DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1, 13-14 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election of Group II (claims 2-12 and 21-22) was made without traverse in the 8/25/2026 reply.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 2 recites “one or more activating agents”. Although the Specification does not explicitly define what an “activating agent” is, it does provide the following: “It has been reported that persulfate anion (S2O82-) can decompose perfluorooctanoic acid (PFOA) with external high-energy activation, such as with ultraviolet light, electrolysis, or high heat (>80°C), and typically requiring a high pH (>10.5) or high concentrations of transition metal ions. Absent such activation, the persulfate anion has not been reported to decompose PFOA. Reports are mixed as to whether hydroxyl radicals, sulfate radicals, or both are formed with such high-energy activation of persulfate; however, such radicals do not form or do not form in sufficiently high concentrations at temperatures lower than about 40°C.” [Page 3, Lines 32-34] and “It is appreciated that the aggregate amount of the one or more activators will also be sufficient to produce hydroxyl radical (OH•-, E° = 2.01V), sulfate radicals (SO4•-, E° = 2.7V) and combinations thereof, in-situ.” [Page 9, Lines 25-28]. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the term “activating agent” is used within the instant application to refer to any agent capable of forming hydroxyl radicals and/or sulfate radicals when contacted with persulfate salts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)/2nd par. as indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 5 requires “PAC”. The specification does not clearly define PAC but does provide “activating agents include powdered activated carbon (PAC).” [Page 4, Lines 29-30]. However, it is unclear if the scope of PAC requires powered activated carbon or if that is merely one example of a broader group. For the purpose of applying the prior art to Claim 5 the phrase “PAC” is interpreted as requiring powered activated carbon, however appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-5 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as anticipated by US 20200338378 A1 Yost et al. Claim 2 recites “A composition configured for remediating an organic contaminant in the environment/groundwater”. The phrase “for remediating an organic contaminant in the environment/groundwater” is considered intended use. MPEP 2111.02.II states “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.”. In this case the limitations of the claimed invention are fully set forth in the body of the claim and the intended use of remediating an organic contaminant in the environment/groundwater does not suggest structural limitations.
Claim 2 requires “the composition comprising a persulfate salt and one or more activating agents.”. Yost et al. discloses “The present invention provides a set of reagents and a method for reducing the leachability and release of PFAS, mercury, other metals, and other contaminants from
soils, sediments, and other solid waste when treated materials are exposed to (e.g.) acid rain, snow melt, runoff, landfill leachate, groundwater, or the like. In a first aspect of the invention, a reagent set includes an acid, preferably nitric, sulfuric, and / or phosphoric acid; an oxidant, preferably nitric acid, hydrogen peroxide, and / or a persulfate; and an adsorbent, preferably granular and / or powdered activated carbon” [0028]. Regarding the phrase “activating agent” Yost et al. discloses “and where acidity caused enhanced activation of the media” [0036] which can be understood as a disclosure that the acid is an activating agent. Additionally and/or alternatively, the instant application specification discloses “Illustrative activating agents include … powdered activated carbon (PAC).” [Page 4, Lines 27-30]. Therefore, it is understood that the powered activated carbon included within the composition of Yost et al. is an activating agent regardless of whether this property was known to Yost et al. or not.
Claim 3 requires “the persulfate salt is potassium persulfate, sodium persulfate, or a combination thereof.”. Regarding sodium persulfate Yost et al. discloses “Table 1 provides a non-limiting list of oxidizers” [0049], and Table 1 lists sodium persulfate. Regarding potassium persulfate, while Yost et al. does not list potassium persulfate in Table 1, Yost et al. discloses “an oxidant selected from the group consisting of nitric acid, hydrogen peroxide , sodium persulfate , potassium persulfate , ammonium persulfate … , and compatible mixtures thereof” [Claim 1].
Claim 4 requires “the persulfate salt is potassium persulfate.”. Yost et al. discloses potassium persulfate (see Claim 3).
Claim 5 requires “the activating agent is a transition metal cation or PAC, or a combination thereof.”. Yost et al. discloses PAC (see Claim 1).
Claim 7 requires “the combined amount of the one or more activating agents is sufficient to produce hydroxyl radicals, sulfate radicals, other reactive oxygen species, and combinations thereof, in-situ.”. Yost et al. discloses PAC (see Claim 1) which is understood to produce hydroxyl radicals, sulfate radicals, or both upon contact with persulfate salts. Additionally, Yost et al. discloses 5 radicals in a list of non-limiting examples in Table 1 [0049] which indicates the composition of Yost et al. is capable of generating radicals in at least some formulations.
Claims 8-12 all similarly limit Claim 2 by modifying the intended use of “for remediating an organic contaminant in the environment/groundwater” by further limiting the type of contaminant which is remediated.
Regarding Claim 8, broadly Yost et al. discloses their composition is effective at remediating PFAS from the environment (see Examples II-VIII).
Regarding Claims 9-11, while Yost et al. is silent towards perfluoroalkyl, polyfluorocarboxylates, polyfluorosulfonates, perfluorocarboxylates, and perfluorosulfonates specifically, there is no reason to expect that the composition of Yost et al. would not have been able to decompose these specific PFAS. Furthermore MPEP 2112.01.II states "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.”. In the present case Yost et al. teaches an identical composition of persulfate salt and activating agent as claimed and therefore all of the properties of said composition (including the ability to remediate various PFAS materials) are necessarily present.
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 requires “the PFAS include perfluorooctanoic acid (PFOA), perfluorooctanesulfonic acid (PFOS), or a combination thereof.”. Yost et al. discloses in Table 5b [0111] that all four compositions tested (F-1 – F-4) were able to remove PFOS to some degree.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 20200338378 A1 Yost et al. Claim 21 requires “A kit comprising a predetermined quantity of the composition of claim 2; and instructions for co-introduction of the kit components into a reactive treatment zone containing soil or water, or both.”. Yost et al. discloses “Reagent sets can be provided in combined (pre - blended) form , with some or all reagents present , or made on site by adding the reagents individually , in pairs , etc. , to the contaminated material” [0059]. Instructions for the use of an invention are considered non-functional printed matter. It has been held that non-functional printed matter cannot distinguish a claimed product from an otherwise identical prior art product, see MPEP 2112.01.III. Additionally and/or alternatively, although Yost et al. does not explicitly disclose including instructions for the use of their kit (reagent set), including user instructions in a final product cannot alone serve as a patentable (i.e. non-obvious) distinction. MPEP 2112.01.III, citing, e.g., In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 1339 (Fed. Cir. 2004), and In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385-86 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Claim 22 requires “A packaged article comprising a predetermined quantity of the composition of claim 2; and instructions for co-introduction of the kit components into a reactive treatment zone containing soil or water, or both.”. Yost et al. discloses a packaged article (reagent set), see Claim 21. Instructions for the use of an invention are considered non-functional printed matter. It has been held that non-functional printed matter cannot distinguish a claimed product from an otherwise identical prior art product, see MPEP 2112.01.III. Additionally and/or alternatively, although Yost et al. does not explicitly disclose including instructions for the use of packaged article (reagent set), including user instructions in a final product cannot alone serve as a patentable (i.e. non-obvious) distinction. MPEP 2112.01.III, citing, e.g., In re Ngai, and In re Gulack.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200338378 A1 Yost et al. in view of NPL “Degradation of p-chloroaniline by persulfate activated with ferrous sulfide ore particles” Yuan et al. Regarding Claim 6, Yost et al. teaches all of the limitations of Claim 2 (see above). Claim 6 further requires “the activating agent is an iron sulfide.”. Yost et al. does not disclose iron sulfide as part of the composition. Yuan et al. is similarly directed to methods of using persulfate to degrade wastewater contaminates (see Abstract). Yuan et al. discloses “As shown in Fig. 2(a), only 20% PCA degradation was observed in the Fe2+–PS system after 100 min. In the Fe0–PS system, PCA degradation reached 88% after 100 min. By comparison, about 99% (>99%) of the PCA was removed by the PS activated with FeS within 30min. Thus, FeS–PS is clearly effective for degrading PCA.” [Page 40, Section 3.2]. It is noted that PCA stands for p-chloroaniline (a contaminant) and PS stands for persulfate. Yuan et al. explains the above results by disclosing “In contrast to homogenous Fe2+–PS system, heterogeneous FeS-PS system also performed a rapid degradation of PCA. Similar to Fe0, we also hypothesized that FeS could serve as a continuous releasing source of dissolved Fe2+ and surface bound Fe2+, which would activate PS to produce sulfate radical, as described in Eqs. (12), (5) and (9). In addition, sustainable release of Fe2+ and recycling of Fe3+ during reaction [27,37] can prevent excessive Fe2+ consumption and Fe3+ accumulation” [Page 41, Section 3.2]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the FeS disclosed by Yuan et al. with the composition of Yost et al. for at least the reason that they are both similarly directed to compositions that activate persulfate to degrade wastewater contaminates; it has been held prima facie obvious to combine two compositions, each useful for the same purpose, to form a third composition also useful for the same purpose. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850 (CCPA 1980); MPEP 2144.06.
The motivation to have included the FeS of Yuan et al. within the composition of Yost et al. is given by Yuan et al. (above), the expected result would be a continuous source of sulfate radicals which are known by Yost et al. to be effective agents for treatment of wastewater. It is also noted that Yost et al. discloses both Fe2+ and Fe0 as alternative oxidants [0050] and Yuan et al. discloses that FeS is clearly superior to both Fe2+ and Fe0 for remediating wastewater.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOSHUA MAXWELL SPEER whose telephone number is (703)756-5471. The examiner can normally be reached M-T and Th-F 8am-6pm PST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Anthony Zimmer can be reached at 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA MAXWELL SPEER/
Examiner
Art Unit 1736
/DANIEL BERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736