DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office action is based on the 18/682592 application originally filed February 09, 2024.
Amended claims 21-23, 25, 26, 29, 32, 33 and 35-38, filed June 23, 2026, are pending and have been fully considered. Claims 1-19, 24, 27, 28, 30, 31 and 34 have been canceled.
The rejection under 35 USC 112 2nd is withdrawn in light of applicants claimed amendments and remarks.
The rejection under 35 USC 101 is withdrawn in light of applicants claimed amendments and remarks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fossum et al. (US 2019/0390142) hereinafter “Fossum”.
Regarding Claims 20-34
Fossum discloses in paragraph 0001, fabric care compositions, that include a graft copolymer.
Fossum further discloses in paragraph 0012, fabric care compositions that include a particular graft copolymer that may be useful for dye transfer inhibition (also known as dye control), and related processes.
Fossum discloses in paragraph 0018, as used herein the phrase “fabric care composition” includes compositions and formulations designed for treating fabric. Such compositions include but are not limited to, laundry cleaning compositions and detergents, fabric softening compositions, fabric enhancing compositions, fabric freshening compositions, laundry prewash, laundry pretreat, laundry additives, spray products, dry cleaning agent or composition, laundry rinse additive, wash additive, post-rinse fabric treatment, ironing aid, unit dose formulation, delayed delivery formulation, detergent contained on or in a porous substrate or nonwoven sheet, and other suitable forms that may be apparent to one skilled in the art in view of the teachings herein. Such compositions may be used as a pre-laundering treatment, a post-laundering treatment, or may be added during the rinse or wash cycle of the laundering operation.
Fossum further discloses in paragraph 0013, the graft copolymers may be formed from at least three monomers or structural units: (a) a polyalkylene oxide, such as polyethylene oxide (PEG), which may serve as a graft base; (b) N-vinylpyrrolidone (VP); and (c) a vinyl ester, such as vinyl acetate. Without wishing to be bound by theory, it is believed that by carefully selecting the relative amounts and/or molecular weights of the monomers of the graft copolymers in accordance with the present disclosure, a fabric care composition that includes such graft copolymers may provide improved dye control during fabric treatment processes, such as wash or rinse cycles.
Fossum discloses in paragraph 0030, composition may include from about 0.1% to about 50%, by weight of the composition, of the graft polymer. The graft polymer may be present in an aqueous treatment liquor, such as a wash liquor or a rinse liquor of an automatic washing machine, in an amount of about 5 ppm, or from about 10 ppm, or from about 25 ppm, or from about 50 ppm, to about 1500 ppm, or to about 1000 ppm, or to about 500 ppm, or to about 250 ppm.
Fossum discloses in paragraph 0031, the graft polymer may be comprise and/or be obtainable by grafting (a) a polyalkylene oxide which has a number average molecular weight of from about 1000 to about 20,000, or to about 15,000, or to about 12,000, or to about 10,000 Daltons and is based on ethylene oxide, propylene oxide, or butylene oxide, preferably based on ethylene oxide, with (b) N-vinylpyrrolidone, and further with (c) a vinyl ester derived from a saturated monocarboxylic acid containing from 1 to 6 carbon atoms and/or a methyl or ethyl ester of acrylic or methacrylic acid, preferably a vinyl ester that is vinyl acetate or a derivative thereof; where the weight ratio of (a):(b) is from about 1:0.1 to about 1:1; where the amount, by weight, of (a) is greater than the amount of (c); and where the order of the addition of monomers (b) and (c) in the graft polymerization is immaterial.
Fossum discloses in paragraph 0032, the graft polymer may comprise and/or be obtainable by grafting (a) an alkylene oxide which has a number average molecular weight of from about 1000 to 20,000, or to about 15,000, or to about 12,000, or to about 10,000 Daltons, the alkylene oxide being based on ethylene oxide, with (b) N-vinylpyrrolidone, and (c) vinyl acetate or a derivative thereof; wherein the weight ratio of (a):(b) is from about 1:0.1 to about 1:2, or to about 1:1; wherein the weight ratio of (b):(c) is from about 1:0.1 to about 1:5, or to about 1:4; wherein the weight ratio of (a):(c) is from about 1:0.1 to about 1:5, or to about 1:3; the order of the addition of monomers (b) and (c) in the graft polymerization being immaterial.
Fossum discloses in paragraph 0035, the polyalkylene oxides may be based on ethylene oxide, propylene oxide, butylene oxides, or mixtures thereof. The polyalkylene oxides may be based on homopolymers of ethylene oxide or ethylene oxide copolymers having an ethylene oxide content of from about 40 to about 99 mole %. Suitable comonomers for such copolymers may include propylene oxide, n-butylene oxide, and/or isobutylene oxide. Suitable copolymers may include copolymers of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide, copolymers of ethylene oxide and butylene oxide, and/or copolymers of ethylene oxide, propylene oxide, and at least one butylene oxide. The copolymers may include an ethylene oxide content of from about 40 to about 99 mole %, a propylene oxide content of from about 1 to about 60 mole %, and a butylene oxide content of from about 1 to about 30 mole %. The graft base may be linear (straight-chain) or branched, for example a branched homopolymer and/or a branched copolymer.
Fossum discloses in paragraph 0039, the polyalkylene oxides may be grafted with a vinyl ester as the monomer of component (c). The vinyl ester may be derived from a saturated monocarboxylic acid, which may contain 1 to 6 carbon atoms. The vinyl ester may be derived from methyl acrylate, ethyl acrylate, methyl methacrylate, ethyl methacrylate, or mixtures thereof. Suitable vinyl esters may include vinyl formate, vinyl acetate, vinyl propionate, vinyl butyrate, vinyl valerate, vinyl iso-valerate, vinyl caproate, or mixtures thereof. Preferred monomers of component (c) include vinyl acetate, vinyl propionate, methyl acrylate, mixtures of vinyl acetate and methyl acrylate, or mixtures thereof, preferably vinyl acetate. The monomers of the graft polymer, e.g., components (a), (b), and/or (c), may be present in certain ratios, such as weight ratios and/or mole ratios.
Fossum discloses in paragraph 0086, the amphiphilic graft copolymers comprise (A) from 20 to 70% by weight of a water-soluble polyalkylene oxide as a graft base and (B) side chains formed by free-radical polymerization of from 30 to 80% by weight of a vinyl ester component composed of (B1) from 70 to 100% by weight of vinyl acetate and/or vinyl propionate and (B2) from 0 to 30% by weight of a further ethylenically unsaturated monomer in the presence of (A). The amphiphilic graft copolymers may comprise from 25 to 60% by weight of the graft base (A) and from 40 to 75% by weight of the polyvinyl ester component (B), preferably wherein the relative weight % of (A) and (B) add up to 100% by weight of the copolymer.
Fossum discloses in paragraph 0044, the graft polymers may be characterized by a relatively narrow molar mass distribution. For example, the graft polymers may be characterized by a polydispersity Mw/Mn of less than or equal to about 3, or less than or equal to about 2.5. The polydispersity of the graft polymers may be from about 1.5 to about 2.2. The polydispersity may be determined by gel permeation chromatography using narrow-distribution polymethyl methacrylates as the standard.
Fossum discloses in paragraph 0051, the amount of surfactant used in the graft polymerization process may be from about 0.1 to about 5% by weight of the graft polymer. If water is used as the solvent, solutions or dispersions of graft polymers may be obtained. If solutions of graft polymers are prepared in an organic solvent or in mixtures of an organic solvent and water, the amount of organic solvent or solvent mixture used per 100 parts by weight of the graft polymer may be from about 5 to about 200.
The claimed invention is anticipated by the reference because the reference teaches a composition which comprises all of the claimed components. In the alternative, no patentable distinction is seen to exist between the reference and the claimed invention absent evidence to the contrary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 35-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fossum et al. (US 2019/0390142) hereinafter “Fossum” in view of Ontani et al. (US 2016/0060582) hereinafter “Ontani”.
Regarding Claims 35-38
Fossum discloses in paragraph 00556, the treatment adjunct may include a surfactant system, fatty acids and/or salts thereof, enzymes, encapsulated benefit agents, soil release polymers, hueing agents, builders, chelating agents, dye transfer inhibiting agents, dispersants, enzyme stabilizers, catalytic materials, bleaching agents, bleach catalysts, bleach activators, polymeric dispersing agents, soil removal/anti-redeposition agents, polymeric dispersing agents, polymeric grease cleaning agents, amphiphilic copolymers (including those that are free of vinyl pyrrolidone), brighteners, suds suppressors, dyes, hueing agents, perfume, structure elasticizing agents, fabric softeners, carriers, fillers, hydrotropes, solvents, anti-microbial agents and/or preservatives, neutralizers and/or pH adjusting agents, processing aids, fillers, rheology modifiers or structurants, opacifiers, pearlescent agents, pigments, anti-corrosion and/or anti-tarnishing agents, and mixtures thereof.
Fossum discloses it is known in the art to add anti-microbial agents to fabric and cleaning compositions but fails to teach the claimed anti-microbial agents.
However, it is known in the art to add anti-microbial agents to fabric and cleaning compositions, as taught by Ontani.
Ontani discloses in paragraph 0021, the anti-microbial agents include, diphenyl ethers, are nonionic. It has been found that due to their nonionic property, the diphenyl ether anti-microbial agents allow for formation of a stable liquid anti-microbial laundry detergent composition.
Ontani discloses in paragraph 0032, the anti-microbial agent is selected from the group consisting of 4-4′-dichloro-2-hydroxy diphenyl ether (“Diclosan”), 2,4,4′-trichloro-2′-hydroxy diphenyl ether (“Triclosan”), and a combination thereof. Most preferably, the anti-microbial agent is 4-4′-dichloro-2-hydroxy diphenyl ether, commercially available from BASF, under the trademark name Tinosan®HP100.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add anti-microbial agents of Ontani to the fabric and cleaning compositions of Fossum. The motivation to do so is the diphenyl ether anti-microbial agents allow for formation of a stable liquid anti-microbial fabric compositions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argued: “Fossum requires as part of the disclosed PEG-based graft copolymers, N-vinyl pyrrolidone (NVP) and vinyl esters as graft monomers. As amended herein side chains utilized in the graft copolymer are limited to B1, and as such do not include NVP. For at least these reasons, the claims are not anticipated by Fossum, and withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested. Accordingly, a person skilled in the art aiming to improved graft polymers, especially in terms of their biodegradability would find no teaching from Fossum that omitting the NVP as part of the monomers would lead to such improvement. In addition, the skilled person would also not find this improvement by coincidence as Fossum clearly teaches that the NVP as part of the polymer is required to achieve the therein described effect (cf. par [0175]). Thus, Fossum in fact teaches away from the present application.”.
Applicants arguments are not deemed persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., side chains utilized in the graft copolymer are limited to B1, and as such do not include NVP) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The present claims, particularly independent claim 20, has not been amended to exclude NVP (N-vinyl pyrrolidone). It is to be noted, it is recommended for applicants to amend the claims to exclude N-vinyl pyrrolidone (NVP) in order to be considered for allowable subject matter (review application 17/884606).
Applicants argued: “Ohtani would similarly not incent the skilled person to omit the NVP monomers in the graft polymer, as it is not focused on graft polymers at all. In fact, Ohtani is only focused on a method of laundering with an anti-microbial additive. A skilled person could have therefore not achieved the present invention in an obvious manner from a combination of Fossum with Ohtani.”.
Applicants arguments are not deemed persuasive. Applicants arguments are not deemed persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., side chains utilized in the graft copolymer are limited to B1, and as such do not include NVP) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The present claims, particularly independent claim 20, has not been amended to exclude NVP (N-vinyl pyrrolidone). It is to be noted, it is recommended for applicants to amend the claims to exclude N-vinyl pyrrolidone (NVP) in order to be considered for allowable subject matter (review application 17/884606). Additionally, Fossum and Ohtani overlap in subject matter that is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add known anti-microbial agents to fabric and cleaning compositions. Therefore, it is maintained that Fossum modified Ohtani has met the limitations of claims 35-38 of the presently claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sharma et al. (WO 2006/130442) discloses in the abstract, a detergent auxiliary composition comprising from 0.001 wt% to 99 wt% cleaning polymer having a hydrophilic backbone and at least one hydrophobic pendant group, and an adjunct ingredient in which the hydrophilic backbone constitutes less than 50 %, preferably less than 45% by weight of the polymer. The detergent auxiliary composition may be, for example a spray-dried particle or an agglomerate. Also described are detergent compositions comprising the detergent auxiliary composition.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Latosha Hines/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771