DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1, applicant argues that the internet of things (IOT) terminal address pool concept is not taught in Zhou or Thubert. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhou teaches, the interworking gateway serving as an agent of the IOT server by forwarding and authenticating messages (paragraph 0004). The IP address for the IOT terminal is located in the same IP subnet or private network as a package data network gateway. The subnet is defined to have multiple IP addresses of which the network gateway chooses when forwarding to the IOT server. This is an IOT IP address pool with multiple IP addresses present and being able to be chosen for forwarding or other purposes (paragraph 0004).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou (US 20200045546 A1, hereinafter Zhou).
Claim 8 is rejected as a method of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Zhou teaches:
An Internet of Things terminal access apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor; and (paragraph 0056 – Processor executes the code to implement the interworking gateway.)
at least one memory for storing at least one program; (paragraph 0056 – Memory stores the program code)
wherein the at least one program, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to implement the access method for an Internet of Things terminal. (paragraph 0056 – processor implements the function of the interworking gateway)
receiving and storing the Internet of Things terminal address pool; (paragraph 0065 - the storage module stores the IP addresses)
when the first message of the downlink instruction is received, obtaining the first IP address of the Internet of Things terminal according to the first message and the Internet of Things terminal address pool; and (paragraph 0027, 0028, fig.3 labels 302, 303 – The IP address is received at the IOT server (cloud platform).
packaging the first message and the first IP address into the second message to be sent to the core network gateway device. (Paragraph 0030, fig.3, label 304 – The first IP address is packaged into a second message to be sent to the interworking gateway (core network gateway)).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a program executable by a processor, wherein the program executable by the processor, when executed by the processor, implements the access method for an Internet of Things terminal. (paragraph 0056 – processor implements the function of the interworking gateway)
receiving and storing the Internet of Things terminal address pool; (paragraph 0065 - the storage module stores the IP addresses)
when the first message of the downlink instruction is received, obtaining the first IP address of the Internet of Things terminal according to the first message and the Internet of Things terminal address pool; and (paragraph 0027, 0028, fig.3 labels 302, 303 – The IP address is received at the IOT server (cloud platform).
packaging the first message and the first IP address into the second message to be sent to the core network gateway device. (Paragraph 0030, fig.3, label 304 – The first IP address is packaged into a second message to be sent to the interworking gateway (core network gateway)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou, as applied above, in view of Thubert et al. (US 20180255092 A1, hereinafter Thubert).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches:
An access system for an Internet of Things terminal, comprising a core network gateway device and an Internet of Things cloud platform,
wherein the core network gateway device is configured for allocating a first IP address to an Internet of Things terminal, establishing an Internet of Things terminal address pool according to the first IP address, and sending the Internet of Things terminal address pool to the Internet of Things cloud platform; and (paragraph 0026 – The IOT terminal is allocated an IP address. paragraph 0027, 0028, fig.3 labels 302, 303 – The IP address is sent to the IOT server (cloud platform) from the interworking gateway. Paragraph 0032 – The IOT terminal sends a registration request. Paragraph 0004 – “After the internet of things terminal is attached to a telecommunications network, an IP address that is allocated by the telecommunications network to the internet of things terminal is an IP address of an IP subnet or a private network in which a packet data network gateway or a user plane device in the telecommunications network is located. Because the interworking gateway is located in a same IP subnet or private network as the packet data network gateway or the user plane device in the telecommunications network, the interworking gateway may obtain a real IP address (namely, an IP address for which no NAT translation is performed) of the internet of things terminal.” The IP subnet is considered to be an address pool).
wherein the Internet of Things cloud platform is configured for receiving and storing the Internet of Things terminal address pool, and when a first message of a downlink instruction is received, obtaining the first IP address according to the first message and the Internet of Things terminal address pool, and packaging the first message and the first IP address into a second message to be sent to the core network gateway device. (paragraph 0027, 0028, fig.3 labels 302, 303 – The IP address is received at the IOT server (cloud platform). Paragraph 0030, fig.3, label 304 – The first IP address is packaged into a second message to be sent to the interworking gateway (core network gateway)).
However, Zhou does not teach the private network being virtual.
Thubert teaches:
wherein the core network gateway device and the Internet of Things cloud platform communicate with each other through a first virtual private network; (paragraph 0015-0016 – A VPN is used to link a router or set of routers in place of a private network.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Thubert, using a VPN would enhance network security and provide greater freedom and flexibility (paragraphs 0030 and 0020).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou partly teaches:
The access system for an Internet of Things terminal according claim 1, further comprising a firewall, through which the core network gateway accesses the first [[virtual]] private network. (paragraph 0020 – A firewall or Network address translation device (NAT) is used between the core network and the internet).
However, Zhou does not teach the use of a virtual private network.
Thubert teaches the use of a VPN as an alternative to a private network (paragraph 0015).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Thubert, using a VPN would enhance network security and provide greater freedom and flexibility. (paragraphs 0030 and 0020).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou teaches:
The access system for an Internet of Things terminal according to claim 1, further comprising a core network address mapping device configured for (fig. 3, label 301, paragraph 0025 – The EPC is the core network)
acquiring an uplink message of the Internet of Things terminal, (fig. 3, label 301, paragraph 0026 – an uplink message is received)
parsing the uplink message to obtain the first IP address, Internet of Things data and a destination IP address, (paragraph 0021 – a destination address, source IP address and IOT data are associated with the uplink message)
mapping the destination IP address into a second IP address, and (paragraph 0021, table 1 – an uplink message is received with a private source address and mapped a public IP destination address.)
packaging the first IP address, the Internet of Things data, the destination IP address and the second IP address into a third message. (paragraph 0021, table 1 – The source and destination address are shown in the table as Private IP-1 and Public IP-A. paragraph 0026 - The internet of things data could be a device identifier (NodeID))
Regarding claim 4, Zhou teaches:
The access system for an Internet of Things terminal according to claim 1, wherein the second message comprises the first IP address, user instruction data and a second IP address of a [[virtual]] server of the Internet of Things cloud platform. (paragraph 0021, table 1 – The source and destination address are shown in the table as Public IP-B and Private IP-2).
However, Zhou does not explicitly teach the server being virtual.
Thubert teaches the inclusion of virtual network interfaces including VPNs (paragraph 0030).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Thubert, using a virtual server would enhance network security and provide greater freedom and flexibility. (paragraphs 0030 and 0020).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches:The access system for an Internet of Things terminal according to claim 4, further comprising a core network user edge router, [wherein the first virtual private network is a CN2 (Chinatelecom Next Carrier Network) VPN (Virtual Private Network), the core network user edge router is configured with a CN2 VPN network interface, and the core network gateway device accesses the CN2 VPN through the core network user edge router];
wherein the core network user edge router is configured for receiving a [virtual] server address pool on the Internet of Things cloud platform through [a BGP (Border Gateway Protocol)], wherein the virtual server address pool comprises a plurality of second IP addresses.
Zhou does not explicitly teach the private network being virtual.
Thubert teaches:
wherein the first virtual private network is a CN2 (Chinatelecom Next Carrier Network) VPN (Virtual Private Network), the core network user edge router is configured with a CN2 VPN network interface, and the core network gateway device accesses the CN2 VPN through the core network user edge router; and (paragraph 0015 - the use of a VPN as an alternative to a private network, there is no apparent difference between the use of a CN2 VPN and any other VPN).
wherein the core network user edge router is configured for receiving a virtual server address pool on the Internet of Things cloud platform through a BGP (Border Gateway Protocol), wherein the virtual server address pool comprises a plurality of second IP addresses. (paragraph 0033 – The use of a BGP that manages information and communications. paragraph 0057-0060 – storing of multiple Ip addresses in a server)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Thubert, using a virtual server would enhance network security and provide greater freedom and flexibility. (paragraphs 0030 and 0020).
Regarding claim 6 Zhou teaches:
The access system for an Internet of Things terminal according to claim 5, further comprising a cloud platform user edge router configured for receiving the Internet of Things terminal address pool [through the BGP], wherein the Internet of Things terminal address pool comprises a plurality of first IP addresses.
Zhou fails to teach the BGP.
Thubert teaches:
The access system for an Internet of Things terminal according to claim 5, further comprising a cloud platform user edge router configured for receiving the Internet of Things terminal address pool through the BGP, wherein the Internet of Things terminal address pool comprises a plurality of first IP addresses. (paragraph 0033 – The use of a BGP that manages information and communications. paragraph 0057-0060 – storing of multiple IP addresses in a server)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Thubert, routing through a BGP would increase network stability through quick rerouting and efficient path selecting.
Regarding claim 7, Zhou teaches:
The access system for an Internet of Things terminal according to claim 1, wherein the core network gateway device communicates with the Internet of Things cloud platform through a second private network; (Paragraph 0021, figure 1 – A second NAT2 is shown which is a private network.)
the core network gateway device is further configured for generating a radius (remote authentication dial in user service) session message, (paragraph 0027 – RADIUS protocol is used)
and the radius session message is configured for characterizing a state of the Internet of Things terminal; and the Internet of Things cloud platform is further configured for receiving the radius session message through the second private network, and identifying the state of the Internet of Things terminal according to the radius session message. (paragraphs 0027-0028 – The gateway notifies the server/cloud platform it is online and when a connection has been established.)
Zhou does not explicitly teach the network being virtual.
Thubert teaches: The use of a second virtual private network. (paragraph 0015 - The use of a VPN as an alternative to a private network).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Thubert, using a VPN would enhance network security and provide greater freedom and flexibility. (paragraphs 0030 and 0020).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN ALEXANDER CRIGLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472