DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an aerosol generating device” in claim 1, which is disclosed as a reservoir and piezo-electric device;
“an operating parameter sensor” in claim 1, which is disclosed as an optical sensor; and
“a flow stream generating element” in claim 2, which is disclosed as a blower or suction fan.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the control unit " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the flow stream generating element" in line 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,121,541 (Patrakis).
1. Patrakis discloses a skin treatment device (razor 10), comprising:
a head (portion of shaver 10 near top 28);
an aerosol generating device (misting mechanism 14 which is at least equivalent to the disclosed reservoir and piezo-electric device) and disposed on the head and parallel to a longitudinal axis A-A of the skin treatment device (FIG. 2; col. 2, lns. 31-33);
an operating parameter sensor (sensor 36 which is at least equivalent to the disclosed optical sensor)(FIG. 2; col. 3, lns. 21-36);
wherein, the aerosol generating device is arranged to generate and channelize an aerosol through a flow channel (mist conduit 20) of the skin treatment device, based on an operating parameter measured by the operating parameter sensor (FIG. 2; col. 3, lns. 21-36).
2. The skin treatment device has a flow stream generating element (ultrasonic vibrator 18), configured to generate a flow to further channelize the aerosol through the flow channel (FIG. 2; col. 3, lns. 3-8).
4. The flow channel is defined by spacings in a skin treatment tool of the skin treatment device (FIG. 2-3).
5. The flow channel is a passage defined in or coupled to the skin treatment device (FIG. 2-3).
6. The aerosol generating device is coupled to the head of the skin treatment device (FIG. 2).
8. The operating parameter sensor is configured to measure at least one of a skin treatment device parameter (e.g., lubricating agent level at col. 3, lns. 21-36).
9. Examiner notes that the limitations of claim 9 are met since Patrakis teaches measuring a skin treatment device parameter such that the skin parameter is not required by the claimed language.
13. The skin treatment device has a control unit (e.g., unit controlling warning light 38 at col. 3, lns. 21-36) communicatively coupled to the operating parameter sensor and the aerosol generating device (FIG. 2; col. 3, lns. 21-36). The control unit is configured to selectively control operation of a skin treatment tool (warning light 38) of the skin treatment device based on the operating parameter measured by the operating parameter sensor (col. 3, lns. 21-36).
15. The skin treatment device has an indication unit (warning light 38) communicatively coupled to a control unit (col. 3, lns. 21-36), wherein the control unit is configured to generate an alert signal through the indication unit based on signals from the operating parameter sensor (col. 3, lns. 21-36), and/or wherein the alert signal is at least one of a visual signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,121,541 (Patrakis), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of US 2011/0004128 (Uchida).
Patrakis discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above but does not disclose the flow stream generating element is a blower. Uchida teaches a skin treatment device in the same field of endeavor having a flow stream generating element as a blower (pump 17) for the purpose of guiding mist with air current (FIG. 2; P0024). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flow stream generating element of Patrakis to be a blower as taught by Uchida in order to guide mist with air current.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,121,541 (Patrakis), as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of US 2019/0299434 (Fuerst).
Patrakis discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above but does not disclose the operating parameter sensor being an optical sensor. Fuerst teaches an operating parameter sensor in the same field of endeavor being an optical sensor (P0048) for the purpose of visually detecting skin moisture or oiliness (P0048). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor of Patrakis to be an optical sensor as taught by Fuerst in order to visually detect skin moisture or oiliness.
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,121,541 (Patrakis), as applied above, and further in view of US 2010/0198134 (Eckhouse).
Patrakis discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above but does not disclose the skin treatment device parameter being displacement of a skin treatment tool. Eckhouse teaches a sensor having a skin treatment device parameter in the same field of endeavor being displacement of a skin treatment tool (see direction sensor 232 at P0028 and P0036) for the purpose of sensing device movement (P0028 and P0036). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the skin treatment device parameter of the sensor of Patrakis to be a displacement of a skin treatment tool as taught by Eckhouse in order to sense device movement.
Patrakis discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above but does not disclose the skin treatment device has a plurality of operating parameter sensors. Eckhouse teaches a skin treatment device in the same field of endeavor having a plurality of operating parameter sensors (e.g., direction sensor 232, pressure sensors at P0036, and temperature sensor at P0046) for the purpose of monitoring a plurality of operating parameter (P0028; P0036, and P0046). Each of the plurality of operating parameter sensors are disposed on opposite sides relative to a longitudinal axis (B-B) of the skin treatment tool (FIG. 2A; P0036). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the skin treatment device of Patrakis to include a plurality of operating parameter sensors as taught by Eckhouse in order to monitor a plurality of operating parameters.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,121,541 (Patrakis), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2010/0280528 (Huisinga).
Patrakis discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above but does not disclose the aerosol generating device being a piezo-electric device. Huisinga teaches a vibrating device in the same field of endeavor being a piezo-electric vibrator (P0025) for the purpose of generating electricity via vibrations (P0025). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vibrator of Patrakis to be a piezo-electric vibrator as taught by Huisinga in order to generate electricity via vibrations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
TJ SCHERBEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3771
/TODD J SCHERBEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771