DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 26-28, 30-32, 34-36 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The new rejection is instead dependent on a different reference but the rejection itself is nearly identical.
The rejection under Jiang et al. (US 20200412421 A1) for claims 29, 33, 37 has been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 26-28, 30-32, 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 20190174527 A1), hereinafter Park
Regarding claim 30, Park teaches:
A method of communication performed by a network device, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a terminal device, a downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH), wherein the DCI comprises a first field, a second field and a third field; and (paragraphs 726, 742 – DCI comprises SRI, TPMI, TRI)
receiving, from the terminal device, the PUSCH based on a value of rank; (Paragraph 731 – determines the PUSCH based on the transmission rank (TRI)).
wherein the value of rank is sum of a first value determined based on the first field and a second value determined based on the second field in a case where the third field indicates a third value, and the value of rank is determined based on the first field in a case where the third field indicates a fourth value. (Paragraph 755 – the rank is the sum of multiple SRS ports over multiple SRS resources. Paragraph 0455 – The rank is indicated as the number of antenna ports of the SRS transmitted.)
Regarding claim 31, Park teaches:
The method of claim 30, wherein the first field is an SRS resource indicator field and the second field is a second SRS resource indicator field in a case where the PUSCH is non-codebook based, the first field is a precoding information and number of layers field and the second field is a second precoding information field in a case where the PUSCH is codebook based. (Paragraph 752-755 – The first and second field are SRS resources in a non-codebook based example. Paragraphs 740-747 – The first field is an SRI which may contain precoding information and determines the TRI (transmission rank indicator) which is the number of layers, the second field is a TPMNI which contains precoding information in a codebook based example).
Regarding claim 32, Park teaches:
The method of claim 30, wherein the first field is used to indicate precoder applied over a first number of layers and the second field is used to indicate precoder applied over a second number of layers; or the first field is used to indicate resources associated with a first number of layers and the second field is used to indicate resources associated with a second number of layers. (Paragraphs 752-757 – In a codebook based example the first field indicates an SRS resource and a second field indicates an SRS resource.)
Regarding claim 34, Park teaches:
A terminal device comprising a processor configured to cause the terminal device to:
receive, from a network device, a downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH), wherein the DCI comprises a first field, a second field and a third field; and (Paragraphs 726, 742 – DCI comprises SRI, TPMI, TRI).
transmit, to the network device, the PUSCH based on a value of rank; (Paragraph 731 – determines the PUSCH based on the transmission rank (TRI)).
wherein the value of rank is a sum of a first value determined based on the first field and a second value determined based on the second field in a case where the third field indicates a third value, and the value of rank is determined based on the first field in a case where the third field indicates a fourth value. (Paragraph 755 – the rank is the sum of multiple SRS ports over multiple SRS resources. Paragraph 0455 – The rank is indicated as the number of antenna ports of the SRS transmitted.)
Regarding claim 35, Park teaches:
The terminal device of claim 34, wherein the first field is an SRS resource indicator field and the second field is a second SRS resource indicator field in a case where the PUSCH is non-codebook based, the first field is a precoding information and number of layers field and the second field is a second precoding information field in a case where the PUSCH is codebook based. (Paragraph 752-755 – The first and second field are SRS resources in a non-codebook based example. Paragraphs 740-747 – The first field is an SRI which may contain precoding information and determines the TRI (transmission rank indicator) which is the number of layers, the second field is a TPMNI which contains precoding information in a codebook based example).
Regarding claim 36, Park teaches:
The terminal device of claim 34, wherein the first field is used to indicate precoder applied over a first number of layers and the second field is used to indicate precoder applied over a second number of layers; or the first field is used to indicate resources associated with a first number of layers and the second field is used to indicate resources associated with a second number of layers. (Paragraphs 752-757 – In a codebook based example the first field indicates an SRS resource and a second field indicates an SRS resource.)
Claim 26 is a method of claim 34 and is thus rejected.
Claim 27 is a method of claim 35 and is thus rejected.
Claim 28 is a method of claim 36 and is thus rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29, 33, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Jiang et al. (US 20200412421 A1, hereinafter Jiang).
Claim 29 is a method of claim 37 and is thus rejected.
Regarding claim 33, Park teaches the transmitting of DCI for scheduling a PUSCH where the DCI comprises three fields. The value of rank can be determined based on the three fields.
However, Park does not appear to explicitly teach a specific case where the rank is 3 if the DMRS ports are {0, 2, 3}.
Jiang discloses: The method of claim 30, wherein the DCI comprises a fourth field, the fourth field indicates DMRS ports to be {0, 2, 3} in a case where the value of rank is 3. (Jiang, Paragraph 0032, table 1 – The candidate port set can be predefined for a specific rank. The index 12 contains a rank of 3 for the DRMS ports {0, 2, 3}).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include that example as being consistent with how the rank is determined by the DMRS ports. The motivation to combine is to have a predefined list of candidate set ports for a number of ranks (Jiang, Paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 37, Park teaches the transmitting of DCI for scheduling a PUSCH where the DCI comprises three fields. The value of rank can be determined based on the three fields.
However, Park does not appear to explicitly teach a specific case where the rank is 3 if the DMRS ports are {0, 2, 3}.
Jiang discloses: The terminal device of claim 34, wherein the DCI comprises a fourth field, the fourth field indicates DMRS ports to be {0, 2, 3} in a case where the value of rank is 3. (Jiang, Paragraph 0032, table 1 – The candidate port set can be predefined for a specific rank. The index 12 contains a rank of 3 for the DRMS ports {0, 2, 3}).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include that example as being consistent with how the rank is determined by the DMRS ports. The motivation to combine is to have a predefined list of candidate set ports for a number of ranks (Jiang, Paragraph 0032).
Conclusion
/RYAN ALEXANDER CRIGLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472