DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to amendments and remarks filed October 23, 2025. Claims 24-45 are currently pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the liquid sample contained in a primary container which is enclosed in a secondary container must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27, 28, 31, 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 27, “the container” lacks proper antecedent basis as it is unclear which container is being referred to. Furthermore, it is unclear how many primary or secondary containers are in the invention as a primary and secondary container are already claimed in independent claim 24.
Regarding claims 28, 32, “the container” lacks proper antecedent basis as it is unclear which container is being referred to.
Regarding claim 31, the claim conflicts with independent claim 24. It is unclear how a liquid sample is “a crop, a fruit, a flower bud… a tablet.. a hard geletain…”
Regarding clam 45, it is unclear how many containers are in the invention. It is unclear how a first container is related to the primary and secondary container already claimed. Further, it is unclear how many secondary containers are in the invention as another secondary container is introduced in claim 45.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Doggett (U.S. Patent 9,677,988).
Regarding claim 26, Doggett discloses (Figs. 3A-3B) a sample holder for spectrophotometric measurements of a liquid sample (303) using a transmission technique (intended use), the sample holder (301) comprising: a hollow light guiding channel (space inside holder), wherein an inner wall of the hollow light guiding channel is covered by a smooth reflective coating (301a; col. 10, lines 40-45) and is configured to encase at least partially a container (302) containing the liquid sample along a circumferential direction of a tubular part of the liquid sample or of the container. Doggett also discloses (col. 9, line 1-2) a glass container.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24, 27-29, 31-34, 38, 39, 42-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doggett in view of Rapp et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2012/0025081).
Regarding claims 24, 27-29, 31-33, 38, 39, 45, Doggett discloses (Figs. 3A-3B) a sample holder for spectrophotometric measurements of a liquid sample (303) contained in a primary container (302) using a transreflection technique (intended use), the sample holder comprising: a sample receiving chamber (space inside 301) comprising a diffusive mirror (col. 10, lines 13-26) is adapted to a curvature (col. 10, lines 51-53) of a surface of the container. Doggett also discloses (col. 9, line 1-2) a glass container, directing a measurement light beam (306) and collecting light (Fig. 3C) as claimed. Doggett does not disclose the primary container is enclosed by a second container. Rapp et al. teach (Figs.) in a spectroscopy system providing a primary container (1a) encased by a secondary container (3). In combination, the mirror would be adapted to a curvature of the secondary container as the secondary container surrounds the primary container. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide a secondary container in the apparatus of Doggett in view of Rapp et al. to maintain a desired temperature for the sample for a desired detection result as taught, known and predictable.
Regarding claims 42-44, Doggett in view of Rapp et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Doggett in view of Rapp et al. do not disclose the analyte being a cannabinoid or caffeine as claimed. However, choosing a particular analyte is a matter of design choice and would not affect the structure or method steps. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide any type of analyte in the apparatus and method of Doggett in view of Rapp et al. to obtain a desired analysis on desired samples as known and predictable.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doggett in view of Rapp et al., further in view of Horvath et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0169481).
Regarding claim 34, Doggett in view of Rapp et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Doggett and Rapp et al. do not disclose a surface structure of the diffusive mirror comprises multiple geometric bodies as claimed. Horvath et al. teach ([0043]) a diffusive reflector having prism shapes. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such geometric shapes in the apparatus and method of Doggett and Rapp et al. in view of Horvath et al. to obtain conventional and reliable diffusive reflection as taught, known and predictable.
Claim(s) 40, 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doggett in view of Rapp et al., further in view of Yin et al. (CN 105115902).
Regarding claims 40, 41, Doggett in view of Rapp et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Doggett and Rapp et al. do not disclose Raman spectroscopy as claimed. Yin et al. teach (claim 3) Raman spectroscopy is conventional. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such spectroscopic techniques in the apparatus and method of Doggett and Rapp et al. in view of Yin et al. to obtain a desired measurement characteristics as taught, known and predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 35-37 are allowed over the prior art of record.
Claims 25, 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANH LUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878