1Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/06/2024 & 2/09/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 & 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Farnsworth et. al. (US 20080251911 A1) in view of Suzuki et al. (US 5651414 A).
Regarding claim 1, Farnsworth teaches a heat pipe (FIG. 3 element 90) including a container that contains a working fluid (an elongated enclosure 118 containing a working fluid 120 shown in FIG. 4 para. 0017); wherein the heat pipe (FIG. 3 element 90) receives heat from heat sources (heat pipes 90 and heat spreaders 92 contact the memory 14 in a flush manner to improve heat transfer away from the memory 14 shown in FIG. 3 para. 0015).
Farnsworth does not teach comprising: a temperature sensor that detects a temperature of a heat pipe and a wire connected to the temperature sensor.
Suzuki teaches a temperature measuring device comprising: a temperature sensor that detects a temperature of a heat pipe (the temperature of the heat pipes sensed by the temperature sensor 13 fig. 2 column 13 line 54-55); and a wire connected to the temperature sensor (the wire is the connection between the temperature sensor 13 that is input to a comparator 16 via an amplifier 15 fig. 29 para. column 13 line 55-56). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify the design of Farnsworth’s memory card to include the design of Suzuki, when combined the temperature measuring device would be in the claimed location. The motivation would be to avoid freezing of the working fluid inside the heat pipe (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 6, Suzuki teaches wherein the temperature sensor is disposed at an end portion of the heat pipe in a longitudinal direction of the heat pipe, and of the working fluid condenses at the end portion (A cooling blower 19 is disposed in the vicinity of the heat radiation fins so as to force cooling air into the spaces between the fins, thereby effecting forced cooling. A temperature sensing element 13 attached to the end extremity of the heat pipe senses the temperature of this end extremity. fig. 30 column 14 line 1-6).
Claim(s) 2, 3, & 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farnsworth et. al. (US 20080251911 A1) in view Suzuki et al. (US 5651414 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yujin et al. (KR 200407615 Y1) and Felix et al. (KR 102076515 B1).
Regarding Claim 2, Yujin teaches further comprising: an interface spreader plate (a thermal interface such as heat-dissipating pad in order to reduce thermal resistance and provide adhesiveness at the interface thereof. Material 200 is used. Shown in FIG. 8 example para. 6) between heat sources (heat generated from the ram 2 shown in FIG. 8 example para. 6) and the heat pipe (is transferred to the flat heat pipe 100 shown in FIG. 8 example para. 6), wherein the heat pipe has a flat shape, and the interface spreader plate extends in a direction orthogonal to a thickness direction of the heat pipe (see FIG. 8). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the design of Farnsworth’s memory card to utilize the interface spreader design of Yujin, the motivation would be heat dissipation pad is advantageous for reducing heat resistance (see example para. 6).
Regarding Claim 3, Yujin teaches the heat sources (heat generated from the ram 2 shown in FIG. 8 example para. 6) and the heat pipe (is transferred to the flat heat pipe 100 shown in FIG. 8 example para. 6), wherein the heat pipe has a flat shape, and the insulating layer has a plate shape extending to be orthogonal to a thickness direction of the heat pipe (See FIG. 8).
Yujin does not teach further comprising: an insulating layer disposed between.
Regarding Claim 3 Felix teaches further comprising: an insulating layer disposed between (the temperature sensor 14 is in contact with the diaphragm pressure-measuring cell 20 and the heat transfer zone 13 for good heat transfer. Is formed. Additional heat transfer means such as heat conductive pastes, silicone pads can be arranged in this area. Shown in FIG. 2a Description of Embodiments para.6). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the design of Farnsworth’s memory card to utilize the insulating layer design of Felix, the motivation would be the accuracy of the temperature measurement and thus the corrected pressure signal can be further increased (Description of Embodiments para. 6).
Regarding Claim 4, Yujin teaches a height adjustment layer (the thermal interface material filled at the interface between the flat plate heat pipe and the ram is a heat dissipations grease shown in FIG. 8 claim 2 para. 3 ) disposed between the heat sources (heat generated from the ram 2 shown in FIG. 8 example para. 6) and the heat pipe (is transferred to the flat heat pipe 100 shown in FIG. 8 example para. 6), wherein the heat pipe has a flat shape, and the height adjustment layer has a plate shape extending in a direction to be orthogonal to a thickness direction of the heat pipe (thermal interface material filled at the interface between the flat plate heat pipe and the ram is a heat dissipation grease shown in FIG. 8 claim 2 para. 3). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the design of Farnsworth’s memory card to utilize the interface spreader design of Yujin, the motivation would be heat dissipation grease is advantageous for reducing heat resistance (see example para. 6).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farnsworth et. al. (US 20080251911 A1) in view of Suzuki et al. (US 5651414 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ya’ary et al. (US 20210243904 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Ya’ary teaches wherein the wire is an FPC (the flexible substrate is made of polyimide para. 0032) It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the design of Farnsworth’s memory card to utilize the polyimide film design of Ya’ary, the motivation would be to achieve higher component density, as well as increase flexibility in design (para. 0018).
Claim(s) 7 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farnsworth et. al. (US 20080251911 A1) in view of Suzuki et al. (US 5651414 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 20240260233 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang teaches a heat sink (FIG. 7 element 704) disposed at an end portion of the heat pipe in a longitudinal direction of the heat pipe (FIG. 5b element 502). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the design of Farnsworth’s memory card to utilize the heat sink of Zhang, the motivation would be to increase thermal transfer efficiency (example 18).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang teaches a cold plate (FIG. 7 element 703) including an inlet (FIG. 1a element 102 para. 0014) for a coolant and an outlet (FIG. 1a element 103 para 0014) for a coolant, wherein the heat sources (FIG. 7 semiconductor chip element 702) are disposed between the cold plate (FIG. 7 element 703) and the heat pipe. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the design of Farnsworth such that the memory card is between the pipe of Farnsworth and the cold plate of Zhang, the motivation would be to increase thermal transfer efficiency (example 18) and redundancy.
Conclusion
/HENRY FRANCIS CANOVA/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763