DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8 and 14-20) in the reply filed on 1/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/29/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 is missing a transitional phrase. Please see MPEP 2111.03. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4-5 and 17-18, the phrases “preferably” and “particularly preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 14-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20060238043 A1 to Gorohata et al.
Regarding claim 1, Gorohata et al. discloses a stator comprising: a stator core (Fig. 1: 1) with two axial end faces, a stator winding (3), which extends in the axial direction through the stator core and is formed from a plurality of conductor segments (31 and 32), and covers of a first and second type (S1 and S2), wherein
the conductor segments have, on one of the end faces, end portions, which are electrically conductively and mechanically connected to one another in pairs to form end portion arrangements (Fig. 4: pairs P1-P2, P3-P4, P5-P6), wherein
the covers of the first type (S1) each cover at least two end portion (P1-P2, P3-P4) arrangements at their free end, and wherein
the covers of the second type (S2) each cover at least one end portion (P5-P6) arrangement at their free end, wherein
the covers of the first type and the covers of the second type are adjacent and radially spaced from one another [0012].
Regarding claim 2, Gorohata et al. discloses the covers of the first type and the covers of the second type are adjacent in the radial direction [0012], and the at least two end portion arrangements, which are covered by a respective cover of the first type are radially adjacent and/or are adjacent in the circumferential direction (P1-P2 and P3-P4 are radially adjacent).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Gorohata et al. discloses the stator winding has a plurality of strands for each phase of the stator, wherein the covers of the first type and the covers of the second type cover end portion arrangements belonging to the same strand [0035].
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Gorohata et al. discloses a respective cover of the first type covers at least one end portion (S1 has two pairs) arrangement more than a respective cover of the second type (S2 has one pair).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Gorohata et al. discloses the covers of the first type and the covers of the second type are arranged offset from one another in the circumferential direction and connected by diagonal connections (Fig. 4: 133D).
Regarding claim 14, Gorohata et al. discloses an electric machine comprising:
a stator as claimed in claim 1 (see claim 1 above); and
a rotor (Fig. 1: 2) mounted rotatably with respect to the stator;
wherein the electric machine is designed to drive an electrically driveable vehicle [0003].
Regarding claim 15, Gorohata et al. discloses a vehicle comprising an electric machine as claimed in claim 14 (see claim 14 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20060238043 A1 to Gorohata et al.
Regarding claims 4-5 and 17-18, Gorohata et al. discloses a stator as described above.
However, it fails to disclose the limitations from claims 4-5 and 17-18.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the covers of the first type cover at least three, preferably at least four, end portion arrangements and the covers of the second type cover at least two, preferably at least three, particularly preferably at least four, end portion arrangements, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
One would have been motivated to do so to optimize stator configuration.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Gorohata et al. discloses the end portion arrangements, which are covered by a respective cover of the second type, are radially adjacent and/or are adjacent in the circumferential direction (all pairs are radially adjacent).
Conclusion
/VIET P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834