DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 9, 15, 18, 20-21, 25-40, and 42-44 are cancelled.
Claims 1-8, 10-14, 16, 17, 19, 22-24, and 41 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 12 and 41 recite parenthetical recitations, which makes the claims indefinite because it is unclear if the limitations within the parenthetical recitations are part of the claimed invention.
Claims 13 and 14 are included in the rejection because they do not correct for the defect of the claim from which it depends.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-14, 16, 17, 19, 22-24, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strodiot et al. (US20210128474A1) hereinafter Strodiot.
Regarding claims 1-8, 10-14, 16, 17, 19, 22-24, and 41, Strodiot is drawn to methods for manufacturing a non-viral delivery system comprising a liposome encapsulating an RNA (abstract and claims 84-103).
Strodiot discloses mixing in the device a first solution comprising a solvent and a cationic lipid; and a second solution comprising water and the RNA; and removing the solvent. In some embodiments, methods of manufacturing a non-viral delivery system comprising a liposome encapsulating an RNA using a microfluidic device comprise the steps of: mixing in the device a first solution comprising a solvent, a cationic lipid, DSPC, a sterol, and a PEGylated lipid selected from PEG-PE and PEG-DMG; and a second solution comprising water and the RNA; and removing the solvent [0006].
Strodiot discloses the methods utilize a stock solution comprising a solvent and 1-10 mg/mL lipid. In some embodiments, the solvent comprises ethanol [0007].
Strodiot discloses liposomes within which polypeptide-encoding RNA is encapsulated. Thus the RNA is (as in a natural virus) separated from any external medium. Encapsulation within the liposome has been found to protect RNA from RNase digestion. The liposomes can include some external RNA (e.g. on their surface), but at least half of the RNA (such as at least 75%, at least 90%, and ideally all of it) is encapsulated in the liposome's core. Encapsulation within liposomes is distinct from, for instance, the RNA complexes where RNA is mixed with pre-formed liposomes [0023].
Strodiot discloses where a liposome herein is formed from a mixture of lipids, it is preferred that the proportion of those lipids which have a pKa within the desired range should be between 20-80% of the total amount of lipids e.g. between 30-70%, or between 40-60%. The remainder can be made of e.g. cholesterol (e.g. 35-55% cholesterol); and/or DMG (optionally PEGylated) or DMG PE; and/or DSPC. Such mixtures are used below. These % values are mole percentages [0026].
Strodiot discloses the biological activity of RNA encapsulated in liposomes comprising certain ionizable cationic lipids is several-fold higher than the same RNA encapsulated in liposomes comprising other ionizable cationic lipids. Thus, the selection of ionizable cationic lipid is an important parameter for generating RNA encapsulated liposomes having satisfactory biological activity. The activity of RNA encapsulated in liposomes can be measured by determining antigen expression in vitro using high content imaging as described in detail elsewhere herein [0030].
Strodiot discloses the liposomes will typically further comprise helper lipids. Useful helper lipids include zwitterionic lipids, such as DPPC, DOPC, DSPC, PEG-DMG (PEG-conjugated 1,2-Dimyristoyl-sn-glycerol, methoxypolyethylene Glycol) [0222].
Strodiot discloses the methods herein utilize lipids comprising (i) an ionizable cationic lipid having a pKa in the range of 5.0-7.6, (ii) DSPC, (iii) a sterol, and (iv) a PEGylated lipid. In some embodiments, the lipids comprise (i) a cationic lipid having Formula I, (ii) DSPC, (ii) a sterol, and (iv) a PEGylated lipid selected from PEG-PE and PEG-DMG. In some embodiments, the lipids consist essentially of (i) an ionizable cationic lipid wherein the cationic lipid comprises at least one hindered ester group; at least one carbonate group; or at least one aromatic group in the core, (ii) DSPC, (iii) a sterol, and (iv) a PEG selected from PEG-PE and PEG-DMG. In some embodiments, the sterol is cholesterol. In some embodiments, the lipids comprise a cationic lipid having Formula I, DSPC, cholesterol, and PEG-DMG. In some embodiments, the lipids comprise a cationic lipid selected from the group consisting of: DSPC, cholesterol, and PEG-DMG [0223].
Strodiot discloses pharmaceutical compositions of the invention may include the liposomes in a buffer e.g. a phosphate buffer, a Tris buffer, a borate buffer, a succinate buffer, a histidine buffer, or a citrate buffer [0294].
Strodiot does not explicitly disclose each of the components of the composition together as claimed in a single embodiment for an anticipation rejection.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Strodiot, to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Strodiot discloses all the required ingredients and Strodiot discloses “a synergistic combination of environmental friendly surfactants able to reduce the water consumption and thus the environmental impact during the rinsing of cosmetic products, mainly hair dyes” (page 1). Further, one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert A Wax can be reached on 571-272-0623. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615