DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to: Application filed 09 Feb. 2024
Claims 1, 3-9, 14 and 17-23 are pending in this case. Claims 1, 7, 14 and 21 are independent claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 14 and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAI et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0356624 A1; Filed: Aug. 21, 2019) (hereinafter “CAI”) in view of DeWitt (Pub. No.: US 2009/0198719 A1; Filed: May 23, 2008).
Regarding independent claims 1 and 14, CAI disclose a method of processing data, applied to a server device, and comprising:
receiving draft editing requests for editing an initial story draft from at least two client devices, and adding each of the draft editing requests to a draft editing queue (0027; 0050-0056), and wherein the draft editing queue is configured to sequentially store a plurality of draft editing requests from a plurality client devices based on time points of receiving the plurality of draft editing requests (0031; 0055);
extracting a first draft editing request for editing the initial story draft by a first client
device from the draft editing queue, and obtaining first draft editing information in the first draft editing request (0027; 0031-0032; 0050-0056);
editing the initial story draft based on the first draft editing information to obtain an initial modified story draft, wherein the first client device is among the at least two client devices (0027-0033; 0050-0056);
extracting a second draft editing request for editing the initial story draft by a second
client device from the draft editing queue, and obtaining second draft editing information in the second draft editing request (0027-0033; 0041-0049);
generating to-be-responded draft information based on the first draft
editing information and the second draft editing information, wherein the
second client device is among the at least two client devices (0027-0033; 0041-0049); and
editing the initial modified story draft based on the to-be-responded draft information to
generate a target story draft (0027-0033; 0041-0049).
CAI fails to teach wherein a story draft comprises a data structure of a storyboard video editor.
DeWitt teach wherein a story draft comprises a data structure of a storyboard video editor (0076; 0080).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine DeWitt with CAI for the benefit of providing digital workflow solutions that eliminate waste, improve production efficiency, and reduce production costs (0080).
Regarding dependent claims 3 and 17, CAI disclose the method according to claims 1 and 14 respectively, wherein the generating to-be-responded draft information based on the first draft editing information and the second draft editing information comprises:
filtering at least a part of the second draft editing information based on a preset conflict policy and the first draft editing information to generate the to-be-responded draft information (0027; 0029-0031; 0051).
Regarding dependent claims 4 and 18, CAI disclose the method according to claims 3 and 17 respectively, wherein the filtering at least a part of the second draft editing information based on a preset conflict policy and the first draft editing information comprises:
determining a target attribute parameter in the second draft editing information based on the preset conflict policy and the first draft editing information (0027-0031; 0051-0055); and
deleting draft information corresponding to the target attribute parameter in the second
draft editing information, wherein the draft information corresponding to the
target attribute parameter comprises a parameter value of the target attribute parameter.
Regarding dependent claims 5 and 19, CAI disclose the method according to claims 1 and 14 respectively, wherein before receiving the draft editing requests for editing the initial story draft from
the at least two client devices, the method further comprises:
establishing communication connections with the at least two client devices (0013; 0018-0019; 0042-0043); and
sending the initial story draft to the at least two client devices based on the
communication connections (0013; 0018-0019; 0042-0043).
Regarding dependent claims 6 and 20, CAI disclose the method according to claims 1 and 14 respectively, wherein the method further comprises:
establishing communication connections with the at least two client devices (0013; 0018-0019; 0042-0043); and
implementing real-time data transmission between the server and the at least two client devices based on the communication connections (0013; 0018-0019; 0042-0043).
Regarding independent claims 7 and 21, CAI disclose a method of processing data, applied to at least two client devices, wherein for each client device, the method comprises:
receiving an initial story draft sent from a server device (0018-0019; 0027; 0050-0056);
generating to-be-submitted draft information during the editing the initial story draft,
wherein the to-be-submitted draft information comprises draft editing information for the initial
story draft (0027-0033; 0050-0056);
synchronizing the to-be-submitted draft information to the server device in
real time (0027-0033; 0050-0056).
receiving draft modification information from the server device, wherein the draft modification information comprises draft editing information synchronized to the server device by other client devices, and wherein the client device and other client devices are performing real-time collaboration of editing the same story draft (0027-0033; 0041-0049; 0050-0056); and
generating a client story draft based on the draft modification information and the initial
story draft (0027-0033; 0041-0049; 0050-0056).
CAI fails to teach loading the initial story draft to a storyboard draft editor, wherein the storyboard draft editor is configured to plan a storyboard and shoot material resources based on the storyboard;
editing the initial story draft via the storyboard draft editor.
DeWitt teach loading the initial story draft to a storyboard draft editor, wherein the storyboard draft editor is configured to plan a storyboard and shoot material resources based on the storyboard;
editing the initial story draft via the storyboard draft editor (0076-0078; 0080).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine DeWitt with CAI for the benefit of providing digital workflow solutions that eliminate waste, improve production efficiency, and reduce production costs (0080).
Regarding dependent claims 8 and 22, CAI disclose the method according to claims 7 and 21 respectively, wherein the generating to-be-submitted draft information comprises:
editing the initial story draft to obtain a to-be-submitted story draft (0027-0033; 0041-0049; 0050-0056);
calculating difference information between the to-be-submitted story draft and the initial
story draft (0027-0033; 0041-0049; 0050-0056) and
identifying the difference information as the to-be-submitted draft information (0027-0033; 0041-0049; 0050-0056).
Regarding dependent claims 9 and 23, CAI disclose the method according to claims 7 and 21 respectively, wherein the synchronizing the to-be-submitted draft information to the server device comprises:
transmitting the to-be-submitted draft information to the server device based on a
communication connection between the server device and each client device (0013; 0018-0019; 0042-0043).
NOTE
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/James J Debrow/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2174
571-272-5768