Response to arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all pending claims have been fully considered, but moot because of the new ground of rejection. Applicant argues that cited references failed to disclose receiving information indicative of editing the target story from the plurality of client
devices and obtaining receipt time points for the information; determining a processing sequence based on the receipt time points; editing the server resource based on the processing sequence and a preset conflict policy.
However, Knapp et al disclose a system being able to provide options to edit story and the system can calculate or track progress percentage during processing as disclosed in para. 0093; 0101; 0103; 0039;0109.
And Yach et al disclose a system being capable of updating or editing server resource based on the detected conflict as disclosed in para.0054-0055. This action is made final.
Claims rejections-35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1; 13-14; 16; 18-19; 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knapp(US.Pub.No.20130006687) in view of Nimri(US.Pub.No.20180095709) and Yach(US.Pub.Non.20050177632).
Regarding claim 1, Knapp et al disclose a method of processing resources based on multi-person collaboration, applied to a server device , and the method comprises(see fig.1 to fig.2 for processing data associated with multiple client devices; 0049);
creating a target story(story can be created by the system; 0043; 0006) and generating a target story identifier of identifying the target story(the system is able to assign identifier to story; 0096;0117;0109);
receiving connection instructions with respect to the target story from a plurality of client devices(the system allows user devices to be connected to network based on logging information, 0075); wherein each of the connect instructions comprises a user identifier of identifying a user associated with each of the plurality of client devices
establishing communication connections with the plurality of client devices in response to receiving the connection instructions from the plurality of client devices(users are able to access the network based on authentication; 0097; 0075;0095);
establishing an association relationship between the target story identifier and the plurality of user identifiers(the system is able to identify owner of story by linking the collected data; 0077; 0089);
receiving client resources of the target story from the plurality of client devices(see fig.1 to fig.2 for allowing client devices 220 to create and provide story content to the servers 210; 0049), wherein a client resource from one of the plurality of client devices comprises a material resource that is shot for the target story using a storyboard video editor by the one of the plurality of client devices(the system provides options to edit content or story; 0028; 0076-0077);
generating a server resource of the target story based on the client resources received from the plurality of client devices(the server is capable of providing content or resources to the user devices connected to the network based on request; 0064) ; and
receiving information indicative of editing the target story from the plurality of client
devices and obtaining receipt time points for the information(see fig.4 for providing time related to story being created and received and the system allows owner of story to track data;0074;0109; 0101; 0103; 0093; 0108; 0118);
determining a processing sequence based on the receipt time points(the system can calculate progress percentage during processing;0039;0109);
sending the server resource to the plurality of client devices, wherein the plurality of client devices are configured to simultaneously shoot or edit material resources for the target story(the system provides options to edit story; 0091; 0093) using respective storyboard video editors(stories on a story board,0044;0066-0067);
But did not explicitly disclose wherein the material resource comprises a video, a picture, audio and text; editing the server resource based on the processing sequence and a preset conflict policy.
However, Nimri et al disclose wherein the material resource comprises a video, a picture, audio and text(the system is capable of displaying different type of contents or resources; 0069;0085).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Nimri to modify Knapp by providing options to display different types of contents for the purpose of improving viewing experiences accordingly.
And Yach et al disclose editing the server resource based on the processing sequence and a preset conflict policy(the system is able to update or edit server resource based on the detected conflict; 0054-0055).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Nimri to modify Knapp and Nimri by providing options to update server resource according to detected conflict for the purpose of improving the capability of the network accordingly.
Regarding claim 13, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Knapp et al disclose the operations further comprising: editing the server resource in the processing sequence to generate the target resource of the target story(the system provides options to edit story; 0091; 0093); and sending the target resource to the plurality of client devices for further collaboratively working on the target story by the plurality of client devices(see fig.1 to fig.2 for allowing user devices to share content or story across the network; 0108; 0118).
Regarding claim 19, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, it is rejected using the same ground of rejection for claim 18.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knapp(US.Pub.No.20130006687) in view of Nimri(US.Pub.No.20180095709) and Yach(US.Pub.Non.20050177632) and Wang(US.Pub.No.20180184346).
Regarding claim 6, Knapp and Nimri and Yach et al did not explicitly disclose further comprising: breaking, a communication connection with a first client device in response to receiving a disconnection instruction, wherein the first client device is among the plurality of client devices.
However, Wang et al disclose further comprising: breaking, a communication connection with a first client device in response to receiving a disconnection instruction, wherein the first client device is among the plurality of client devices(the system has capability of sending disconnection instruction or request in order to break connection or communication among devices across the network; abstract; 0009; 0020; 0025).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Wang to modify Knapp and Nimri by providing options to send disconnection request for the purpose of managing the capability of the network accordingly.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN D SAINT CYR/Examiner, Art Unit 2425
/Brian T Pendleton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2425