Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim repeats the device components in lines 3-6 and 7-10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-15 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al. (US 20230371005 A1) in view of FREDA et al. (US 20230063472 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Cai discloses “A method for performing wireless communication by a first device” (See [0007] a communication method applied to a first terminal), “the method comprising: obtaining information related to a resource pool” (See [0155] The terminal 100 selects the sidelink resource from one or more sidelink resources usually included in a resource pool. [0156] when the terminal 100 is in the network coverage area, the resource pool is a resource broadcast by the network device in system information. When the terminal 100 is outside the network coverage area, the resource pool is a resource preconfigured for the terminal 100); “obtaining one or more sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configurations” (See [0255] the second terminal sends DRX configuration information of the second terminal to the first terminal. The DRX configuration information includes information used to determine the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal); “selecting a destination having a logical channel with a highest priority from among logical channels having available SL data” (See [0351] The destination may be a destination selected by the first terminal for an SL grant according to an LCP process, specifically a destination of which at least one of a logical channel (logical channel, LCH) and a MAC CE has a highest priority in all logical channels and MAC CEs that meet a condition. The condition includes that SL data in the destination is transmittable); “generating a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) based on at least one logical channel belonging to the destination” (See [0163] That the sidelink HARQ entity obtains a to-be-sent MAC PDU from a multiplexing and assembly entity. The multiplexing and assembly entity allocates a resource to the selected logical channel. The rule for selecting the destination is that a priority of at least one of the logical channels and a MAC CE of the destination is highest in all logical channels and MAC CEs that meet a condition. [0373] a destination of which at least one of a logical channel (logical channel, LCH) and a MAC CE has a highest priority in all logical channels and MAC CEs that meet the condition is selected from destinations with SL DRX-active time that at least one of the initial transmission SL grant and the retransmission SL grant is in. If no destination meets the condition, no MAC PDU is generated. Note: This means that a MAC PDU is generated when the destination meets the condition); “determining candidate resources in the resource pool within a selection window based on sensing” (See [0224] the one or more sidelink resources may be obtained by the first terminal from a resource pool through sensing/ listening. [0253] the first terminal determines the s candidate resources from sidelink resources as the candidate resource set based on a resource selection window of the first terminal); “and selecting a transmission resource for SL transmission to a second device related to the destination from among the candidate resources” (See [0353] if the target destination is identified by a layer-2 ID of the second terminal, the first terminal may determine that a sidelink resource needs to be selected to send the data to the second terminal. Then, the first terminal selects, from the one or more sidelink resources based on the SL DRX-active time of the second terminal, the sidelink resource located in the SL DRX-active time as the first sidelink resource), “wherein the transmission resource is selected, based on the PDB” (See [0176] It may be understood that [n+T1, n+T2] is a resource selection window of the terminal. [0177] If a minimum value of T2 is less than a remaining (remaining) packet delay budget (PDB) (in units of slots), a value of T2 depends on implementation of the terminal. If T2 min≤T2≤P is met, P represents the remaining PDB. Otherwise, T2 is equal to the remaining PDB. The remaining PDB is provided by the MAC entity for the PHY layer. Note: The resource selection is based on the PDB), “within a SL DRX active time of a SL DRX configuration of the second device” (See [0320] The medium access control entity selects, from the one or more sidelink resources, the first sidelink resource located in the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal [0353] Then, the first terminal selects, from the one or more sidelink resources based on the SL DRX-active time of the second terminal, the sidelink resource located in the SL DRX-active time as the first sidelink resource).
Cai does not explicitly disclose that the PDB is based on PQI, and that the SL DRX configuration of the second device is selected based on the logical channel with the highest priority.
However, FREDA discloses “determining a packet delay budget (PDB) based on a PC5 5G Quality of Service (QoS) Identifier (5QI) (PQI)” (See [0091] the QoS over PC5 is supported with the ProSe Per-Packet Priority (PPPP). Application layer is allowed to mark the packets with the PPPP, which indicates the required QoS level. Certain enhancements were added, e.g. by allowing deriving of Packet Delay Budget (PDB) from the PPPP. [0102] The 5QI should then be used in the similar manner as that of the PPPP, i.e. to be tagged with each of the packet. 5QI is able to represent all the characteristics needed for the PC5 broadcast operation, e.g. latency, priority, reliability, etc. A group of V2X broadcast specific 5QIs (i.e. VQIs) could be defined for PC5 use. [0280] The WTRU may select the minimum/maximum value, may select based on some (pre)configured or predefined table, or may select based on a specific QoS value (e.g. select PQI for which the latency is minimum)); “and wherein the SL DRX configuration of the second device is selected based on the logical channel with the highest priority” (See [0307] the WTRU may be configured with multiple DRX configurations for each L2 ID. The WTRU may select one of the multiple DRX configurations based on the QoS information received from that L2 ID. [0336] a WTRU may receive a priority associated to each individual aspect (e.g. L2 ID) and may select the DRX configuration associated with the aspect (e.g. L2 ID) having the highest priority. [0682] when determining the destination L2 ID to associate with a grant that occurs in the active time of one or more particular peer WTRU, the TX WTRU may determine the L2 destination ID(s) having the highest priority logical channel with data available for transmission among all L2 destination ID(s) which have DRX configured and in which the grant falls into the active time of that L2 destination ID(s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Cai with the teachings of FREDA, and the motivation to do so would have been to ensure timely reception of latency critical traffic.
Regarding claim 2,
Cai in view of FREDA discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes information related to a SL DRX timer” (See Cai [244] The DRX configuration information includes information used to determine the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal. For example, the information used to determine the discontinuous reception-active time of the sidelink of the second terminal is a discontinuous reception related parameter of the second terminal, for example, a DRX cycle, duration of the drx-onDurationTimer-SL, duration of the drx-InactivityTimer-SL, duration of the drx-RetransmissionTimer-SL, and a DRX start offset).
Regarding claim 3,
Cai in view of FREDA discloses “The method of claim 2, wherein the SL DRX timer includes at least one of a SL DRX on-duration timer, a SL DRX inactivity timer, a SL DRX hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round trip time (RTT) timer, or a SL DRX retransmission timer” (See Cai [0244] For example, the information used to determine the discontinuous reception-active time of the sidelink of the second terminal is a discontinuous reception related parameter of the second terminal, for example, a DRX cycle, duration of the drx-onDurationTimer-SL, duration of the drx-InactivityTimer-SL, duration of the drx-RetransmissionTimer-SL, and a DRX start offset).
Regarding claim 4,
Cai in view of FREDA discloses “The method of claim 3, wherein the SL DRX active time is a time while the SL DRX on-duration timer, the SL DRX inactivity timer, or the SL DRX retransmission timer is running, or a time while the SL DRX on-duration timer, the SL DRX inactivity timer, or the SL DRX retransmission timer will be running” (See Cai [0221] the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal is determined by running duration of the drx-onDurationTimer-SL and one or more timers of the drx-InactivityTimer-SL or the drx-RetransmissionTimer-SL).
Regarding claim 5,
Cai in view of FREDA discloses “The method of claim 3, wherein, based on that the first device performs broadcast communication, the SL DRX active time is a time while the SL DRX on-duration timer is running or a time while the SL DRX on-duration timer will be running” (See FREDA [0347] a WTRU may have a DRX configuration configured for each L2 destination ID for broadcast communication. [0352] Active time may be determined based on On-duration only without inactivity timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Cai with the teachings of FREDA, and the motivation to do so would have been to ensure broadcast transmissions occur when all UEs are awake, improving reliable reception.
Regarding claim 7,
Cai in view of FREDA discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the PQI is an identifier related to a highest priority among priorities of logical channels having available data” (See FREDA [0280] The WTRU may be configured with one or more QoS values (e.g. PQI) associated with each L2 ID. The WTRU may determine a single DRX configuration for each of its configured QoS values based on a configured mapping (e.g. a DRX configuration, and a set of allowed QoS values). The WTRU may select the minimum/maximum value, may select based on some (pre)configured or predefined table, or may select based on a specific QoS value (e.g. select PQI for which the latency is minimum). [0336] a WTRU may receive a priority associated to each individual aspect (e.g. L2 ID) and may select the DRX configuration associated with the aspect (e.g. L2 ID) having the highest priority).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Cai with the teachings of FREDA, and the motivation to do so would have been to ensure timely reception of latency critical traffic.
Regarding claim 8,
Cai in view of FREDA discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein, based on that the first device performs groupcast communication or broadcast communication, the SL DRX configuration is a SL DRX configuration related to the logical channel with the highest priority among the one or more SL DRX configurations” (See FREDA [0280] a WTRU may be configured with a list of interested L2 IDs (e.g. broadcast or groupcast). The WTRU may be configured with one or more QoS values (e.g. PQI) associated with each L2 ID. The WTRU may determine a single DRX configuration for each of its configured QoS values based on a configured mapping (e.g. a DRX configuration, and a set of allowed QoS values). [0285] the WTRU may be configured to select one associated activity behavior based on some specified or (pre) configured rules (e.g. the configuration associated with the highest priority transmission)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Cai with the teachings of FREDA, and the motivation to reduce latency for the most critical broadcast/ groupcast traffic.
Regarding claim 9,
Cai in view of FREDA discloses “The method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, to the second device through a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), first sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) and second SCI, based on the transmission resource; and transmitting, to the second device through the PSSCH, the second SCI and the MAC PDU, based on the transmission resource” (See Cai [0211] The SCI includes first-level SCI and second-level SCI. The first-level SCI may be carried on the PSCCH, and the second-level SCI may be carried on the PSSCH. Transmission of the PSSCH may be a new transmission. [0212] the PSCCH or the SCI is used to schedule the new transmission. Alternatively, transmission of the PSSCH may be a new transmission or a retransmission, and the PSCCH or SCI is used to schedule the new transmission or the retransmission. [0231] the data sent by the first terminal to the second terminal may be one or more of a PSCCH, a PSSCH, SCI, or a MAC PDU that is sent by the first terminal to the second terminal on the sidelink. The SCI includes first-level SCI and second-level SCI. The PSCCH is used to indicate a time-frequency domain resource location for PSSCH transmission and a priority of data carried on a PSSCH. The PSSCH is used to carry the data).
Regarding claim 10,
Cai discloses “A first device adapted to perform wireless communication, the first device comprising: one or more memories storing instructions; one or more transceivers; and one or more processors connected to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed, cause the first device to perform operations comprising” (See Fig. 21, [0109] FIG. 21 is a schematic diagram depicting a structure of a communication apparatus): “obtaining information related to a resource pool” (See [0155] The terminal 100 selects the sidelink resource from one or more sidelink resources usually included in a resource pool. [0156] when the terminal 100 is in the network coverage area, the resource pool is a resource broadcast by the network device in system information. When the terminal 100 is outside the network coverage area, the resource pool is a resource preconfigured for the terminal 100); “obtaining one or more sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configurations” (See [0255] the second terminal sends DRX configuration information of the second terminal to the first terminal. The DRX configuration information includes information used to determine the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal); “selecting a destination having a logical channel with a highest priority from among logical channels having available SL data” (See [0351] The destination may be a destination selected by the first terminal for an SL grant according to an LCP process, specifically a destination of which at least one of a logical channel (logical channel, LCH) and a MAC CE has a highest priority in all logical channels and MAC CEs that meet a condition. The condition includes that SL data in the destination is transmittable); “generating a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) based on at least one logical channel belonging to the destination” (See [0163] That the sidelink HARQ entity obtains a to-be-sent MAC PDU from a multiplexing and assembly entity. The multiplexing and assembly entity allocates a resource to the selected logical channel. The rule for selecting the destination is that a priority of at least one of the logical channels and a MAC CE of the destination is highest in all logical channels and MAC CEs that meet a condition. [0373] a destination of which at least one of a logical channel (logical channel, LCH) and a MAC CE has a highest priority in all logical channels and MAC CEs that meet the condition is selected from destinations with SL DRX-active time that at least one of the initial transmission SL grant and the retransmission SL grant is in. If no destination meets the condition, no MAC PDU is generated. Note: This means that a MAC PDU is generated when the destination meets the condition); “determining candidate resources in the resource pool within a selection window based on sensing” (See [0224] the one or more sidelink resources may be obtained by the first terminal from a resource pool through sensing/ listening. [0253] the first terminal determines the s candidate resources from sidelink resources as the candidate resource set based on a resource selection window of the first terminal); “and selecting a transmission resource for SL transmission to a second device related to the destination from among the candidate resources” (See [0353] if the target destination is identified by a layer-2 ID of the second terminal, the first terminal may determine that a sidelink resource needs to be selected to send the data to the second terminal. Then, the first terminal selects, from the one or more sidelink resources based on the SL DRX-active time of the second terminal, the sidelink resource located in the SL DRX-active time as the first sidelink resource), “wherein the transmission resource is selected, based on the PDB” (See [0176] It may be understood that [n+T1, n+T2] is a resource selection window of the terminal. [0177] If a minimum value of T2 is less than a remaining (remaining) packet delay budget (PDB) (in units of slots), a value of T2 depends on implementation of the terminal. If T2 min≤T2≤P is met, P represents the remaining PDB. Otherwise, T2 is equal to the remaining PDB. The remaining PDB is provided by the MAC entity for the PHY layer. Note: The resource selection is based on the PDB), “within a SL DRX active time of a SL DRX configuration of the second device” (See [0320] The medium access control entity selects, from the one or more sidelink resources, the first sidelink resource located in the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal [0353] Then, the first terminal selects, from the one or more sidelink resources based on the SL DRX-active time of the second terminal, the sidelink resource located in the SL DRX-active time as the first sidelink resource).
Cai does not explicitly disclose that the PDB is based on PQI, and that the SL DRX configuration of the second device is selected based on the logical channel with the highest priority.
However, FREDA discloses “determining a packet delay budget (PDB) based on a PC5 5G Quality of Service (QoS) Identifier (5QI) (PQI)” (See [0091] the QoS over PC5 is supported with the ProSe Per-Packet Priority (PPPP). Application layer is allowed to mark the packets with the PPPP, which indicates the required QoS level. Certain enhancements were added, e.g. by allowing deriving of Packet Delay Budget (PDB) from the PPPP. [0102] The 5QI should then be used in the similar manner as that of the PPPP, i.e. to be tagged with each of the packet. 5QI is able to represent all the characteristics needed for the PC5 broadcast operation, e.g. latency, priority, reliability, etc. A group of V2X broadcast specific 5QIs (i.e. VQIs) could be defined for PC5 use. [0280] The WTRU may select the minimum/maximum value, may select based on some (pre)configured or predefined table, or may select based on a specific QoS value (e.g. select PQI for which the latency is minimum)); “and wherein the SL DRX configuration of the second device is selected based on the logical channel with the highest priority” (See [0307] the WTRU may be configured with multiple DRX configurations for each L2 ID. The WTRU may select one of the multiple DRX configurations based on the QoS information received from that L2 ID. [0336] a WTRU may receive a priority associated to each individual aspect (e.g. L2 ID) and may select the DRX configuration associated with the aspect (e.g. L2 ID) having the highest priority. [0682] when determining the destination L2 ID to associate with a grant that occurs in the active time of one or more particular peer WTRU, the TX WTRU may determine the L2 destination ID(s) having the highest priority logical channel with data available for transmission among all L2 destination ID(s) which have DRX configured and in which the grant falls into the active time of that L2 destination ID(s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Cai with the teachings of FREDA, and the motivation to do so would have been to ensure timely reception of latency critical traffic.
Regarding claim 11,
Cai in view of FREDA discloses “The first device of claim 10, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes information related to a SL DRX timer” (See Cai [244] The DRX configuration information includes information used to determine the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal. For example, the information used to determine the discontinuous reception-active time of the sidelink of the second terminal is a discontinuous reception related parameter of the second terminal, for example, a DRX cycle, duration of the drx-onDurationTimer-SL, duration of the drx-InactivityTimer-SL, duration of the drx-RetransmissionTimer-SL, and a DRX start offset).
Regarding claim 12,
Cai in view of FREDA discloses “The first device of claim 11, wherein the SL DRX timer includes at least one of a SL DRX on-duration timer, a SL DRX inactivity timer, a SL DRX hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round trip time (RTT) timer, or a SL DRX retransmission timer” (See Cai [0244] For example, the information used to determine the discontinuous reception-active time of the sidelink of the second terminal is a discontinuous reception related parameter of the second terminal, for example, a DRX cycle, duration of the drx-onDurationTimer-SL, duration of the drx-InactivityTimer-SL, duration of the drx-RetransmissionTimer-SL, and a DRX start offset).
Regarding claim 13,
Cai in view of FREDA discloses “The first device of claim 12, wherein the SL DRX active time is a time while the SL DRX on-duration timer, the SL DRX inactivity timer, or the SL DRX retransmission timer is running, or a time while the SL DRX on-duration timer, the SL DRX inactivity timer, or the SL DRX retransmission timer will be running” (See Cai [0221] the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal is determined by running duration of the drx-onDurationTimer-SL and one or more timers of the drx-InactivityTimer-SL or the drx-RetransmissionTimer-SL).
Regarding claim 14,
Cai in view of FREDA discloses “The first device of claim 12, wherein, based on that the first device performs broadcast communication, the SL DRX active time is a time while the SL DRX on- duration timer is running or a time while the SL DRX on-duration timer will be running” (See FREDA [0347] a WTRU may have a DRX configuration configured for each L2 destination ID for broadcast communication. [0352] Active time may be determined based on On-duration only without inactivity timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Cai with the teachings of FREDA, and the motivation to do so would have been to ensure broadcast transmissions occur when all UEs are awake, improving reliable reception.
Regarding claim 15,
Cai discloses “A processing device adapted to control a first device, the processing device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed, cause the first device to perform operations comprising” (See Fig. 22, [0075] the communication apparatus may be a first terminal, or a chip applied to the first terminal): “obtaining information related to a resource pool” (See [0155] The terminal 100 selects the sidelink resource from one or more sidelink resources usually included in a resource pool. [0156] when the terminal 100 is in the network coverage area, the resource pool is a resource broadcast by the network device in system information. When the terminal 100 is outside the network coverage area, the resource pool is a resource preconfigured for the terminal 100); “obtaining one or more sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configurations” (See [0255] the second terminal sends DRX configuration information of the second terminal to the first terminal. The DRX configuration information includes information used to determine the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal); “selecting a destination having a logical channel with a highest priority from among logical channels having available SL data” (See [0351] The destination may be a destination selected by the first terminal for an SL grant according to an LCP process, specifically a destination of which at least one of a logical channel (logical channel, LCH) and a MAC CE has a highest priority in all logical channels and MAC CEs that meet a condition. The condition includes that SL data in the destination is transmittable); “generating a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (PDU) based on at least one logical channel belonging to the destination” (See [0163] That the sidelink HARQ entity obtains a to-be-sent MAC PDU from a multiplexing and assembly entity. The multiplexing and assembly entity allocates a resource to the selected logical channel. The rule for selecting the destination is that a priority of at least one of the logical channels and a MAC CE of the destination is highest in all logical channels and MAC CEs that meet a condition. [0373] a destination of which at least one of a logical channel (logical channel, LCH) and a MAC CE has a highest priority in all logical channels and MAC CEs that meet the condition is selected from destinations with SL DRX-active time that at least one of the initial transmission SL grant and the retransmission SL grant is in. If no destination meets the condition, no MAC PDU is generated. Note: This means that a MAC PDU is generated when the destination meets the condition); “determining candidate resources in the resource pool within a selection window based on sensing” (See [0224] the one or more sidelink resources may be obtained by the first terminal from a resource pool through sensing/ listening. [0253] the first terminal determines the s candidate resources from sidelink resources as the candidate resource set based on a resource selection window of the first terminal); “and selecting a transmission resource for SL transmission to a second device related to the destination from among the candidate resources” (See [0353] if the target destination is identified by a layer-2 ID of the second terminal, the first terminal may determine that a sidelink resource needs to be selected to send the data to the second terminal. Then, the first terminal selects, from the one or more sidelink resources based on the SL DRX-active time of the second terminal, the sidelink resource located in the SL DRX-active time as the first sidelink resource), “wherein the transmission resource is selected, based on the PDB” (See [0176] It may be understood that [n+T1, n+T2] is a resource selection window of the terminal. [0177] If a minimum value of T2 is less than a remaining (remaining) packet delay budget (PDB) (in units of slots), a value of T2 depends on implementation of the terminal. If T2 min≤T2≤P is met, P represents the remaining PDB. Otherwise, T2 is equal to the remaining PDB. The remaining PDB is provided by the MAC entity for the PHY layer. Note: The resource selection is based on the PDB), “within a SL DRX active time of a SL DRX configuration of the second device” (See [0320] The medium access control entity selects, from the one or more sidelink resources, the first sidelink resource located in the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal [0353] Then, the first terminal selects, from the one or more sidelink resources based on the SL DRX-active time of the second terminal, the sidelink resource located in the SL DRX-active time as the first sidelink resource).
Cai does not explicitly disclose that the PDB is based on PQI, and that the SL DRX configuration of the second device is selected based on the logical channel with the highest priority.
However, FREDA discloses “determining a packet delay budget (PDB) based on a PC5 5G Quality of Service (QoS) Identifier (5QI) (PQI)” (See [0091] the QoS over PC5 is supported with the ProSe Per-Packet Priority (PPPP). Application layer is allowed to mark the packets with the PPPP, which indicates the required QoS level. Certain enhancements were added, e.g. by allowing deriving of Packet Delay Budget (PDB) from the PPPP. [0102] The 5QI should then be used in the similar manner as that of the PPPP, i.e. to be tagged with each of the packet. 5QI is able to represent all the characteristics needed for the PC5 broadcast operation, e.g. latency, priority, reliability, etc. A group of V2X broadcast specific 5QIs (i.e. VQIs) could be defined for PC5 use. [0280] The WTRU may select the minimum/maximum value, may select based on some (pre)configured or predefined table, or may select based on a specific QoS value (e.g. select PQI for which the latency is minimum)); “and wherein the SL DRX configuration of the second device is selected based on the logical channel with the highest priority” (See [0307] the WTRU may be configured with multiple DRX configurations for each L2 ID. The WTRU may select one of the multiple DRX configurations based on the QoS information received from that L2 ID. [0336] a WTRU may receive a priority associated to each individual aspect (e.g. L2 ID) and may select the DRX configuration associated with the aspect (e.g. L2 ID) having the highest priority. [0682] when determining the destination L2 ID to associate with a grant that occurs in the active time of one or more particular peer WTRU, the TX WTRU may determine the L2 destination ID(s) having the highest priority logical channel with data available for transmission among all L2 destination ID(s) which have DRX configured and in which the grant falls into the active time of that L2 destination ID(s).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Cai with the teachings of FREDA, and the motivation to do so would have been to ensure timely reception of latency critical traffic.
Regarding claim 21,
Cai in view of FREDA discloses “The processing device of claim 15, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes information related to a SL DRX timer” (See Cai [244] The DRX configuration information includes information used to determine the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal. For example, the information used to determine the discontinuous reception-active time of the sidelink of the second terminal is a discontinuous reception related parameter of the second terminal, for example, a DRX cycle, duration of the drx-onDurationTimer-SL, duration of the drx-InactivityTimer-SL, duration of the drx-RetransmissionTimer-SL, and a DRX start offset).
Regarding claim 22,
Cai in view of FREDA discloses “The processing device of claim 21, wherein the SL DRX timer includes at least one of a SL DRX on-duration timer, a SL DRX inactivity timer, a SL DRX hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round trip time (RTT) timer, or a SL DRX retransmission timer” (See Cai [0244] For example, the information used to determine the discontinuous reception-active time of the sidelink of the second terminal is a discontinuous reception related parameter of the second terminal, for example, a DRX cycle, duration of the drx-onDurationTimer-SL, duration of the drx-InactivityTimer-SL, duration of the drx-RetransmissionTimer-SL, and a DRX start offset).
Regarding claim 23,
Cai in view of FREDA discloses “The processing device of claim 22, wherein the SL DRX active time is a time while the SL DRX on-duration timer, the SL DRX inactivity timer, or the SL DRX retransmission timer is running, or a time while the SL DRX on-duration timer, the SL DRX inactivity timer, or the SL DRX retransmission timer will be running” (See Cai [0221] the sidelink discontinuous reception-active time of the second terminal is determined by running duration of the drx-onDurationTimer-SL and one or more timers of the drx-InactivityTimer-SL or the drx-RetransmissionTimer-SL).
Regarding claim 24,
Cai in view of FREDA discloses “The processing device of claim 22, wherein, based on that the first device performs broadcast communication, the SL DRX active time is a time while the SL DRX on- duration timer is running or a time while the SL DRX on-duration timer will be running” (See FREDA [0347] a WTRU may have a DRX configuration configured for each L2 destination ID for broadcast communication. [0352] Active time may be determined based on On-duration only without inactivity timer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Cai with the teachings of FREDA, and the motivation to do so would have been to ensure broadcast transmissions occur when all UEs are awake, improving reliable reception.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al. (US 20230371005 A1) in view of FREDA et al. (US 20230063472 A1) and further in view of Lohr et al. (US 20240188103 A1).
Regarding claim 6,
Cai in view of FREDA discloses “The method of claim 1”, but does not explicitly disclose the first device not being allowed to select the resource outside the DRX active time of the second device.
However, Lohr discloses “wherein the first device is not allowed to select the transmission resource outside the SL DRX active time of the second device” (See [0249] a UE first defines the selection window where it looks for candidate resources to transmit a TB. According to one implementation of the embodiment, a UE excludes all candidate SL resources, e.g., within the selection window, which are not part of the active time of the DRX configuration(s) associated with the logical channels' destination included in a TB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Cai and FREDA, with the teachings of Lohr, and the motivation to do so would have been to ensure that SL resources are selected within the active time (Lohr [0249]), in order to align resource selection with the DRX operation and reduce power consumption.
Conclusion
/SALMA AYAD/Examiner, Art Unit 2462 /YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462