Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 06/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US20180226311A1.
Regarding claims 1-2, US20180226311A1 discloses a supporting glass substrate
No. 5 of Table 3 discloses the claimed composition when wt% is converted into mole%.
The glass composition of No. 5 comprises, in terms of mole %, 66.11% of SiO2, 10.84% of Al2O3, 9.32% B2O3, 1.32% MgO, 9.44%CaO, 2.87% of SrO and 0.9% of SnO2. Thus, Li2O+Na2O+K2O is zero and a molar ratio (MgO+SrO+BaO)/CaO is less than 1.5. The glass composition of No. 5 has the claimed average coefficient of thermal expansion.
In the alterative, US20180226311A1 discloses a supporting glass substrate having an average thermal expansion coefficient within a temperature range of from 30° C. to 380° C. is 38×10−7/° C. or more and less than 50×10−7/° C., the supporting glass substrate preferably comprises as a glass composition, in terms of mass %, 55% to 75% of SiO2, 10% to 30% of Al2O3, 0% to 0.3% of Li2O+Na2O+K2O, and 5% to 20% of MgO+CaO+SrO+BaO.
When the average thermal expansion coefficient within a temperature range of from 30° C. to 380° C. is set to 50×10−7/° C. or more and less than 75×10−7/° C., the supporting glass substrate preferably comprises as a glass composition, in terms of mass %, 55% to 70% of SiO2, 3% to 15% to Al2O3, 5% to 20% of B2O3, 0% to 5% of MgO, 0% to 10% of CaO, 0% to 5% of SrO, 0% to 5% of BaO, 0% to 5% of ZnO, 5% to 15% of Na2O, and 0% to 10% of K2O.
The prior art discloses the overlapping range when wt% is converted into mole%. The reference differs from Applicant's recitations of claims by not disclosing identical ranges. However, the reference discloses "overlapping" ranges, and overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 3, In the supporting glass substrate of the present invention, the thickness is preferably less than 2.0 mm, 1.5 mm or less, 1.2 mm or less, 1.1 mm or less, or 1.0 mm or less, particularly preferably 0.9 mm or less. In the supporting glass substrate of the present inventi has the claimedon, a UV transmittance at a wavelength of 300 nm in the thickness direction is preferably 40% or more, 50% or more, 60% or more, or 70% or more, particularly preferably 80% or more.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
"Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).In the alterative,The Examiner respectfully submits that although the prior art does not disclose the claimed properties, the claimed properties are deemed to naturally flow from the structure in the prior art combination, since the prior art teaches an invention with a substantially similar structure and chemical composition as the claimed invention. The burden is on the Applicants to prove otherwise. Furthermore, the Examiner respectfully submits that the U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the infinite number of ways that a subsequent applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. When as here, the prior art appears to contain the substantial ingredients and applicant's own disclosure supports the suitability of the prior art composition as the inventive composition component, the burden is properly shifted to applicant to show otherwise.
Regarding claim 4, the supporting glass have a Young's modulus of 65 GPa or more. See [0015]
Regarding claim 5, the viscosity at a liquidus temperature is preferably 104.6 dPa·s or more, 105.0 dPa·s or more, 105.2 dPa·s or more, 105.4 dPa·s or more, or 105.6 dPa·s or more, particularly preferably 105.8 dPa·s or more. See [0040].
Regarding claim 6, the temperature at 102.5 dPa·s is preferably 1,580° C. or
particularly preferably from 1,200° C. to 1,300° C. See [0041].
Regarding claim 7, It is preferred that the supporting glass substrate have a substantially disc shape or wafer shape, and the diameter thereof is 100 mm or more and 500 mm or less, particularly preferably 150 mm or more and 450 mm or less and the thickness is preferably less than 2.0 mm, 1.5 mm or less, 1.2 mm or less, 1.1 mm or less, or 1.0 mm or less, particularly preferably 0.9 mm or less. See [0032-0033]]. The supporting glass substrate has a total thickness variation of less than 5.0 μm. See [0009]. The supporting glass substrate has a warpage level of 60 μm or less. See [0012].
Conclusion
/SHUANGYI ABU ALI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731