DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20210336256-A1 (S) in view of JP-H05135776-A (W) and US-20050106457-A1 (R).
Regarding claim 1, S teaches a positive electrode material comprising electrolytic manganese dioxide and sodium [0010-11]. S teaches an electrical potential of the EMD is 280 mV to 350 mV with respect to an electrical potential of a mercury oxide reference electrode [0011], [0020]. S teaches the sodium content is between 10 ppm and 5000 ppm [0011]. S further teaches the sodium content is preferably between 10 ppm and 3000 ppm [0022]. This sodium range encompasses the claimed sodium range of 800 ppm by mass or more and 3000 ppm by mass or less.
S teaches the positive electrode mixture may be mixed with graphite and an electrolyte to form a cathode mixture, which is then combined with a separator, negative electrode, and electrolyte in a casing to form a dry cell [0032]. This arrangement teaches an alkaline dry battery comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode, wherein the positive electrode contains electrolyte.
S does not teach the positive electrode mixture comprises zinc. S does not explicitly teach the negative electrode contains electrolyte.
W teaches an electrolyte for a manganese dioxide/zinc battery [0035] which has a ZnO additive in a concentration of 3 to 7% by weight [0031]. W teaches the benefit of the electrolyte is it suppresses deterioration of heavy load characteristics due to storage [0031].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to elect the electrolyte of W in the battery of S in order to achieve the benefit of suppressing the deterioration of heavy load characteristics due to storage. It would have been obvious to do because S does not teach a specific electrolyte for the battery and W teaches an electrolyte for a battery with an EMD cathode with known benefits. Doing so would amount to no more than electing a known option for an electrolyte in an EMD alkaline dry cell in a case where none was specified.
S nor W teach the amount of electrolyte in the cathode and anode.
R teaches a typical mixture for a EMD dry cell cathode contains 5 to 10 wt% electrolyte [0035]. R further teaches the electrolyte comprises ZnO. R teaches a mixture for an anode comprises 29.4 wt% electrolyte [0051].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the instant invention to utilize the mixing ratios of R for the battery of S and W because doing so was a typical mixture in the art of EMD-based alkaline dry cells. Doing so would be obvious because it would amount to no more than electing a known set of mixing ratios in an invention where none were specified.
This implementation of the mixing ratios of R with the dry cell of S and W would then have a range of Zn concentrations in the cathode of between 0.15wt% and 0.7wt%, which correspond to 1500 ppm to 7000 ppm. This encompasses the claimed range of 2400 ppm to 4600 ppm by mass.
Claim 1 therefore is unpatentable over S, W, and R.
Regarding claim 2, the range taught by S encompasses the narrowed claimed range for sodium content of the instant claim 2. This range is 2300 ppm to 2900 ppm, and the range taught by S is 10 ppm. to 3000 ppm.
Regarding claim 3, R teaches the electrolyte contained in a typical positive electrode for an EMD dry cell is between 5 and 10%. 10% falls in the claimed range of the instant claim 3 so the instant claim 3 is unpatentable over S, W and R.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20070238024-A1 teaches similar motivation for adjusting sodium content to US-20210336256-A1.
/LOUISE JAMES IANNUCCI/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/KOURTNEY R S CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 8/20/26