DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on February 9, 2024 and August 30, 2024 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 11, there is an inconsistency between claim 11 and claim 4, from which it depends. Claim 4 limits the determining step to one based on the predetermined mode (lines 1-2 of claim 4), whereas claim 11 requires the determining step to be based on the RRC signaling (lines 1-2 of claim 11), which was presented as an alternative to the predetermined mode in claim 3 (lines 4-5 of claim 3).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 19, 20, 39, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al (US 20210250958 A1, hereinafter Liu_1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu_1 teaches a method for transmitting downlink control information (DCI), performed by a terminal device (UE 104), comprising:
determining how to detect and receive DCI for scheduling a multi-broadcast scheduling (MBS) service based on a common frequency resource (CFR) configuration of a network device (base station 102) (UE receives a search space configuration (which may define resources shared across a group of UEs and a base station) from a base station defining one or more search spaces for detecting communications. The UE further determines a priority for detecting control information (such as DCI) over a control channel (such as PDCCH) based on the configured search spaces, including prioritizing search spaces and/or DCI formats corresponding to MBS communications. A base station can transmit MBS communications over resources (such as frequency resources) that are shared by multiple UEs, which can detect and receive the communications [0021, 0061-0064]).
Regarding claim 2, Liu_1 teaches wherein determining how to detect and receive the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the CFR configuration of the network device comprises:
detecting and receiving the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the CFR configuration, wherein the CFR configuration is received from the network device, and the CFR configuration comprising a control resource set (CORESET) or a search space (the configuration information received by the UE includes one or more search spaces and control resource sets (CORESETs) defining frequency resources over which the UE monitors for DCI [0061-0064, 0070-0071]).
Regarding claim 19, Liu_1 teaches a method for transmitting downlink control information (DCI), performed by a network device (base station 102), comprising:
determining how to send DCI for scheduling a multi-broadcast scheduling (MBS) service based on a common frequency resource (CFR) configuration (a base station determining CFR-related parameters, including control resource sets (CORESETs) and search spaces, and using these configurations to schedule and transmit DCI to one or more UEs [0079-0086]).
Regarding claim 20, Liu_1 teaches:
sending the CFR configuration to a terminal device (the base station can transmit the search space configuration and/or other configurations to a group of one or more UEs, where shared search spaces among UEs act as common frequency resources [0089]); and
wherein determining how to send the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the CFR configuration comprises:
sending the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the CFR configuration, wherein the CFR configuration comprises a control resource set (CORESET) or a search space (a base station determining CFR-related parameters, including control resource sets (CORESETs) and search spaces, and using these configurations to schedule and transmit DCI to one or more UEs [0079-0086]).
Regarding claim 39, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 1, including a terminal device (FIG. 2, UE 104), comprising a processor (FIG. 2, 212) and a memory (FIG. 2, 216), wherein a computer program (local versions of applications [0045]) is stored in the memory, and the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory (memory 216 may be configured to store local versions of applications, and being executed by a processor 212 [0043-0045]).
Regarding claim 40, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 19, including a network device (FIG. 3, 102), comprising a processor (FIG. 3, 312) and a memory (FIG. 3, 316), wherein a computer program is stored in the memory, and the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory (the processor 312 and memory 316 correspond to base station shown in FIG. 6. The processor 640 (corresponds to 312) may execute stored instructions, which are in memory [0055, 0058, 0095-0096]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 8, 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu_1 in view of Intel Corporation (Intel Corporation, "NR MBS Group Scheduling for RRC_CONNECTED UEs" 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104bis-e, R1-2103050, April 2021, hereinafter "Intel Corp.").
Regarding claim 3, Liu_1 does not teach wherein determining how to detect and receive the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the CFR configuration of the network device comprises:
determining how to detect and receive the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on a predetermined mode or a radio resource control (RRC) signaling,
wherein the CFR configuration is not received from the network device, or wherein the CFR configuration is received from the network device but the CFR configuration having no corresponding search space configuration and a CORESET for a non-MBS data transmission is completely contained in the CFR configuration.
In analogous art, Intel Corp. teaches wherein determining how to detect and receive the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the CFR configuration of the network device comprises:
determining how to detect and receive the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on a predetermined mode (default assumption (predetermined mode) can be defined where the default MBS CFR is determined when no configuration is provided to the UE [page 2, paragraph below 2.1 “Agreements” box]) or a radio resource control (RRC) signaling,
wherein the CFR configuration is not received from the network device (a default CFR can be defined for UEs when no CFR configuration is provided [page 2, Proposal 1]), or wherein the CFR configuration is received from the network device but the CFR configuration having no corresponding search space configuration and a CORESET for a non-MBS data transmission is completely contained in the CFR configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the detecting and receiving of DCI for MBS services (as taught by Liu_1) with determining how to detect and receive DCI based on a CFR (as taught by Intel Corp.) in order to increase the overall efficiency of NR multicast, enhance the groupcast quality, and improve group spectral efficiency (Intel Corp., [page 7, 2.6 Other Issues]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Liu_1 and Intel Corp., specifically Intel Corp., teaches wherein determining how to detect and receive the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the predetermined mode comprises:
determining a search space within an active bandwidth part (NR search spaces sets are configured for a UE to monitor PDCCH candidates and each search space is associated with a CORESET [page 4, section 2.3], where (in 5G NR) UE monitoring of BWPs in search spaces is inherently tied to the active DL BWP), and determining a size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service (the UE considers DCI size when monitoring PDCCH for MBS, using the “3+1” size budget for MBS, performing DCI size alignments when DCI size mismatches occur [page 5, Proposal 17]); and
determining how to detect and receive the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the search space and the size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service (monitoring and decoding of the DCI is based on the configured search space and the DCI size budget for MBS [page 5, from Proposal 14 through Proposal 17]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the detecting and receiving of DCI for MBS services (as taught by Liu_1) with determining how to detect and receive DCI based on a predetermined mode (as taught by Intel Corp.) in order to increase the overall efficiency of NR multicast, enhance the groupcast quality, and improve group spectral efficiency (Intel Corp., [page 7, 2.6 Other Issues]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Liu_1 and Intel Corp., specifically Intel Corp., teaches wherein determining the search space within the active bandwidth part comprises:
determining the search space based on a common search space (CSS) configured in a bandwidth part (the search space set for monitoring the group-common PDCCH can be a common search space (CSS) [page 5, Proposal 14], where (in 5G NR) UE monitoring of BWPs in search spaces is inherently tied to the active DL BWP), wherein the network device configures an MBS terminal group (a network device configures group of RRC_CONNECTED UEs for receiving MBS, e.g. via assignment of group RNTIs for different delivery modes for the UEs in the configured group [page 3, Section 2.2]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the detecting and receiving of DCI for MBS services (as taught by Liu_1) with determining how to detect and receive DCI based on a predetermined mode, including determining the search space (as taught by Intel Corp.) in order to increase the overall efficiency of NR multicast, enhance the groupcast quality, and improve group spectral efficiency (Intel Corp., [page 7, 2.6 Other Issues]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Liu_1 and Intel Corp., specifically Intel Corp., teaches wherein determining the search space within the active bandwidth part further comprises:
determining the search space based on a UE-specific search space (USS) configured in a bandwidth part (the monitoring priority of search space set for multicast can be a UE-specific search space (USS) [page 5, proposal 15], where (in 5G NR) UE monitoring of BWPs in search spaces is inherently tied to the active DL BWP), wherein the network device configures an MBS terminal group (a network device configures group of RRC_CONNECTED UEs for receiving MBS, e.g. via assignment of group RNTIs for different delivery modes for the UEs in the configured group [page 3, Section 2.2]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the detecting and receiving of DCI for MBS services (as taught by Liu_1) with determining how to detect and receive DCI based on a predetermined mode, including determining the search space (as taught by Intel Corp.) in order to increase the overall efficiency of NR multicast, enhance the groupcast quality, and improve group spectral efficiency (Intel Corp., [page 7, 2.6 Other Issues]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Liu_1 and Intel Corp., specifically Intel. Corp., teaches wherein determining how to send the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the CFR configuration comprises:
determining how to send the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on a predetermined mode or a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, wherein no CFR is configured, or wherein the CFR configuration has no corresponding search space configuration- and a CORESET for a non-MBS data transmission is completely contained in the CFR configuration (default assumption (mapping to predetermined mode) can be defined where the default MBS CFR is determined when no configuration is provided to the UE [page 2, paragraph below 2.1 “Agreements” box]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the sending of DCI for MBS services (as taught by Liu_1) with determining how to send DCI based on a CFR (as taught by Intel Corp.) in order to increase the overall efficiency of NR multicast, enhance the groupcast quality, and improve group spectral efficiency (Intel Corp., [page 7, 2.6 Other Issues]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Liu_1 and Intel Corp., specifically Intel Corp., teaches wherein determining how to send the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the predetermined mode comprises:
determining a search space within an active bandwidth part (NR search spaces sets are configured for a UE to monitor PDCCH candidates and each search space is associated with a CORESET [page 4, section 2.3], where (in 5G NR) UE monitoring of BWPs in search spaces is inherently tied to the active DL BWP), and determining a size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service (the UE considers DCI size when monitoring PDCCH for MBS, using the “3+1” size budget for MBS, performing DCI size alignments when DCI size mismatches occur [page 5, Proposal 17]); and
determining how to send the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the search space and the size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service (monitoring and decoding of the DCI is based on the configured search space and the DCI size budget for MBS [page 5, from Proposal 14 through Proposal 17]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the sending of DCI for MBS services (as taught by Liu_1) with determining how to detect and receive DCI based on a predetermined mode (as taught by Intel Corp.) in order to increase the overall efficiency of NR multicast, enhance the groupcast quality, and improve group spectral efficiency (Intel Corp., [page 7, 2.6 Other Issues]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Liu_1 and Intel Corp., specifically Intel Corp., teaches wherein determining the search space within the active bandwidth part comprises:
determining the search space based on a common search space (CSS) configured in a bandwidth part(the search space set for monitoring the group-common PDCCH can be a common search space (CSS) [page 5, Proposal 14], where (in 5G NR) UE monitoring of BWPs in search spaces is inherently tied to the active DL BWP), wherein an MBS terminal group is configured and the terminal device belongs to the MBS terminal group (a network device configures group of RRC_CONNECTED UEs for receiving MBS, e.g. via assignment of group RNTIs for different delivery modes for the UEs in the configured group [page 3, Section 2.2]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the sending of DCI for MBS services (as taught by Liu_1) with determining how to detect and receive DCI based on a predetermined mode, including determining the search space (as taught by Intel Corp.) in order to increase the overall efficiency of NR multicast, enhance the groupcast quality, and improve group spectral efficiency (Intel Corp., [page 7, 2.6 Other Issues]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Liu_1 and Intel Corp. in view of Agiwal (US 20240057100 A1).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Liu_1 and Intel Corp. does not teach wherein determining how to detect and receive the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the RRC signaling comprises:
determining the search space within the active bandwidth part based on a search space number in the RRC signaling.
In analogous art, Agiwal teaches wherein determining how to detect and receive the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the RRC signaling comprises:
determining the search space within the active bandwidth part based on a search space number (search space ID) in the RRC signaling (A plurality of search space configurations are provided for each bandwidth part, wherein each search space configuration is uniquely identified by a an identifier (ID), where the search space ID corresponds to a search space configuration to be used for monitoring PDCCH signaled by the network. The UE receives the search space ID via system information or RRC signaling and determines which search space to use based on the signaled search space ID. The UE only monitors PDCCH on active bandwidth parts [0041, 0044, 0112-0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the search space ID in the RRC signaling (as taught by Agwai) into the detecting and receiving system for DCI scheduling of MBS (as taught by the combination of Liu_1 and Intel Corp.) in order to increase scheduling flexibility, support increased data rates, and enhance multimedia broadcast multicast service (MBMS) reception for the next generation wireless communication system (Agwai, [0006, 0008, 0013, 0043]).
Claim(s) 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Liu_1 and Intel Corp., in view of Yi et al (US 20220304015 A1, hereinafter “Yi”).
Regarding claim 12, Liu_1 teaches wherein determining the size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service comprises:
determining the size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service as a size of payload of a first DCI format in a corresponding CSS (A UE can prioritize DCI sizes for MBS, determine a reduced number of candidates for blind detection for MBS. The UE configured with DCI formats and a search space (where DCI formats are associated with the search space) can monitor the search spaces during the defined monitoring occasions, which can include searching the search spaces in the set for signals that are based on the DCI formats [0021-0023]);
Liu_1 and Intel Corp. do not teach wherein the DCI for scheduling the MBS service is transmitted in the CSS, and the CSS is of Type 0/0a/1/2;
wherein, the first DCI format comprises at least one of: DCI format 1_0 scrambled with a system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI), DCI format 1_0 scrambled with a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI), DCI format 1_0 scrambled with a temporary cell radio network temporary identifier (TC-RNTI), and DCI format 1_0 scrambled with a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI).
In analogous art, Yi teaches wherein the DCI for scheduling the MBS service is transmitted in the CSS, and the CSS is of Type 0/0a/1/2 (monitoring and controlling of PDCCH search spaces, including common search spaces. Common search spaces include Type0, Type0A, Type1, and Type2A [0397]);
wherein, the first DCI format comprises at least one of: DCI format 1_0 scrambled with a system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI), DCI format 1_0 scrambled with a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI), DCI format 1_0 scrambled with a temporary cell radio network temporary identifier (TC-RNTI), and DCI format 1_0 scrambled with a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI) (CSS associated with fallback DCI formats including DCI format 1_0, and that these formats may be scrambled with RNTIs including SI-RNTI, RA-RNTI, and P-RNTI [0397-0398]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the CSS type with a first DCI format in the CSS (as taught by Yi) into the detecting and receiving of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the predetermined mode (as taught by Liu_1 and Intel Corp.) combined with the first DCI size based off a DCI for MBS in a corresponding CSS (as taught by Liu_1) in order to reduce complexity of a wireless device and enable efficient multiplexing of cell broadcast scheduling (Yi, 0386-0430] ).
Regarding claim 13, Liu_1 teaches wherein determining the size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service comprises:
determining the size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service as a size of payload of a second DCI format in a corresponding CSS (A UE can prioritize DCI sizes for MBS, determine a reduced number of candidates for blind detection for MBS. The UE configured with DCI formats and a search space (where DCI formats are associated with the search space) can monitor the search spaces during the defined monitoring occasions, which can include searching the search spaces in the set for signals that are based on the DCI formats [0021-0023]);
Liu_1 does not teach wherein the DCI for scheduling the MBS service is transmitted in the CSS, and the CSS is of Type 3;
wherein, the second DCI format comprises at least one of: DCI format 2_0, DCI format 2_1, DCI format 2_2, DCI format 23, DCI format 2_4, DCI format 2_5, DCI format 2_6.
In analogous art, Yi teaches wherein the DCI for scheduling the MBS service is transmitted in the CSS, and the CSS is of Type 3 (monitoring and controlling of PDCCH search spaces, including common search space Type 3 [0397]);
wherein, the second DCI format comprises at least one of: DCI format 2_0, DCI format 2_1, DCI format 2_2, DCI format 23, DCI format 2_4, DCI format 2_5, DCI format 2_6 (CSS search spaces may be associated with group-common DCI formats, including DCI formats 2_0, 2_1, 2_2, and 2_3, which are used for group-based or multicast transmissions [0397]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the CSS type with a second DCI format in the CSS (as taught by Yi) into the detecting and receiving of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the predetermined mode (as taught by Liu_1 and Intel Corp.) combined with the first DCI size based off a DCI for MBS in a corresponding CSS (as taught by Liu_1) in order to reduce complexity of a wireless device and enable efficient multiplexing of cell broadcast scheduling (Yi, 0386-0430] ).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Liu_1 and Intel Corp., in view of Liu et al (US 20230354382 A1, hereinafter “Liu_2”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Liu_1 and Intel Corp. does not teach wherein determining the size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service further comprises:
determining the size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service as a size of payload of DCI format 1_1 and/or DCI format 1_2 in a USS, wherein the DCI for scheduling the MBS service is transmitted in the USS.
In analogous art, Liu_2 teaches wherein determining the size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service further comprises:
determining the size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service as a size of payload of DCI format 1_1 and/or DCI format 1_2 in a USS,
wherein the DCI for scheduling the MBS service is transmitted in the USS (A UE monitors PDCCH candidate within configured search space sets, there the search space type (e.g. USS) indicated DCI formats to be monitored. Search space sets for DCI format 1_x, including DCI formats 1_1 and 1_2, are defined as UE-specific search spaces (USS). DCI carried on UE-specific PDCCH may be used to schedule transmissions, including group transmissions or MBS services [0061-0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a DCI size for MBS as a size of a DCI format 1_x defined in a USS (as taught by Liu_2) into the detecting and receiving of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the predetermined mode (as taught by Liu_1 and Intel Corp.) in order to improve the efficiency of MBS transmissions (Liu_2, [0041]).
Claim(s) 15, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Liu_1 and Intel Corp. in view of MolavianJazi et al (US 20230057605 A1, hereinafter "MolavianJazi").
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Liu_1 and Intel Corp. does not teach wherein determining how to detect and receive the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the search space and the size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service comprises one of the following:
determining one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates within in a CSS in the active bandwidth part based on the size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service, detecting and receiving the DCI for scheduling the MBS service on all of the one or more PDCCH candidates contained in the CSS; or
determining one or more PDCCH candidates within in a CSS in the active bandwidth part based on the size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service, detecting and receiving the DCI for scheduling the MBS service on a portion of the one or more PDCCH candidates contained in the CSS.
In analogous art, MolavianJazi teaches wherein determining how to detect and receive the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the search space and the size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service comprises one of the following:
determining one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates within in a CSS in the active bandwidth part based on the size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service, detecting and receiving the DCI for scheduling the MBS service on all of the one or more PDCCH candidates contained in the CSS; or
determining one or more PDCCH candidates within in a CSS in the active bandwidth part based on the size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service (a UE determines PDCCH candidates within a search space set, including CSS sets, and scales the number of PDCCH candidates according to the number of DCI format sizes associated with the search space. DCI scheduling is supporting for multiple services, including MBS [0071, 0077]), detecting and receiving the DCI for scheduling the MBS service on a portion of the one or more PDCCH candidates contained in the CSS (The UE can monitor all candidates in a search space set or, in case of overbooking (when a number of PDCCH candidates exceeds a predetermined limit after scaling the PDCCH candidates with number of DCI format sizes), the UE can drop search spaces (such as USS) until the overbooking event is avoided [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE scaling the PDCCH candidates within a search space and using PDCCH candidates for receiving scheduling DCI (as taught by MolavianJazi) to the detecting and receiving of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the search space and size of the DCI (as taught by Liu_1 and Intel Corp.) in order to reduce signaling overhead and to improve upon 5G (and other communication systems) to support higher data rates, lower latency, higher reliability, improved coverage, massive connectivity, and so on (MolavianJazi, [0065, 0084]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Liu_1, Intel Corp., and MolavianJazi, specifically MolavianJazi, teaches wherein detecting and receiving the DCI for scheduling the MBS service on the portion of the one or more PDCCH candidates contained in the CSS comprises one of the following:
detecting and receiving the DCI for scheduling the MBS service on N predefined PDCCH candidates, where N is a positive integer (after performing scaling of the PDCCH candidates with a number of DCI formats, the UE may be considered to be overbooking if the number of PDCCH candidates exceeds predetermined limit on a number of PDCCH candidates. If overbooking occurs, the UE can drop search spaces until the overbooking event is avoided [0077]; or
detecting and receiving the DCI for scheduling the MBS service on a PDCCH candidate configured and indicated by the RRC signaling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE scaling the PDCCH candidates within a search space and using PDCCH candidates for receiving scheduling DCI along with a predetermined limit on number of PDCCH candidates (as taught by MolavianJazi) to the detecting and receiving of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the search space and size of the DCI (as taught by Liu_1 and Intel Corp.) in order to reduce signaling overhead and to improve upon 5G (and other communication systems) to support higher data rates, lower latency, higher reliability, improved coverage, massive connectivity, and so on (MolavianJazi, [0065, 0084]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Liu_1, Intel Corp., and MolavianJazi, specifically MolavianJazi, teaches wherein determining how to detect and receive the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the search space and the size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service comprises one of the following:
determining one or more PDCCH candidates within in a USS in the active bandwidth part based on the size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service (a UE determines PDCCH candidates within a search space set, including CSS sets, and scales the number of PDCCH candidates according to the number of DCI format sizes associated with the search space. DCI scheduling is supporting for multiple services, including MBS [0071, 0077]), detecting and receiving the DCI for scheduling the MBS service on all of the one or more PDCCH candidates contained in the USS (The UE can monitor all candidates in a search space set or, in case of overbooking (when a number of PDCCH candidates exceeds a predetermined limit after scaling the PDCCH candidates with number of DCI format sizes), the UE can drop search spaces (such as USS) until the overbooking event is avoided [0077]); or
determining one or more PDCCH candidates within in a USS in the active bandwidth part based on the size of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service, detecting and receiving the DCI for scheduling the MBS service on a portion of the one or more PDCCH candidates contained in the USS.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE scaling the PDCCH candidates within a search space and using PDCCH candidates for receiving scheduling DCI (as taught by MolavianJazi) to the detecting and receiving of the DCI for scheduling the MBS service based on the search space and size of the DCI (as taught by Liu_1 and Intel Corp.) in order to reduce signaling overhead and to improve upon 5G (and other communication systems) to support higher data rates, lower latency, higher reliability, improved coverage, massive connectivity, and so on (MolavianJazi, [0065, 0084]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shrivastava et al (US 20240324068 A1) discloses methods and systems for managing DRX and WUS operations for receiving MBS services.
Papasakellariou (US 20220417979 A1) discloses downlink control signaling for multicast and unicast communications.
Xiong et al (WO 2022087482 A1) discloses resource allocation for new radio multicast-broadcast service.
Zhou et al (US 20240032070 A1) discloses resource management for multicast and broadcast services.
/A.R.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413