DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is based on the 18/682592 application originally filed February 09, 2024.
Amended claims 20-38, filed February 09, 2024, are pending and have been fully considered. Claims 1-19 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 32 and 33 provides for the use of at least one graft polymer, but since the claim does not set forth any steps involved in the method/process, it is unclear what method/process applicant is intending to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the amount of water is below 5wt% based on total solvent". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 32 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed recitation of a use, without setting forth any steps involved in the process, results in an improper definition of a process, i.e., results in a claim which is not a proper process claim under 35 U.S.C. 101. See for example Ex parte Dunki, 153 USPQ 678 (Bd.App. 1967) and Clinical Products, Ltd. v. Brenner, 255 F. Supp. 131, 149 USPQ 475 (D.D.C. 1966).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fossum et al. (US 2019/0390142) hereinafter “Fossum”.
Regarding Claims 20-34
Fossum discloses in paragraph 0001, fabric care compositions, that include a graft copolymer.
Fossum further discloses in paragraph 0012, fabric care compositions that include a particular graft copolymer that may be useful for dye transfer inhibition (also known as dye control), and related processes.
Fossum discloses in paragraph 0018, as used herein the phrase “fabric care composition” includes compositions and formulations designed for treating fabric. Such compositions include but are not limited to, laundry cleaning compositions and detergents, fabric softening compositions, fabric enhancing compositions, fabric freshening compositions, laundry prewash, laundry pretreat, laundry additives, spray products, dry cleaning agent or composition, laundry rinse additive, wash additive, post-rinse fabric treatment, ironing aid, unit dose formulation, delayed delivery formulation, detergent contained on or in a porous substrate or nonwoven sheet, and other suitable forms that may be apparent to one skilled in the art in view of the teachings herein. Such compositions may be used as a pre-laundering treatment, a post-laundering treatment, or may be added during the rinse or wash cycle of the laundering operation.
Fossum further discloses in paragraph 0013, the graft copolymers may be formed from at least three monomers or structural units: (a) a polyalkylene oxide, such as polyethylene oxide (PEG), which may serve as a graft base; (b) N-vinylpyrrolidone (VP); and (c) a vinyl ester, such as vinyl acetate. Without wishing to be bound by theory, it is believed that by carefully selecting the relative amounts and/or molecular weights of the monomers of the graft copolymers in accordance with the present disclosure, a fabric care composition that includes such graft copolymers may provide improved dye control during fabric treatment processes, such as wash or rinse cycles.
Fossum discloses in paragraph 0030, composition may include from about 0.1% to about 50%, by weight of the composition, of the graft polymer. The graft polymer may be present in an aqueous treatment liquor, such as a wash liquor or a rinse liquor of an automatic washing machine, in an amount of about 5 ppm, or from about 10 ppm, or from about 25 ppm, or from about 50 ppm, to about 1500 ppm, or to about 1000 ppm, or to about 500 ppm, or to about 250 ppm.
Fossum discloses in paragraph 0031, the graft polymer may be comprise and/or be obtainable by grafting (a) a polyalkylene oxide which has a number average molecular weight of from about 1000 to about 20,000, or to about 15,000, or to about 12,000, or to about 10,000 Daltons and is based on ethylene oxide, propylene oxide, or butylene oxide, preferably based on ethylene oxide, with (b) N-vinylpyrrolidone, and further with (c) a vinyl ester derived from a saturated monocarboxylic acid containing from 1 to 6 carbon atoms and/or a methyl or ethyl ester of acrylic or methacrylic acid, preferably a vinyl ester that is vinyl acetate or a derivative thereof; where the weight ratio of (a):(b) is from about 1:0.1 to about 1:1; where the amount, by weight, of (a) is greater than the amount of (c); and where the order of the addition of monomers (b) and (c) in the graft polymerization is immaterial.
Fossum discloses in paragraph 0032, the graft polymer may comprise and/or be obtainable by grafting (a) an alkylene oxide which has a number average molecular weight of from about 1000 to 20,000, or to about 15,000, or to about 12,000, or to about 10,000 Daltons, the alkylene oxide being based on ethylene oxide, with (b) N-vinylpyrrolidone, and (c) vinyl acetate or a derivative thereof; wherein the weight ratio of (a):(b) is from about 1:0.1 to about 1:2, or to about 1:1; wherein the weight ratio of (b):(c) is from about 1:0.1 to about 1:5, or to about 1:4; wherein the weight ratio of (a):(c) is from about 1:0.1 to about 1:5, or to about 1:3; the order of the addition of monomers (b) and (c) in the graft polymerization being immaterial.
Fossum discloses in paragraph 0035, the polyalkylene oxides may be based on ethylene oxide, propylene oxide, butylene oxides, or mixtures thereof. The polyalkylene oxides may be based on homopolymers of ethylene oxide or ethylene oxide copolymers having an ethylene oxide content of from about 40 to about 99 mole %. Suitable comonomers for such copolymers may include propylene oxide, n-butylene oxide, and/or isobutylene oxide. Suitable copolymers may include copolymers of ethylene oxide and propylene oxide, copolymers of ethylene oxide and butylene oxide, and/or copolymers of ethylene oxide, propylene oxide, and at least one butylene oxide. The copolymers may include an ethylene oxide content of from about 40 to about 99 mole %, a propylene oxide content of from about 1 to about 60 mole %, and a butylene oxide content of from about 1 to about 30 mole %. The graft base may be linear (straight-chain) or branched, for example a branched homopolymer and/or a branched copolymer.
Fossum discloses in paragraph 0039, the polyalkylene oxides may be grafted with a vinyl ester as the monomer of component (c). The vinyl ester may be derived from a saturated monocarboxylic acid, which may contain 1 to 6 carbon atoms. The vinyl ester may be derived from methyl acrylate, ethyl acrylate, methyl methacrylate, ethyl methacrylate, or mixtures thereof. Suitable vinyl esters may include vinyl formate, vinyl acetate, vinyl propionate, vinyl butyrate, vinyl valerate, vinyl iso-valerate, vinyl caproate, or mixtures thereof. Preferred monomers of component (c) include vinyl acetate, vinyl propionate, methyl acrylate, mixtures of vinyl acetate and methyl acrylate, or mixtures thereof, preferably vinyl acetate. The monomers of the graft polymer, e.g., components (a), (b), and/or (c), may be present in certain ratios, such as weight ratios and/or mole ratios.
Fossum discloses in paragraph 0086, the amphiphilic graft copolymers comprise (A) from 20 to 70% by weight of a water-soluble polyalkylene oxide as a graft base and (B) side chains formed by free-radical polymerization of from 30 to 80% by weight of a vinyl ester component composed of (B1) from 70 to 100% by weight of vinyl acetate and/or vinyl propionate and (B2) from 0 to 30% by weight of a further ethylenically unsaturated monomer in the presence of (A). The amphiphilic graft copolymers may comprise from 25 to 60% by weight of the graft base (A) and from 40 to 75% by weight of the polyvinyl ester component (B), preferably wherein the relative weight % of (A) and (B) add up to 100% by weight of the copolymer.
Fossum discloses in paragraph 0044, the graft polymers may be characterized by a relatively narrow molar mass distribution. For example, the graft polymers may be characterized by a polydispersity Mw/Mn of less than or equal to about 3, or less than or equal to about 2.5. The polydispersity of the graft polymers may be from about 1.5 to about 2.2. The polydispersity may be determined by gel permeation chromatography using narrow-distribution polymethyl methacrylates as the standard.
Fossum discloses in paragraph 0051, the amount of surfactant used in the graft polymerization process may be from about 0.1 to about 5% by weight of the graft polymer. If water is used as the solvent, solutions or dispersions of graft polymers may be obtained. If solutions of graft polymers are prepared in an organic solvent or in mixtures of an organic solvent and water, the amount of organic solvent or solvent mixture used per 100 parts by weight of the graft polymer may be from about 5 to about 200.
The claimed invention is anticipated by the reference because the reference teaches a composition which comprises all of the claimed components. In the alternative, no patentable distinction is seen to exist between the reference and the claimed invention absent evidence to the contrary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 35-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fossum et al. (US 2019/0390142) hereinafter “Fossum” in view of Ontani et al. (US 2016/0060582) hereinafter “Ontani”.
Regarding Claims 35-38
Fossum discloses in paragraph 00556, the treatment adjunct may include a surfactant system, fatty acids and/or salts thereof, enzymes, encapsulated benefit agents, soil release polymers, hueing agents, builders, chelating agents, dye transfer inhibiting agents, dispersants, enzyme stabilizers, catalytic materials, bleaching agents, bleach catalysts, bleach activators, polymeric dispersing agents, soil removal/anti-redeposition agents, polymeric dispersing agents, polymeric grease cleaning agents, amphiphilic copolymers (including those that are free of vinyl pyrrolidone), brighteners, suds suppressors, dyes, hueing agents, perfume, structure elasticizing agents, fabric softeners, carriers, fillers, hydrotropes, solvents, anti-microbial agents and/or preservatives, neutralizers and/or pH adjusting agents, processing aids, fillers, rheology modifiers or structurants, opacifiers, pearlescent agents, pigments, anti-corrosion and/or anti-tarnishing agents, and mixtures thereof.
Fossum discloses it is known in the art to add anti-microbial agents to fabric and cleaning compositions but fails to teach the claimed anti-microbial agents.
However, it is known in the art to add anti-microbial agents to fabric and cleaning compositions, as taught by Ontani.
Ontani discloses in paragraph 0021, the anti-microbial agents include, diphenyl ethers, are nonionic. It has been found that due to their nonionic property, the diphenyl ether anti-microbial agents allow for formation of a stable liquid anti-microbial laundry detergent composition.
Ontani discloses in paragraph 0032, the anti-microbial agent is selected from the group consisting of 4-4′-dichloro-2-hydroxy diphenyl ether (“Diclosan”), 2,4,4′-trichloro-2′-hydroxy diphenyl ether (“Triclosan”), and a combination thereof. Most preferably, the anti-microbial agent is 4-4′-dichloro-2-hydroxy diphenyl ether, commercially available from BASF, under the trademark name Tinosan®HP100.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add anti-microbial agents of Ontani to the fabric and cleaning compositions of Fossum. The motivation to do so is the diphenyl ether anti-microbial agents allow for formation of a stable liquid anti-microbial fabric compositions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sharma et al. (WO 2006/130442) discloses in the abstract, a detergent auxiliary composition comprising from 0.001 wt% to 99 wt% cleaning polymer having a hydrophilic backbone and at least one hydrophobic pendant group, and an adjunct ingredient in which the hydrophilic backbone constitutes less than 50 %, preferably less than 45% by weight of the polymer. The detergent auxiliary composition may be, for example a spray-dried particle or an agglomerate. Also described are detergent compositions comprising the detergent auxiliary composition.
/Latosha Hines/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771