DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 02/09/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-16 and 22-29 are currently pending. Claims 17-21 and 30-34 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 11, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim KR20180125764 (henceforth referred to as Kim).
As to claim 1, (Original) Kim teaches a drying apparatus based on supercritical fluid, comprising:
an upper cover (FIG. 2 paragraph [0028] second housing 120);
a base (FIG. 2 paragraph [0028] first housing 110), arranged below the upper cover, the base and the upper cover being capable of moving relatively in the vertical direction so as to close to form a pressure-resistant closed chamber (paragraph [0028] the first housing 110 can move up and down to seal with the second housing 120 to form a processing space 101);
a substrate tray, arranged on the base, and configured to bear a substrate (FIG. 2 paragraph [0028] support unit 150);
a first fluid supply tube, arranged on the top wall of the upper cover, and configured to supply supercritical fluid to the interior of the closed chamber to make the closed chamber reach a supercritical state from an atmospheric pressure state (FIG. 2 paragraph [0031] supply line 181, through which a supercritical fluid is supplied, may be formed on the upper portion of second housing 120);
a fluid disturbance plate, arranged below the first fluid supply tube (FIG. 2 paragraph [0036] showerhead 160 reads on the claimed fluid disturbance plate);
a second fluid supply tube, arranged on a first side wall of the upper cover , and configured to supply the supercritical fluid to the interior of the closed chamber in the supercritical state, so as to perform drying process to the substrate inside the closed chamber (FIG. 2 paragraph [0031] supply line 182 through which a supercritical fluid is supplied may be formed on one side of second housing 120); and
a fluid discharge tube, arranged on a second side wall of the upper cover (FIG. 2 paragraph [0031] vent line 183 arranged on the other side of the second housing 120).
As to claim 2, (Original) Kim further teaches a gap between the fluid disturbance plate and the substrate is less than a set value (FIG. 2 shows a gap between showerhead 160 and the substrate S).
As to claim 11, (Original) Kim further teaches the upper cover is fixed and the base is adapted to move upward in the vertical direction, so as to close to form the closed chamber (paragraph [0030] elevation drive unit 130 moves first housing 110 up and down in order to seal the chamber while processing the substrate S).
As to claim 15, (Original) Kim further teaches the supercritical fluid is supercritical carbon dioxide (paragraph [0034] the supercritical fluid may be supercritical carbon dioxide).
As to claim 16, (Original) Kim further teaches the base and the substrate tray are integrally formed (FIG. 2 the substrate support unit 150 is on the first housing 110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR20180125764 (henceforth referred to as Kim).
As to claim 3, (Original) Kim does not teach the set value is 0-10mm.
Since the art recognizes that the gap is a result effective variable, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to determine an optimal value for the gap in Kim, through routine experimentation, and that the claimed gap of 0-10mm would have been found obvious through such routine experimentation, unless the applicant can demonstrate unexpected results.
As to claim 10, (Original) Kim does not teach the tube diameter of the second fluid supply tube is larger than the tube diameter of the first fluid supply tube.
However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed sizes/ proportions are considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a change in size/ proportion. It is old and well known to change sizes/ proportions, with no change in their respective functions, as a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. See MPEP § 2144.04, IV, A. Changes in Size/ Proportion.
As to claim 13, (Original) Kim further teaches locks are provided, which are used for fastening the base when the upper cover and the base move relatively to form the closed chamber, thereby locking the closed chamber (FIG. 2 paragraph [0028] a sealing member 140 interposed at a connection portion between the first housing 110 and the second housing 120).
Kim does not teach that the locks are provided on the upper cover. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a rearrangement of parts. It is old and well known to rearrange parts, with no change in their respective functions, due to size/space design criteria, the manufacturing expense thereof or purely for aesthetics. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI, C. Rearrangement of Parts.
Claims 4-9, 12, and 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR20180125764 (henceforth referred to as Kim) in view of Ode U.S. Publication 2009/0020068 (henceforth referred to as Ode).
As to claim 4, (Original) Kim further teaches a first through hole on the first side wall of the upper cover (FIG. 2 paragraph [0032] inlet 122), and first through hole is connected to the second fluid supply tube (paragraph [0031] inlet 122 is connected to supply line 182).
Kim differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a plurality of first through holes are evenly and horizontally distributed, which are used for the supercritical fluid evenly entering the interior of the closed chamber through the plurality of first through holes.
Ode teaches an apparatus to treat a substrate (FIG. 2 paragraph [0053] high-pressure vessel 1 which can hold a supercritical state). Ode teaches teach a plurality of first through holes are evenly and horizontally distributed, which are used for the supercritical fluid evenly entering the interior of the closed chamber through the plurality of first through holes (FIGS. 5A and 6 paragraph [0091] supply holes 61 on T-shaped pipe are arranged at regular intervals for supplying supercritical fluid).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drying apparatus as taught by Kim with a plurality of first through holes as taught by Ode. By supplying the supercritical fluid via the supply holes 61, the supercritical fluid can be smoothly supplied into the gap between a substrate placed in area 2 and the flow regulation plate (paragraph [0096]).
As to claim 5, (Original) Kim further teaches a first cavity is provided on the first side wall of the upper cover (see annotated Figure 2), and the bottom surface of the first cavity is parallel to the upper surface of the substrate (FIG. 2 the bottom surface of the first cavity is parallel to the upper surface of the substrate), which is used for the supercritical fluid that enters from the first through holes being evenly distributed on the upper surface of the substrate after passing through the first cavity.
[AltContent: textbox (This portion reads on the first cavity)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval]
As to claim 6, (Original) Kim does not teach the first through holes are conical holes.
However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed shape is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a change in shape. It is old and well known to change shapes, with no change in their respective functions, as a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. See MPEP § 2144.04, IV, B. Changes in Shape.
As to claim 7, (Original) Kim further teaches a second through hole (FIG. 2 paragraph [0031] outlet 123 is formed on a side of the second housing 120) second through hole is connected to the fluid discharge tube (paragraph [0031] the outlet 123 is connected to vent line 183).
Kim differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a plurality of second through holes that are evenly and horizontally distributed on the second side wall.
Ode teaches an apparatus to treat a substrate (FIG. 2 paragraph [0053] high-pressure vessel 1 which can hold a supercritical state). Ode teaches a plurality of second through holes that are evenly and horizontally distributed on the second side wall (FIG. 6 paragraph [0097] supercritical fluid discharge ports 70 are disposed through a side wall of high-pressure vessel 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drying apparatus as taught by Kim with a plurality of second through holes as taught by Ode as it would allow for the supercritical fluid supplied into the gap to smoothly discharged to the outside (paragraph [0101]).
As to claim 8, (Original) Kim further teaches a second cavity is provided on the second side wall of the upper cover (see annotated Figure 2), and the bottom surface of the second cavity is parallel to the upper surface of the substrate (FIG. 2 the bottom surface of the first cavity is parallel to the upper surface of the substrate).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (This portion reads on the second cavity)][AltContent: oval]
As to claim 9, (Original) Kim does not teach the second through holes are conical holes.
However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed shape is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a change in shape. It is old and well known to change shapes, with no change in their respective functions, as a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. See MPEP § 2144.04, IV, B. Changes in Shape.
As to claim 12, (Original) Kim differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the base is fixed and the upper cover is adapted to move downward in the vertical direction, so as to close to form the closed chamber.
Ode teaches an apparatus to treat a substrate (FIG. 2 paragraph [0053] high-pressure vessel 1 which can hold a supercritical state). Ode teaches the base is fixed and the upper cover is adapted to move downward in the vertical direction, so as to close to form the closed chamber (FIG. 3 paragraph [0056] ceiling 10 of high-pressure vessel 1 is structured to be freely movable up and down).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drying apparatus as taught by Kim with an upper cover that can move up and down as taught by Ode. Having the upper cover move up and down is a variation in which the processing chamber can open to allow a substrate to be added/removed.
As to claim 14, (Original) Kim differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the appearance of the upper cover is a square cover, the base is a square plate, and the hollow part of the closed chamber is a circular shape chamber.
Ode teaches an apparatus to treat a substrate (FIG. 2 paragraph [0053] high-pressure vessel 1 which can hold a supercritical state). Ode teaches the appearance of the upper cover is a square cover, the base is a square plate (paragraph [0055] the shape of high-pressure vessel 1 can be a quadrangular prism. This would include the cover and the base.), and the hollow part of the closed chamber is a circular shape chamber (FIG. 6 paragraph [0055] the high-pressure vessel can be cylindrical. This would include the chamber within it.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drying apparatus as taught by Kim with a structural shape as taught by Ode. The shape of the cover, base, and chamber can be changed (paragraph [0055]), and a quadrangular exterior with a cylindrical interior is one the variations that is available for the high-pressure vessel.
Claims 22-26 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR20180125764 (henceforth referred to as Kim) in view of Kawahara et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0365437 (henceforth referred to as Kawahara).
As to claim 22, (Original) Kim teaches a cleaning and drying equipment, comprising:
a drying apparatus based on supercritical fluid, configured to perform drying process to the cleaned substrate, the drying apparatus comprising:
an upper cover (FIG. 2 paragraph [0028] second housing 120);
a base (FIG. 2 paragraph [0028] first housing 110), arranged below the upper cover, the base and the upper cover being capable of moving relatively in the vertical direction so as to close to form a pressure-resistant closed chamber (paragraph [0028] the first housing 110 can move up and down to seal with the second housing 120 to form a processing space 101);
a substrate tray, arranged on the base, and configured to bear a substrate (FIG. 2 paragraph [0028] support unit 150);
a first fluid supply tube, arranged on the top wall of the upper cover, and configured to supply supercritical fluid to the interior of the closed chamber to make the closed chamber reach a supercritical state from an atmospheric pressure state (FIG. 2 paragraph [0031] supply line 181, through which a supercritical fluid is supplied, may be formed on the upper portion of second housing 120);
a fluid disturbance plate, arranged below the first fluid supply tube (FIG. 2 paragraph [0036] showerhead 160 reads on the claimed fluid disturbance plate);
a second fluid supply tube, arranged on a first side wall of the upper cover, and configured to supply the supercritical fluid to the interior of the closed chamber in the supercritical state, so as to perform drying process to the substrate inside the closed chamber (FIG. 2 paragraph [0031] supply line 182 through which a supercritical fluid is supplied may be formed on one side of second housing 120);
a fluid discharge tube, arranged on a second side wall of the upper cover (FIG. 2 paragraph [0031] vent line 183 arranged on the other side of the second housing 120).
Kim differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a substrate loading port, configured to place a substrate; a buffer device; a front-end robot, configured to transfer the substrate between the substrate loading port and the buffer device; a cleaning chamber, configured to perform cleaning process to the substrate; a process robot, configured to transfer the substrate among the buffer device, the cleaning chamber and the drying apparatus.
Kawahara teaches a similar cleaning and drying equipment (FIG. 1A paragraph [0033] substrate processing apparatus 1). Kawahara teaches a substrate loading port, configured to place a substrate (FIG. 1A paragraph [0035] container holding portion 21 reads on the claimed substrate loading port); a buffer device (FIG. 1A paragraph [0035] indexer section 20 reads on the claimed buffer device); a front-end robot, configured to transfer the substrate between the substrate loading port and the buffer device (FIG. 1A paragraph [0035] indexer robot 22); a cleaning chamber, configured to perform cleaning process to the substrate (paragraph [0052] substrate processing unit 11A includes a wet processing unit 30, which can perform the cleaning of the substrate S); a process robot, configured to transfer the substrate among the buffer device, the cleaning chamber and the drying apparatus (FIG. 2 paragraph [0042] center robot 15 can transfer the substrate between chambers and can deliver/receive a substrate from the indexer robot 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drying apparatus as taught by Kim with a loading ports, buffering sections, and transferring robots as taught by Kawahara. It is known in the art to have the claimed features in order to process a substrate in an efficient manner.
As to claim 23, (Original) Kawahara further teaches a plurality of drying apparatuses (paragraph [0038] processing units 13A and 14A play a role of drying the substrate); there are a plurality of cleaning chambers (FIG. 1B paragraphs [0051]-[0052] substrate processing unit 11B, which has the same configuration as processing unit 11A, have the same configuration and can both perform cleaning), which correspond to the drying apparatuses one by one (paragraph [0041] the number of stages of substrate processing units is not limited to two and is arbitrary. The number of arranged substrate processing units per stage is not limited thereto. There can be an equivalent number of drying apparatuses to cleaning chambers).
Kim and Kawahara do not teach the drying apparatuses are symmetrically arranged at both sides of the process robot; and the cleaning chambers are arranged above or below the drying apparatus. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a rearrangement of parts. It is old and well known to rearrange parts, with no change in their respective functions, due to size/space design criteria, the manufacturing expense thereof or purely for aesthetics. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI, C. Rearrangement of Parts.
As to claim 24, (Original) Kawahara further teaches there are six drying apparatuses; there are six cleaning chambers which correspond to the drying apparatuses one by one (paragraph [0041] the number of stages of substrate processing units is not limited to two and is arbitrary. The number of arranged substrate processing units per stage is not limited thereto. There can be six drying apparatus, and six cleaning chambers which correspond to the drying apparatus one by one).
Kawahara does not teach that the drying apparatuses are arranged at each side of the process robot. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a rearrangement of parts. It is old and well known to rearrange parts, with no change in their respective functions, due to size/space design criteria, the manufacturing expense thereof or purely for aesthetics. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI, C. Rearrangement of Parts.
As to claim 25, (Original) Kawahara further teaches the drying apparatuses are arranged at a first side of the process robot (FIG. 1A drying units 13A and 14 A are arranged on one (bottom) side of the center robot 15); the cleaning chambers are arranged at a second side of the process robot (FIG. 1A the processing unit 11A is arranged at a second (top) side of the center robot 15); and the drying apparatuses correspond to the cleaning chambers one by one (paragraph [0041] the number of stages of substrate processing units is not limited to two and is arbitrary. The number of arranged substrate processing units per stage is not limited thereto. There can be an equivalent number of drying apparatuses to cleaning chambers).
As to claim 26, (Original) Kawahara further teaches the cleaning chambers are used for single substrate cleaning (paragraph [0037] the processing units process one substrate).
As to claim 28, (Original) Kawahara further teaches there are a plurality of drying apparatuses, which are distributed in a plurality of layers in the vertical direction at the first side of the process robot (FIG. 2 paragraph [0041] processing unit 13B is provided underneath processing unit 13A. Figure 2 shows that the processing units 13A and 13B are on a first side of the center robot 15); and there are a plurality of cleaning chambers which are distributed in a plurality of layers in the vertical direction at the second side of the process robot (FIG. 2 paragraph [0041] processing unit 11B is provided underneath processing unit 11A. Figure 2 shows that the processing units 11A and 11B are on a second side of the center robot 15).
As to claim 29, (Original) Kawahara further teaches there are six drying apparatuses, and the six drying apparatuses are distributed in two layers in the vertical direction at the first side of the process robot; there are six cleaning chambers, and the six cleaning chambers are distributed in two layers in the vertical direction at the second side of the process robot (paragraph [0041] the number of stages of substrate processing units is not limited to two and is arbitrary. The number of arranged substrate processing units per stage is not limited thereto. There can be six drying apparatus and six cleaning chambers arranged in a manner as shown in Figure 2).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR20180125764 (henceforth referred to as Kim) and Kawahara et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0365437 (henceforth referred to as Kawahara) as applied to claim 26 above, in further view of Kuroda U.S. Publication 2001/0049204 (henceforth referred to as Kuroda).
As to claim 27, (Original) Kim and Kawahara differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the cleaning chambers comprise one or more of the following structures for batch substrates cleaning: a chemical liquid cleaning tank, a rapid deionized water rinse tank, an IPA tank and a flipping IPA wetting mechanism.
Kuroda teaches a similar cleaning and drying equipment (FIG. 2 paragraph [0036] liquid processing apparatus 1). Kuroda teaches a chemical liquid cleaning tank (paragraph [0064] chemical solution tank 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning and drying apparatus as taught by Kim and Kawahara with a chemical liquid tank as taught by Kuroda. It is known in the art to use a chemical solution to remove contaminants from a substrate (paragraph [0004]) and cleaning the substrates in batches would make the process faster.
Conclusion
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711