DETAILED ACTION
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 05/11/2026, claims 1, 4-8, 17, and 20 have been amended, and claims 2, 3, 18, and 19 are cancelled. Claims 1, 4-17, and 20 are pending and under examination.
Although Applicant indicates claim 5 is original, the claim has been amended.
Drawings
The replacement drawings submitted on 05/11/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The attempt to incorporate subject matter into this application by reference to PCT/CN2022/082323 is ineffective because the incorporation by reference was filed after the PCT date of 03/22/2022, which considered the filing date of the US application. As such, the incorporation by reference statement must be removed, as it introduces new matter by being filed after the filing date of the application.
See MPEP 608.01(p) I B: For the incorporation by reference to be effective as a proper safeguard, the incorporation by reference statement must be filed at the time of filing of the later-filed application. An incorporation by reference statement added after an application s filing date is not effective because no new matter can be added to an application after its filing date and MPEP 1893.03(b): An international application designating the U.S. has two stages (international and national) with the filing date being the same in both stages. Often the date of entry into the national stage is confused with the filing date. It should be borne in mind that the filing date of the international stage application is also the filing date for the national stage application. Specifically, 35 U.S.C. 363 provides that an international application designating the United States shall have the effect, from its international filing date under Article 11 of the treaty, of a national application for patent regularly filed in the Patent and Trademark Office as well as:
PCT Article 11(3) - ...an international filing date shall have the effect of a regular national application in each designated State as of the international filing date, which date shall be considered to be the actual filing date in each designated State. The specification amendment filed on 02/09/2024 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: the incorporation by reference to PCT/CN2022/082323.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 7, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 110710931A, cited on 04/21/2025 IDS, hereinafter Zhang), in view of Jung et al. (US 2012/0011677, cited on 10/20/2025 IDS, hereinafter Jung) and Shao (CN 109259712A, cited on 04/21/2025 IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang disclose a base station (fig. 12, cleaning base), configured to clean a cleaning system of a cleaning robot, and comprising:
a base station body (fig. 12, base main body 21); and
a cleaning assembly, movably disposed on the base station body, and comprising a first cleaning member, wherein the cleaning system of the cleaning robot is cleaned by the first cleaning member interfering with the cleaning system of the cleaning robot (Zhang English translation, p. 3:21-24 and 5:4-15 and annotated Zhang fig. 12 below, a scraper 22 [corresponds to the recited first cleaning member] makes a reciprocating movement and forms interference with a mopping component of a cleaning robot to clean the mopping component),
wherein the cleaning assembly comprises: a support and a driver (annotated Zhang fig. 12 above and Zhang English translation, p. 26:15-21, a cleaning assembly comprises a structure supporting the scraper 22 and a drive motor assembly 26 [corresponds to the recited driver]. Zhang does not disclose whether the drive motor assembly comprises a gear, but it should have a gear or equivalents in order to drive a transmission mechanism 25), and
wherein the first cleaning member comprises a cleaning member body, the cleaning member body is adapted to interfere with the cleaning system (see annotated Zhang fig. 12 above and Zhang English translation p. 5:4-15, the scraper 22 [corresponds to the recited cleaning member body] forms interference with the mopping component of the cleaning robot to clean the mopping component), but does not disclose the first cleaning member floats up and down relative to the base station body, and the driver is configured to drive the support to move relative to the base station body along a first direction.
Jung teaches, in an analogous cleaning base field of endeavor, the first cleaning member floats up and down relative to the base station body (annotated Jung fig. 9C below and ¶ 0189, a maintenance station 60 [corresponds to the recited base station] comprises a cleaning member 95 [corresponds to the recited first cleaning member] which may move upward when a robot cleaner docks to the maintenance station 60 to clean brush unit 41 of the robot cleaner and move downward when the robot cleaner is released from the maintenance station), and the driver is configured to drive the support to move relative to the base station body along a first direction (annotated Jung fig. 9C above, a support of the cleaning member 95 would move relative to the maintenance station 60. A vertical direction shown by an arrow can be designated as the recited first direction. Alternatively, Jung discloses a cover 65 horizontally slidable on a surface of the maintenance station 60, ¶ 0165 and fig. 5C. Jung teaches a support structure which can move relative to the base station body. The cleaning assembly can be incorporated with the sliding cover to teach the recited movable support).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning assembly of Zhang to provide the first cleaning member that floats up and down and the support as taught by Jung in order not to expose the cleaning member when the robot cleaner is not with the base station. It reduces possibility of damaging the cleaning member when it is not in use. Additionally, the support helps the cleaning brush to be securely seated in the base station.
Zhang as modified by Jung does not disclose the first cleaning member also comprises an elastic supporting portion, and the supporting portion connects the cleaning member body and the support.
Shao teaches, in a cleaning device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the first cleaning member also comprises an elastic supporting portion, and the supporting portion connects the cleaning member body and the support (figs. 4 and 5, and Shao English translation, p. 7:15-8:1, a blade 223 [corresponds to the recited cleaning member body] of a scraping mechanism 22 [corresponds to the recited first cleaning member] is connected to a fixing case 4 [corresponds to the recited support] via an elastic connection piece 222 [corresponds to the recited elastic supporting portion]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first cleaning member of Zhang as modified by Jung to provide the supporting portion as taught by Shao so that the cleaning member body/blade is flexibly connected to the support. The flexibility provides better scraping capability to the scraper in cleaning an object.
Annotated Zhang Fig. 12
Annotated Jung Fig. 9C
Regarding claim 6, Zhang as modified by Jung and Shao teaches the base station as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein there is one elastic supporting portion; or there are at least two elastic supporting portions, and the at least two elastic supporting portions are distributed at intervals along a length direction of the cleaning member body (Shao fig. 5, there are two connection pieces 222 [corresponds to the recited elastic supporting portion] which are distributed at an interval along a length direction of the blade 223 [corresponds to the recited cleaning member body]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first cleaning member of Zhang as modified by Jung and Shao to provide the at least two elastic supporting portions as taught by Shao in order to connect the blade/cleaning member body securely to the support.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang as modified by Jung and Shao teaches the base station as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein a gap is provided between both ends of the cleaning member body and the support (see annotated Zhang fig. 12 for the gap).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang as modified by Jung and Shao teaches the base station as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose there are a plurality of cleaning assemblies, and the plurality of cleaning assemblies are distributed at intervals along moving directions of the cleaning assemblies.
Jung discloses one cleaning member 95c, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning assembly of Jung to duplicate and provide a plurality of cleaning assemblies so that a brush unit 41 of Jung can be cleaned quickly. The plurality of cleaning assemblies can be arranged vertically for the Jung’s maintenance station 60 for scraping dust and debris off the rolling brush. It has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang disclose a cleaning robot system, comprising:
a cleaning robot, comprising a cleaning system (figs. 1 and 19, a cleaning robot comprises a mopping component 74); and
a base station (fig. 12, cleaning base), comprising:
a base station body (fig. 12, base main body 21); and
a cleaning assembly, movably disposed on the base station body, and comprising a first cleaning member, wherein the cleaning system of the cleaning robot is cleaned by the first cleaning member interfering with the cleaning system of the cleaning robot (Zhang English translation, p. 3:21-24 and 5:4-15 and annotated Zhang fig. 12 above, a scraper 22 [corresponds to the recited first cleaning member] makes a reciprocating movement and forms interference with a mopping component of a cleaning robot to clean the mopping component),
wherein the cleaning assembly comprises: a support and a driver (annotated Zhang fig. 12 above and Zhang English translation, p. 26:15-21, a cleaning assembly comprises a structure supporting the scraper 22 and a drive motor assembly 26 [corresponds to the recited driver]. Zhang does not disclose whether the drive motor assembly comprises a gear, but it should have a gear or equivalents in order to drive a transmission mechanism 25), and
wherein the first cleaning member comprises a cleaning member body, the cleaning member body is adapted to interfere with the cleaning system (see annotated Zhang fig. 12 above and Zhang English translation p. 5:4-15, the scraper 22 [corresponds to the recited cleaning member body] forms interference with the mopping component of the cleaning robot to clean the mopping component), but does not disclose the first cleaning member floats up and down relative to the base station body, and the driver is configured to drive the support to move relative to the base station body along a first direction.
Jung teaches, in an analogous cleaning base field of endeavor, the first cleaning member floats up and down relative to the base station body (annotated Jung fig. 9C above and ¶ 0189, a maintenance station 60 [corresponds to the recited base station] comprises a cleaning member 95 [corresponds to the recited first cleaning member] which may move upward when a robot cleaner docks to the maintenance station 60 to clean brush unit 41 of the robot cleaner and move downward when the robot cleaner is released from the maintenance station), and the driver is configured to drive the support to move relative to the base station body along a first direction (annotated Jung fig. 9C above, a support of the cleaning member 95 would move relative to the maintenance station 60. A vertical direction shown by an arrow can be designated as the recited first direction. Alternatively, Jung discloses a cover 65 horizontally slidable on a surface of the maintenance station 60, ¶ 0165 and fig. 5C. Jung teaches a support structure which can move relative to the base station body. The cleaning assembly can be incorporated with the sliding cover to teach the recited movable support).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning assembly of Zhang to provide the first cleaning member that floats up and down and the support as taught by Jung in order not to expose the cleaning member when the robot cleaner is not with the base station. It reduces possibility of damaging the cleaning member when it is not in use. Additionally, the support helps the cleaning brush to be securely seated in the base station.
Zhang as modified by Jung does not disclose the first cleaning member also comprises an elastic supporting portion, and the supporting portion connects the cleaning member body and the support.
Shao teaches, in a cleaning device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the first cleaning member also comprises an elastic supporting portion, and the supporting portion connects the cleaning member body and the support (figs. 4 and 5, and Shao English translation, p. 7:15-8:1, a blade 223 [corresponds to the recited cleaning member body] of a scraping mechanism 22 [corresponds to the recited first cleaning member] is connected to a fixing case 4 [corresponds to the recited support] via an elastic connection piece 222 [corresponds to the recited elastic supporting portion]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first cleaning member of Zhang as modified by Jung to provide the supporting portion as taught by Shao so that the cleaning member body/blade is flexibly connected to the support. The flexibility provides better scraping capability to the scraper in cleaning an object.
Claims 4, 5, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Jung and Shao, as applied to claims 3 and 17 above respectively, and in further view of Chiu (US 2019/0134831).
Regarding claims 4 and 20, Zhang as modified by Jung and Shao teaches the base station as in the rejection of claims 3 and 17 respectively, wherein the elastic supporting portion comprises a first connecting section, a transition section, and a second connecting section connected in sequence, the second connecting section is provided at a bottom of the cleaning member body, the transition section is provided obliquely downward in a direction from the second connecting section to the first connecting section (see annotated Shao fig. 6 below. The second connection section of the connecting piece 222 is fixedly connected with a bottom of the blade 223 [corresponds to the recited cleaning member body] can be connected to a bottom of the cleaning member body. The transition section is provided obliquely from the second connecting section to the first connecting section).
Shao does not disclose explicitly the support is provided with a slot fitting the first connecting section. Fig. 5 of Shao shows an end of the connecting piece 222 [corresponds to the recited first connecting section] away from the blade 223 is attached to a body equivalent to the support, but it is not clear whether the connection is made by fitting into the slot.
Chiu teaches, in a cleaning device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the support is provided with a slot fitting the first connecting section (fig. 3, and end of a scraper blade 50 [equivalent to the supporting portion of the first cleaning member] is coupled to a holding member 20 [equivalent to the support] by fitting into a slot formed by holding portions 21, 31. The second connecting section of Shao can be combined with the slot of Chiu to be fitted with the support).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support of Zhang as modified by Jung and Shao to provide the slot as taught by Chiu in order to enable connection of the cleaning member/scraper to a holding body by simple means. It would allow easy replacement when the scraper wears out after repeated use.
Annotated Shao Fig. 6
Regarding claim 5, Zhang as modified by Jung, Shao, and Chiu teaches the base station as in the rejection of claim 4, wherein along a moving direction of the support relative to the base station body, the support is further provided with support seats located on both sides of the elastic supporting portion, and an end of the cleaning member body away from the elastic supporting portion is higher than the support seats (annotated Jung fig. 9B below, Jung discloses an another embodiment of cleaning assembly wherein the support is provided with support seats on both sides of a supporting portion of the cleaning member. The cleaning member body is taller than the support seats. As discussed above, Shao teaches the elastic supporting portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support of Zhang as modified by Jung, Shao, and Chiu to provide the support seats as taught by Jung. The support seats provide a holding place and a sliding track for a moving cleaning member.
Annotated Jung Fig. 9B
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Jung and Shao, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Yang et al. (CN 212465887U, cited on 03/19/2024 IDS, hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang as modified by Jung and Shao teaches the base station as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the cleaning assembly further comprises: a second cleaning member, disposed on the support with the first cleaning member, wherein the second cleaning member comprises a cleaning roller configured to interfere with the cleaning system, and the cleaning roller is rotatably provided relative to the support.
Yang teaches, in an analogous cleaning base field of endeavor, the cleaning assembly further comprises: a second cleaning member, disposed on the support and in parallel with the first cleaning member, wherein the second cleaning member comprises a cleaning roller configured to interfere with the cleaning system, and the cleaning roller is rotatably provided relative to the support (fig. 2 and Yang English translation, p. 5:37-6:14, a base 100 [corresponds to the recited base station] comprises a cleaning brush 200 [corresponds to the recited second cleaning member] in a cleaning groove 111 [corresponds to the recited support]. A driving member rotates the cleaning brush 200. In order to improve the cleaning ability, there can be a plurality of cleaning brush 200. Therefore, the cleaning brush 200 of Yang can be combined with the brush cleaning member 95C of Jung to be disposed together in the support).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base station of Zhang as modified by Jung and Shao to provide the second cleaning member as taught by Yang in order to improve the cleaning ability of the cleaning device (Yang English translation, p. 6:10-12).
Zhang as modified by Jung, Shao, and Yang does not disclose the second cleaning member is disposed in parallel with the first cleaning member. Yang teaches there can be two cleaning brushes but does not teach how they are arranged. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning members to dispose them in parallel. Two cleaning members arranged in a parallel position may be possible to use a common driving mechanism to drive the both cleaning members (Yang English translation, p. 6:13).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang as modified by Jung, Shao, and Yang teaches the base station as in the rejection of claim 8, wherein the cleaning assembly further comprises: a water outlet apparatus disposed on the support (annotated Zhang fig. 12 above and Zhang English translation, p. 26:15-18, the base main body 21 is provided with a nozzle 23 of the spray assembly [corresponds to the recited water outlet apparatus] on the support), but does not disclose the water outlet apparatus is disposed in parallel with the first cleaning member and the second cleaning member.
As discussed in the rejection of claim 8 above, Yang teaches there can be two cleaning members and they can be disposed in parallel with each other. Fig. 12 of Zhang shows the nozzle 23 is disposed along a length perpendicular to a length direction of the scraper 22 [corresponds to the recited cleaning member].
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning assembly to provide the water outlet apparatus disposed in perpendicular to the first and second cleaning members, instead of disposing it in parallel with the first and second cleaning members. Applicant has not disclosed that by doing so produces any unexpected results or is critical to the performance of the device. The nozzle of Zhang would perform equally as well by doing so, and because a person of ordinary skill in the art would readily dispose the water outlet apparatus perpendicular to the scraper/cleaning member as long as it sprays water to the cleaning system/mop/roller of a cleaning robot. The use of the nozzle is for wetting the cleaning system of the robot, thus direction of the water outlet apparatus is not important as long as it can spray water to wet the entire cleaning system of the cleaning robot.
Claims 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Jung and Shao, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Shimono et al. (JP H09225215A, cited on 04/21/2025 IDS, hereinafter Shimono).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang as modified by Jung and Shao teaches the base station as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the base station body comprises a cleaning tank disposed below the cleaning assembly (see annotated Zhang fig. 12 above for the water tank 27 [corresponds to the recited cleaning tank]), but does not disclose at least one side of the cleaning tank is provided with a sewage outlet; and the cleaning assembly further comprises a clearing member disposed toward a bottom of the cleaning tank, and the clearing member is configured to move debris in the cleaning tank closer to the sewage outlet.
Shimono teaches, in an analogous cleaning machine field of endeavor, at least one side of the cleaning tank is provided with a sewage outlet; and the cleaning assembly further comprises a clearing member disposed toward a bottom of the cleaning tank, and the clearing member is configured to move debris in the cleaning tank closer to the sewage outlet (figs. 1 and 2 and Shimono English translation, p. 4:1-3, a housing 1 [corresponds to the recited cleaning tank] is provided with a solid waste discharge pipe 9 [corresponds to the recited sewage outlet]; p. 3:31-35, scraper 6 [corresponds to the recited clearing member] is disposed toward a bottom of the housing. The scraper 6 moves solid waste toward an outer edge to the discharge pipe 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base station of Zhang as modified by Jung and Shao to provide the clearing member as taught by Shimono in order to clear the solid waste out of the housing (Shimono English translation, p. 5:14-17).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang as modified by Jung, Shao, and Shimono teaches the base station as in the rejection of claim 10, wherein the clearing member is located at a bottom of the support on a side away from the sewage outlet (Shimono, figs. 1-2, the scraper 6 is located at a bottom of a communicating section 30 of the housing 1 on a side away from the discharge pipe 9 [corresponds to the recited sewage outlet]. The scraper 6 of Shimono can be combined with Zhang to be disposed at the support of the base station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base station of Zhang as modified by Jung, Shao, and Shimono to provide the clearing member at the bottom of the support as taught by Shimono in order to scrape the solid waste accumulated at the bottom of the tank.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Jung, Shao, and Shimono, as applied to claim 10 above, and in further view of Van Der Kooi et al. (US 2015/0250367, hereinafter Van).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang as modified by Jung, Shao, and Shimono teaches the base station as in the rejection of claim 10, wherein the clearing member comprises an abutting portion adapted to abut against the bottom of the cleaning tank (Shimono, fig. 1, a lower body of the scraper 6 [corresponds to the recited clearing member] is an abutting portion which abuts against the bottom of the housing 1 [corresponds to the recited cleaning tank]), but does not disclose the clearing member also comprises a connecting portion, the connecting portion is connected to a support, and the abutting portion is a flexible member.
Van teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the clearing member comprises a connecting portion, the connecting portion is connected to a support, and the abutting portion is a flexible member (fig. 1 and ¶ 0099-0100, a cleaner comprises a squeegee 32 [corresponds to the recited clearing member] for scraping a floor surface. Examiner notes that the recited clearing member is a cleaning member which scrapes waste on a bottom surface. The squeegee 32 of Van performs practically the same function, and its composition and connection are applicable to the cleaning assembly of Zhang as modified by Jung and Shimono. The squeegee comprises a fixed end 31 [corresponds to the recited connecting portion] and a rubber lip 46 [corresponds to the recited abutting portion], and the fixed end 31 is connected to a housing 28 [equivalent to the recited support]. The rubber lip 46 is flexible).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clearing member of Zhang as modified by Jung, Shao, and Shimono to provide the connecting portion and the flexible abutting portion as taught by Van so that the clearing member/squeegee can touch the floor and sweep the waste on the floor completely (Van ¶ 0100).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang as modified by Jung, Shao, Shimono, and Van teaches the base station as in the rejection of claim 11, wherein at least two protruding structures are provided at intervals on a side of the abutting portion away from the sewage outlet (Van, figs. 1 and 7a and ¶ 0100, the squeegee 32 [corresponds to the recited clearing member] is provided with protrusions 50 [correspond to the recited protruding structures]. The multiple protrusions 50 are provided on a side of the rubber lip 46 [corresponds to the recited abutting portion] at an interval. The squeegee 32 of Van can be combined with Shimono to replace the scraper 6 so that the protrusions 50 are positioned away from the discharge pipe 9 [corresponds to the recited sewage outlet]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clearing member of Zhang as modified by Jung, Shao, Shimono, and Van to provide the at least two protruding structures as taught by Van. If the squeegee moves the floor to a direction opposite to the protrusions 50, the squeegee sweeps all wastes. If the squeegee moves to a direction where the protrusions 50 are disposed, the protrusions lift the squeegee to provide small openings on the floor for liquid and small debris to pass through. Thus, the protrusions 50 allows to conduct different types of sweeping depending on the sweeping directions (Van ¶ 0122).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang as modified by Jung, Shao, Shimono, and Van teaches the base station as in the rejection of claim 11, wherein a length of the abutting portion is equal to an in-tank width of the bottom of the cleaning tank (Shimono, fig. 1, a length of the abutting portion of the scraper 6 is equal to a width of the bottom of the tank represented by a communicating part 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clearing member of Zhang as modified by Jung, Shao, Shimono, and Van to provide its length of the abutting portion to be equal to the in-tank width as taught by Shimono so that the scraper/clearing member can sweep entire bottom floor of the tank for clearing the waste accumulated at the bottom of the tank.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Jung, Shao, Shimono, and Van, as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Chiu.
Regarding claim 15, Zhang as modified by Jung, Shao, Shimono, and Van teaches the base station as in the rejection of claim 11, but does not disclose one of the connecting portion and the support is provided with a limiting portion, and the other of the connecting portion and the support is provided with a positioning portion adapted to the limiting portion; wherein the limiting portion comprises at least one of a clamping hook and a magnetic member, and the positioning portion comprises at least one of a slot and a magnetic attraction member.
Van discloses the fixed end 31 of the squeegee 32 [corresponds to the recited connecting portion of the clearing member] is connected to the housing 28 [equivalent to the recited support], but does not disclose how they are connected in detail.
Chiu teaches, in a cleaning device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, one of the connecting portion and the support is provided with a limiting portion, and the other of the connecting portion and the support is provided with a positioning portion adapted to the limiting portion; wherein the limiting portion comprises at least one of a clamping hook and a magnetic member, and the positioning portion comprises at least one of a slot and a magnetic attraction member (annotated Chiu fig. 4 below, a scraping tool has a blade 50 [corresponds to the recited clearing member] attached to a holding portion 21 [corresponds to the recited support]. The holding portion 21 comprises a protrusion [corresponds to the recited clamping hook] at a limiting portion, and the connecting portion of the blade 50 should have a slot at a positioning portion for the protrusion of the holding portion 21 to pass through as shown in fig. 4 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the clearing member of Zhang as modified by Jung, Shao, Shimono, and Van to provide the recited connecting means as taught by Chiu so that the blade 50 is securely coupled to the holding portion 21. The scraping blade would experience a large force as it scrapes a surface, thus it needs to be coupled to the holding portion securely.
Annotated Chiu Fig. 4
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Zhang, Jung, and Shao do not teach or suggest the first cleaning member comprising an elastic support portion wherein the supporting portion connect a cleaning member body and a support. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant asserts an elastic connection piece 222 of Shao does not address any technical problems of Jung because the elastic connection piece of Shao is used for preventing a rigid scraper from scratching a rigid object surface. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the elastic connection piece of Shao connects the recited cleaning member body and the recited support, and its elastic property helps preventing the cleaning member body from scratching the surface to be cleaned, and avoiding damage of the object being cleaned which would reasonably be a concern when applied to the cleaning structures in the combination with Zhang and Jung. Therefore, there is motivation to combine the Shao’s elastic connection piece with the base station of Zhang and with the cleaning member of Jung.
Regarding the specification objection, the filing date of the instant US application is considered to be the PCT date, which is 03/22/2022. Even if the specifications are identical, the incorporation by reference made on 02/29/2024 is not allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723