This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a plurality of circumferentially spaced apart retention slots configured to lockingly engage the retention protrusions” in claim 3 and "a pushable cap configured for engagement by a plunger device insertable into the internal cavity of the tubular body and operable to move and disengage the locking tabs of the retention protrusions from the retention slots of the tubular body" in claim 18.
Claims 3-12, 14-15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 3, “the retention protrusions” does not have antecedent basis in claim 1 but would if it were dependent from claim 2. Additionally, it is not clear what if any structural relationship exists between the circumferentially spaced apart retention slots and the top or bottom ends of the elongated tubular body or how the retention slots affect the ability of the second cap to slidably move in opposing directions between the top and bottom ends of the elongated tubular body. With respect to claims 10-11, it is not clear what if any structural relationship exists between the at least one circumferential grooves or the pair of spaced apart circumferential grooves and the top or bottom ends of the elongated tubular body. Are the circumferential grooves located proximate to one or more of the ends? Is there a defined spacing between the grooves? With respect to claims 10-12, are the external grooves functional (i.e. serve as the groove required by instant claim 13) or aesthetic? With respect to claim 14, it is not clear which element of claim 1 is prevented from rotation by the anti-rotation feature.
Claims 1-2, 16-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spencer (US 2,661,126). With respect to claim 1, Spencer discloses (figures 1, 2; column 2, line 10 - column 3, line 34) a sample container comprising: an elongated tubular body (10) defining a longitudinal axis, a top end (neck 14), a bottom end, and an internal cavity extending between the ends configured for holding the sample; a first cap (17) detachably coupled to the top end; and a second cap (19) slideably disposed in the cavity, the second cap being movable in opposing directions between the top and bottom ends. With respect to claim 2, Spencer teaches that the second cap comprises a base and a plurality of longitudinally-extending retention protrusions extending downwards from the base in a circumferentially spaced apart arrangement (see figures 1 and 3; column 2 line 39 to column 3, line 15; the fingers 23 are retention protrusions). With respect to claim 16, figures 1 and 3 and column 2, lines 18-24 teach that the tubular body is cylindrical with a circular cross-sectional shape. With respect to claim 17, figure 1 of Spencer shows the second cap spaced inwards within the internal cavity from the bottom end of the tubular body. With respect to claim 20, the slits 22 and fingers 23 give the second cap a castellated configuration.
Claims 1, 10, 13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horvath (US 4,298,036). With respect to claim 1, figures 3-4 and their associated discussion in Horvath show and teach a sample container (110) comprising: an elongated tubular body (120) defining a longitudinal axis, a top end (upper portion 121), a bottom end (base 125 with opening 125a), and an internal cavity extending between the ends configured for holding the sample; a first cap (170) detachably coupled to the top end; and a second cap (plunger 130) slideably disposed in the cavity, the second cap being movable in opposing directions between the top and bottom ends. With respect to claims 10 and 13, at least figures 3-4 and column 6, lines 14-39 of Horvath teach a snap on cap that requires at least one circumferential groove (124) formed in an exterior surface of the tubular body engageable with a an inwardly projecting annular snap protrusion (annular rib 174) on the first cap. With respect to claim 16, figures 3-4 of Horvath show that the tubular body is cylindrical with a circular cross-sectional shape. With respect to claim 17, at least figure 4 of Horvath shows the second cap spaced inwards within the internal cavity from the bottom end of the tubular body.
Claims 1 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shapiro (US 6,054,157). With respect to claim 1, figures 1-3 and their associated discussion in Shapiro show and teach a sample container (1) comprising: an elongated tubular body (10) defining a longitudinal axis, a top end (near cap 14), a bottom end (the opposing end), and an internal cavity (chamber18 and 20) extending between the ends configured for holding the sample; a first cap (14) detachably coupled to the top end; and a second cap (plunger 16) slideably disposed in the cavity, the second cap being movable in opposing directions between the top and bottom ends. With respect to claim 16, figures 1-3 of Shapiro show that the tubular body is cylindrical with a circular cross-sectional shape. With respect to claim 17, at least figure 1 of Shapiro shows the second cap spaced inwards within the internal cavity from the bottom end of the tubular body.
Claims 1, 10 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parker (US 2010/0081166). With respect to claim 1, paragraphs [0026]-[0031] and figures 1-5 of Parker teach and show a sample container (10) comprising: an elongated tubular body (12) defining a longitudinal axis, a top end (14), a bottom end (16), and an internal cavity (reservoir 26) extending between the ends configured for holding the sample; a first cap (18 and 20) detachably coupled to the top end; and a second cap (plunger head 22) slideably disposed in the cavity, the second cap being movable in opposing directions between the top and bottom ends. With respect to claim 10, figure 3 of Parker shows a neck region which constitutes at least one circumferential groove formed in an exterior surface of the tubular body. With respect to claim 16, figures 1 and 3 of Parker show that the tubular body is cylindrical with a circular cross-sectional shape. With respect to claim 17, at least figures 4-5 of Parker show the second cap spaced inwards within the internal cavity from the bottom end of the tubular body.
Claims 1 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laugharn (US 2013/0152710). With respect to claim 1, figures 1-3 and 5-8 of Laugharn with their associated discussion teach and show a sample container (1) comprising: an elongated tubular body (2) defining a longitudinal axis, a top end (21) with a top opening (21a), a bottom end (22) with a bottom opening (22a), and an internal cavity (interior space 23) extending between the ends configured for holding the sample; a first cap (3) detachably coupled to the top end; and a second cap (plunger 4) slideably disposed in the cavity, the second cap being movable in opposing directions between the top and bottom ends. With respect to claim 14, figures 5-6 and 8 along with paragraph [0034] of Laugharn show/teach that the bottom end of the tubular body comprises an anti-rotation feature (see at least the discussion of notches 28 in paragraph [0034]). With respect to claim 15, the shape of notches shown at least in figures 5-6 constitutes an undulating castellated configuration. With respect to claim 16, figures 1-3 and 5-8 of Laugharn show that the tubular body is cylindrical with a circular cross-sectional shape. With respect to claim 17, at least figures 3 and 8 of Laugharn show the second cap spaced inwards within the internal cavity from the bottom end of the tubular body.
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spencer, Shapiro or Laugharn as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Horvath (US 4,298,036).
Spencer teaches a cap 17 with threads 16 that mate with threads 15 on neck 14. Spencer does not teach an outer circumferential groove on the outer wall of the tubular body or an inwardly projecting annular snap protrusion engageable with a circumferentially-extending snap groove formed in the tubular body for a snape-fit of the first cap with the top end of the tubular body.
Shapiro teaches a cap 14. Column 3, lines 10-15 teach that end caps 12 and 14 are depicted as being held on outer wall 10 by means of a snap or interference fit. However, if desired, end caps 12 and 14 may be provided with a threaded connection with outer wall 10. Shapiro does not teach any specific snap fit structure.
Paragraph [0025] of Laugharn teaches threads 26 for engagement of cap 3 with vessel 2. Alternative arrangements such as interference or friction fit between the cap and vessel. Laugharn does not teach an outer circumferential groove on the outer wall of the tubular body or an inwardly projecting annular snap protrusion engageable with a circumferentially-extending snap groove formed in the tubular body for a snape-fit of the first cap with the top end of the tubular body.
In the figures 3-4 with their associated discussion Horvath as described above teaches a snap-fit cap for a dispenser for stick solids. Figures 1-2 with their associated discussion teach a threaded cap for a similar dispenser structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to replace the engagement mechanisms of Spencer or Laugharn with the snap-fit structure taught by Horvath because Horvath shows that the snap-fit cap is one of a limited number of known cap types and provides an expectation that it is fully capable of performing the same engagement function of at least a threaded cap structure used by Spencer or Laugharn. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use the Horvath snap-fit cap structure for the snap-fit cap taught by Shapiro because the Horvath cap is a snap-fit cap structure that clearly performs the intended function and Shapiro teaches a snap-fit cap as the preferred cap.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spencer, Horvath, Shapiro or Laugharn with or without the teachings of Horvath as applied to claims 1, 10 or 13 above, and further in view of Montgomery (US 3,974,929). As described above Spencer and Laugharn do not teach groves on either the cap or exterior surface of an elongated tubular sample container or a snap-fit cap on the top end. As described above Shapiro teaches a snap-fit cap but does not teach its structure. As described above Horvath teaches a snap-fit cap with a structure meeting claims 10 and 13 but does not teach a groove on the outer surface of the cap or two spaced apart grooves on an exterior surface of the elongated tubular sample container.
In the patent Montgomery teaches a substantially leak-proof and child-resistant combination closure comprising a container and a cap. Figures 1-5 and their associated discussion are directed toward a cap and container with a threaded engagement structure. Figure 6 illustrates a cap/container employing bayonet-type cap retaining means. Figures 7-10 illustrate cap/container structures employing retaining means of the snap-on type. Of particular relevance to the instant claims are figures 9-10 teaching a cap with an external circumference groove (frangible section 29) defining a removable skirt that indicates the container has been opened. Figure 9 in particular shows 2 grooves beneath rims 25c and 33 that engage with inwardly projecting annular snap projections (lip 18c and lip 32) to form the snap-fit structure (see at least column 4, lines 20-51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to replace the engagement mechanisms of Spencer or Laugharn with the snap-fit structure taught by Montgomery because Montgomery shows that the snap-fit cap is one of a limited number of known cap types and provides an expectation that it is fully capable of performing the same engagement function of at least a threaded cap structure used by Spencer or Laugharn with the additional benefit that a container that has been opened can be detected. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use the Montgomery snap-fit cap structure for the snap-fit cap taught by Shapiro because the Montgomery cap is a snap-fit cap structure that clearly performs the intended function and Shapiro teaches a snap-fit cap as the preferred cap. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to replace the Horvath snap-fit structure with the Montgomery snap-fit structure because the Montgomery cap is a snap-fit cap structure that clearly performs the intended function and the additional benefit that a container that has been opened can be detected.
Claims 3-9 and 18-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the art of record fails to teach the limitation of claim 3 in combination with the limitations of claims 1-2.examiner notes that the Kuo patent (US 4,949,875) teaches grooves 56 on an interior surface of the tube that enhances the uni-directional movement of disc 58. Backward movement of disc 58 is further prevented when the tips of fingers 60 are mated in position with grooves 56 as shown at 62 of figure 3c (see at least figures 3b-3d and column 5, lines 21-38. However Kuo does not teach that the groves constitute a plurality of circumferentially spaced apart retention slots configured to lockingly engage the retention protrusions.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional art of record is directed toward containers of various types.
/ARLEN SODERQUIST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797