DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 7/16/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-12, 14-15, 17-19, 23-24, 30-31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klawitter (US 4,779,763).
Regarding claim 1, Klawitter discloses a pressure vessel with an interior adapted to contain a pressurized substance (fig.2A,B,C and col 3, ll.26-31 and col 5, ll.43-48), comprising: a membrane (10, see fig.2A,B,C)) including an interior surface exposed to the interior of the pressure vessel (col 3, ll.33-50; see fig.3A-B), the membrane adapted to hermetically seal the pressure vessel in an intact state (see fig.2A) and to release the pressurized substance in a ruptured state (see fig.2C); and an actuating rod (2) coupled to and extending from an exterior surface of the membrane on an opposite side of the membrane relative to the interior surface (see fig.2A), the actuating rod adapted to transition the membrane from the intact state to the ruptured state in response to receiving a transverse force (see lateral movement of 2 in fig.2A,B,C).
Regarding claim 8, Klawitter discloses a force concentration feature coupled to the actuating rod and the membrane (the tip of 12 in fig.2A,B,C).
Regarding claim 9, Klawitter discloses the actuating rod is coupled to the membrane by a hinge defining an axis of rotation of the actuating rod, the axis of rotation being substantially parallel to the exterior surface of the membrane (see rotation of 2 in fig.2B is via a hinge).
Regarding claim 10, Klawitter discloses the actuating rod comprises a piercing member that engages the membrane in the intact state, the piercing member having a geometry which follows a geometry of the membrane (via piercing point of 12).
Regarding claim 11, Klawitter discloses a section of the pressure vessel including the actuating rod and the membrane is disposed within a pressure chamber of a beneficial agent dispensing device (see 10 in fig.2C).
Regarding claim 12, Klawitter discloses the transition is responsive to the received transverse force satisfying a rupture condition, the rupture condition based on a predetermined force threshold based on pressure applied by the pressurized substance to the membrane and based on a configuration of the membrane (this feature is an obvious inherency of the rupturing process of 10 via 2; the rupturing would not take place if there were no predetermined balanced pressure properties between the substance and the membrane).
Regarding claim 14, Klawitter discloses the actuating rod further extends through the membrane and from the interior surface into the pressure vessel (see fig.2C).
Regarding claim 15, Klawitter discloses a portion of the actuating rod that extends from the exterior surface is elongated and wherein a portion of the actuating rod that extends from the interior surface comprises a piercing member (see fig.2C).
Regarding claim 17, Klawitter discloses a sharp portion of the piercing member is substantially concentrically arranged around the actuating rod (se shape of 12 on 2).
Regarding claim 18, Klawitter discloses the piercing member extends laterally from the actuating rod (see 12 in fig.2A,B,C).
Regarding claim 19, Klawitter discloses the membrane further comprising: a weakened portion configured to rupture responsive to the received transverse force (col 3, ll.19-25).
Regarding claim 23, Klawitter discloses a method of rupturing a membrane that hermetically seals a pressure vessel in an intact state (see fig.2A,B,C; and col 3, ll.26-31 and col 5, ll.43-48), the method comprising: receiving, at a distal portion of an actuating rod coupled to the membrane (see 12 of 2 on 10), a transverse force that is at least partially perpendicular to a longitudinal length of the actuating rod (see rotation of 2 in fig.2A,B,C); rotating, responsive to the received transverse force, a proximal portion of the actuating rod relative to the pressure vessel, causing the membrane to torque; and transitioning the membrane, responsive to the rotating, from the intact state to a ruptured state in which the membrane is ruptured outwardly from the pressure vessel, and pressurized contents are released from the pressure vessel (see fig.2C, also see col 3, ll.26-31 and col 5, ll.43-48; the gas pressure within container 7 will inherently push membrane 10 outward).
Regarding claim 24, Klawitter discloses the transverse force is an eccentric force that causes the rotating, the rotating including rotating the actuating rod substantially around the coupling between the actuating rod and the membrane (see fig.2B).
Regarding claim 30, Klawitter discloses the pressure vessel further includes a hinge that couples the actuating rod to the membrane, the hinge defining an axis of rotation of the actuating rod, the axis of rotation being substantially parallel to an exterior surface of the membrane, the rotating further comprising: rotating the actuating rod about the axis of rotation (see rotation of 2 in fig.2B is via a hinge).
Regarding claim 31, Klawitter discloses the actuating rod includes a piercing member that engages the membrane in the intact state, the transitioning comprising: piercing, by the piercing member, the membrane (via 12 on 10 see fig.2A,B).
Regarding claim 33, Klawitter discloses the transitioning is responsive to the received transverse force satisfying a rupture condition, the rupture condition based on a predetermined force threshold based on pressure applied by the pressurized contents to the membrane and based on a configuration of the membrane (this feature is an obvious inherency of the rupturing process of 10 via 2; the rupturing would not take place if there were no predetermined balanced pressure properties between the contents and the membrane).
The device shown by Klawitter will perform the method recited in claim 23-24 and 30-31 and 33 during normal use and operation of the dispensing device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klawitter (US 4,779,763) in view of Montgomery (US 2007/0090129).
Regarding claims 6-7, Klawitter is silent in disclosing an actuation lever adapted to apply the transverse force to the actuating rod; and an actuation lever coupled to the actuating rod; and a biasing element, the biasing element adapted to apply a force to the actuation lever, causing the actuation lever to apply the transverse force to the actuating rod. However, Montgomery teaches the commonality of having an actuation lever (33) coupled to an actuating rod (35) and adapted to apply the transverse force to the actuating rod (see fig.3); and a biasing element (80) adapted to apply a force to the actuation lever, causing the actuation lever to apply the transverse force to the actuating rod (see fig.1-3; and [0012], [0026]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to add a biasing lever as taught by Montgomery to the actuating rod of the pressure vessel of Klawitter, in order to operate the device conveniently.
Regarding claims 27-28, Klawitter further teaches the method of applying the transverse force to the actuating rod (see lateral movement of element 2 in fig.2A,B,C; and col. 5, ll. 65-68 and col. 6, ll. 1-2). Klawitter is silent in disclosing the pressure vessel further includes an actuation lever coupled to the actuating rod; the pressure vessel further includes an actuation lever coupled to the actuating rod and a biasing element coupled to the pressure vessel and the actuation lever, the method further comprising: applying, by the biasing element, a force to the actuation lever causing the actuation lever to apply the transverse force to the actuating rod. However, Montgomery teaches the commonality of having a vessel (23) to include an actuation lever (33) being coupled to an actuating rod (35); and the vessel (23) further includes an actuation lever (33) coupled to the actuating rod (35) and a biasing element (80) coupled to the vessel (via 70) and the actuation lever (33), and applying, by the biasing element, a force to the actuation lever causing the actuation lever to apply the transverse force to the actuating rod (see fig.1-3, and [0012], [0026]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to add a biasing lever as taught by Montgomery to the actuating rod of the pressure vessel of Klawitter, in order to operate the device conveniently. The device shown by Klawitter and Montgomery will perform the method recited in claims 27-28 during normal use and operation of the dispensing device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Klawitter does not anticipate claims 1 and 23, because it fails to disclose an actuating rod coupled to and extending from an exterior surface of the membrane. Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant interpretation of the claim. It is noted that claims 1 and 23 require a coupling of the rod to the membrane. The term “coupling” does not necessarily indicate that the rod and the membrane area one piece or the rod has a continues attachment to the membrane (see the disclosure of this instant application [0054]). Klawitter properly discloses a coupling between the rod and membrane at the time of contact between the rod and the membrane (see fig.2C). In order to overcome the prior art to Klawitter, Applicant is advised to amend the claims as such to provide an integral relation between the rod and the membrane. Further, regarding claim 23, Applicant argues that Klawitter does not disclose rupturing the membrane “outwardly” and in contrary, Klawitter is rupturing the membrane inwardly and the fractured material falling into the vessel. Examiner agrees that if the rod is integrally attached to the membrane the lateral force on the rod would take the membrane outwardly and Klawitter would fail to teach such limitation. However, in the absent of the one piece rod and membrane the internal pressure of the container of Klawitter would push the ruptured piece of the membrane outwardly. Regarding claims 6–7 and 27–28, Applicant argues that Montgomery is directed to a foot-pedal-actuated support stand for a manual grease gun and does not disclose an actuating rod, a sealing membrane, or torque-driven rupture of a membrane; and therefore, Montgomery is non-analogous art, is not reasonably pertinent to the particular problem, and the prima facie case has not been established. Examiner’s assertion of Montgomery is to complement the hand operating rod of Klawitter with a spring operated lever. As cited in the office action the spring operated lever of Montgomery is connected to a rod in moving the piston. Since, the rod and membrane of claims 1 and 23 are fragmented, Montgomery properly teaches the commonality of adding a spring operated lever. Examiner would agree with the Applicant’s argument if the rod and membrane are integrally connected to one another within the disclosed scope and limitations of claims 1 and 23.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BOB ZADEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754