DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-10, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Modak et al. (US 20230024403 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Modak discloses a locking assembly (326) for an arm (308) of an agricultural header (100), comprising:
a pin (906);
a bracket (822) coupled to the pin (906) and to a frame (300) of the agricultural header (100); and
a biasing element (908) configured to:
engage the pin (906) with the arm (308) in a first position (rigid configuration; See Modak ¶ [0067]) of the bracket (822) to block rotation of the arm (308) relative to the frame (300); and
disengage the pin (906) from the arm (308) in a second position (flexible condition; See Modak ¶ [0040]) of the bracket (822) to enable rotation of the arm (308) relative to the frame (300).
Regarding claim 2, Modak discloses the locking assembly of claim 1, wherein the biasing element (908) comprises one or more springs disposed along the pin (906).
Regarding claim 3, Modak discloses the locking assembly of claim 2, wherein movement of the bracket (822) between the first position (rigid configuration; See Modak ¶ [0067]) and the second position (flexible condition; See Modak ¶ [0040]) is configured to compress and expand the one or more springs (See Modak ¶ [0075]).
Regarding claim 6, Modak discloses the locking assembly of claim 1, wherein the bracket (822) is configured to pivot (914) relative to the frame (300) to move between the first position (rigid configuration; See Modak ¶ [0067]) and the second position (flexible condition; See Modak ¶ [0040]).
Regarding claim 7, Modak discloses the locking assembly of claim 6, In an alternative embodiment, wherein the pin (406) is disposed along a lateral axis extending along the frame (300), and the bracket (404) is configured to pivot about a pivot axis (via 318) extending perpendicular to the lateral axis (See Modak Fig. 7 then Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Modak discloses the locking assembly of claim 1, In an alternative embodiment, wherein the bracket (1110) is rotatably coupled to a lever (1102) configured to couple to one or more other locking assemblies (via 1108; See ¶ [0078]).
Regarding claim 9, Modak discloses a frame assembly (300) for an agricultural header (100), comprising:
a frame (also 300) configured to couple to an arm (308) of the agricultural header (100); and
a locking assembly (326) coupled to the frame (300), wherein the locking assembly comprises:
a pin (906) configured to engage and disengage the arm (308);
a bracket (822) coupled to the pin (906) and to the frame (300); and
a biasing element (908) configured to engage the pin (906) with the arm (308) to block rotation of the arm (308) and to disengage the pin (906) from the arm (308) to enable rotation of the arm (308).
Regarding claim 10, Modak discloses the frame assembly of claim 9, wherein the frame (300) comprises:
a member (314) coupled to the arm (308); and
an additional pin (806) coupled to the member (314), wherein the locking assembly (326) is coupled to the frame (300) via the additional pin (806).
Regarding claim 13, Modak discloses the frame assembly of claim 9, In an alternative embodiment, comprising a lever (1102) rotatably coupled to the locking assembly (1100) and one or more other locking assemblies (via 1108; See ¶ [0078]), wherein movement of the lever (1102) transitions the locking assembly (1100) between engagement and disengagement (See Modak ¶ [0078 and Fig. 13-14]) with the arm (308) and the one or more other locking assemblies (via 1108; See ¶ [0078]) between engagement and disengagement with one or more other arms (308).
Regarding claim 14, Modak discloses the frame assembly of claim 13, In an alternative embodiment, wherein the frame (300) comprises a member (314) coupled to the arm (308), and the lever (1102) extends along the member (314).
Regarding claim 15, Modak discloses the frame assembly of claim 13, In an alternative embodiment, wherein the pin (1146) is coupled to a first end (via 1152) of the bracket (1136), and the lever (1102) is coupled to a second end (via 1138) of the bracket (1136; indirectly via connections with 1106 and 1110) opposite the first end (via 1152).
Regarding claim 16, Modak discloses the frame assembly of claim 13, comprising an actuator (1100; See ¶ [0087 and 0098]) configured to drive the movement of the lever (1102) based on a user input.
Regarding claim 17, Modak discloses an agricultural header (100), comprising:
a frame (300);
an arm (308) configured to rotate relative to the frame (300); and
a locking assembly (326) coupled to the frame (300), wherein the locking assembly (326) comprises:
a pin (906);
a bracket (822) coupled to the pin (906) and to the frame (300); and
a biasing element (908) configured to engage the pin (906) with the arm (308) to block rotation of the arm (308) and to disengage the pin (906) from the arm (308) to enable rotation of the arm (308).
Regarding claim 18, Modak discloses the agricultural header of claim 17, wherein the arm (308) comprises an additional bracket (818) pivotally coupled to the frame (300), and the additional bracket (818) comprises an opening (via 816) configured to receive the pin (indirectly through connection 818 and 822) to engage the pin (906) with the arm (308).
Regarding claim 19, Modak discloses the agricultural header of claim 17, In an alternative embodiment, wherein the arm (214; See Modak Fig. 2) comprises:
a first end (218) coupled to a cutter bar (216); and
a second end (208) configured to engage and disengage the pin (908), and the first end (218) is opposite the second end (208).
Regarding claim 20, Modak discloses the agricultural header of claim 17, The embodiment in Fig. 2 used for visual labels, wherein the arm (214) is configured to pivot about a lateral axis (via 234) extending parallel to a member (222) of the frame (200) while the pin (906) is disengaged from the arm (214), and the locking assembly (220) is configured to pivot about a vertical axis (See Modak Fig. 3) extending perpendicular to the member (318; same as 206 and used for visual; See Modak Fig. 3) to engage and disengage with the arm (308).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modak et al. (US 20230024403 A1), in view of Kemmerer et al. (US 20220000022 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Modak discloses the locking assembly of claim 2.
However, Modak fails to disclose wherein the one or more springs comprise: a first spring disposed on a first side of a bracket arm of the bracket; and a second spring disposed on a second side of the bracket arm, wherein the first side is opposite the second side, the first spring is configured to compress in the first position of the bracket, and the second spring is configured to compress in the second position of the bracket.
Kemmerer teaches wherein the one or more springs (412) comprise: a first spring (412; left of 234; See Kemmerer Fig. 6) disposed on a first side of a bracket arm (234) of the bracket (216); and a second spring (412; right of 234; See Kemmerer Fig. 6) disposed on a second side of the bracket arm (216), wherein the first side is opposite the second side (See Kemmerer Fig. 6), the first spring (412; left of 234) is configured to compress in the first position of the bracket (216), and the second spring (412; right of 234) is configured to compress in the second position of the bracket (216). See Kemmerer ¶ [0034].
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the locking assembly as disclosed by Modak with the first and second spring as taught by Kemmerer, so as to provide a first spring disposed on a first side of the bracket arm and a second spring disposed on an opposite second side of the bracket arm, wherein the springs are configured to compress in respective positions of the bracket, in order to provide balance biasing forces on opposing sides of the bracket, thereby improving stability and controlled movement of the locking assembly during transitions.
Regarding claim 5, Modak discloses the locking assembly of claim 1.
However, Modak fails to disclose wherein the bracket comprises a yoke having two or more yoke arms, and the pin extends through the two or more yoke arms.
Kemmerer teaches wherein the bracket (404) comprises a yoke (404 and 234) having two or more yoke arms, and the pin (406) extends through the two or more yoke arms (ends of 404 and 234).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the locking assembly as disclosed by Modak with the yoke configuration as taught by Kemmerer, so as to provide a bracket comprising a yoke having two or more arms with a pin extending through the yoke arms, in order to provide a more secure and stable mounting interface for the pin, thereby improving alignment and structural support during operation of the locking assembly.
Regarding claim 11, Modak discloses the frame assembly of claim 9.
However, Modak fails to disclose wherein the biasing element comprises: a first spring disposed on a first side of a yoke arm of the bracket; and a second spring disposed on a second side of the yoke arm, wherein the first side is opposite the second side, the first spring is configured to compress in a first position of the bracket, and the second spring is configured to compress in a second position of the bracket.
Kemmerer teaches wherein the biasing element (412) comprises: a first spring (412; left of 234; See Kemmerer Fig. 6) disposed on a first side of a yoke arm (234) of the bracket (216); and a second spring (412; right of 234; See Kemmerer Fig. 6) disposed on a second side of the yoke arm (404; bracket arm near 16), wherein the first side is opposite the second side (See Kemmerer Fig. 6), the first spring (412; left of 234; See Kemmerer Fig. 6) is configured to compress in a first position of the bracket (216), and the second spring (412; right of 234; See Kemmerer Fig. 6) is configured to compress in a second position of the bracket (216). See Kemmerer ¶ [0034].
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the locking assembly as disclosed by Modak with the first spring, second spring, and yoke as taught by Kemmerer, so as to include a biasing element comprising a first spring disposed on a first yoke arm and a second spring disposed on a second side, opposite side of the yoke arm, wherein the respective springs compress in different positions of the bracket, in order to provide balanced and controlled biasing of the bracket, thereby improving stability and reliability of the locking assembly during operation.
Regarding claim 12, Modak discloses the frame assembly of claim 9.
However, Modak fails to disclose wherein the bracket comprises a yoke having two or more yoke arms, and the pin extends through the two or more yoke arms.
Kemmerer teaches wherein the bracket (404) comprises a yoke (404 and 234) having two or more yoke arms, and the pin (406) extends through the two or more yoke arms (ends of 404 and 234).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the locking assembly as disclosed by Modak with the yoke configuration as taught by Kemmerer, so as to provide a bracket comprising a yoke having two or more arms with a pin extending through the yoke arms, in order to provide a more secure and stable mounting interface for the pin, thereby improving alignment and structural support during operation of the locking assembly.
Other References Considered
Additionally, US 20210127579 A1 further illustrates that vertical spring orientation is well-known feature in the art.
US 20210212254 A1 further illustrates that first and second spring system opposite of each other and a yoke configuration is well-known feature in the art.
US 20200315096 A1 further illustrates that a lever configured to couple to one or more locking assemblies is well-known feature in the art.
Conclusion
JOSE ANTONIO. MARTINEZ
Examiner
Art Unit 3671
/WILLIAM D HUTTON JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3674