DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-23 are pending.
Claims 8-23 are objected to. As per MPEP See MPEP § 608.01(n), multiple dependent claims that reference back to another multiple dependent claim are not further treated on the merits (i.e. claims 8-23 are not examined in this instant office action).
Claims 1-7 are examined.
Claims 1-7 are rejected.
Priority
This US Application 18/682,752 (02/09/2024) is a is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/074097 (08/30/2022), which claims benefit of US Application 63/239,253 (08/31/2021), as reflected in the filing receipt mailed on 07/31/2024. The claims to the benefit of priority are acknowledged and the effective filing date of claims 1-23 is 08/31/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/09/2024 was considered by the examiner.
Claim objections
Claims 8-23 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only and cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claims. See MPEP § 608.01(n) – see Example B4. Accordingly, Claims 8-23 have not been further treated on the merits. Appropriate correction is required.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
Summary of Requirements for Patent Applications Filed On Or After July 1, 2022, That Have Sequence Disclosures
37 CFR 1.831(a) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.831(b) must contain a “Sequence Listing XML”, as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.835. This “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure may be submitted:
1. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter “Legal Framework”) in XML format, together with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML file in a separate paragraph of the specification (an incorporation by reference paragraph) as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) identifying:
a. the name of the XML file
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes; or
2. In accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(a) using the symbols and format requirements of 37 CFR 1.832 through 1.834 on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation by reference statement of the material in the XML format according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2) or 1.835(b)(2) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
a. the name of the XML file;
b. the date of creation; and
c. the size of the XML file in bytes.
SPECIFIC DEFICIENCIES AND THE REQUIRED RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE ARE AS FOLLOWS:
Specific deficiency - This application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.834 because it does not contain a “Sequence Listing XML” as a separate part of the disclosure. A “Sequence Listing XML” is required because sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c) and related sequence identifiers are not listed in a “Sequence Listing XML” as a separate part of the disclosure.
Required response - Applicant must provide:
• A “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure, as described above in item 1. or 2.; together with
o A statement that indicates the basis for the amendment, with specific references to particular parts of the application as originally filed, as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(3);
o A statement that the “Sequence Listing XML” includes no new matter as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(4)
AND
• A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation by reference paragraph as required by 37 CFR 1.835(a)(2), consisting of:
o A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
o A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
o A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c). Sequence identifiers for sequences (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Amended drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
This application contains sequence disclosures in accordance with the definitions for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences set forth in 37 CFR 1.831(a) and 1.831(b). However, this application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.831-1.834. The examiner has noted that Figures 3 and 8 comprise sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers. Applicant must provide:
• A replacement “Sequence Listing XML” part of the disclosure, as described above in item 1. or 2., as well as
• A statement that identifies the location of all additions, deletions, or replacements of sequence information in the “Sequence Listing XML” as required by 1.835(b)(3);
• A statement that indicates support for the amendment in the application, as filed, as required by 37 CFR 1.835(b)(4);
• A statement that the “Sequence Listing XML” includes no new matter in accordance with 1.835(b)(5); and
• A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation by reference paragraph as required by 37 CFR 1.835(b)(2), consisting of:
o A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
o A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter the invention. Dependent claims are rejected similarly, unless otherwise noted below. The following issues cause the respective claims to be rejected under 112(b) as indefinite:
Claim 2 recites “the set of immunological entities” (step (ii)) which lacks antecedent basis because “a set of immunological entities” has not been previously recited in the claim. To overcome this rejection the claim may be amended to recite: “a set of immunological entities” OR “(ii) selecting two immunological entities from the plurality of immunological entities for pairwise comparison” for proper claim agreement.
Claims 3-4 repeats the issue above.
Claim 7 recites “The method of any one of claims 6” which is indefinite because it is unclear if the claim depends only on claim 6 or not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to one or more Judicial Exceptions (JEs) without significantly more. Regarding JEs, "Claims directed to nothing more than abstract ideas..., natural phenomena, and laws of nature are not eligible for patent protection" (MPEP 2106.04 §I). Abstract ideas include mathematical concepts and procedures for evaluating, analyzing or organizing information, which are a type of mental process (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
101 background
MPEP 2106 organizes JE analysis into Steps 1, 2A (Prong One & Prong Two), and 2B as analyzed below. MPEP 2106 and the following USPTO website provide further explanation and case law citations: uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/examination-policy/examination-guidance-and-training-materials.
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
Analysis of instant claims
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a 101 process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
The instant claims are directed to a method (claims 1-7) which falls within one of the categories of statutory subject matter. [Step 1: claims 1-7: Yes]
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
Background
With respect to Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite judicial exceptions in the form of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) further explains that abstract ideas are defined as:
• mathematical concepts (mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical relationships
and mathematical calculations) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I));
• certain methods of organizing human activity (fundamental economic principles or practices, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)); and/or
• mental processes (concepts practically performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Analysis of instant claims
With respect to the instant claims, under the Step 2A, Prong One evaluation, the claims found to recite abstract ideas that can fall into the grouping of mathematical concepts (in particular mathematical relationships and formulas) and mental processes (in particular procedures for observing, analyzing and organizing information). The identified grouping(s) for this instant claims are as follows:
Mathematical concepts (in particular mathematical relationships and formulas) include:
• "(b) determining an amino acid sum of differences in each of a plurality of physicochemical properties by performing a pairwise comparison between an amino acid in the subset of amino acids in the first immunological entity and a corresponding amino acid in the corresponding subset of amino acids in the second immunological entity" (independent claim 1);
• "(f) determining an aggregate value of all subset sums of differences between the first immunological entity and the second immunological entity by assigning a weight value to each of the subset sums" (independent claim 1);
• "(2) generating a similarity matrix for a subset of amino acids of an immunological entity of the set of immunological entities, wherein the similarity matrix comprises a plurality of physicochemical properties of each amino acid in the subset of amino acids” (claim 4);
• "(3) repeating step (2) for one or more subsets of amino acids of the immunological entity” (claim 4);
• "(4) repeating steps (2) to (3) for remaining immunological entities of the plurality of immunological entities” (claim 4);
• "(5) performing a clustering analysis based on a distance between two corresponding similarity matrices of a pair of immunological entities to identify a subset of immunological entities having similar specificity to the epitope” (claim 4).
The claims identified above read on math. The abstract ideas recited in the claims are evaluated under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation and determined each element performed by mathematical operation. The step directed to “performing clustering analysis based on similarity matrices” requires mathematical techniques as the only supported embodiments because it describes a mathematical technique (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) pertains). Further support for the mathematical techniques used in the claims is provided in the specification at pg. 13 para. 3, which discloses an algorithm implemented for performing clustering analysis based on similarity matrices and at pg. 15 para. 5 which discloses an algorithm to evaluate the estimates of the model parameters (i.e. weights). Thus, the recited terms correspond to verbal equivalents of mathematical concepts because they constitute actions executed by a group of mathematical steps in a form of a mathematical algorithm; thus mathematical concepts (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). A mathematical concept need not be expressed in mathematical symbols, because "words used in a claim operating on data to solve a problem can serve the same purpose as a formula." In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 837 and n.1, 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1826 and n.1 (Fed. Cir. 1989). MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) pertains.
Mental processes, defined as concepts or steps practically performed in the human mind such as steps of observations, evaluations, judgments, analysis, opinions or organizing information include:
• "(a) selecting a subset of amino acids in a first immunological entity and a corresponding subset of amino acids in a second immunological entity, wherein the subset of amino acids in the first immunological entity and the corresponding subset of amino acids in the second immunological entity have an identical number of amino acids" (independent claim 1);
• "(c) repeating steps (a) to (b) for remaining amino acids in the subset of amino acids in the first immunological entity and the corresponding subset of amino acids in the second immunological entity" (independent claim 1);
• "(d) determining a subset sum of differences between the subset of amino acids in the first immunological entity and the corresponding subset of amino acids in the second immunological entity" (independent claim 1);
• "(e) repeating steps (a) to (d) for one or more subsets of amino acids in the first immunological entity and the second immunological entity" (independent claim 1);
• "(g) identifying the first immunological entity and the second immunological entity as having similar specificity to an epitope if the aggregate value is smaller than a threshold value" (independent claim 1);
• "(i) providing a plurality of immunological entities” (claims 2-4);
• "(ii) selecting two immunological entities from the set of immunological entities for pairwise comparison” (claims 2-3);
• "(iii) identifying the two immunological entities as having similar specificity to an epitope according to the method of claim 1” (claim 2);
• "(iv) repeating steps (ii) to (iii) for remaining immunological entities in the plurality of immunological entities and identifying a subset of immunological entities from the plurality of immunological entities as having similar specificity to the epitope” (claim 2);
• "(iii) performing steps (a) to (f) of the method of claim 1” (claim 3);
• "(iv) repeating steps (ii) to (iii) for remaining immunological entities in the plurality of immunological entities and identifying a pair of immunological entities that have a minimum aggregate value among the plurality of immunological entities as the two immunological entities having similar specificity to the epitope” (claim 3).
The abstract ideas recited in the claims are evaluated under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) and determined to each cover performance either in the mind (i.e. concepts practically performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) or because the method only requires a user to manually determine action based on an added number. Under the BRI, the recited limitations are mental processes because a human mind is also sufficiently capable of select amino acids off a list of amino acids corresponding to a first and second immunological entities; evaluate data to determine the sum of differences regarding physicochemical properties and determine a subset of said sum of differences; evaluate data to identify immunological entities with similar specificity to an epitope if the aggregate value is smaller than a threshold value; provide a plurality of immunological entities by reading it off a list of immunological entities; select immunological entities for pairwise comparison; identify a second TCR that has similar specificity to an epitope with a TCR based on data observations and evaluations; identify a known epitope as an epitope to which the TCR binds specifically based on data observations and evaluations; select a candidate TCR that binds specifically to the epitope based on data observations and evaluations; identify at least one TCR that has similar specificity to an epitope with a candidate TCR based on data observations and evaluations and identify one TCR that bind specifically to the epitope based on data observations and evaluations.
Dependent claims 5-7 recite further steps that limit the judicial exceptions in independent claims 1 and 4 and, as such, also are directed to those abstract ideas. For example, claims 5-7 recite further details about the clustering analysis.
[Step 2A Prong One: claims 1-7: Yes ]
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Background
MPEP 2106.04(d).I lists the following example considerations for evaluating whether a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application:
An improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to other technology or another technical field, as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a);
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2);
Implementing a judicial exception with, or using a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(b);
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(c); and
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(e).
Analysis of instant claims
Claims found to recite a judicial exception under Step 2A, Prong 1 are then further analyzed to determine if the claims as a whole integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application or not (Step 2A, Prong 2).
The instant claims recite no additional elements that are not abstract ideas, therefore there are no considerations under Step 2A, Prong Two
In Step 2A, Prong One above, claim steps and/or elements were identified as part of one or more judicial exceptions (JEs).
In this Step 2A, Prong Two immediately above claim steps and/or elements were identified as part of one or more additional elements. Additional elements are further discussed in Step 2B below.
Here in Step 2A, Prong Two, no additional step or element clearly demonstrates integration of the JE(s) into a practical application.
[Step 2A Prong Two: claims 1-7: No]
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
According to analysis so far, the additional elements described above do not provide significantly more than the judicial exception. A determination of whether additional elements provide significantly more also rests on whether the additional elements or a combination of elements represents other than what is well-understood, routine, and conventional. Conventionality is a question of fact and may be evidenced as: a citation to an express statement in the specification or to a statement made by an applicant during examination that demonstrates a well-understood, routine or conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to one or more of the court decisions as discussed in MPEP 2106(d)(II) as noting the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to a publication that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); and/or a statement that the examiner is taking official notice with respect to the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s).
The instant claims do not provide any additional elements and therefore there are no considerations under Step 2B. The claim elements, when considered individually, are insufficient to constitute inventive concepts that would render the claims significantly more than an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
[Step 2B: claims 1-7: No]
Conclusion: Instant claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter
For the reasons above, the claims in this instant application, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole, are directed to an abstract idea and lack an inventive concept not clearly anything significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a)(l) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale,
or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen ("Clustering-based identification of clonally-related immunoglobulin gene sequence sets." Immunome research 6.Suppl 1:S4 (2010)), as cited on the attached Form PTO-892.
Claim 4 recites:
(1) providing a plurality of immunological entities;
(2) generating a similarity matrix for a subset of amino acids of an immunological entity of the set of immunological entities, wherein the similarity matrix comprises a plurality of physicochemical properties of each amino acid in the subset of amino acids;
(3) repeating step (2) for one or more subsets of amino acids of the immunological entity;
(4) repeating steps (2) to (3) for remaining immunological entities of the plurality of immunological entities; and
(5) performing a clustering analysis based on a distance between two corresponding similarity matrices of a pair of immunological entities to identify a subset of immunological entities having similar specificity to the epitope
• Chen teaches an algorithm for identifying sets of clonally-related sequences (i.e. similarity between antibody sequences) in large human immunoglobulin heavy chain gene variable region sequence sets using uses pairwise comparisons of CDR3 sequences and similarity in IGHV and IGHJ germline gene assignments to construct a distance matrix (i.e. step 2) (pg. 1 Abstract); wherein agglomerative hierarchical clustering is then used to identify likely groups (i.e. subsets of amino acids of the immunological entity) of clonally-related sequence (i.e. step 5) (pg. 1 Abstract); wherein proposed method was applied to all immunoglobulin CDR3 sequences extracted from the HMMune-align database (i.e. steps 1 and 3-4) (pg. 6 col. 2para. 3).
Claim 6 recites:
wherein the clustering analysis comprises a hierarchical clustering
• Chen teaches it as agglomerative hierarchical clustering is then used to identify likely groups (i.e. subsets of amino acids of the immunological entity) of clonally-related sequence (i.e. step 5) (pg. 1 Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
A. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wong ("Ab-Ligity: identifying sequence-dissimilar antibodies that bind to the same epitope." MAbs. Vol. 13. No. 1. Taylor & Francis, 2021) in view of Zhang ("Physicochemical rules for identifying monoclonal antibodies with drug-like specificity." Molecular pharmaceutics 17.7 (2020): 2555-2569 (2020)),as cited on the attached Form PTO-892.
Claim 1 recites:
(a) selecting a subset of amino acids in a first immunological entity and a corresponding subset of amino acids in a second immunological entity, wherein the subset of amino acids in the first immunological entity and the corresponding subset of amino acids in the second immunological entity have an identical number of amino acids;
(b) determining an amino acid sum of differences in each of a plurality of physicochemical properties by performing a pairwise comparison between an amino acid in the subset of amino acids in the first immunological entity and a corresponding amino acid in the corresponding subset of amino acids in the second immunological entity;
(c) repeating steps (a) to (b) for remaining amino acids in the subset of amino acids in the first immunological entity and the corresponding subset of amino acids in the second immunological entity;
(d) determining a subset sum of differences between the subset of amino acids in the first immunological entity and the corresponding subset of amino acids in the second immunological entity;
(e) repeating steps (a) to (d) for one or more subsets of amino acids in the first immunological entity and the second immunological entity;
(f) determining an aggregate value of all subset sums of differences between the first immunological entity and the second immunological entity by assigning a weight value to each of the subset sums; and
(g) identifying the first immunological entity and the second immunological entity as having similar specificity to an epitope if the aggregate value is smaller than a threshold value
• Wong teaches a computational approach named Ab-Ligity - a structure-based similarity measure tailored to antibody-antigen interfaces to predict antibodies that would bind to highly similar epitopes among subsets of antibodies (pg. 1 Abstract); wherein two antibody paratopes (i.e. subset of amino acids) by tokenized residues and distance hashes (pg. 2 col. 2 para. 1) where the underlined residues for each predicted paratopes shows identical number of amino acids (i.e. step (a)) (Supplemental Material pg. 19 Table S15); wherein the algorithm uses residue points tokenized by their physicochemical properties (pg. 2 col. 1 para. 4) where these point collectively represent (i.e. sum) a paratope (i.e. subset of residues) on an antibody (pg. 6 col. 2 para. 3) to identify antibodies with dissimilar sequences that have similar binding modes (pg. 3 col. 1 para. 3) on the full set of 920 × 920 pairwise comparisons (pg. 4 col. 1 para. 4) (i.e. steps (b)-(c) except sum of differences); wherein for each pair of antibodies a paratope similarity score is listed (pg. 5 Fig. 2) (i.e. steps (d)-(e) except sum of differences).
• Wong does not teach “sum of differences” and step (f). However, Zhang teaches step (f) as physicochemical rules for identifying monoclonal antibodies with drug-like specificity (pg. 1 Abstract); wherein each chemical rule is a maximum limit on the summed counts of different types of amino acids (i.e. sum of differences in each of a plurality of physicochemical properties) in the CDRs weighted by their relative solvent accessibilities (pg. 21 Fig. 2) using a machine learning method (pg. 15 para. 3); wherein, for all possible combinations of 19 amino acids (excluding cysteine due to its rarity) (i.e. subsets of amino acids) such chemical rules involved first evaluating maximum limits on the combined numbers of specified residues weighted by their solvent exposure where subsets were composed of as few as one and as many as 10 residues (i.e. steps (f)) (pg. 8 para. 2).
• Regarding step (g), Wong and Zhang teach step (g). Wong teaches “(g) identifying the first immunological entity and the second immunological entity as having similar specificity to an epitope” as an algorithm that predicts antibody paratopes that that target highly similar epitopes (pg. 1 Abstract); wherein each residue in the CDR is given a score (pg. 6 col. 2 para. 2) using a threshold for paratope similarity scores of 0.1 (pg. 2 col. 2 para. 5). Wong does not teach “aggregate value smaller than a threshold value.” However, Zhang teaches step (f) as physicochemical rules for identifying monoclonal antibodies with drug-like specificity (pg. 1 Abstract); wherein each chemical rule is a maximum limit on the summed counts of different types of amino acids (i.e. aggregate value of all subset sums of differences) in the CDRs weighted by their relative solvent accessibilities (i.e. assigning a weight value to each of the subset sums) (pg. 21 Fig. 2) wherein 160 of 161 antibodies were predicted to have high specificity when having < 8 chemical flags based on said chemical rules (i.e. aggregate value smaller than a threshold value) (pg. 13 para. 3).
Claim 2 recites:
(i) providing a plurality of immunological entities;
(ii) selecting two immunological entities from the set of immunological entities for pairwise comparison;
(iii) identifying the two immunological entities as having similar specificity to an epitope according to the method of claim 1; and
(iv) repeating steps (ii) to (iii) for remaining immunological entities in the plurality of immunological entities and identifying a subset of immunological entities from the plurality of immunological entities as having similar specificity to the epitope
• Wong teaches steps (i)-(ii) as a computational approach named Ab-Ligity - a structure-based similarity measure tailored to antibody-antigen interfaces to predict antibodies that would bind to highly similar epitopes among subsets of antibodies (pg. 1 Abstract); wherein 920 antibodies were evaluated by pairwise comparison (pg. 4 col. 1 para. 4) (i.e. steps (i)-(ii)).
• Wong and Zhang teach step (iii) as described in claim 1 above.
• Wong teaches step (iv) as the classification performance being tested by sweeping through pairs of crystal paratope and crystal epitope similarities in increments of 0.1, between 0 to 1 (Supplemental Material pg. 2 para. 2).
Claim 3 recites:
(i) providing a plurality of immunological entities;
(ii) selecting two immunological entities from the set of immunological entities for pairwise comparison; (iii) performing steps (a) to (f) of the method of claim 1; and
(iv) repeating steps (ii) to (iii) for remaining immunological entities in the plurality of immunological entities and identifying a pair of immunological entities that have a minimum aggregate value among the plurality of immunological entities as the two immunological entities having similar specificity to the epitope
• Wong teaches steps (i)-(ii) as a computational approach named Ab-Ligity - a structure-based similarity measure tailored to antibody-antigen interfaces to predict antibodies that would bind to highly similar epitopes among subsets of antibodies (pg. 1 Abstract); wherein 920 antibodies were evaluated by pairwise comparison (pg. 4 col. 1 para. 4) (i.e. steps (i)-(ii)).
• Wong and Zhang teach step (iii) as described in claim 1 above.
• Wong does not teach step (iv). However, Zhang teaches it as the maximum and minimum values (i.e. minimum aggregate value) for the observed counts of amino acids (weighted by their solvent accessibilities) and net charges (pH 7.4) of different regions within the variable domains of antibodies in the training sets (pg. 1 para. 3).
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 1-3, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Wong in view of Zhang because all references disclose methods for the analysis of antibody specificity based on physicochemical properties. The motivation would have been to incorporate a method that reports individual and combined sets of chemical rules that selectively identify antibodies with high specificity based only on antibody sequences and predicted site-specific solvent accessibilities, applying rules to guide the re-engineering of a suboptimal antibody to identify mutations that increase antibody specificity (pg. 3 para. 2 Zhang).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the analysis of antibody specificity based on physicochemical properties of Wong to the methods by Zhang because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for the analysis of antibody specificity based on physicochemical properties.
B. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 4 in the 102 rejection above further in view of Di Rienzo ("Superposition-free comparison and clustering of antibody binding sites: implications for the prediction of the nature of their antigen." Scientific reports 7.1:45053 (2017)), as cited on the attached Form PTO-892.
Claim 5 recites:
wherein the distance is a Manhattan distance
• Chen does not teach the recitation above. However, DiRienzo teaches method for comparing the surfaces of antibody binding sites to quickly compare and cluster sets of antibodies and provide information about the nature of the bound antigen (pg. 1 para. 1); wherein descriptors of the binding sites were clustered using the Manhattan distance (pg. 9 para. 6).
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claim 5, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Chen in view of DiRienzo because all references disclose methods for the analysis of antibody specificity based on clustering techniques. The motivation would have been to incorporate a classification approach that improves the prediction of the nature of the antigen recognized by an antibody (pg. 2 para. 8 DiRienzo).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the analysis of antibody specificity based on clustering techniques of Chen to the methods by DiRienzo because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for the analysis of antibody specificity based on clustering techniques.
C. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claims 4 and 6 in the 102 rejection above further in view of Nowak ("Length-independent structural similarities enrich the antibody CDR canonical class model." MAbs. Vol. 8. No. 4. Taylor & Francis, 2016)), as cited on the attached Form PTO-892.
Claim 7 recites:
wherein the hierarchical clustering comprises an unweighted pair group method with arithmetic mean (UPGMA)
• Chen does not teach the recitation above. However, Nowak teaches a method that combines density based and hierarchical clustering methods to create length independent canonical classes (pg. 752 col. 2 para. 3); wherein the clustering pipeline used DTW score as a distance measure between structures and the Unweighted Pair Group Method with Arithmetic Mean algorithm to ensure clusters reflect all the underlying structural and sequence patterns (pg. 757 col. 2 para. 3).
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claim 7, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Chen in view of Nowak because all references disclose methods for the analysis of antibody specificity based on classification of sequence properties. The motivation would have been to incorporate an approach to analyze the cluster membership of CDR taking into account the structural similarities between loops to classify significantly more CDR sequences into structural clusters (pg. 752 col. 1 para. 5 Nowak).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the analysis of antibody specificity based on classification of sequence properties of Chen to the methods by Nowak because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for the analysis of antibody specificity based on classification of sequence properties.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/F.F.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1685
/JANNA NICOLE SCHULTZHAUS/Examiner, Art Unit 1685