DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN112033562A to Shu et al [hereinafter Shu] (see the attached translation).
Referring to claim 1, Shu discloses a temperature sensor (figure 1; paragraphs 20, 24, 28, 29), comprising:
a thermosensitive portion including a thermosensitive element (10) and a covering body (12) made of a resin and covering the thermosensitive element (10) (paragraph 28);
an electric wire (13) electrically connected to the thermosensitive element (10) and drawn out from the covering body (12) in one direction (vertically in figure 1); and
a holder (30, 31) configured to house and hold a part of the electric wire (13) in an inside of the holder (30, 31) (paragraph 29);
wherein the thermosensitive portion is held by the electric wire to be displaceable at least in the one direction (vertically in figure 1) relative to the holder (30, 31), and the part of the electric wire includes a bent region in a bent state (in the holder (30, 31)) (figure 1).
Referring to claim 3, Shu discloses the bent region pressing the thermosensitive portion (with spring 20) against a temperature measurement object (e.g., battery) (paragraph 2) as the bent region elastically deforms (downward in figure 1) (paragraphs 24, 28).
Referring to claim 4, Shu discloses the covering body (12) being formed in a long shape extending in the one direction (vertically in figure 1).
Referring to claim 7, Shu discloses the electric wire (13) including a first region extending from the thermosensitive portion (from 10 of the thermosensitive portion) to the bent region, and a second region extending from the bent region and drawn out to an outside of the holder (30, 31) (connecting to 41) (figure 1), and the second region extending in a direction (horizontally in figure 1) orthogonal to the first region (vertically in figure 1).
Referring to claim 8, Shu discloses the electric wire (13) including a first region extending from the thermosensitive portion (from 10 of the thermosensitive portion) to the bent region, and a second region extending from the bent region and drawn out to an outside of the holder (30, 31) (connecting to 41) (figure 1), and the holder (30, 31) includes a guide portion (30) configured to guide the first region in the one direction (vertically in figure 1) when the bent region is deformed (figure 1).
Referring to claim 9, Shu discloses the holder including a first holder (31) including an opening into which the thermosensitive portion and the bent region are inserted and configured to house the bent region (figure 1), and a second holder (30) configured to close the opening and to receive the bent region (at exit part of 30 through which 13 passes in figure 1) against force pressing the thermosensitive portion toward the bent region in the one direction (vertically in figure 1).
Referring to claim 10, Shu discloses a temperature sensor (figure 1; paragraphs 20, 24, 28, 29), comprising:
a thermosensitive portion including a thermosensitive element (10) and a covering body (12) made of a resin and covering the thermosensitive element (10) (paragraph 28);
an electric wire (13) electrically connected to the thermosensitive element (10) and drawn out from the covering body (12) in one direction (vertically in figure 1); and
a holder (30, 31) configured to house and hold a part of the electric wire (13) in an inside of the holder (30, 31) (paragraph 29);
wherein the thermosensitive portion is held by the electric wire to be displaceable at least in the one direction (vertically in figure 1) relative to the holder (30, 31), and the thermosensitive portion is displaceable in the one direction (vertically in figure 1) by elastic deformation of the electric wire (and the spring 20).
Referring to claim 11, Shu discloses the thermosensitive portion being pressed against (downwardly in figure 1) a temperature measurement object (e.g., battery) (paragraph 2) by stress generated in the electric wire (and the spring 20) by the elastic deformation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shu in view of JP5807811B2 to Yamamoto et al [hereinafter Yamamoto] (see the attached translation).
Referring to claim 5, Shu discloses a temperature sensor having all of the limitations of claim 5, as stated above with respect to claim 1, except for a rigidity adding portion provided around at least the bent region of the electric wire.
However, Yamamoto discloses (figure 10; paragraphs 2, 17-20) a temperature sensor for a vehicle component (paragraph 2), the sensor comprising a thermosensitive element (4), an electric wire (5) electrically connected to the thermosensitive element (4) and drawn out from a holder (8) that is configured to house and hold a part of the electric wire (5) in an inside of the holder, and a rigidity adding portion (6b) provided around a region of the electric wire to protect and insulate the wires.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electrical wire of Shu with a rigidity adding portion provided around a region of the electric wire, as suggested by Yamamoto, in order to protect and insulate the wires. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rigidity adding portion of Shu in view of Yamamoto along the entire electric wire (which includes the bent region) in order to provide further protection of the electrical wires as desired by a user, which protection Yamamoto suggests is desirable.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shu in view of WO2021070898A1 to Akaba et al [hereinafter Akaba] (see the attached translation).
Referring to claim 12, Shu discloses a temperature sensor for a vehicle component (figure 1; paragraphs 20, 24, 28, 29), comprising:
a thermosensitive portion including a thermosensitive element (10) and a covering body (12) made of a resin and covering the thermosensitive element (10) (paragraph 28);
an electric wire (13) electrically connected to the thermosensitive element (10) and drawn out from the covering body (12) in one direction (vertically in figure 1); and
a holder (30, 31) configured to house and hold a part of the electric wire (13) in an inside of the holder (30, 31) (paragraph 29);
wherein the thermosensitive portion is held by the electric wire to be displaceable at least in the one direction (vertically in figure 1) relative to the holder (30, 31), and the part of the electric wire includes a bent region in a bent state (in the holder (30, 31)) (figure 1).
Shu does not disclose the vehicle component being a rotary electric machine comprising a stator including a core, a coil, and a rotor configured to rotate relative to the stator, wherein the temperature sensor is configured to detect a temperature of the coil.
However, Akaba discloses (figures 1, 5; paragraphs 1, 2, 7, 13, 14) to provide a rotary electric machine comprising a stator including a core, a coil, and a rotor configured to rotate relative to the stator with a temperature sensor comprising a thermosensitive portion, an electric wire electrically connected to the thermosensitive portion, and a holder configured to house and hold the thermosensitive portion (figures 1, 5) that is configured to detect a temperature of the coil and prevent excessive temperature rises in the coil (paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the temperature sensor of Shu so as to be used in a vehicle component that is a rotary electric machine comprising a stator including a core, a coil, and a rotor configured to rotate relative to the stator, wherein the temperature sensor is configured to detect a temperature of the coil, as suggested by Akaba, in order to detect a temperature of the coil and prevent excessive temperature rises in the coil.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the following in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims:
A temperature sensor, wherein the ends are positioned in the inside of the holder; and the end on the side close to the second region is locked to the holder from the inside to regulate displacement of the bent region to the outside of the holder (claim 6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection based on the newly found art.
Conclusion
The references made of record and not relied upon by the examiner are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure by disclosing a displaceable temperature sensor, but do not disclose the allowable subject matter stated above.
/MIRELLYS JAGAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
3/26/26