DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits for application 18/682611 filed February 9, 2024.
Claims 7-26 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 7-9 in the reply filed on July 24, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 24, 2026.
Claims 7-9 are considered on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOGART et al (US PG PUB 2020/0099043).
Regarding claim 7, BOGART et al teaches a secondary battery material (active component for an anode of a metal ion battery, abstract) comprising Si (silicon), O (oxygen), and C (carbon) (abstract, examples), wherein a content ratio x of O to Si satisfies 0.1 ≤ x ≤ 2 (table 3, .29, falling within the claimed range) and a content ratio y of C to Si satisfies 0.3 ≤ y ≤ 11 (paragraph [0074] teaches .1-1, overlapping and rendering obvious the claimed range, with example 1 of table 3 teaching the ratio to be .72).
BOGART et al does not expressly teach “a chemical shift value obtained from a 29Si-NMR spectrum, an integrated intensity A of a peak in a range of from -70 ppm to -90 ppm pertaining to Si (0 value) and an integrated intensity B of a peak in a range of from -90 ppm to -130 ppm pertaining to bond in SiO4 satisfy a following expression: Expression: 0.2 < A/B < 5”. Moreover, the specification does not detail what manufacturing process renders the claimed peaks. The material composition disclosed in BOGART is equivalent to that disclosed in the instant compositional listing, including an addition of nitrogen material in the same amount (see BOGART et al paragraph [0081] compared to instant application publication paragraph [0057]. The court has held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties (including the spectrum peaks and associated integrated intensities) are inseparable. Therefore, it is the position of the Examiner that since the prior art teaches the same composition, the properties Applicant claims are obviously present. The Applicant is strongly encouraged to demonstrate what causes the instant composition to feature the claimed peaks/intensity in the NMR spectrum claimed.
Regarding claim 8, BOGART et al teaches a volume average particle diameter (D50) of from 0.5 pm to 10 pm (paragraph [0121], with overlap rendering obvious the range).
Regarding claim 9, BOGART et al teaches a specific surface area (BET) is from 1 m2/g to 20 m2/g (paragraph [0136], with overlap rendering obvious the range).
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHU et al (WO2020129467A1, wherein citations are made to the US PG PUB document 2022/0069296, an English equivalent and also equivalent to cited document JP2021/114483).
Regarding claim 7, ZHU et al teaches a secondary battery material (negative electrode active of a secondary battery, abstract) teaches forming a silicon material featuring 8-40 mass% silicon particle, 20-70 mass% solid polysiloxane, 3-60 mass% carbon source resin (paragraph [0089], wherein the carbon source resin is phenolic resin paragraph [0130]) which is mixed, fired at a high temperature of 1000-1180 degrees C (paragraph [0091]) in a nitrogen/inert environment (paragraph [0090]) and pulverized until the desired size (paragraph [0093]). This is identical to the processing steps shown in the instant application, stating the same materials (paragraph [0290] of the PG PUB), in the same process steps (paragraph [0292]-[0296]). Moreover, figure 2 shows a 29Si-NMR chemical shift spectrum featuring peaks at the claimed potions. The claimed ratio of the peak at -70 ppm to -90 ppm compared -90 ppm to -130 ppm would require the integrated area of the first peak to be between 20%-500% in size relative to the second peak. When considering figure 2, while an exact value explicitly disclosed, it is obvious the ratio of areas of these two peaks is well within the broad ratio claimed.
While ZHU et al does not specifically address the claim limitation proportion of materials, these are considered to be intrinsic and obvious, resulting from following the method steps taught by the reference(s), which are the same as those instantly disclosed, absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary. As a prima facie case of obviousness has been set forth on the record, and because the USPTO does not possess the laboratory facilities to test and compare the prior art to the claimed invention, the burden shifts to applicant to demonstrate otherwise.
Regarding claim 8, ZHU et al teaches the material having a volume average particle diameter (D50) of from 0.5 pm to 10 pm (paragraph [0046] and [0050]).
Regarding claim 9, ZHU et al teaches a specific surface area (BET) is from 1 m2/g to 20 m2/g (paragraph [0048] and [0050]).
Conclusion
/KOURTNEY R S CARLSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 9/18/2026