DETAILED ACTION
1. The following Office Action is based on the amendment filed on 29 April 2026, having claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-21, and 24-25.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. For claims 1 and 13, applicant has argued that by Tsai et al. (US 2021/0337625 A1) does not teach the LCP mapping restriction comprises an allowed configured grant list for the small data transmission (allowedCG-List for SDT). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Tsai discloses [0134] the LCP mapping restriction comprises an allowedCG-list for UL data, [0135] wherein the UL data may be SDT, the UE determines to apply the CG configuration for the UL-SDT data transmission. The rejection is maintained, and this action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 12-13, 15-17, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsai et al. (US 2021/0337625 A1).
For claim 1, Tsai discloses a configuration information sending method, performed by a base station (Fig 2A, base station 204), comprising:
sending a Radio Resource Control (RRC) release message to a terminal ([0201] UE receives RRC release message from base station), wherein the RRC release message carries configuration information ([0201] the RRC release message comprises CG configuration information) suitable for the terminal to perform Small Data Transmission (SDT) in an inactive state ([0203] while in an RRC inactive state, UE performs SDT transmission using CG configuration information);
wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of: Logical Channel (LC) configuration information, the LC configuration information comprises Logical Channel Prioritization (LCP) mapping, and the LCP mapping restriction comprises an allowed configured grant list for the small data transmission (allowedCG-List for SDT) ([0134] the LCP mapping restriction comprises an allowedCG-list for UL data, [0135] wherein the UL data may be SDT, the UE determines to apply the CG configuration for the UL-SDT data transmission).
For claim 4, Tsai discloses the LCP mapping restriction further comprises an allowed configured grant list (allowedCG-List) ([0134] the LCP mapping restriction comprises an allowedCG-list for UL data).
For claim 5, Tsai discloses the LCP mapping restriction further comprises at least one of: an allowed Sub-Carrier Spacing list (allowedSCS-List); a maximum Physical Uplink Shared Channel duration (maxPUSCH- Duration); configured grant typel allowed (configuredGrantTypel Allowed) [0137]; allowed serving cells (allowedServingCells) [0137]; or an allowed physical layer priority index (allowedPHY-Prioritylndex).
For claim 12, Tsai discloses when the RRC release message is used to indicate the terminal to enter the inactive state, the RRC release message carries the configuration information ([0203] while in an RRC inactive state, UE performs SDT transmission using CG configuration information).
For claim 13, Tsai discloses a configuration information obtaining method, performed by a terminal (Fig 2A, UE 202), comprising:
receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) release message sent by a base station ([0201] UE receives RRC release message from base station); and
obtaining configuration information ([0201] the RRC release message comprises CG configuration information) for performing small data transmission (SDT) in an inactive state from the RRC release message ([0203] while in an RRC inactive state, UE performs SDT transmission using CG configuration information),
wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of: Logical Channel (LC) configuration information, the LC configuration information comprises Logical Channel Prioritization (LCP) mapping, and the LCP mapping restriction comprises an allowed configured grant list for the small data transmission (allowedCG-List for SDT) ([0134] the LCP mapping restriction comprises an allowedCG-list for UL data, [0135] lines 5-7, wherein the UL data may be SDT, the UE determines to apply the CG configuration for the UL-SDT data transmission).
For claim 15, Tsai discloses using the configuration information when performing the SDT in the inactive state ([0203] while in an RRC inactive state, UE performs SDT transmission using CG configuration information).
For claim 16, Tsai discloses releasing the configuration information when entering a connected state or an idle state ([0044] UE transitions from RRC connected state to RRC idle state after performing the RRC release procedure).
For claim 17, Tsai discloses when the configuration information comprises the LC configuration information, the terminal stores LC configuration information received in a connected state [0159].
For claim 24, Tsai discloses a communication apparatus (Fig 4, wireless node 400), comprising: a processor (Fig 4, processor 426); and a memory (Fig 4, memory 428) for storing computer programs; wherein the computer programs are executed by the processor is configured to perform the configuration information sending method of claim 1 (Fig 2A, UE 202 performs the method steps of claim 1).
For claim 25, Tsai discloses a communication apparatus (Fig 4, wireless node 400), comprising: a processor (Fig 4, processor 426); and a memory (Fig 4, memory 428) for storing computer programs; wherein the processor is configured to:
receive a Radio Resource Control (RRC) release message sent by a base station ([0201] UE receives RRC release message from base station); and
obtain configuration information ([0201] the RRC release message comprises CG configuration information) for performing small data transmission (SDT) in an inactive state from the RRC release message ([0203] while in an RRC inactive state, UE performs SDT transmission using CG configuration information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7-8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US 2021/0337625 A1) in view of ZTE et al., The Issues on User Plane Common Aspects for SDT, August 16, 2021 (reference disclosed by applicant).
For claims 2 and 14, Tsai discloses the configuration information further comprises at least one of: Buffer Status Report (BSR) configuration information; or Power Headroom Report (PHR) configuration information.
ZTE, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the BSR configuration information (page 1, section 2, periodicBSRTimer is one of the parameters of the BSR configuration information for the SDT procedure on the UE side). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use BSR periodic timer in the BSR configuration information to perform SDT in the communication network of Tsai at the time of the invention.
For claim 7, ZTE discloses the BSR configuration information comprises at least one of: a periodic buffer status report timer (periodicBSR-Timer); or a retransmission buffer status report timer (retxBSR-Timer) (page 1, section 2, periodicBSRTimer is one of the parameters of the BSR configuration information for the SDT procedure on the UE side).
For claim 8, ZTE discloses when it is determined that the SDT of the terminal supports a scheduling request, the BSR configuration information further comprises: a logical channel scheduling request delay timer (logicalChannelSR-DelayTimer) (page 1, section 2, the logicalchannelDR-DelayTimer is applied for SR transmission for the SDT procedure).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 10-11 and 18-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELISABETH BENOIT MAGLOIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471