Figures 1-13 render details in the drawings unclear. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of undue length. See below. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10, 11, 16, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 2, “a rotatable power output member; and” should be --- a power output member being rotatable; and ---.
In claim 10, lines 2-3, “the constant-force coil spring” should be --- the at least one constant-force coil spring ---.
In claim 11, line 2, “a rotatable rotating shaft” should be --- a rotating shaft being rotatable ---.
In claim 11, lines 5-6, “a rotatable power output member” should be --- a power output member being rotatable ---.
In claim 16, lines 2-3, “the transmission toothed disc” should be --- each transmission toothed disc ---. Refer to the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections of claim 15, see below.
In claim 16, line 5, “the transmission toothed disc” should be --- each transmission toothed disc ---. Refer to the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections of claim 15, see below.
In claim 21, line 3, “the transmission toothed disc” should be --- the corresponding transmission toothed disc ---. Refer to the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections of claim 15, see below.
In claim 21, line 4, “the transmission toothed disc” should be --- the corresponding transmission toothed disc ---. Refer to the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections of claim 15, see below.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the other end thereof” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant is suggested to amend the limitation to --- another end thereof ---.
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, by virtue of their dependency on claim 1, which is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, see above.
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claims 1 and 2, the limitation “the clutch device comprises a transmission toothed disc that can slide on the rotating shaft and is arranged on one side of each auxiliary output wheel” is recited in lines 2-4. The limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether or not applicant intends to claim a plurality of auxiliary output wheels (i.e. “each auxiliary output wheel”; emphasis added). Specifically, an auxiliary output wheel is recited in claim 2, line 2. Applicant is suggested to amend the limitation to --- the clutch device comprises a transmission toothed disc that can slide on the rotating shaft and is arranged on one side of the auxiliary output wheel ---. Refer to Figure 9 and the specification, as originally filed, page 6, lines 15-22, and page 8, lines 23-29.
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claims 1 and 2, the limitation “wherein transmission teeth are provided at one end of the transmission toothed disc and arranged to face the meshing teeth of the auxiliary constant torque force generator so as to form meshing between the transmission teeth and the meshing teeth when approaching each other” is recited in lines 5-8. The limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether or not “the meshing teeth of the auxiliary constant torque force generator” are the same as, different from, in addition to, and/or part of the meshing teeth of the auxiliary output wheel, as recited in claim 3, line 2. In addition, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the meshing teeth of the auxiliary constant torque force generator” in this limitation in the claim. Applicant is suggested to amend the limitation to --- wherein transmission teeth are provided at one end of the transmission toothed disc and arranged to face the meshing teeth of the auxiliary output wheel so as to form meshing between the transmission teeth and the meshing teeth when approaching each other ---. Refer to Figure 9 and the specification, as originally filed, page 6, lines 15-22, and page 8, lines 23-29.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, by virtue of their dependency on claim 3, which is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, see above.
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claims 1-3, the limitation “so that the transmission teeth of the transmission toothed disc are separated from the meshing teeth of the auxiliary constant torque force generator under normal conditions” is recited in lines 2-4. The limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether or not “the meshing teeth of the auxiliary constant torque force generator” are the same as, different from, in addition to, and/or part of the meshing teeth of the auxiliary output wheel, as recited in claim 3, line 2. In addition, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the meshing teeth of the auxiliary constant torque force generator” in this limitation in the claim. Applicant is suggested to amend the limitation to --- so that the transmission teeth of the transmission toothed disc are separated from the meshing teeth of the auxiliary output wheel under normal conditions ---. Refer to Figure 9 and the specification, as originally filed, page 6, lines 15-22, and page 8, lines 23-29.
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claims 1-3, the limitation “a radial outer side of each transmission toothed disc” is recited in line 5-6. The limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether or not applicant intends to claim a plurality of transmission toothed discs (i.e. “each transmission toothed disc”; emphasis added). Specifically, a transmission toothed disc is recited in claim 3, line 3. Applicant is suggested to amend the limitation to --- a radial outer side of the transmission toothed disc ---. Refer to Figures 9-11, and the specification, as originally filed, page 6, lines 15-22, and page 8, lines 23, through page 9, line 23.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the other end of the insert piece” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant is suggested to amend the limitation to --- another end of the insert piece ---.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the same plane” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant is suggested to amend the limitation to --- a same plane ---.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the other end thereof” in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant is suggested to amend the limitation to --- another end thereof ---.
Claims 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, by virtue of their dependency on claim 11, which is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, see above.
Regarding claim 13, which depends from claims 11 and 12, the limitation “the clamping teeth are provided on an inner peripheral side of the reel” is recited in line 2. The limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether or not the clamping teeth provided on the inner peripheral side of the reel are the same as, different from, in addition to, and/or part of the clamping teeth formed on the inner peripheral side of the independent output wheel, as recited in claim 12, lines 3-4. Applicant is suggested to amend the limitation to --- a second plurality of clamping teeth are provided on an inner peripheral side of the reel ---. Refer to Figures 5 and 8, and the specification, as originally filed, page 7, line 25, through page 8, line 1, and page 8, lines 17-22.
Regarding claim 14, which depends from claim 11, the following limitations are recited in lines 1-8:
“The real-time constant-force tension device according to claim 11, further provided with at least one auxiliary constant torque force generator, wherein the auxiliary constant torque force generator comprises a rotatable auxiliary output wheel and at least one constant-force coil spring, at least one constant-force coil spring of the auxiliary constant torque force generator is arranged beside the auxiliary output wheel, one end of the constant-force coil spring is immobile, and the other end thereof is fixed to the auxiliary output wheel, and a power connection is formed between each of the auxiliary output wheels and the rotating shaft through a clutch device.”
The limitations render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether or not:
The “at least one constant-force coil spring” of the auxiliary constant torque force generator is the same as, different from, in addition to, and/or part of the “at least one constant-force coil spring” of the independent constant torque force generator recited in claim 11, lines 5-6.
The power connection formed between each of the auxiliary output wheels and the rotating shaft through a clutch device” is the same as, different from, in addition to, and/or part of the power connection formed between the power output member and the rotating shaft recited in claim 11, lines 6-7.
Applicant intends to claim a plurality of auxiliary output wheels (i.e. “each of the auxiliary output wheels”; emphasis added). Specifically, in claim 14, line 3, “the auxiliary constant torque force generator comprises a rotatable auxiliary output wheel” is recited. Emphasis added.
In addition, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the other end thereof” (claim 14, line 6) in these limitations in the claim.
Applicant is suggested to amend the limitations to
--- The real-time constant-force tension device according to claim 11, further provided with at least one auxiliary constant torque force generator, wherein each auxiliary constant torque force generator comprises an auxiliary output wheel being rotatable and at least one auxiliary constant-force coil spring, the at least one auxiliary constant-force coil spring is arranged beside the auxiliary output wheel, one end of the at least one auxiliary constant-force coil spring is immobile, and another end thereof is fixed to the auxiliary output wheel, and a second power connection is formed between each of the auxiliary output wheels and the rotating shaft through a clutch device. ---.
Refer to the specification, as originally filed, page 7, line 15, through page 8, line 1, and Figures 1, 2, 4, and 7.
Claims 15-18, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, by virtue of their dependency on claim 14, which is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, see above.
Regarding claim 15, which depends from claims 11 and 14, the following limitations are recited in lines 1-9:
“The real-time constant-force tension device according to claim 14, wherein the structure of the clutch device is as follows:
meshing teeth are formed on one end face of the auxiliary output wheel, a transmission toothed disc that can slide on the rotating shaft is arranged on one side of each auxiliary output wheel, the transmission toothed disc can keep rotating synchronously with the rotating shaft; and transmission teeth are provided at one end of the transmission toothed disc, and arranged to face the meshing teeth of the auxiliary constant torque force generator so as to form meshing between the transmission teeth and the meshing teeth when approaching each other.”
The limitations render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether or not:
Applicant intends to claim that meshing teeth are formed on one end face of each auxiliary output wheel of the respective at least one auxiliary constant torque force generator.
Applicant intends to claim a plurality of transmission toothed discs that can each slide on the rotating shaft, wherein each transmission toothed disc is respectively arranged on one side of each auxiliary output wheel, and wherein each transmission toothed disc can keep rotating synchronously with the rotating shaft.
Applicant intends to claim that transmission teeth are provided at one end of each of a plurality of transmission toothed discs, and arranged to respectively face the meshing teeth of the corresponding auxiliary output wheel so as to form meshing between the transmission teeth and the meshing teeth when approaching each other.
In addition, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the structure of the clutch device” (claim 15, line 2) in these limitations in the claim.
Applicant is suggested to amend the limitations to
--- The real-time constant-force tension device according to claim 14, wherein a structure of the clutch device is as follows:
meshing teeth are formed on one end face of each auxiliary output wheel of the corresponding at least one auxiliary constant torque force generator, at least one transmission toothed disc that can each slide on the rotating shaft is respectively and correspondingly arranged on one side of each auxiliary output wheel, each transmission toothed disc can keep rotating synchronously with the rotating shaft; and transmission teeth are provided at one end of each transmission toothed disc, and respectively arranged to face the meshing teeth of the corresponding auxiliary output wheel so as to form meshing between the transmission teeth and the meshing teeth when respectively approaching each other. ---.
Refer to Figures 1-3, 7, 9, and 10, and the specification, as originally filed, page 6, lines 15-22, and page 8, lines 23-29. Refer as well to the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections of claim 14, see above.
Claims 16-18, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, by virtue of their dependency on claim 15, which is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, see above.
Regarding claim 17, which depends from claims 11, 14, and 15, the following limitations are recited in lines 1-7:
“The real-time constant-force tension device according to claim 15, wherein the transmission toothed disc is connected with an elastic member, so that the transmission teeth of the transmission toothed disc are separated from the meshing teeth of the auxiliary constant torque force generator under normal conditions; and
an insert piece that can be cut in radially is arranged on a radial outer side of each transmission toothed disc, and one end of the insert piece facing the transmission toothed disc is an insert blade with a slope.”
The limitations render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether or not:
Applicant intends to claim that each of a plurality of transmission toothed discs is connected with an elastic member.
Applicant intends to claim that the transmission teeth of each transmission toothed disc are separated from the meshing teeth of the corresponding auxiliary output wheel under normal conditions.
Applicant intends to claim that an insert piece that can be cut in radially is arranged on a radial outer side of each of a plurality of transmission toothed discs.
Applicant is suggested to amend the limitations to
--- The real-time constant-force tension device according to claim 15, wherein each transmission toothed disc is connected with an elastic member, so that the transmission teeth of each transmission toothed disc are separated from the meshing teeth of the corresponding auxiliary output wheel under normal conditions; and
an insert piece that can be cut in radially is respectively arranged on a radial outer side of each transmission toothed disc, and one end of the insert piece facing the corresponding transmission toothed disc is an insert blade with a slope. ---.
Refer to Figures 7 and 9-11, and the specification, as originally filed, page 6, lines 15-22, and page 9, lines 2-23. Refer as well to the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections of claim 15, see above.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the other end of the insert piece” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant is suggested to amend the limitation to --- another end of the insert piece ---.
Regarding claim 20, which depends from claims 11, 14, and 15, the following limitations are recited in lines 1-5:
“The real-time constant-force tension device according to claim 15, wherein the structure of the clutch device is as follows: a toggling mechanism is connected onto the transmission toothed disc, and the toggling mechanism can be linked and actuated through an external operating member to control the axial movement of the transmission toothed disc on the rotating shaft to achieve a clutch effect.”
The limitations render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether or not:
Applicant intends to claim that a toggling mechanism is connected onto each of a plurality of transmission toothed discs.
Applicant intends to claim that the toggling mechanism can control an axial movement of each of a plurality of transmission toothed discs on the rotating shaft to achieve a clutch effect.
In addition, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the structure of the clutch device” (claim 20, line 2) and “the axial movement of the transmission toothed disc on the rotating shaft” (claim 20, lines 4-5) in these limitations in the claim.
Applicant is suggested to amend the limitations to
--- The real-time constant-force tension device according to claim 15, wherein a structure of the clutch device is as follows: a toggling mechanism is connected onto each transmission toothed disc, and the toggling mechanism can be linked and actuated through an external operating member to control an axial movement of the corresponding transmission toothed disc on the rotating shaft to achieve a clutch effect. ---.
Refer to Figures 7, 9, and 12, and the specification, as originally filed, page 6, lines 15-22, and page 9, lines 24-28. Refer as well to the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections of claims 15 and 17, see above.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “the structure of the clutch device” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant is suggested to amend the limitation to --- a structure of the clutch device ---.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-11, 14, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sherin (US 2018/0214731).
Regarding claim 1, Sherin discloses a constant torque force generator (the second storage drum 116A together with the constant force spring 116D and the first storage drum 116E, wherein the exemplary resistance module 114 is an exemplary embodiment of “two or more resistance modules (e.g., 114, 116, 118)”; paragraph 0060; Figures 1-4 and 7), comprising:
a rotatable power output member (the second storage drum 116A; Figures 1-4 and 7; paragraph 0060); and
at least one constant-force coil spring (the constant force spring 116D together with the first storage drum 116E; Figures 1-4 and 7; paragraph 0060), arranged beside the power output member (Figures 1, 2, 4, and 7; paragraph 0060), one end thereof being immobile (“the constant force spring 114D is affixed to the first storage drum 114E and second storage drum 114A via a screw, adhesive, or any combination of those or other materials” (emphasis added), wherein the exemplary resistance module 114 is an exemplary embodiment of “two or more resistance modules (e.g., 114, 116, 118)”; paragraph 0060; Figures 1, 2, and 4), and the other end thereof being fixed to the power output member (“the constant force spring 114D is affixed to the first storage drum 114E and second storage drum 114A via a screw, adhesive, or any combination of those or other materials” (emphasis added), wherein the exemplary resistance module 114 is an exemplary embodiment of “two or more resistance modules (e.g., 114, 116, 118)”; paragraph 0060; Figures 1, 2, and 4).
Regarding claim 2, Sherin further discloses wherein the power output member is an auxiliary output wheel (the second storage drum 116A, wherein the exemplary resistance module 114 is an exemplary embodiment of “two or more resistance modules (e.g., 114, 116, 118)”; paragraph 0060; Figures 1-4 and 7), a rotating shaft (the main axle 106; Figures 1, 2, 6, and 7) that can rotate relatively freely is provided into and extended through the auxiliary output wheel (Figures 1-4 and 7), and a power connection is formed between the auxiliary output wheel and the rotating shaft through a clutch device (“As shown in FIGS. 1, 3, and 4, the teeth 116B are configured to match the holes 118C on the adjacent second storage drum 118A. Thus, the engagement patterns are configured to couple adjacent drums together” along the main axle 106.; paragraph 0066; Figures 1-4 and 7; paragraphs 0067-0069).
Regarding claim 3, Sherin further discloses wherein meshing teeth (the set of teeth 116B of the second storage drum 116A (paragraph 0066) analogous to the set of teeth 114B of the second storage drum 114A illustrated in Figure 3) are formed on one end face of the auxiliary output wheel (paragraph 0066), the clutch device comprises a transmission toothed disc (the second storage drum 118A; paragraph 0066; Figures 1 and 7) that can slide on the rotating shaft (via the pusher 126; paragraphs 0066-0067) and is arranged on one side of each auxiliary output wheel (Figures 1 and 7), and the transmission toothed disc and the rotating shaft keep rotating synchronously (paragraphs 0066-0069); and wherein transmission teeth (the set of inverted teeth holes 118C (paragraph 0066) analogous to the set of inverted teeth holes 116C of the second storage drum 116A illustrated in Figure 4) are provided at one end of the transmission toothed disc (paragraphs 0066-0067) and arranged to face the meshing teeth of the auxiliary constant torque force generator so as to form meshing between the transmission teeth and the meshing teeth when approaching each other (paragraphs 0066-0069; Figures 1-4 and 7).
Regarding claim 7, in an alternative interpretation, Sherin further discloses wherein the power output member is an independent output wheel (In the alternative interpretation, the power output member is capable of being the second storage drum 114A (Figures 1-3 and 7) instead of the second storage drum 116A (Figures 1-4 and 7; paragraph 0060).), a rotating shaft (the main axle 106; Figures 1, 2, 6, and 7) is provided into and extended through the independent output wheel, and the independent output wheel and the rotating shaft can rotate synchronously (paragraph 0065; Figure 7).
Regarding claim 9, Sherin further discloses wherein the power output member and the at least one constant-force coil spring are located on the same plane (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Sherin further discloses two panels (two parallel sides of the housing 104; Figure 1), the power output member and the constant-force coil spring being positioned between the two panels (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Sherin discloses a real-time constant-force tension device (the device 100; Figures 1-7), comprising:
a rotatable rotating shaft (the main axle 106; Figures 1, 2, 6, and 7);
a reel (the cord spool 108; Figures 1 and 7), around which a draw cord (the cord 110; Figures 1 and 7) is wound, and which can drive the rotating shaft to rotate (the cord spool is attached to the main axle (Abstract: “a cord spool attached to the main axle”) therefore the cord spool 108 is capable of driving the main axle 106 to rotate; Figures 1 and 7); and
an independent constant torque force generator (the second storage drum 114A together with the constant force spring 114D and the first storage drum 114E; Figures 1-3 and 7), comprising a rotatable power output member (the second storage drum 114A; Figures 1-3 and 7) and at least one constant-force coil spring (the constant force spring 114D together with the first storage drum 114E; Figures 1-3 and 7), wherein a power connection is formed between the power output member and the rotating shaft (paragraphs 0055, 0062, and 0065; Figures 1, 2, and 7), the at least one constant-force coil spring is arranged beside the power output member (Figures 1, 2, and 7), one end of each constant-force coil spring is immobile (paragraph 0060: “the constant force spring 114D is affixed to the first storage drum 114E and second storage drum 114A via a screw, adhesive, or any combination of those or other materials”; emphasis added; Figures 1 and 2), and the other end thereof is fixed to the power output member (paragraph 0060: “the constant force spring 114D is affixed to the first storage drum 114E and second storage drum 114A via a screw, adhesive, or any combination of those or other materials”; emphasis added; Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 14, Sherin further discloses at least one auxiliary constant torque force generator (the second storage drum 116A together with the constant force spring 116D and the first storage drum 116E, wherein the exemplary resistance module 114 is an exemplary embodiment of “two or more resistance modules (e.g., 114, 116, 118)”; paragraph 0060; Figures 1-4 and 7), wherein the auxiliary constant torque force generator comprises a rotatable auxiliary output wheel (the second storage drum 116A; Figures 1-4 and 7; paragraph 0060) and at least one constant-force coil spring (the constant force spring 116D together with the first storage drum 116E; Figures 1-4 and 7; paragraph 0060), at least one constant-force coil spring of the auxiliary constant torque force generator is arranged beside the auxiliary output wheel (Figures 1, 2, 4, and 7; paragraph 0060), one end of the constant-force coil spring is immobile (“the constant force spring 114D is affixed to the first storage drum 114E and second storage drum 114A via a screw, adhesive, or any combination of those or other materials” (emphasis added), wherein the exemplary resistance module 114 is an exemplary embodiment of “two or more resistance modules (e.g., 114, 116, 118)”; paragraph 0060; Figures 1, 2, and 4), and the other end thereof is fixed to the auxiliary output wheel (“the constant force spring 114D is affixed to the first storage drum 114E and second storage drum 114A via a screw, adhesive, or any combination of those or other materials” (emphasis added), wherein the exemplary resistance module 114 is an exemplary embodiment of “two or more resistance modules (e.g., 114, 116, 118)”; paragraph 0060; Figures 1, 2, and 4), and a power connection is formed between each of the auxiliary output wheels and the rotating shaft through a clutch device (“As shown in FIGS. 1, 3, and 4, the teeth 116B are configured to match the holes 118C on the adjacent second storage drum 118A. Thus, the engagement patterns are configured to couple adjacent drums together” along the main axle 106.; paragraph 0066; Figures 1-4 and 7; paragraphs 0067-0069).
Regarding claim 15, Sherin further discloses wherein the structure of the clutch device is as follows:
meshing teeth (the set of teeth 116B of the second storage drum 116A (paragraph 0066) analogous to the set of teeth 114B of the second storage drum 114A illustrated in Figure 3) are formed on one end face of the auxiliary output wheel (paragraph 0066), a transmission toothed disc (the second storage drum 118A; paragraph 0066; Figures 1 and 7) that can slide on the rotating shaft (via the pusher 126; paragraphs 0066-0067) is arranged on one side of each auxiliary output wheel (Figures 1 and 7), the transmission toothed disc can keep rotating synchronously with the rotating shaft (paragraphs 0066-0069); and transmission teeth (the set of inverted teeth holes 118C (paragraph 0066) analogous to the set of inverted teeth holes 116C of the second storage drum 116A illustrated in Figure 4) are provided at one end of the transmission toothed disc (paragraphs 0066-0067), and arranged to face the meshing teeth of the auxiliary constant torque force generator so as to form meshing between the transmission teeth and the meshing teeth when approaching each other (paragraphs 0066-0069; Figures 1-4 and 7).
Regarding claim 20, Sherin further discloses wherein the structure of the clutch device is as follows: a toggling mechanism (the pusher 126; paragraph 0070; Figures 1 and 5-7) is connected onto the transmission toothed disc (“the second storage drum 118A is affixed to the pusher 126 such that second storage drum 118A is configured to move along the shaft 106 in the same direction as the pusher 126”; paragraph 0067), and the toggling mechanism can be linked and actuated through an external operating member (the adjustment knob 122 of the resistance selector 120; paragraph 0070; Figures 1 and 5-7) to control the axial movement of the transmission toothed disc on the rotating shaft to achieve a clutch effect (paragraphs 0067-0070; Figures 1 and 5-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 8, 12, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherin (US 2018/0214731) in view of Rea (US 9,320,936).
Regarding claim 4, Sherin discloses the invention as substantially claimed, see above, but fails to disclose: wherein clamping teeth are formed on an inner peripheral side of the transmission toothed disc, clamping grooves are correspondingly formed on an outer peripheral side of the rotating shaft, and the clamping teeth are correspondingly matched with the clamping grooves so that the transmission toothed disc and the rotating shaft can keep rotating synchronously.
Rea teaches an analogous exercise device (Figures 1-4) wherein clamping teeth (the serrated splines 63; Figure 8; column 6, line 16, through column 7, line 17) are formed on an inner peripheral side (the inwardly facing surface of the concentric through-hole 62; Figure 8; column 6, lines 16-46) of a transmission disc (the resistance pack 48; Figure 8; column 6, line 16, through column 7, line 17), clamping grooves (the engagement pattern 42 which can be a mating engagement pattern to combine with the serrated splines 63; Figures 1, 2, 4, and 5; column 6, line 36, through column 7, line 17) are correspondingly formed on an outer peripheral side of a rotating shaft (the outer peripheral surface of the rod portion 40 of the key(s) 30; Figures 1-4; column 6, line 36, through column 7, line 17), and the clamping teeth are correspondingly matched with the clamping grooves so that the transmission disc and the rotating shaft can keep rotating synchronously (“More particularly, as will be seen from FIG. 5, a first key 30A according to the invention could have a spool spline 45A for locking in relation to the respective spool 16 or 22 and then a spline pattern 42A with just a single spline portion for locking only the first resistance pack 48 to rotate with the key 30A and the spool 16 or 22.”; column 6, lines 61-66; Figures 1-4 and 8).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sherin’s invention to include clamping teeth formed on an inner peripheral side of the transmission toothed disc and clamping grooves correspondingly formed on an outer peripheral side of the rotating shaft, as taught by Rea, in order to ensure that the transmission toothed disc is locked to rotate with the rotating shaft (Rea: Figures 1-4 and 8; column 6, line 16, through column 7, line 17).
Regarding claim 8, Sherin discloses the invention as substantially claimed, see above, but fails to disclose: wherein clamping teeth are formed on an inner peripheral side of the independent output wheel, clamping grooves are correspondingly formed on an outer peripheral side of the rotating shaft, and the clamping teeth are correspondingly matched with the clamping grooves so that the independent output wheel and the rotating shaft can keep rotating synchronously.
Rea teaches an analogous exercise device (Figures 1-4) wherein clamping teeth (the serrated splines 63; Figure 8; column 6, line 16, through column 7, line 17) are formed on an inner peripheral side (the inwardly facing surface of the concentric through-hole 62; Figure 8; column 6, lines 16-46) of an independent output wheel (the resistance pack 48; Figure 8; column 6, line 16, through column 7, line 17), clamping grooves (the engagement pattern 42 which can be a mating engagement pattern to combine with the serrated splines 63; Figures 1, 2, 4, and 5; column 6, line 36, through column 7, line 17) are correspondingly formed on an outer peripheral side of a rotating shaft (the outer peripheral surface of the rod portion 40 of the key(s) 30; Figures 1-4; column 6, line 36, through column 7, line 17), and the clamping teeth are correspondingly matched with the clamping grooves so that the independent output wheel and the rotating shaft can keep rotating synchronously (“More particularly, as will be seen from FIG. 5, a first key 30A according to the invention could have a spool spline 45A for locking in relation to the respective spool 16 or 22 and then a spline pattern 42A with just a single spline portion for locking only the first resistance pack 48 to rotate with the key 30A and the spool 16 or 22.”; column 6, lines 61-66; Figures 1-4 and 8).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sherin’s invention to include clamping teeth formed on an inner peripheral side of the independent output wheel and clamping grooves correspondingly formed on an outer peripheral side of the rotating shaft, as taught by Rea, in order to ensure that the independent output wheel is locked to rotate with the rotating shaft (Rea: Figures 1-4 and 8; column 6, line 16, through column 7, line 17).
Regarding claim 12, Sherin discloses the invention as substantially claimed, see above, and further discloses wherein the power output member of the independent constant torque force generator is an independent output wheel (the second storage drum 114A; Figures 1-3 and 7).
However, Sherin fails to disclose: clamping teeth are formed on an inner peripheral side of the independent output wheel, clamping grooves are correspondingly formed on an outer peripheral side of the rotating shaft, and the clamping teeth are correspondingly matched with the clamping grooves so that the independent output wheel and the rotating shaft can keep rotating synchronously.
Rea teaches an analogous exercise device (Figures 1-4) wherein clamping teeth (the serrated splines 63; Figure 8; column 6, line 16, through column 7, line 17) are formed on an inner peripheral side (the inwardly facing surface of the concentric through-hole 62; Figure 8; column 6, lines 16-46) of an independent output wheel (the resistance pack 48; Figure 8; column 6, line 16, through column 7, line 17), clamping grooves (the engagement pattern 42 which can be a mating engagement pattern to combine with the serrated splines 63; Figures 1, 2, 4, and 5; column 6, line 36, through column 7, line 17) are correspondingly formed on an outer peripheral side of a rotating shaft (the outer peripheral surface of the rod portion 40 of the key(s) 30; Figures 1-4; column 6, line 36, through column 7, line 17), and the clamping teeth are correspondingly matched with the clamping grooves so that the independent output wheel and the rotating shaft can keep rotating synchronously (“More particularly, as will be seen from FIG. 5, a first key 30A according to the invention could have a spool spline 45A for locking in relation to the respective spool 16 or 22 and then a spline pattern 42A with just a single spline portion for locking only the first resistance pack 48 to rotate with the key 30A and the spool 16 or 22.”; column 6, lines 61-66; Figures 1-4 and 8).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sherin’s invention to include clamping teeth formed on an inner peripheral side of the independent output wheel and clamping grooves correspondingly formed on an outer peripheral side of the rotating shaft, as taught by Rea, in order to ensure that the independent output wheel is locked to rotate with the rotating shaft (Rea: Figures 1-4 and 8; column 6, line 16, through column 7, line 17).
Regarding claim 13, Sherin in view of Rea teaches the invention as substantially claimed, see above, and further teaches wherein the clamping teeth are provided on an inner peripheral side of the reel, and are correspondingly matched with the clamping grooves of the rotating shaft, so that the reel can drive the rotating shaft to rotate synchronously (“More particularly, as will be seen from FIG. 5, a first key 30A according to the invention could have a spool spline 45A for locking in relation to the respective spool 16 or 22 and then a spline pattern 42A with just a single spline portion for locking only the first resistance pack 48 to rotate with the key 30A and the spool 16 or 22.”; column 6, lines 61-66; Figures 1-4 and 8).
Regarding claim 16, Sherin discloses the invention as substantially claimed, see above, but fails to disclose: wherein clamping teeth are formed on an inner peripheral side of the transmission toothed disc, clamping grooves are correspondingly formed on an outer peripheral side of the rotating shaft, and the clamping teeth are correspondingly matched with the clamping grooves so that the transmission toothed disc and the rotating shaft can keep rotating synchronously.
Rea teaches an analogous exercise device (Figures 1-4) wherein clamping teeth (the serrated splines 63; Figure 8; column 6, line 16, through column 7, line 17) are formed on an inner peripheral side (the inwardly facing surface of the concentric through-hole 62; Figure 8; column 6, lines 16-46) of a transmission disc (the resistance pack 48; Figure 8; column 6, line 16, through column 7, line 17), clamping grooves (the engagement pattern 42 which can be a mating engagement pattern to combine with the serrated splines 63; Figures 1, 2, 4, and 5; column 6, line 36, through column 7, line 17) are correspondingly formed on an outer peripheral side of a rotating shaft (the outer peripheral surface of the rod portion 40 of the key(s) 30; Figures 1-4; column 6, line 36, through column 7, line 17), and the clamping teeth are correspondingly matched with the clamping grooves so that the transmission disc and the rotating shaft can keep rotating synchronously (“More particularly, as will be seen from FIG. 5, a first key 30A according to the invention could have a spool spline 45A for locking in relation to the respective spool 16 or 22 and then a spline pattern 42A with just a single spline portion for locking only the first resistance pack 48 to rotate with the key 30A and the spool 16 or 22.”; column 6, lines 61-66; Figures 1-4 and 8).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sherin’s invention to include clamping teeth formed on an inner peripheral side of the transmission toothed disc and clamping grooves correspondingly formed on an outer peripheral side of the rotating shaft, as taught by Rea, in order to ensure that the transmission toothed disc is locked to rotate with the rotating shaft (Rea: Figures 1-4 and 8; column 6, line 16, through column 7, line 17).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherin (US 2018/0214731) in view of Herring (WO 2021034671 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Sherin discloses the invention as substantially claimed, see above, and further discloses wherein the rotating shaft is fixed to a bracket (the housing 104; Figure 1).
However, Sherin is silent as to: a suction cup is provided on the bracket.
Herring teaches an analogous exercise device (the cable training device 100; Figures 1A-3B) wherein a suction cup is provided on a bracket (“In select embodiments, modular mount 130 may be a commercial-grade suction cup, which can be appropriate for relatively smooth surfaces. In embodiments in which the modular mount 130 is a suction cup mount, the modular mount 130 may have a 6” diameter, a holding capacity of at least 210 pounds, a manual pump to remove pressure between the mounting surface and the suction cup, and/or a colored indication band to signal whether additional suction is needed to properly secure the suction cup to the mounting surface.”; page 7, lines 2-8; Figures 1A and 1B).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the bracket of Sherin’s invention to include a suction cup, as taught by Herring, in order to facilitate attachment of the real-time constant-force tension device to relatively smooth surfaces while also providing a holding capacity of the real-time constant-force tension device of at least 210 pounds (Herring: page 7, lines 2-8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 17, 18, and 21 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record (Sherin (US 2018/0214731); Rea (US 9,320,936); Herring (WO 2021034671 A1); Wang (CN 212593705 U); Hoecht (US 2005/0181915); Colosky, Jr. (US 2002/0025891)), alone or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious a constant torque force generator in combination with all of the elements and structural and functional relationships as claimed and further including:
an insert piece that can be cut in radially is arranged on a radial outer side of each transmission toothed disc, and one end of the insert piece facing the transmission toothed disc is an insert blade with a slope (claim 5).
The prior art of record (Sherin (US 2018/0214731); Rea (US 9,320,936); Herring (WO 2021034671 A1); Wang (CN 212593705 U); Hoecht (US 2005/0181915); Colosky, Jr. (US 2002/0025891)), alone or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious a real-time constant-force tension device in combination with all of the elements and structural and functional relationships as claimed and further including:
an insert piece that can be cut in radially is arranged on a radial outer side of each transmission toothed disc, and one end of the insert piece facing the transmission toothed disc is an insert blade with a slope (claim 17); and
wherein the structure of the clutch device is as follows: the meshing teeth of the auxiliary output wheel are input bevel teeth, the transmission teeth of the transmission toothed disc are output bevel teeth, an axial distance between the transmission toothed disc and the auxiliary output wheel is fixed, one side of the input bevel teeth and one side of the output bevel teeth are provided with a bevel toothed disc that can move radially, and by linking an externally arranged operating member to the bevel toothed disc, the bevel toothed disc and the input bevel teeth and the output bevel teeth are controlled to be meshed synchronously to form a transmission, or to be demeshed synchronously to disconnect the transmission (claim 21).
Conclusion
/GARY D URBIEL GOLDNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784