DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Status of the Claims
Claims 10-11, 14-15, 18-19, 22, 25-26, 28, 30-31, 33, 35-66 and 68-105 are canceled.
Claims 1-9, 12-13, 16-17, 20-21, 23-24, 27, 29, 32, 34 and 67 are pending.
Claims 1 and 6 are objected to.
Claims 1-9, 12-13, 16-17, 20-21, 23-24, 27, 29, 32, 34 and 67 are rejected.
Priority
This application 18/682,736 (02/09/2024) is a is a 371 of PCT/US22/39945 (08/10/2022), which claims priority from US Application No. 63/296,356 (01/04/2022) and claims benefit of US Application No. 63/296,356 63/231,542 (08/10/2021), as reflected in the filing receipt mailed on 04/28/2025. The claims to the benefit of priority are acknowledged and the effective filing date of claims 1-9, 12-13, 16-17, 20-21, 23-24, 27, 29, 32, 34 and 67 is 08/10/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/27/2024, 07/15/2025 and 01/12/2026 were considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filled on 02/09/2024 are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CPR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the illegible labels and insufficient quality at least in Figs. 7A, 7B and 9-19.
Specification Objections
The disclosure filled on 04/09/2025 is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code in [0055], [0119] and pg. 82 item 84. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim objections
Claims 1 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being in improper. As set forth in 37 CPR 1.75, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation (608.01(m) Form of Claims) – at the beginning of the claim element. Sub-steps/elements should be indented from their parent step/element. This rule should be applied throughout the claims as needed.
In claim 6, the recited “ATAC” should be spelled out.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to one or more Judicial Exceptions (JEs) without significantly more. Regarding JEs, "Claims directed to nothing more than abstract ideas..., natural phenomena, and laws of nature are not eligible for patent protection" (MPEP 2106.04 §I). Abstract ideas include mathematical concepts and procedures for evaluating, analyzing or organizing information, which are a type of mental process (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
101 background
MPEP 2106 organizes JE analysis into Steps 1, 2A (Prong One & Prong Two), and 2B as analyzed below. MPEP 2106 and the following USPTO website provide further explanation and case law citations: uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/examination-policy/examination-guidance-and-training-materials.
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
Analysis of instant claims
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a 101 process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
The instant claims are directed to a method (claims 1-9, 12-13, 16-17, 20-21, 23-24, 27, 29 and 32) and a system (claim 34); each of which falls within one of the categories of statutory subject matter. [Step 1: claims 1-9, 12-13, 16-17, 20-21, 23-24, 27, 29, 32 and 34: Yes]
Claim 67 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 67 refers to a "computer program product" which is not, in all embodiments within a BRI, interpreted as belonging to any claim type listed in 101. In a BRI, the claim reads on data and/or software comprising no structure other than data and/or software. The claim is not recited as a process, and the claim is not limited to any particular structure as a 101 machine or manufacture. The claim reads on transitory propagating signals which are not proper patentable subject matter because it does not fit within any of the four statutory categories of invention (In re Nuijten, Federal. Circuit, 2006). For compact examination, the claim will be further analyzed under the remaining steps of the Alice/Mayo test. [Step 1: claim 67: No]
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
Background
With respect to Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite judicial exceptions in the form of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) further explains that abstract ideas are defined as:
• mathematical concepts (mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical relationships
and mathematical calculations) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I));
• certain methods of organizing human activity (fundamental economic principles or practices, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)); and/or
• mental processes (concepts practically performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Analysis of instant claims
With respect to the instant claims, under the Step 2A, Prong One evaluation, the claims found to recite abstract ideas that can fall into the grouping of mathematical concepts (in particular mathematical relationships and formulas) and mental processes (in particular procedures for observing, analyzing and organizing information) as well as a law of nature or a natural phenomenon. The identified grouping(s) for this instant claims are as follows:
Mathematical concepts (in particular mathematical relationships and formulas) include:
"providing the tensor to a second trained classifier …and receiving therefrom a local probability based on the tensor" (independent claims 1, 34 and 67).
The claims identified above read on math. The abstract ideas recited in the claims are evaluated under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation and determined each element performed by mathematical operation. The step The recited terms correspond to verbal equivalents of mathematical concepts because they constitute actions executed by a group of mathematical steps in a form of a mathematical algorithm; thus mathematical concepts (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). A mathematical concept need not be expressed in mathematical symbols, because "words used in a claim operating on data to solve a problem can serve the same purpose as a formula." In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 837 and n.1, 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1826 and n.1 (Fed. Cir. 1989). MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) pertains.
Mental processes, defined as concepts or steps practically performed in the human mind such as steps of observations, evaluations, judgments, analysis, opinions or organizing information include:
• "reading a plurality of reference sequences" (independent claims 1, 34 and 67);
• "reading a plurality of sequence fragments obtained from a biological sample of a patient" (independent claims 1, 34 and 67);
• "selecting a first read and a second read from the plurality of sequence fragments, wherein the first read comprises a first portion of a corresponding reference sequence in the plurality of reference sequences and a first position, and wherein the second read comprises a second portion of the corresponding reference sequence and a second position, wherein at least one of the first read and the second read comprises an alt position" (independent claims 1, 34 and 67);
• "generating a tensor comprising the corresponding reference sequence, the first read, the second read, the first position, the second position, and the alt position" (independent claims 1, 34 and 67) and
• "providing the tensor to a second trained classifier …and receiving therefrom a local probability based on the tensor" (independent claims 1, 34 and 67).
• "determining a label associated with a tumor marker when the regional probability is above a first predetermined threshold and the local probability is above a second predetermined threshold" (independent claims 1, 34 and 67) and
• "filtering the plurality of sequence fragments, wherein the plurality of sequence fragments are filtered based on a quality metric that comprises at least one of: an artificial backlist, discordant reads, variant base quality, depth, mapping quality, number of low quality bases, fragment length, and variant allele fraction” (claim 24).
The abstract ideas recited in the claims are evaluated under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) and determined to each cover performance either in the mind (i.e. concepts practically performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) or because the method only requires a user to manually determine action based on an added number. Under the BRI, the recited limitations are mental processes because a human mind is also sufficiently capable of reading data, making a data selection, generating a tensor/matrix recording the nucleotides at each position for the reference and fragment reads, evaluating/determining if a data value is above a threshold and filtering data values.
Dependent claims 2-4, 6-9, 12-13, 16-17, 20-21, 23, 27, 29 and 32, recite further steps that limit the judicial exceptions in independent claim 1 and, as such, also are directed to those abstract ideas. For example, claims 2 and 16-17 recites further details about the first read and the second read; claims 3-4 recite further details about the label; claims 8 and 29 recite further details about the trained classifiers; claims 6-7 recite further details about the plurality of regional features; claims 9, 12-13 and 20-21 and 23 recite further details about the tensor; claim 27 recites further details about the plurality of sequence fragments and claim 32 recites further details about the first predetermined threshold and the second predetermined threshold.
Furthermore, the instant claims recite a natural correlation by correlating a sequence fragment obtained from a biological sample naturally found in the body with its likelihood of cancer mutagenesis. (see MPEP 2106.04(b).I)).
[Step 2A Prong One: claims 1-9, 12-13, 16-17, 20-21, 23-24, 27, 29, 32, 34 and 67: Yes ]
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Background
MPEP 2106.04(d).I lists the following example considerations for evaluating whether a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application:
An improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to other technology or another technical field, as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a);
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2);
Implementing a judicial exception with, or using a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(b);
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(c); and
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(e).
Analysis of instant claims
Claims found to recite a judicial exception under Step 2A, Prong 1 are then further analyzed to determine if the claims as a whole integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application or not (Step 2A, Prong 2).
Instant claims 1, 34 and 67 recite additional elements that are not abstract ideas:
• "convolutional neural network, " (independent claims 1, 34 and 67);
• "receiving, from a first trained classifier, a regional probability based on a plurality of regional features of the patient" (independent claims 1, 34 and 67);
• "multilayer perceptron” (claim 5);
• "computing node comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a processor of the computing node, " (independent claim 34) and
• "computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a processor, " (independent claim 67).
Considerations under Step 2A, Prong Two
The limitations recited in claims 1-9, 12-13, 16-17, 20-21, 23-24, 27, 29, 32, 34 and 67 are interpreted as requiring the use of a computer. Hence, the claims explicitly recite steps executed by computers and therefore can be described as computer functions or instructions to implement on a generic computer.
Further steps directed to additional non-abstract elements of a computing device/computer do not describe any specific computational steps by which the "computer parts" perform or carry out the judicial exceptions, nor do they provide any details of how specific structures of the computer are used to implement these functions. The claims state nothing more than a generic computer which performs the functions that constitute judicial exceptions.
The judicial exceptions in the claims are considered to perform the claimed abstract idea with a computer, which is not sufficient to integrate an abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)); since steps that can be performed mentally and merely performing the mental process in a computer environment do not negate the fact that something that can be carried out in the human mind. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).III.C.
Claims directed to "receiving" read on receiving or transmitting data over a network -Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321 - MPEP 2106.05(a) pertains; which constitutes just necessary data gathering and therefore correspond to insignificant extra-solution activity.
With respect to claim 1, the computer-related elements or the general purpose computer and the recited “convolutional neural network” model does not rise to the level of significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims state nothing more than a generic computer which performs the functions that constitute the judicial exceptions. Hence, these are mere instructions to apply the judicial exceptions using a computer, which the courts have found to not provide significantly more when recited in a claim with a judicial exception (Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984; see MPEP 2106.05(A)). The specification as published also notes that computer processors and systems, as example, are known and widely used examples of neural networks that may be used without limitation [0210], which provides evidence that any suitable neural network could be used to model the recited “convolutional neural network.” The additional elements are set forth at such a high level of generality that they can be met by a general purpose computer. Therefore, the computer components constitute no more than a general link to a technological environment, which is insufficient to constitute an inventive concept that would render the claims significantly more than the judicial exceptions (see MPEP 2106.05(b)I-III).
Hence, these are mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity and therefore the claims do not integrate that abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) § I; 2106.05(f); and 2106.05(g)).
In Step 2A, Prong One above, claim steps and/or elements were identified as part of one or more judicial exceptions (JEs).
In this Step 2A, Prong Two immediately above claim steps and/or elements were identified as part of one or more additional elements. Additional elements are further discussed in Step 2B below.
Here in Step 2A, Prong Two, no additional step or element clearly demonstrates integration of the JE(s) into a practical application.
[Step 2A Prong Two: claims 1-9, 12-13, 16-17, 20-21, 23-24, 27, 29, 32, 34 and 67: No]
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
According to analysis so far, the additional elements described above do not provide significantly more than the judicial exception. A determination of whether additional elements provide significantly more also rests on whether the additional elements or a combination of elements represents other than what is well-understood, routine, and conventional. Conventionality is a question of fact and may be evidenced as: a citation to an express statement in the specification or to a statement made by an applicant during examination that demonstrates a well-understood, routine or conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to one or more of the court decisions as discussed in MPEP 2106(d)(II) as noting the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to a publication that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); and/or a statement that the examiner is taking official notice with respect to the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s).
Claims 1-9, 12-13, 16-17, 20-21, 23-24, 27, 29, 32, 34 and 67 recite a computer or computer functions, interpreted as instructions to apply the abstract idea using a computer, where the computer does not impose meaningful limitations on the judicial exceptions; which can be performed without the use of a computer (MPEP 2106.04(d) § I; and MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The computer-related elements or the general purpose computer and the neural network do not rise to the level of significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims state a generic computer which performs the functions that constitute the judicial exceptions. Hence, these are mere instructions to apply the judicial exceptions using a computer, which the courts have found to not provide significantly more when recited in a claim with a judicial exception (Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984; see MPEP 2106.05(A)).
Further, the courts have found that receiving data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function of a computer when claimed in a generic manner or as insignificant extra-solution activity (see Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information), buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network), Versa ta Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015), and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(d)(Il)(i)).
When the claims are considered as a whole, they do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application; they do not confine the use of the abstract idea to a particular technology; they do not solve a problem rooted in or arising from the use of a particular technology; they do not improve a technology by allowing the technology to perform a function that it previously was not capable of performing; and they do not provide any limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a broad technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05(a) and 2106.05(h).
The instant claims constitute insignificant extra solution activity, and when considered individually, are insufficient to constitute inventive concepts that would render the claims significantly more than an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Hence, these elements, when considered individually, are insufficient to constitute inventive concepts that would render the claims significantly more than an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
[Step 2B: claims 1-9, 12-13, 16-17, 20-21, 23-24, 27, 29, 32, 34 and 67: No]
Conclusion: Instant claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter
For the reasons above, the claims in this instant application, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole, are directed to an abstract idea and lack an inventive concept not clearly anything significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
A. Claims 1-4, 6-7, 12-13, 16-17, 20-21, 23-24, 27, 29, 32 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mouliere ("Enhanced detection of circulating tumor DNA by fragment size analysis." Science translational medicine 10.466:eaat4921 (2018)) in view of Sahraeian ("Deep convolutional neural networks for accurate somatic mutation detection." Nature communications 10.1:1041 (2019)) in view of Poplin ("A universal SNP and small-indel variant caller using deep neural networks." Nature biotechnology 36.10:983-987 (2018)) in view of Huang ("Multiclass prediction with partial least square regression for gene expression data: applications in breast cancer intrinsic taxonomy." BioMed research international 2013.1:248648 (2013)), as cited on the attached Form PTO-892. Claim 20 is additionally evidenced by Quinn ("Development of strategies for SNP detection in RNA-seq data: application to lymphoblastoid cell lines and evaluation using 1000 Genomes data." PloS one 8.3: e58815 (2013) - as cited on the attached Form PTO-892)
Claim 1 recites a method comprising steps. Claim 34 recites a system comprising: a reference sequence database; a sequence fragment database; a regional feature database; a computing node comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a processor of the computing node to cause the processor to perform the actions comprising said steps. Claim 67 recites a computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith, the program instructions executable by a processor to cause the processor to perform the acts comprising said steps.
The prior art to Mouliere discloses a method, a system and a CRM for enhanced detection of circulating tumor DNA (ctDNA) by fragment size analysis (pg. 1 Title); wherein cancer detection was performed by supervised machine learning combining plasma cell-free DNA (cfDNA) fragmentation and somatic alteration analysis to leverage other biological properties of the cfDNA fragmentation profile to enhance the detection of ctDNA (pg. 6 col. 2 para. 2); wherein variable selection and the classification of samples as “healthy” or “cancer” were performed using logistic regression and random forest (pg. 7 col. 2 para. 2); wherein the classifiers were trained on the combination of the same five fragment size features, independently chosen for the best random forest predictive model (pg. 9 Fig. 9); wherein a sequence fragment database is taught as validation datasets containing ctDNA cancer samples (pg. 7 col. 2 para. 3); wherein a regional feature database is taught as for each sample in the validation dataset fragmentation features included the proportion (P) of fragments in specific size ranges, the ratio between certain ranges, and a quantification of the amplitude of the 10-bp oscillations in the 90- to 145-bp size range calculated from the periodic “peaks” and “valleys” (pg. 9 Fig. 7); wherein a reference sequence database is taught as in-silico size selection performed once reads were aligned to the genome reference (pg. 2 col. 2 para. 2); wherein computing node comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied is taught as computational predictive models (pg. 7 Fig. 7).
The steps performed by the method of claim 1, a system of claim 34, and a computer program product comprising a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith of claim 67 comprise:
reading a plurality of reference sequences
reading a plurality of sequence fragments obtained from a biological sample of a patient
• Mouliere teaches a method for enhanced detection of circulating tumor DNA (ctDNA) by fragment size analysis (pg. 1 Title); wherein cancer detection was performed by supervised machine learning combining plasma cell-free DNA (cfDNA) fragmentation and somatic alteration analysis to leverage other biological properties of the cfDNA fragmentation profile to enhance the detection of ctDNA (pg. 6 col. 2 para. 2); wherein a catalog of cfDNA fragmentation features in 344 plasma samples from 200 patients with 18 different cancer types and additional 65 plasma samples from healthy controls was generated (i.e. reading a plurality of sequence fragments obtained from a biological sample of a patient) (pg. 2 col. 1 para. 3); wherein in silico cfDNA size selection was performed once reads were aligned to the genome reference (i.e. reading a plurality of reference sequences) by selecting the paired-end reads that corresponded to the fragment lengths in a 90- to 150-bp size range (pg. 2 col. 2 para. 2).
selecting a first read and a second read from the plurality of sequence fragments, wherein the first read comprises a first portion of a corresponding reference sequence in the plurality of reference sequences and a first position, and wherein the second read comprises a second portion of the corresponding reference sequence and a second position, wherein at least one of the first read and the second read comprises an alt position
• Mouliere teaches “selecting a first read and a second read from the plurality of sequence fragments, wherein the first read comprises a first portion of a corresponding reference sequence in the plurality of reference sequences and a first position, and wherein the second read comprises a second portion of the corresponding reference sequence and a second position” as a step of selecting tumor-derived DNA fragments where in silico cfDNA size selection was performed once reads were aligned to the genome reference by selecting the paired-end reads that corresponded to the fragment lengths in a 90- to 150-bp size range (pg. 2 col. 2 para. 2); wherein discrimination of DNA fragments released by cancer cells (reads aligning to the human genome – reading on wherein the first read comprises a first portion of a corresponding reference sequence in the plurality of reference sequences and a first position) from the DNA released by healthy cells (reads aligning to the mouse genome - second read comprises a second portion of the corresponding reference sequence and a second position), with the use of shallow whole-genome sequencing was determined (pg. 4 Fig. 2); wherein fragmentation features such as (i) the proportion of fragments in multiple size ranges, (ii) the ratios of proportions of fragments in different sizes, and (iii) the amplitude of oscillations in fragment size density with 10-bp periodicity were compared between patients with cancer and healthy individuals (pg. 6 col. 2 para. 3); wherein the analysis of fragmentation features was done to enhance the detection of tumor DNA in plasma samples (pg. 7 col. 1para. 2) and the analysis of the mutation allele frequency of SNVs (i.e. alt position) revealed statistically significant enrichment of the tumor fraction (pg. 5 col. 1 para. 1). Here, the taught selected aligned reads inherently teaches the recited “first position” of a “first read” and “second position” of a “second read” as any aligned read of a certain size has a first position and a last position. Here, the instant specification at [0024] supports said interpretation of “alt position” which disclose an alt position being “the position of the SNV in the fragment.”
receiving, from a first trained classifier, a regional probability based on a plurality of regional features of the patient;
generating a tensor comprising the corresponding reference sequence, the first read, the second read, the first position, the second position, and the alt position;
providing the tensor to a second trained classifier comprising a convolutional neural network, and receiving therefrom a local probability based on the tensor
• Mouliere does not teach the recitation above. However, Sahraeian teaches “receiving, from a first trained classifier, a regional probability based on a plurality of regional features of the patient … second trained classifier comprising a convolutional neural network … and receiving therefrom a local probability” as a CNN structure that predicts the type and length of a candidate somatic mutation given the feature matrix M (pg. 2 col. 2 para. 4); wherein said CNN structure reports quality scores for the predicted somatic mutations based on the probability of predictions by CNN (pg. 9 col. 1 para. 11); wherein the first classifier identifies whether the candidate is a non-somatic call, SNV, insertion, or deletion (i.e. receiving, from a first trained classifier, a regional probability based on a plurality of regional features of the patient) (pg. 2 col. 2 para. 4); wherein the second classifier predicts the length of the somatic mutation with four classes (0 indicating non-somatic, or lengths from 1, 2, or greater than 2) and a regressor predicts the location of the somatic mutation (i.e. reading on a second trained classifier comprising a convolutional neural network … and receiving therefrom a local probability) (pg. 2 col. 2 para. 4). Here, the CNN structure reports scores based on probabilities and said CNN structure comprises the first and second classifiers – hence, both first and second classifiers predictions are based on probabilities. Here, the first classifier predicts the probability of whether the candidate mutation is a non-somatic call, SNV, insertion, or deletion which reads on a regional probability prediction – while the second classifier followed by the regressor predicts the probability of length and location of somatic mutations which reads on a local probability.
• Neither Mouliere or Sahraeian teach “generating a tensor comprising the corresponding reference sequence, the first read, the second read, the first position, the second position, and the alt position; providing the tensor to a second trained classifier … receiving therefrom a local probability based on the tensor.” However, Poplin teaches it as an universal SNP and small-indel variant caller using deep neural networks (pg. 983 Abstract); wherein after a forward pass through the network, a three-state probability distribution is returned (Online Methods pg. 1 col. 2 para. 3); wherein said model was trained using TensorFlow using a multichannel tensor representation for the genomics data instead of an RGB image (pg. 986 col. 1 para. 4).
determining a label associated with a tumor marker when the regional probability is above a first predetermined threshold and the local probability is above a second predetermined threshold
• Neither Mouliere or Sahraeian or Poplin teach the recitation above. However, Huang teaches a multiclass prediction with partial least square regression for gene expression data (pg. 1 Title); wherein PLS-regression classifiers based on latent gene component scores were built for each molecular subtype from training dataset of 139 prototypical arrays (i.e. reading on first and second classifiers) (pg. 4 col. 1 para. 1); wherein all samples were categorized into one of the 5 molecular subtypes with the highest predicted probability, assuming that probability exceeding the threshold of 0.5 (i.e. reading on a predetermined threshold for each classifier) (pg. 3 col. 1 para. 2).
Claim 2 recites:
wherein the first read and the second read are paired-reads
Claim 3 recites:
wherein the label comprises a ctDNA label
• Mouliere teaches a method for enhanced detection of circulating tumor DNA (ctDNA as in claim 3) by fragment size analysis (pg. 1 Title); wherein the classification of samples as “healthy” or “cancer” were performed using logistic regression and random forest (pg. 7 col. 2 para. 2); wherein in silico cfDNA size selection was performed once reads were aligned to the genome reference by selecting the paired-end reads (paired-reads as in claim 2) that corresponded to the fragment lengths in a 90- to 150-bp size range (pg. 2 col. 2 para. 2).
Claim 4 recites:
wherein the label comprises likelihood of cancer mutagenesis
• Mouliere teaches a method for enhanced detection of circulating tumor DNA (ctDNA as in claim 3) by fragment size analysis (pg. 1 Title); wherein the probability of cancer classification by the proposed model was plotted (i.e. likelihood of cancer mutagenesis) (pg. 9 Fig. 7).
Claim 6 recites:
wherein the plurality of regional features comprises one or more of: a local tumor-type specific ATAC density, a local primary cell DNA se hypersensitivity, a local histone chip-seq density, a local cancer type specific mutational density, a local chromatin state, a Hi-C compartmentalization, a replication timing, a transcription direction, an indication of whether transcription is forwards or backwards, a distance to bound transcription factors, an RNA accessibility, and one or more low-quality bases
• Mouliere teaches a method for enhanced detection of circulating tumor DNA by fragment size analysis (pg. 1 Title); wherein fragmentation features such as (i) the proportion of fragments in multiple size ranges, (ii) the ratios of proportions of fragments in different sizes, and (iii) the amplitude of oscillations in fragment size density with 10-bp periodicity were compared between patients with cancer (i.e. here feature (iii) performed for cancer samples reads on a local cancer type specific mutational density) and healthy individuals (pg. 6 col. 2 para. 3).
Claim 7 recites:
wherein the plurality of regional features are determined around the alt position
• Mouliere teaches the analysis of fragmentation features to enhance the detection of tumor DNA in plasma samples (pg. 7 col. 1para. 2) wherein the analysis of the mutation allele frequency of SNVs revealed statistically significant enrichment of the tumor fraction (pg. 5 col. 1 para. 1). Here, the instant specification at [0024] supports said interpretation of “alt position” which disclose an alt position being “the position of the SNV in the fragment.”
Claim 12 recites:
wherein rows of the tensor represent the corresponding reference sequence, the first read, the second read, the first position, the second position, and the alt position
• Neither Mouliere or Sahraeian teach the recitation above. However, Poplin teaches a tensor of width of 221 and a height of 100 with rows of the tensor representing the reference sequence and other genomics data (SI pg. 15 para. 4); wherein the model trained with read data aligned to b37 of the human reference (SI pg. 11 para. 1) to find candidate single nucleotide polymorphisms and indels in reads aligned to the reference genome (i.e. reading on reference sequence, the first read, the second read, the first position, the second position, and the alt position - SNV) with high sensitivity but low specificity using standard, algorithmic preprocessing techniques (pg. 983 col. 2 para. 1).
Claim 13 recites:
wherein five consecutive rows represent nucleotides of the reference sequence, nucleotides of the first read, or nucleotides of the second read
• Neither Mouliere or Sahraeian teach the recitation above. However, Poplin teaches a tensor of width of 221 and a height of 100 with rows of the tensor representing the reference sequence and other genomics data (SI pg. 15 para. 4); wherein the model trained with read data aligned to b37 of the human reference (SI pg. 11 para. 1) to find candidate single nucleotide polymorphisms and indels in reads aligned to the reference genome (i.e. reading on reference sequence, the first read, the second read, the first position, the second position, and the alt position - SNV) with high sensitivity but low specificity using standard, algorithmic preprocessing techniques (pg. 983 col. 2 para. 1; wherein the model is trained by a tensor of width of 221 and a height of 100 with rows of the tensor representing the reference genomic data and candidate reads (SI pg. 15 para. 4); wherein row in range of 5 consecutive rows to store genomic data including reference reads (SI pg. 16 para. 1).
Claim 16 recites:
wherein five consecutive rows represent nucleotides of the reference sequence, nucleotides of the first read, or nucleotides of the second read
Claim 17 recites:
wherein the first length is measured from a first nucleotide of the first read to a last nucleotide of the first read and the second length is measured from a first nucleotide of the second read to a last nucleotide of the second read
• Neither Mouliere or Sahraeian teach the recitation above. However, Poplin teaches a tensor of width of 221 and a height of 100 with rows of the tensor representing the reference genomic data and candidate reads (SI pg. 15 para. 4); wherein the model emits probabilities for each of the three diploid genotypes at a locus using a pileup image of the reference and read data around each candidate variant (pg. 983 col. 2 para. 1); wherein the model was applied to RAW PacBio read set using tractable data in the current implementation (SI pg. 13 para. 2). Here, the art teaches the entire read set being tractable which includes the “first length of the first read and a second length of the second read” (i.e. as in claim 16) and inherently the entire length being tractable– from first to last nucleotide of each read which is expressed as base pairs (i.e. as in claim 17).
Claim 20 recites:
wherein the tensor further includes a corresponding lymphocyte track
• Neither Mouliere or Sahraeian teach the recitation above. However, Poplin teaches the model trained using TensorFlow using a multichannel tensor representation (pg. 986 col. 1 para. 4) applied to RAW PacBio read dataset using NA12878 sample (SI pg. 11 Table 8) using tractable data in the current implementation (SI pg. 13 para. 2). Here, the describe model being applied to RAW PacBio read dataset NA12878 sample reads on “tensor further includes a corresponding lymphocyte track” because the PacBio dataset for NA12878 was generated from RNA-sequencing data from lymphoblastoid cell lines – as evidenced by Quinn on pg. 2 col. 1 para. 5.
Claim 21 recites:
wherein the tensor is configured to account for all possible CIGAR (Concise Idiosyncratic Gapped Alignment Report) outputs, wherein the possible CIGAR outputs comprise insertions, deletions, mismatches, clips, and soft masks
• Neither Mouliere or Sahraeian teach the recitation above. However, Poplin teaches the model trained using TensorFlow using a multichannel tensor representation (pg. 986 col. 1 para. 4); wherein, to find candidate variants, the CIGAR string of each read was decoded and the corresponding allele aligned to that site is determined being classified into either a reference-matching base, a reference-mismatching base, an insertion with a specific sequence, or a deletion with a specific length (Online Methods pg. 1 col. 1 para. 1); while candidate windows across the genome are selected for reassembly by looking for any evidence of possible genetic variation, such as mismatching or soft clipped bases (i.e. soft masks) (Online Methods pg. 1 col. 1 para. 2).
Claim 23 recites:
wherein columns of the tensor represent nucleotides along a fragment sequence
• Neither Mouliere or Sahraeian teach the recitation above. However, Poplin teaches the model trained using TensorFlow using a multichannel tensor representation (pg. 986 col. 1 para. 4); wherein all strain specific information was retained in the sample columns for each strain (SI pg. 11 para. 4)
Claim 24 recites:
further comprising filtering the plurality of sequence fragments, wherein the plurality of sequence fragments are filtered based on a quality metric that comprises at least one of: an artificial backlist, discordant reads, variant base quality, depth, mapping quality, number of low quality bases, fragment length, and variant allele fraction
• Neither Mouliere or Sahraeian teach the recitation above. However, Poplin teaches the model trained using TensorFlow using a multichannel tensor representation (pg. 986 col. 1 para. 4); wherein any unusable reads were filtered away which included if a read was marked as a duplicate, if it was marked as failing vendor quality checks, if it was not aligned or was not the primary alignment, if its mapping quality was less than 10, or if it was paired and not marked as properly placed (Online Methods pg. 1 col. 1 para. 4)
Claim 27 recites:
wherein the plurality of sequence fragments each have about 40 base pairs to about 240 base pairs, or have a mean of about 170 base pairs
• Mouliere teaches a method for enhanced detection of circulating tumor DNA (ctDNA) by fragment size analysis (pg. 1 Title); wherein cancer detection was performed by supervised machine learning combining plasma cell-free DNA fragmentation and somatic alteration analysis to leverage other biological properties of the cfDNA fragmentation profile to enhance the detection of ctDNA (pg. 6 col. 2 para. 2); wherein in silico cfDNA size selection was performed once reads were aligned to the genome reference by selecting the paired-end reads that corresponded to the fragment lengths in a 90 to 150-bp size range (pg. 2 col. 2 para. 2)
Claim 29 recites:
wherein the first trained classifier operates sequentially before or in parallel with the second trained classifier
• Mouliere does not teach the recitation above. However, Sahraeian teaches it as a CNN structure that predicts the type and length of a candidate somatic mutation (pg. 2 col. 2 para. 4); wherein said CNN structure reports quality scores for the predicted somatic mutations based on the probability of predictions by CNN (pg. 9 col. 1 para. 11); wherein the first classifier identifies whether the candidate is a non-somatic call, SNV, insertion, or deletion (pg. 2 col. 2 para. 4); wherein the second classifier predicts the length of the somatic mutation with four classes (0 indicating non-somatic, or lengths from 1, 2, or greater than 2) and a regressor predicts the location of the somatic mutation (pg. 2 col. 2 para. 4); wherein said two classifiers and one regressor are used on the final layer (i.e. wherein the first trained classifier operates in parallel with the second trained classifier) (pg. 2 col.2 para. 4).
Claim 32 recites:
wherein the first predetermined threshold is 0.99 and the second predetermined threshold is 0.99
• Neither Mouliere or Sahraeian or Poplin teach the recitation above. However, Huang teaches a multiclass prediction with partial least square regression for gene expression data (pg. 1 Title); wherein PLS-regression classifiers based on latent gene component scores were built for each molecular subtype from training dataset of 139 prototypical arrays (i.e. reading on first and second classifiers) (pg. 4 col. 1 para. 1); wherein all samples were categorized into one of the 5 molecular subtypes with the highest predicted probability, assuming that probability exceeding the threshold of 0.5 (i.e. reading on a predetermined threshold for each classifier) (pg. 3 col. 1 para. 2).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to try higher probability threshold of 0.99 for each trained classifier for routine optimization reasons for determination of the optimum or workable ranges and to achieve optimum results. MPEP 2144.05 II states - The Supreme Court has clarified that an "obvious to try" line of reasoning may properly support an obviousness rejection. In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding. In this instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to designate samples into the class with the highest predictive probability (pg. 8 col. 1 para. 2 Huang), (as described by the prior art) which reads on achieving routine optimization towards determination of the optimum methods.
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 1-4, 6-7, 12-13, 16-17, 20-21, 23-24, 27, 29 and 32, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Mouliere in view of Sahraeian, Poplin and Huang because all references disclose methods for the analysis of nucleic acid sequences. The motivation would have been to:
• effectively leverage signals derived from sequence alignment to accurately identify somatic mutations, addressing the complexity of tumor samples and effectively capturing important mutation signals directly from the raw data and consistently achieving high accuracy for different sequencing technologies, sample purities, and sequencing strategies such as whole-genome vs. target enrichment. (pg. 2 col. 1 para. 4 Sahraeian);
• incorporate the benefits of using more automated and generalizable techniques for variant calling (pg. 983 Abstract) using a multichannel tensor representation for the genomics data instead of an RGB image (pg. 986 col. 1 para. 4 Poplin) and to train the neural network method with different tensor representations to achieve improvements to the deep neural network model (pg. 986 col. 1 para. 4 Poplin)
• incorporate efficient classification algorithm applicable for experiments pertaining intrinsic signature genes (pg. 2 col. 1 para. 3 Huang).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the analysis of nucleic acid sequences method of Mouliere to the methods by Sahraeian, Poplin and Huang because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for the analysis of nucleic acid sequences.
B. Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mouliere, Sahraeian, Poplin and Huang as applied to claim 1 above further in view of Lee19 ("CPEM: Accurate cancer type classification based on somatic alterations using an ensemble of a random forest and a deep neural network”. Sci. Rep. 9 (1):6927 (2019)), as cited on the attached Form PTO-892.
Claim 5 recites:
wherein the first trained classifier comprises a multilayer perceptron
Claim 8 recites:
wherein the multilayer perceptron is configured to output a probability that the input fragment is ctDNA
• Neither Mouliere or Sahraeian or Poplin or Huang teach the recitation above. However, Lee19 teaches it as machine learning classifiers and feature selection method to systematically examine the impact of input features associated with specific cancers and derive the ensemble-based cancer type prediction (pg. 1 Abstract); wherein the deep neural network architecture is a multi-layer perceptron with a multinomial class cross-entropy with a softmax loss function (pg. 2 para. 3) (i.e. wherein the first trained classifier comprises a multilayer perceptron as in claim 5) (i.e. wherein the multilayer perceptron is configured to output a probability that the input fragment is ctDNA as in claim 8); wherein said method was applied to sequencing data for somatic SNV and CNV data (pg. 6 para. 3). Here, somatic single nucleotide variants (SNVs) read on ctDNA fragments since SNV can be detected in ctDNA.
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 5 and 8, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Mouliere, Sahraeian, Poplin and Huang in view of Lee19 because all references disclose methods for the analysis of nucleic acid sequences. The motivation would have been to evaluate the contributions of various input features, such as mutation profiles, mutation rates, mutation spectra and signatures, and somatic copy number alterations that can be derived from genomic data, and further utilize them for accurate cancer type classification (pg. 1 Abstract Lee19).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the analysis of nucleic acid sequences method of Mouliere, Sahraeian, Poplin and Huang to the methods by Lee19 because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for the analysis of nucleic acid sequences.
C. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mouliere, Sahraeian, Poplin and Huang as applied to claim 1 above further in view of Lee21 ("A machine learning approach to identify the universality of solitary perturbations accompanying boundary bursts in magnetized toroidal plasmas." Scientific Reports 11.1 (2021): 3662 (2021) – Published 02/11/2021), as cited on the attached Form PTO-892.
Claim 9 recites:
wherein the tensor has a dimension of 18x400,19x400,or 18x240
• Neither Mouliere or Sahraeian teach the recitation above. However, Poplin teaches an universal SNP and small-indel variant caller using deep neural networks (pg. 983 Abstract); wherein after a forward pass through the network, a three-state probability distribution is returned (Online Methods pg. 1 col. 2 para. 3); wherein said model was trained using TensorFlow using a multichannel tensor representation for the genomics data instead of an RGB image (pg. 986 col. 1 para. 4); wherein the tensor had a width of 221 and a height of 100 (SI pg. 15 para. 4). Furthermore, Lee21 teaches a machine learning model based on a convolutional deep neural network architecture for a statistical study (pg. 1 Abstract); wherein the trained supervised network had an input of 19x400 dimension (pg. 3 Fig. 1E).
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claim 9, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Mouliere, Sahraeian, Poplin and Huang in view of Lee21 because all references disclose methods for the application of machine learning trained model on various metrics in a test data set. The motivation would have been to incorporate a trained model that achieves high performances in various metrics on a test data set (pg. 1 Abstract Lee21).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the machine learning trained model applied on various metrics in a test data set of Mouliere, Sahraeian, Poplin and Huang to the methods by Lee21 because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for the application of machine learning trained model on various metrics in a test data set.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/F.F.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1685
/JANNA NICOLE SCHULTZHAUS/Examiner, Art Unit 1685