DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 1, 20 and 51:
Applicant submitted (Remarks, pages 13-17) that the cited art does not disclose or suggest “wherein aligning the payload of the first DCI with the payload of one of the second DCIs according to the classification mode of the size of the first DCI comprises: determining that the classification mode of the size of the first DCI is classifying the first DCI as a DCI scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) other than a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), and aligning the payload of the first DCI with a payload of a second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI”, as cited in amended independent claim 1. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Lei teaches “wherein aligning the payload of the first DCI with the payload of one of the second DCIs according to the classification mode of the size of the first DCI comprises: determining that the classification mode of the size of the first DCI is classifying the first DCI as a DCI scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) other than a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), and aligning the payload of the first DCI with a payload of a second DCI”. In [0111]-[0114], Lei discloses the BS may determine a size of a first DCI format according to the first frequency region. The CRC of the first DCI format may be scrambled by a first RNTI. For example, the first DCI format may be DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI ... Other DCI formats, e.g., DCI format 1_1 or DCI format 1_2 can also be used as the group-common DCI format for multicast transmission. When DCI format 1_1 or DCI format 1_2 is used as the group-common DCI format for multicast transmission, the corresponding DCI size alignment between the DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI and the DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI are the same as the below steps with the assumption of DCI format 1_0 ... the BS may determine a size of a second DCI format according to a second frequency region ... the second DCI format may be DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI ... in response to the size of the first DCI format being inequal to that of the second DCI format, the BS may adjust the size of the first DCI format until the size of the first DCI format equals the size of the second DCI format. For example, the BS may perform a DCI size alignment as described above to align the size of the first DCI format with that of the second DCI format before transmitting the first DCI format. Moreover, in [0041]-[0046], Lei discloses an additional DCI size alignment procedure may be required combined with the current DCI size alignment procedure (which is specified in the relevant 3GPP specification), so as to align the size of DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by different RNTIs ... Step 1: the size of a DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI may be determined ... Step 2: the size of a DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI may be determined ... Step 3: when the total number of different C-RNTI DCI sizes and the G-RNTI DCI size configured to be monitored is more than 3 for the serving cell, the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the G-RNTI and the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the C-RNTI may be aligned according to one or more of the following methods.
Wang teaches “a second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI”.
In [0168]-[0175], Wang discloses “the DCI format M_0 may be determined to be used for scheduling the group common PDSCH for the broadcast service if at least one of specific conditions is met ... [0170] The DCI format M_0 is with CRC scrambled by a MCCH-RNTI. [0171] The DCI format M_0 is with CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI included in a MTCH configuration. ... [0173] In some implementations, the DCI format M_0 may be determined to be used for scheduling the group common PDSCH for the multicast service if at least one of specific conditions is met ... [0175] The DCI format M_0 is with CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI for a multicast service provided via dedicated signaling”. In [0214], Wang teaches “Each G-RNTI may be associated with a DCI format. The UE may determine the DCI format of a detected DCI by the G-RNTI that is used to scramble the CRC of the DCI. ... Since the UE may only be configured with either the DCI format M_0 or the DCI format M_1 to be applied for the MBS session, the UE may (be able to) determine the DCI format according to the G-RNTI applied for scrambling the CRC of the scheduling DCI”.
In [0198], Wang further discloses “to align the sizes of a DCI format M_0 and a DCI format 1_0 in a CSS, zeros may be padded to the DCI format M_0 until the sizes of the DCI format M_0 is the same as the size of the DCI format 1_0 ... if the size of the DCI format M_0 is larger than the size of the DCI format 1_0, the MSB bits of an FDRA field in the DCI format M_0 may be truncated until the size of the DCI format M_0 is the same as the size of the DCI format 1_0”. Moreover, Wang discloses the DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by P-RNTI ([0082]), the DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by SI-RNTI ([0092]), the DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by RA-RNTI ([0101]) and the DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by TC-RNTI ([0109]). Thus, Wang teaches classifying DCI format M_0 as a DCI scrambled by G-RNTI (i.e., other than C-RNTI), and aligning DCI format M_0 with DCI format 1_0 scrambled by P-RNTI, SI-RNTI, RA-RNTI or TC-RNTI (i.e., a second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than C-RNTI).
Therefore, for the reasons shown above, the prior art by Lei and Wang clearly teaches all the limitations in independent claims 1, 20 and 51.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 14, “according” should be “according to”.
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, “according” should be “according to”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 20 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the second DCI" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the second DCI" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 51 recites the limitation "the second DCI" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 11-12, 17-18, 20-22 and 51-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (US 2024/0057114) in view of Wang et al. (US 2023/0049535).
Regarding Claim 1, Lei teaches a method for aligning downlink control information (DCI), performed by a network device, comprising:
aligning a payload of a first DCI with a payload of one of second DCIs according to a classification mode of a size of the first DCI, wherein the first DCI is configured to schedule a multicast-broadcast scheduling (MBS) service, and the second DCI is configured to schedule a service other than the MBS service ([0111] the BS may determine a size of a first DCI format according to the first frequency region. The CRC of the first DCI format may be scrambled by a first RNTI. For example, the first DCI format may be DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI; [0112] Other DCI formats, e.g., DCI format 1_1 or DCI format 1_2 can also be used as the group-common DCI format for multicast transmission. When DCI format 1_1 or DCI format 1_2 is used as the group-common DCI format for multicast transmission, the corresponding DCI size alignment between the DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI and the DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI are the same as the below steps with the assumption of DCI format 1_0; [0113] the BS may determine a size of a second DCI format according to a second frequency region ... the second DCI format may be DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI; [0114] in response to the size of the first DCI format being inequal to that of the second DCI format, the BS may adjust the size of the first DCI format until the size of the first DCI format equals the size of the second DCI format. For example, the BS may perform a DCI size alignment as described above to align the size of the first DCI format with that of the second DCI format before transmitting the first DCI format; [0041] an additional DCI size alignment procedure may be required combined with the current DCI size alignment procedure (which is specified in the relevant 3GPP specification), so as to align the size of DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by different RNTIs; [0043] Step 1: the size of a DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI may be determined; [0045] Step 2: the size of a DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI may be determined; [0046] Step 3: when the total number of different C-RNTI DCI sizes and the G-RNTI DCI size configured to be monitored is more than 3 for the serving cell, the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the G-RNTI and the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the C-RNTI may be aligned according to one or more of the following methods),
wherein aligning the payload of the first DCI with the payload of one of the second DCIs according to the classification mode of the size of the first DCI comprises: determining that the classification mode of the size of the first DCI is classifying the first DCI as a DCI scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) other than a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), and aligning the payload of the first DCI with a payload of a second DCI ([0111] the BS may determine a size of a first DCI format according to the first frequency region. The CRC of the first DCI format may be scrambled by a first RNTI. For example, the first DCI format may be DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI; [0112] Other DCI formats, e.g., DCI format 1_1 or DCI format 1_2 can also be used as the group-common DCI format for multicast transmission. When DCI format 1_1 or DCI format 1_2 is used as the group-common DCI format for multicast transmission, the corresponding DCI size alignment between the DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI and the DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI are the same as the below steps with the assumption of DCI format 1_0; [0113] the BS may determine a size of a second DCI format according to a second frequency region ... the second DCI format may be DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI; [0114] in response to the size of the first DCI format being inequal to that of the second DCI format, the BS may adjust the size of the first DCI format until the size of the first DCI format equals the size of the second DCI format. For example, the BS may perform a DCI size alignment as described above to align the size of the first DCI format with that of the second DCI format before transmitting the first DCI format; [0041] an additional DCI size alignment procedure may be required combined with the current DCI size alignment procedure (which is specified in the relevant 3GPP specification), so as to align the size of DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by different RNTIs; [0043] Step 1: the size of a DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI may be determined; [0045] Step 2: the size of a DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI may be determined; [0046] Step 3: when the total number of different C-RNTI DCI sizes and the G-RNTI DCI size configured to be monitored is more than 3 for the serving cell, the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the G-RNTI and the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the C-RNTI may be aligned according to one or more of the following methods).
However, Lei does not teach aligning the payload of the first DCI with a payload of a second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches aligning the payload of the first DCI with a payload of a second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI ([0168] the DCI format M_0 may be determined to be used for scheduling the group common PDSCH for the broadcast service if at least one of specific conditions is met ... [0170] The DCI format M_0 is with CRC scrambled by a MCCH-RNTI. [0171] The DCI format M_0 is with CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI included in a MTCH configuration. ... [0173] In some implementations, the DCI format M_0 may be determined to be used for scheduling the group common PDSCH for the multicast service if at least one of specific conditions is met ... [0175] The DCI format M_0 is with CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI for a multicast service provided via dedicated signaling; [0214] Each G-RNTI may be associated with a DCI format. The UE may determine the DCI format of a detected DCI by the G-RNTI that is used to scramble the CRC of the DCI. ... Since the UE may only be configured with either the DCI format M_0 or the DCI format M_1 to be applied for the MBS session, the UE may (be able to) determine the DCI format according to the G-RNTI applied for scrambling the CRC of the scheduling DCI; [0198] to align the sizes of a DCI format M_0 and a DCI format 1_0 in a CSS, zeros may be padded to the DCI format M_0 until the sizes of the DCI format M_0 is the same as the size of the DCI format 1_0 ... if the size of the DCI format M_0 is larger than the size of the DCI format 1_0, the MSB bits of an FDRA field in the DCI format M_0 may be truncated until the size of the DCI format M_0 is the same as the size of the DCI format 1_0; [0082] the DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by P-RNTI; [0092] the DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by SI-RNTI; [0101] the DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by RA-RNTI; [0109] the DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by TC-RNTI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Wang’s method with Lei’s methos so that the same DCI size budget (e.g., as discussed in Rel-15 NR) may be kept to avoid increasing UE complexity. As such, the procedure for DCI size alignment should be defined considering the DCI format M_0 and the DCI format M_1 (Wang [0196]). Thus, by aligning the DCI format scrambled by G-RNTI with the DCI format scrambled by various RNTIs (i.e., P-RNTI, SI-RNTI, RA-RNTI or TC-RNTI, in addition to C-RNTI), the size budget can still be maintained to satisfy the 3GPP Specifications.
Regarding Claim 5, Lei does not teach aligning the payload of the first DCI with the payload of the second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI comprises: determining a size of a frequency-domain resource allocation (FDRA) field in the first DCI according to a number of resource blocks (RBs) contained in a control resource set (CORESET) # 0, or a number of RBs contained in an initial downlink (DL) bandwidth portion (BWP); and determining that the payload of the first DCI is different from the payload of the second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI, and aligning the payload of the first DCI with the payload of the second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches aligning the payload of the first DCI with the payload of the second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI comprises: determining a size of a frequency-domain resource allocation (FDRA) field in the first DCI according to a number of resource blocks (RBs) contained in a control resource set (CORESET) # 0, or a number of RBs contained in an initial downlink (DL) bandwidth portion (BWP) ([0199] a gNB may configure the total number of PRBs of a CFR associated with the DCI format M_0 such that the truncation of the FDRA field does not happen. For example, if a “Identifier for DCI formats” field and a “TPC command for scheduled PUCCH” field are not included in the DCI format M_0, there may be a 3-bit budget for configuring the total number of PRBs for the CFR. If a cell is configured with CORESET 0 with 24 PRBs, 48 PRBs, or 96 PRBs, the length of a FDRA field of DCI format 1_0 may be 9 bits, 11 bits, and 13 bits, respectively. Hence, with the 3-bit budget, the maximum length of FDRA field of DCI format M_0 may be 12 bits, 14 bits, and 16 bits, which correspond to 90 PRBs, 180 PRBs, and PRBs that can be configured for the CFR); and
determining that the payload of the first DCI is different from the payload of the second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI, and aligning the payload of the first DCI with the payload of the second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI ([0198] to align the sizes of a DCI format M_0 and a DCI format 1_0 in a CSS, zeros may be padded to the DCI format M_0 until the sizes of the DCI format M_0 is the same as the size of the DCI format 1_0 ... if the size of the DCI format M_0 is larger than the size of the DCI format 1_0, the MSB bits of an FDRA field in the DCI format M_0 may be truncated until the size of the DCI format M_0 is the same as the size of the DCI format 1_0).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Wang’s method with Lei’s methos so that the same DCI size budget (e.g., as discussed in Rel-15 NR) may be kept to avoid increasing UE complexity. As such, the procedure for DCI size alignment should be defined considering the DCI format M_0 and the DCI format M_1 (Wang [0196]). Thus, by aligning the DCI format scrambled by G-RNTI with the DCI format scrambled by various RNTIs (i.e., P-RNTI, SI-RNTI, RA-RNTI or TC-RNTI, in addition to C-RNTI), the size budget can still be maintained to satisfy the 3GPP Specifications.
Regarding Claim 6, Lei does not teach aligning the payload of the first DCI with the payload of the second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI comprises at least one of: determining that the payload of the first DCI is smaller than the payload of the second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI, and adding a padding bit to the first DCI; determining that the payload of the first DCI is smaller than the payload of the second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI, and adding an appended bit after all effective information fields of the first DCI; or determining that the payload of the first DCI is greater than the payload of the second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI, and performing truncation on the first DCI.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches aligning the payload of the first DCI with the payload of the second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI comprises at least one of: determining that the payload of the first DCI is smaller than the payload of the second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI, and adding a padding bit to the first DCI; determining that the payload of the first DCI is smaller than the payload of the second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI, and adding an appended bit after all effective information fields of the first DCI; or determining that the payload of the first DCI is greater than the payload of the second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI, and performing truncation on the first DCI ([0198] to align the sizes of a DCI format M_0 and a DCI format 1_0 in a CSS, zeros may be padded to the DCI format M_0 until the sizes of the DCI format M_0 is the same as the size of the DCI format 1_0 ... if the size of the DCI format M_0 is larger than the size of the DCI format 1_0, the MSB bits of an FDRA field in the DCI format M_0 may be truncated until the size of the DCI format M_0 is the same as the size of the DCI format 1_0).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Wang’s method with Lei’s methos so that the same DCI size budget (e.g., as discussed in Rel-15 NR) may be kept to avoid increasing UE complexity. As such, the procedure for DCI size alignment should be defined considering the DCI format M_0 and the DCI format M_1 (Wang [0196]). Thus, by aligning the DCI format scrambled by G-RNTI with the DCI format scrambled by various RNTIs (i.e., P-RNTI, SI-RNTI, RA-RNTI or TC-RNTI, in addition to C-RNTI), the size budget can still be maintained to satisfy the 3GPP Specifications.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Lei and Wang, specifically Lei teaches performing the truncation on the first DCI comprises: performing the truncation on the FDRA field of the first DCI ([0099] in response to the size of the first DCI format being larger than the size of the second DCI format, a number of the MSBs of the FDRA field of the first DCI format may be truncated such that the FDRA field of the first DCI format equals that of the second DCI format).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Lei and Wang, specifically Lei teaches aligning the payload of the first DCI with the payload of one of the second DCIs according to the classification mode of a size of the first DCI comprises: determining that the classification mode of the size of the first DCI is classifying the first DCI as a DCI scrambled by a C-RNTI, and alignment of the second DCIs is not completed, and aligning the payload of the first DCI with the payload of one of the second DCIs according to a format of the first DCI ([0040] DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by the G-RNTI for PTM scheme 1 may be regarded as the same as a DCI format with a CRC scrambled by the UE-specific RNTI (hereinafter, taking C-RNTI as an example for simplicity) when a UE performs the DCI size alignment procedure; [0041] an additional DCI size alignment procedure may be required combined with the current DCI size alignment procedure (which is specified in the relevant 3GPP specification), so as to align the size of DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by different RNTIs; [0043] Step 1: the size of a DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI may be determined; [0045] Step 2: the size of a DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI may be determined; [0046] Step 3: when the total number of different C-RNTI DCI sizes and the G-RNTI DCI size configured to be monitored is more than 3 for the serving cell, the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the G-RNTI and the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the C-RNTI may be aligned according to one or more of the following methods).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Lei and Wang, specifically Lei teaches aligning the payload of the first DCI with the payload of one of the second DCIs according to the format of the first DCI comprises: determining that the format of the first DCI is format 1_0,and determining a size of a FDRA field in the first DCI according to a number of RBs contained in a CORESET # 0 or a number of RBs contained in an initial DL BWP; and determining that the payload of the first DCI is different from a payload of a second DCI scrambled by a RNTI other than the C-RNTI, and performing at least one of: adding a padding bit to the first DCI, adding an appended bit after all effective information fields of the first DCI, or performing truncation on a part of the information fields, to align the payload of the first DCI with the payload of the second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI ([0041] When the total number of different C-RNTI DCI sizes and the G-RNTI DCI size configured to be monitored is more than “3” for the serving cell, an additional DCI size alignment procedure may be required combined with the current DCI size alignment procedure (which is specified in the relevant 3GPP specification), so as to align the size of DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by different RNTIs; [0045] Step 2: the size of a DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI may be determined according to, for example, Table 1 as shown above, where NRBDL,BWP is set as the number of RBs within the initial DL BWP if CORESET 0 is not configured on the serving cell or set as the number of RBs within CORESET 0 if CORESET 0 is configured; [0046] Step 3: when the total number of different C-RNTI DCI sizes and the G-RNTI DCI size configured to be monitored is more than 3 for the serving cell, the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the G-RNTI and the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the C-RNTI may be aligned according to one or more of the following methods; [0047] when the payload size of the DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI prior to padding or size alignment (e.g., the size determined in above step 1) is smaller than that of the DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI for scheduling the same serving cell (e.g., the size determined in above step 2), a number of padding bits (e.g., a number of bit “0”) may be generated for the DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI until its payload size equals that of the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the C-RNTI; [0048] a number of padding bits may be generated as the most significant bits (MSBs) of the FDRA field of the DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI until the size of the FDRA field of the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the G-RNTI equals that of the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the C-RNTI (or until the payload sizes of the two DCI formats are the same); [0049] a number of padding bits may be generated at the beginning or at the end of the DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI until the payload size of the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the G-RNTI (i.e., after padding) equals that of the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the C-RNTI).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Lei and Wang, specifically Lei teaches aligning the payload of the first DCI with the payload of one of the second DCIs according to the format of the first DCI comprises one of: determining that the payload of the first DCI is smaller than the payload of one of the second DCIs, and adding a padding bit to the first DCI; determining that the payload of the first DCI is smaller than the payload of one of the second DCIs, and adding an appended bit after an information field of the first DCI; or determining that the payload of the first DCI is greater than the payload of one of the second DCIs, and performing truncation on the first DCI ([0045] Step 2: the size of a DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI may be determined according to, for example, Table 1 as shown above, where NRBDL,BWP is set as the number of RBs within the initial DL BWP if CORESET 0 is not configured on the serving cell or set as the number of RBs within CORESET 0 if CORESET 0 is configured. It should be appreciated by persons skilled in the art that the sequence of steps 1 and 2 may be changed, without departing from the spirit and scope of the disclosure; [0046] Step 3: when the total number of different C-RNTI DCI sizes and the G-RNTI DCI size configured to be monitored is more than 3 for the serving cell, the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the G-RNTI and the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the C-RNTI may be aligned according to one or more of the following methods; [0047] when the payload size of the DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI prior to padding or size alignment (e.g., the size determined in above step 1) is smaller than that of the DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI for scheduling the same serving cell (e.g., the size determined in above step 2), a number of padding bits (e.g., a number of bit “0”) may be generated for the DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI until its payload size equals that of the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the C-RNTI).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Lei and Wang, specifically Lei teaches adding the padding bit to the first DCI or adding the appended bit after the information field of the first DCI comprises: adding the padding bit in a FDRA field of the first DCl; or wherein performing truncation on the first DCI comprises: performing truncation on a FDRA field in the first DCI ([0048] a number of padding bits may be generated as the most significant bits (MSBs) of the FDRA field of the DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI until the size of the FDRA field of the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the G-RNTI equals that of the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the C-RNTI (or until the payload sizes of the two DCI formats are the same)).
Regarding Claim 20, Lei teaches a method for aligning downlink control information (DCI), performed by a terminal, comprising:
determining a mode for aligning a payload of a first DCI with a payload of one of second DCIs according to a classification mode of a size of the first DCI, wherein the first DCI is configured to schedule a multicast-broadcast scheduling (MBS) service, and the second DCI is configured to schedule a service other than the MBS service ([0111] the BS may determine a size of a first DCI format according to the first frequency region. The CRC of the first DCI format may be scrambled by a first RNTI. For example, the first DCI format may be DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI; [0112] Other DCI formats, e.g., DCI format 1_1 or DCI format 1_2 can also be used as the group-common DCI format for multicast transmission. When DCI format 1_1 or DCI format 1_2 is used as the group-common DCI format for multicast transmission, the corresponding DCI size alignment between the DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI and the DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI are the same as the below steps with the assumption of DCI format 1_0; [0113] the BS may determine a size of a second DCI format according to a second frequency region ... the second DCI format may be DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI; [0114] in response to the size of the first DCI format being inequal to that of the second DCI format, the BS may adjust the size of the first DCI format until the size of the first DCI format equals the size of the second DCI format. For example, the BS may perform a DCI size alignment as described above to align the size of the first DCI format with that of the second DCI format before transmitting the first DCI format; [0041] an additional DCI size alignment procedure may be required combined with the current DCI size alignment procedure (which is specified in the relevant 3GPP specification), so as to align the size of DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by different RNTIs; [0043] Step 1: the size of a DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI may be determined; [0045] Step 2: the size of a DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI may be determined; [0046] Step 3: when the total number of different C-RNTI DCI sizes and the G-RNTI DCI size configured to be monitored is more than 3 for the serving cell, the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the G-RNTI and the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the C-RNTI may be aligned according to one or more of the following methods),
wherein determining the mode for aligning the payload of the first DCI with the payload of one of the second DCIs according to the classification mode of the size of the first DCI comprises: determining that the classification mode of the size of the first DCI is classifying the first DCI as a DCI scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) other than the C-RNTI, and determining to align the payload of the first DCI with a payload of a second DCI ([0111] the BS may determine a size of a first DCI format according to the first frequency region. The CRC of the first DCI format may be scrambled by a first RNTI. For example, the first DCI format may be DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI; [0112] Other DCI formats, e.g., DCI format 1_1 or DCI format 1_2 can also be used as the group-common DCI format for multicast transmission. When DCI format 1_1 or DCI format 1_2 is used as the group-common DCI format for multicast transmission, the corresponding DCI size alignment between the DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI and the DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI are the same as the below steps with the assumption of DCI format 1_0; [0113] the BS may determine a size of a second DCI format according to a second frequency region ... the second DCI format may be DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI; [0114] in response to the size of the first DCI format being inequal to that of the second DCI format, the BS may adjust the size of the first DCI format until the size of the first DCI format equals the size of the second DCI format. For example, the BS may perform a DCI size alignment as described above to align the size of the first DCI format with that of the second DCI format before transmitting the first DCI format; [0041] an additional DCI size alignment procedure may be required combined with the current DCI size alignment procedure (which is specified in the relevant 3GPP specification), so as to align the size of DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by different RNTIs; [0043] Step 1: the size of a DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI may be determined; [0045] Step 2: the size of a DCI format 1_0 with a CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI may be determined; [0046] Step 3: when the total number of different C-RNTI DCI sizes and the G-RNTI DCI size configured to be monitored is more than 3 for the serving cell, the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the G-RNTI and the DCI format 1_0 with the CRC scrambled by the C-RNTI may be aligned according to one or more of the following methods).
However, Lei does not teach determining to align the payload of the first DCI with a payload of a second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches determining to align the payload of the first DCI with a payload of a second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI ([0168] the DCI format M_0 may be determined to be used for scheduling the group common PDSCH for the broadcast service if at least one of specific conditions is met ... [0170] The DCI format M_0 is with CRC scrambled by a MCCH-RNTI. [0171] The DCI format M_0 is with CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI included in a MTCH configuration. ... [0173] In some implementations, the DCI format M_0 may be determined to be used for scheduling the group common PDSCH for the multicast service if at least one of specific conditions is met ... [0175] The DCI format M_0 is with CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI for a multicast service provided via dedicated signaling; [0214] Each G-RNTI may be associated with a DCI format. The UE may determine the DCI format of a detected DCI by the G-RNTI that is used to scramble the CRC of the DCI. ... Since the UE may only be configured with either the DCI format M_0 or the DCI format M_1 to be applied for the MBS session, the UE may (be able to) determine the DCI format according to the G-RNTI applied for scrambling the CRC of the scheduling DCI; [0198] to align the sizes of a DCI format M_0 and a DCI format 1_0 in a CSS, zeros may be padded to the DCI format M_0 until the sizes of the DCI format M_0 is the same as the size of the DCI format 1_0 ... if the size of the DCI format M_0 is larger than the size of the DCI format 1_0, the MSB bits of an FDRA field in the DCI format M_0 may be truncated until the size of the DCI format M_0 is the same as the size of the DCI format 1_0; [0082] the DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by P-RNTI; [0092] the DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by SI-RNTI; [0101] the DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by RA-RNTI; [0109] the DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by TC-RNTI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Wang’s method with Lei’s methos so that the same DCI size budget (e.g., as discussed in Rel-15 NR) may be kept to avoid increasing UE complexity. As such, the procedure for DCI size alignment should be defined considering the DCI format M_0 and the DCI format M_1 (Wang [0196]). Thus, by aligning the DCI format scrambled by G-RNTI with the DCI format scrambled by various RNTIs (i.e., P-RNTI, SI-RNTI, RA-RNTI or TC-RNTI, in addition to C-RNTI), the size budget can still be maintained to satisfy the 3GPP Specifications.
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Lei and Wang, specifically Lei teaches determining the mode for aligning the payload of the first DCI with the payload of one of the second DCIs according to the classification mode of the size of the first DCI comprises one of: determining that the classification mode of the size of the first DCI is classifying the first DCI as a DCI scrambled by a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI), and determining to align the payload of the first DCI with a payload of a second DCI transmitted in a common search space (CSS); determining that the classification mode of the size of the first DCI is classifying the first DCI as a DCI scrambled by a C-RNTI, and determining to align the payload of the first DCI with a payload of a second DCI transmitted in a user equipment (UE)-specific search space (USS); or
determining that the classification mode of the size of the first DCI is classifying the first DCI as a DCI scrambled by a C-RNTI, and determining a second DCI aligned with the first DCI according to a format of the first DCI ([0033] According to 3GPP release 15 (R15) and release 16 (R16), a “3+1” DCI size budget should be satisfied. That is, for a cell, the total number of different DCI sizes with a C-RNTI (hereinafter, “C-RNTI DCI size”) is no more than 3).
Regarding Claim 22, Lei does not teach determining the second DCI aligned with the first DCI according the format of the first DCI comprises one of: determining that the format of the first DCI is format 1_0,and determining that the second DCI whose payload is aligned with the payload of the first DCI is a second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI; determining that the format of the first DCI is format 1 1 or format 1_2, and a current cell is configured with a second DCI having a same format as the first DCI, and determining that the second DCI whose payload is aligned with the payload of the first DCI is a second DCI scrambled by the C-RNTI; or determining that the format of the first DCI is format 1 1 or format 1 2, and the current cell is not configured with a second DCI with a same format as the first DCI, and determining that the second DCI whose payload is aligned with the payload of the first DCI is a specified second DCI, wherein the specified second DCI is a DCI in format 1_1 or format 1_2.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches determining the second DCI aligned with the first DCI according the format of the first DCI comprises one of: determining that the format of the first DCI is format 1_0,and determining that the second DCI whose payload is aligned with the payload of the first DCI is a second DCI scrambled by the RNTI other than the C-RNTI; determining that the format of the first DCI is format 1 1 or format 1_2, and a current cell is configured with a second DCI having a same format as the first DCI, and determining that the second DCI whose payload is aligned with the payload of the first DCI is a second DCI scrambled by the C-RNTI; or determining that the format of the first DCI is format 1 1 or format 1 2, and the current cell is not configured with a second DCI with a same format as the first DCI, and determining that the second DCI whose payload is aligned with the payload of the first DCI is a specified second DCI, wherein the specified second DCI is a DCI in format 1_1 or format 1_2 ([0170] The DCI format M_0 is with CRC scrambled by a MCCH-RNTI. [0171] The DCI format M_0 is with CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI included in a MTCH configuration. ... [0173] In some implementations, the DCI format M_0 may be determined to be used for scheduling the group common PDSCH for the multicast service if at least one of specific conditions is met ... [0175] The DCI format M_0 is with CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI for a multicast service provided via dedicated signaling; [0214] Each G-RNTI may be associated with a DCI format. The UE may determine the DCI format of a detected DCI by the G-RNTI that is used to scramble the CRC of the DCI. ... Since the UE may only be configured with either the DCI format M_0 or the DCI format M_1 to be applied for the MBS session, the UE may (be able to) determine the DCI format according to the G-RNTI applied for scrambling the CRC of the scheduling DCI; [0198] to align the sizes of a DCI format M_0 and a DCI format 1_0 in a CSS, zeros may be padded to the DCI format M_0 until the sizes of the DCI format M_0 is the same as the size of the DCI format 1_0 ... if the size of the DCI format M_0 is larger than the size of the DCI format 1_0, the MSB bits of an FDRA field in the DCI format M_0 may be truncated until the size of the DCI format M_0 is the same as the size of the DCI format 1_0).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Wang’s method with Lei’s methos so that the same DCI size budget (e.g., as discussed in Rel-15 NR) may be kept to avoid increasing UE complexity. As such, the procedure for DCI size alignment should be defined considering the DCI format M_0 and the DCI format M_1 (Wang [0196]). Thus, by aligning the DCI format scrambled by G-RNTI with the DCI format scrambled by various RNTIs (i.e., P-RNTI, SI-RNTI, RA-RNTI or TC-RNTI, in addition to C-RNTI), the size budget can still be maintained to satisfy the 3GPP Specifications.
Regarding Claim 51, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 1, in addition to a processor and a memory storing a computer program (Lei [0126]-[0128]).
Regarding Claim 52, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 20, in addition to a processor and a memory storing a computer program (Lei [0126]-[0128]).
Claims 8, 10, 13-14, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Wang et al. and Kittichokechai et al. (US 2021/0160035).
Regarding Claim 8, Lei teaches determining that the number of RBs contained in the CORESET # 0 is greater than a number of RBs contained in a common frequency resource (CFR), and determining FDRA information according to N highest bits or N lowest bits in the first DCI;
determining that the number of RBs contained in the initial DL BWP is greater than the number of RBs contained in the CFR, and determining the FDRA information according to the N highest bits or the N lowest bits in the first DCI, wherein N is a positive integer;
determining that the number of RBs contained in the CORESET # 0 is less than a number of RBs contained in a CFR, and scaling a frequency-domain scheduling granularity of the first DCI; or
determining that the number of RBs contained in the initial DL BWP is less than the number of RBs contained in the CFR ([0063] In FIG. 3, the bandwidth of the common frequency resource 330 is wider than that of the initial DL BWP 310 of the UE. In other words, the number of RBs within the common frequency resource 330 is larger than that within the initial DL BWP 310).
However, the combination of Lei and Wang does not teach scaling the frequency-domain scheduling granularity of the first DCI.
In an analogous art, Kittichokechai teaches scaling the frequency-domain scheduling granularity of the first DCI ([0049] select the RBG size scaling factor to make the size of new DCI format align with the size of DCI format 0-0/1-0. Further still, the present disclosure also teaches a method to configure the RBG size to make the size of new DCI format align with the size of DCI format 0-0/1-0).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Kittichokechai’s method with Lei’s methos in order to incorporate the scaling of the first DCI resource blocks into the network device aligning DCIs in order to reduce latency and error rates, thereby providing benefits including improved user experience and extended battery life through improved efficiency (Kittichokechai [0171]).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Lei and Wang does not teach scaling the frequency-domain scheduling granularity of the first DCI comprises one of: determining a scaling factor according to a ratio of the number of RBs contained in the CFR to the number of RBs contained in the CORESET # 0; or determining a scaling factor according to a ratio of the number of RBs contained in the CFR to the number of RBs contained in the DL BWP.
In an analogous art, Kittichokechai teaches scaling the frequency-domain scheduling granularity of the first DCI comprises one of: determining a scaling factor according to a ratio of the number of RBs contained in the CFR to the number of RBs contained in the CORESET # 0; or determining a scaling factor according to a ratio of the number of RBs contained in the CFR to the number of RBs contained in the DL BWP ([0058] Since the size of DCI formats 0-0/1-0 depends on the sizes of the initial bandwidth part or the active bandwidth part, the alignment of the size of the new DCI format to the size of DCI formats 0-0/1-0 is not always fixed. Rather, it depends on the size of the initial bandwidth part or the active bandwidth part determining the size of (i.e., number of bits in) the frequency-domain allocation field; [0064]; [0082] the DCI size alignment is achieved by adjusting the frequency-domain allocation by selecting the smallest M (RBG scaling factor) that gives frequency-domain allocation reduction larger or equal to L-K (additional bits required to align the DCI size). In this case, the value of M can be implicitly determined).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Kittichokechai’s method with Lei’s methos in order to incorporate the scaling of the first DCI resource blocks into the network device aligning DCIs in order to reduce latency and error rates, thereby providing benefits including improved user experience and extended battery life through improved efficiency (Kittichokechai [0171]).
Regarding Claim 13, Lei teaches determining that the number of RBs contained in the CORESET # 0 is greater than a number of RBs contained in a CFR, or that the number of RBs contained in the initial DL BWP is greater than the number of RBs contained in the CFR, and determining FDRA information according to N highest bits or N lowest bits in the first DCI, wherein N is a positive integer; or determining that the number of RBs contained in the CORESET # 0 is less than the number of RBs contained in the CFR, or that the number of RBs contained in the initial DL BWP is less than the number of RBs contained in the CFR ([0063] In FIG. 3, the bandwidth of the common frequency resource 330 is wider than that of the initial DL BWP 310 of the UE. In other words, the number of RBs within the common frequency resource 330 is larger than that within the initial DL BWP 310).
However, the combination of Lei and Wang does not teach scaling a frequency-domain scheduling granularity of the first DCI.
In an analogous art, Kittichokechai teaches scaling a frequency-domain scheduling granularity of the first DCI ([0049] select the RBG size scaling factor to make the size of new DCI format align with the size of DCI format 0-0/1-0. Further still, the present disclosure also teaches a method to configure the RBG size to make the size of new DCI format align with the size of DCI format 0-0/1-0).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Kittichokechai’s method with Lei’s methos in order to incorporate the scaling of the first DCI resource blocks into the network device aligning DCIs in order to reduce latency and error rates, thereby providing benefits including improved user experience and extended battery life through improved efficiency (Kittichokechai [0171]).
Regarding Claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 10.
Regarding Claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al. (US 2023/0247633) teaches methods for managing multicast and unicast communications.
Lin et al. (US 2022/0304046) teaches methods for switching of PDCCH monitoring capability.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YU-WEN CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413