DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, and the tumor associated antigen (TAA) of EGFR, in the reply filed on 7/30/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that with the amendment of claim 1 on 7/30/2026 the claims have unity of invention. This is not found persuasive because the originally presented claims lacked unity of invention for the reasons set forth in the written restriction requirement mailed 6/10/2026. Furthermore, the amended claims lack unity of invention as prior art can be applied against them as set forth below. They lack a special technical feature.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 14-16 and 21-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/30/2026.
Applicant is advised that claims 14-16 and 21-24 should have the status identifier as “withdrawn” as they are non-elected claims. See MPEP 714(c) and 37 CFR 1.121(c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 as amended is directed to a method for preparing armed immune cells, comprising: (i) isolating a population of CD3⁺ immune cells from a human blood sample; and (ii) contacting the population of immune cells with a bi-specific antibody specific to CD3 and a tumor associated antigen (TAA) to produce armed immune cells, which display the bi-specific antibody on the cell surface; wherein the method does not involve in vitro cell culture, expansion, or activation of the CD3 immune cells isolated in step (i). Basis was stated to be in the bridging paragraph between pages 1-2. This is not agreed with.
This paragraph recites the “processes disclosed herein allow for production of armed immune cells, which may be enriched with one or more particular types of T cells (e.g., CD4+, CD8+, Treg, etc.), in a short period (e.g., less than 6 hours) without the need of in vitro cell culture, expansion, and/or activation.” Claim 1 does not recite any particular time period for the method. “Without the need for” is not synonymous with “does not involve.” The specification does not disclose what “involve” is intended to include or exclude. If the phrase “without the need for” means “not required,” then each of in vitro cell culture, expansion, and activation would be optional and not excluded. Note also that one definition of “involve” is “require.” These phrases are distinguished from a limitation such as “without in vitro cell culture, expansion, and activation” where all three activities are clearly and specifically excluded. This appears to be what applicant intended.
The alternative language “or” in claim 1 is being interpreted as meaning that only one of in vitro cell culture or expansion or activation may be excluded although two or all three could be excluded. See by comparison the use of “and/or” in the bridging paragraph between pages 1-2.
No basis for the limitations added to claim 1 is seen. The claims constitute new matter.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 18 is directed to the method of claim 1, wherein the bi-specific antibody comprises a first antigen binding fragment that binds human CD3, wherein the first antigen binding fragment comprises a first heavy chain that comprises a first heavy chain variable region (VH) and a first light chain that comprises a first light chain variable region (VL), wherein the first VH comprises the same heavy chain complementary determining regions (CDRs) or no more than 5 amino acid variations relative to a first reference antibody and the first VL comprises the same light chain CDRs or no more than 5 amino acid variations relative to the reference antibody, and wherein the first reference antibody is CTA.02, CTA.03, CTA.04, or CTA.05.
The CDR sequences and VH/VL sequences for anti-CD3 antibodies CTA.02, CTA.03, CTA.04, and CTA.05 are disclosed in Table 1. Claim 18 permits variations to the CDRs of both the VH and VL. The six CDRs are responsible for antigen binding. At least for example, making five unspecified amino acid changes to the HCDR3 of SEQ ID NO: 3 (10 amino acids) and five unspecified amino acid changes to LCDR3 of SEQ ID NO: 7 (9 amino acids) would have been expected to significantly alter or eliminate the binding specificity of the CTA.02 antibody. The specification does not disclose or suggest particular amino acid changes (which positions to change, what to change them to) in order to retain antigen binding. There is no structure/function correlation disclosed and a reasonable number of embodiments with the genus have not been disclosed.
The genus of antibodies encompassed by this claim is not adequately described.
Claims 3-6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claims 3-6 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Note that an example of “at least 80%” is not a limiting definition. See for example page 2, lines 19-24.
Claim 13 is confusing in reciting that steps (i) and step (ii) are performed concurrently. This is inconsistent with claim 1 where the isolated population of cells is contacted. If steps (i) and (ii) are performed concurrently, contacting occurs before the population of cells has been isolated. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (of record, WO 2022026439, published 3 February 2022, filed 27 July 2021) in view of Lowman et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0079088).
Park et al. discloses a method of ex vivo arming of CD3+ immune cells by
coating or complexing CD3+ T cells using bispecific antibodies (BsAb) against both CD3 and a
tumor associated antigen such as PSMA, CEA, CD19, CD20, HER2, and EGFR (e.g. the elected TAA). See at least claims 1-2 and 17-19. Paragraph [0107] discloses that an armed T cell is any white blood cell expressing CD3 on its surface that has been coated with one or more multispecific antibodies. By way of example only, but not by way of limitation, T cells may be expanded and/or activated ex vivo and then armed with an anti-CD3 multi-specific antibody (e.g a BsAb). This makes clear that expansion and activation are not required. Paragraphs [0138 and 0145-0147] disclose suitable T cell populations including naïve T cells, CD4+ T cells, CD8+ T cells, Natural Killer T cells (e.g. NK T cells), and Regulatory T cells (e.g. Treg). The T cells are armed ex vivo by contacting the T cells with an anti-CD3 multi-specific antibody for about 5-60 minutes at room temperature. The armed T cells can be cryopreserved. See at least paragraph [0148]. The T cells can be isolated by conventional methods from (for example) peripheral blood using positive and negative selection. Purifying naïve T cells from human PBMC is disclosed. See at least paragraph [0231]. The T cells can be autologous or non-autologous (i.e. allogeneic) and from a human. See at least paragraphs [0030-0031 and 0149-0154].
Lowman et al. discloses multispecific antibodies that can bind to T cells. A variety of multispecific antibody structures are disclosed. In particular CD3/EGFR multispecific antibodies are disclosed. The EGFR antibody C225v5 is disclosed. See at least Figure 1 and paragraphs [0005-0008, 0013, and 0028-0029]. A CD3 antibody with a VH and VL corresponding to instant SEQ ID NOS: 4 and 8 for CTA.02 (see instant claims 18-19) is disclosed. Example 5 discloses the VL of SEQ ID NO: 308 (corresponding to instant SEQ ID NO: 8), the VH of SEQ ID NO: 310 (corresponding to SEQ ID NO: 4 with one change, S for in HCDR3 of instant SEQ ID NO: 3 which is contained in instant SEQ ID NO: 4), and SEQ ID NO: 306 which is an scFv of the VH and VL. Table 7 discloses the scFv of SEQ ID NO: 232 (where instant SEQ ID NO: 4 corresponds to amino acids 24-142) and amino acids 158-264 correspond to instant SEQ ID NO: 8). See also Examples 7 and 9.
It would have been obvious to use a CD3/EGFR multispecific antibody of Lowman et al. to arm T cells according to the method of Parks et al. Parks et al. discloses isolating a population of CD3+ immune cells from a human blood sample and contacting the population of immune cells with a bispecific antibody specific for CD3 and a tumor associated antigen such as EGFR. Lowman et al. discloses suitable antibodies for this purpose. One would have been motivated to do so in order to arm T cells for therapy as suggested by Parks et al. and Lowman et al. While Parks et al. discloses that the T cells may be expanded and/or activated ex vivo and then armed with an anti-CD3 multi-specific antibody, this expansion and activation are not required. Parks et al. does not disclose any requirement for culturing the isolated T cells.
The specification does not disclose what “involve” is intended to include or exclude in the recitation “wherein the method does not involve in vitro cell culture, expansion, or activation of the CD3 immune cells isolated in step (i).” As set forth above, the alternative language “or” in claim 1 is being interpreted as meaning that only one of in vitro cell culture or expansion or activation may be excluded. The method suggested by the combination of Parks et al. and Lowman et al. meets this limitation of claim 1.
In the absence of a more specific definition, the isolated T cell populations of Park et al. are considered to meet the “substantially” limitation of instant claims 3-6.
With respect to claim 9, treatment of cancer patients with the armed T cells is disclosed and use of autologous T cells is disclosed. This fairly suggests using a human blood sample obtained from a human cancer patient.
The claimed methods would have been obvious.
The art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2021/195067 (of record, published 30 September 2021, filed 23 March 2021) discloses bispecific antibodies of the instant application. See Tables 1-3. This document is not prior art against the instant application as it has the same inventors as the instant application. The corresponding 371 application is 17/913,775 with corresponding U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0209084. Bispecific antibodies were restricted from methods for producing an armed immune cell (claim 24, currently withdrawn, see 5/26/2026 claim set) in the ‘775 application. See 10/23/2025 restriction. The instant application and co-pending ‘775 application do not share a common priority claim. Double patenting rejections are not prohibited. A double patenting rejection could apply if claim 24 is rejoined in the ‘775 application.
Conclusion
/Marianne P Allen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647
mpa