DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-2 and 25-27 in the reply filed on August 17, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the common technical feature of Groups I and II is a special technical feature that makes a contribution to the art over Ouspenski et al. (US 2021/0320327 A1, hereinafter “Ouspenski”).
This is not found persuasive because Ouspenski discloses the common technical feature.
On page 7 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that Ouspenski [0104] does not disclose “a ceramic material that comprises a first lithium ion conductor”. Ouspenski [0107]-[0110] discloses that single crystals may be arranged to form a ceramic material.
On pages 7-8 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the metal nitride of Ouspenski is characterized as an impurity to be minimized, and that Ouspenski teaches away from a bi-phasic material such as that defined by the pending claims. Ouspenski [0114] discloses that the content of all nitride-based impurity phase present in the ion conductive material can be at most 0.5 wt % and at least 0.2 ppm for the weight of the complex metal halide. Although Ouspenski attempts to minimize the nitride content, the metal nitride is present in a quantifiable amount and is therefore considered to meet the limitation of “a first lithium ion conductor”. The instant claims do not recite any specific range that would exclude the disclosure of Ouspenski.
Additionally, upon further search and consideration, the common technical features of Groups I and II are disclosed in Kubo et al. (WO 2020188913 A1, cited by Applicant in IDS filed on March 20, 2025, corresponding US 2021/0391595 A1 relied upon herein as a translation, and hereinafter “Kubo”), as set forth in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 18-21, 23, and 28-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on August 17, 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "a lithium ion battery comprising a ceramic material, wherein the ceramic material comprises the solid-state electrolyte according to claim 1" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites “a ceramic material for a solid-state electrolyte” in line 1. It is unclear if the “a ceramic material” of claim 25 refers to the “a ceramic material” of claim 1. Additionally, the phrase “for a solid-state electrolyte” in claim 1 is merely a preamble statement of intended use, and does not provide sufficient antecedent basis for the limitation of claim 25. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted the limitation of claim 25 as “a lithium ion battery comprising a solid-state electrolyte, wherein the solid-state electrolyte comprises the ceramic material of claim 1”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ouspenski (US 2021/0320327 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ouspenski discloses a ceramic material for a solid-state electrolyte ([0104]-[0110], ceramic material), the ceramic material comprising: a first lithium ion conductor ([0104], metal nitride such as Li3N that may help improve bulk ion conductivity); and a second lithium ion conductor different from the first lithium ion conductor and which is a lithium metal halide ([0079], complex metal halide that includes lithium and other metals).
Regarding claim 25, Ouspenski discloses the limitations of claim 1. Ouspenski further discloses a lithium ion battery comprising a ceramic material, wherein the ceramic material comprises the solid-state electrolyte according to claim 1 ([0124] and [0129], solid-state lithium battery comprising solid-state electrolyte with ion conductive material).
Regarding claim 26, Ouspenski discloses the limitations of claim 1. Ouspenski further discloses a solid-state electrolyte comprising the ceramic material according to claim 1 ([0124], solid-state electrolyte comprising ion conductive material).
Regarding claim 27, Ouspenski discloses the limitations of claim 26. Ouspenski further discloses an electrochemical cell comprising a cathode, an anode, and a solid-state electrolyte according to claim 26 ([0129], solid-state lithium battery comprising cathode 506, anode 504, and electrolyte layer 502).
Claims 1-2 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kubo (WO 2020188913 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kubo discloses a ceramic material for a solid-state electrolyte ([0053], electrolyte layer 202 containing a first solid electrolyte material and a second solid electrolyte material that may be uniformly dispersed), the ceramic material comprising: a first lithium ion conductor ([0053] and [0065]-[0070], second solid electrolyte material that may be an oxide solid electrolyte); and a second lithium ion conductor different from the first lithium ion conductor and which is a lithium metal halide ([0013]-[0025] and [0052]-[0053], first solid electrolyte material that may be crystalline comprising Li, Zr, Y, M, and X, wherein X is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Cl and Br).
Although Kubo does not explicitly disclose a ceramic material, the solid electrolyte materials of Kubo are crystalline ([0025]) and identical to embodiments of the first lithium ion conductor and second lithium ion conductor as disclosed in pages 7 and 8 of Applicant’s specification.
Regarding claim 2, Kubo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kubo further discloses wherein the first lithium ion conductor is a lithium metal oxide or lithium metal phosphate ([0065]-[0070], second solid electrolyte material that may be an oxide solid electrolyte), wherein the lithium metal oxide comprises lithium, one or more metals different from lithium and oxygen ([0068]-[0070], perovskite-type solid electrolyte, LISICON-type solid electrolyte, or garnet-type solid electrolyte), and wherein the lithium metal phosphate comprises lithium, one or more metals different from lithium and phosphate ([0067], NASICON-type solid electrolyte).
Regarding claim 25, Kubo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kubo further discloses a lithium ion battery comprising a ceramic material, wherein the ceramic material comprises the solid-state electrolyte according to claim 1 ([0038], [0053], and [0142], all-solid lithium ion secondary battery comprising electrolyte layer with solid electrolyte material).
Regarding claim 26, Kubo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Kubo further discloses a solid-state electrolyte comprising the ceramic material according to claim 1 ([0053], electrolyte layer 202 containing second solid electrolyte material and first solid electrolyte material).
Regarding claim 27, Kubo discloses the limitations of claim 26. Kubo further discloses an electrochemical cell comprising a cathode, an anode, and a solid-state electrolyte according to claim 26 ([0038], battery 1000 with positive electrode 201, negative electrode 203, and electrolyte 202).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yasuda (US 2021/0234193 A1) discloses a solid-state electrolyte comprising a lithium metal oxide and a lithium metal halide ([0107]-[0118]), and a battery comprising the solid-state electrolyte ([0361]-[0362]).
/J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 3 September 2026