DETAILED ACTION
1. The following Office Action is based on the preliminary amendment filed on 9 February 2024, having claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-21, and 24-25 (claims 3, 6, 9, 22-23, and 26-27 were cancelled) and drawing figures 1-10.
Specification
3. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The abstract is too short because it has less than 50 words.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
4. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-12, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “configuration information suitable for the terminal to perform” in lines 4-5. The word “suitable” renders the claim vague and indefinite because it implies something being appropriate or even optional. The word “suitable” must be deleted to render the claim affirmative. The word “for” is sufficient to make it clear to the reader that the configuration information will be used to perform the SDT transmission.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 12-17, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsai et al. (US 2021/0337625 A1).
For claim 1, Tsai discloses a configuration information sending method, performed by a base station (Fig 2A, base station 204), comprising:
sending a Radio Resource Control (RRC) release message to a terminal ([0201] UE receives RRC release message from base station), wherein the RRC release message carries configuration information ([0201] the RRC release message comprises CG configuration information) suitable for the terminal to perform Small Data Transmission (SDT) in an inactive state ([0203] while in an RRC inactive state, UE performs SDT transmission using CG configuration information).
For claims 2 and 14, Tsai discloses the configuration information comprises at least one of: Logical Channel (LC) configuration information ([0135] UE may be configured with an LCP mapping restriction for a logical channel); Buffer Status Report (BSR) configuration information; or Power Headroom Report (PHR) configuration information.
For claim 4, Tsai discloses the LC configuration information comprises Logical Channel Prioritization (LCP) mapping restriction ([0135] UE may be configured with an LCP mapping restriction for a logical channel), and the LCP mapping restriction comprises at least one of: an allowed configured grant list (allowedCG-List); or an allowed configured grant list for small data transmission (allowedCG-List for SDT) ([0137] allowedSCSlist).
For claim 5, Tsai discloses the LCP mapping restriction further comprises at least one of: an allowed Sub-Carrier Spacing list (allowedSCS-List); a maximum Physical Uplink Shared Channel duration (maxPUSCH- Duration); configured grant typel allowed (configuredGrantTypel Allowed) [0137]; allowed serving cells (allowedServingCells) [0137]; or an allowed physical layer priority index (allowedPHY-Prioritylndex).
For claim 12, Tsai discloses when the RRC release message is used to indicate the terminal to enter the inactive state, the RRC release message carries the configuration information ([0203] while in an RRC inactive state, UE performs SDT transmission using CG configuration information)..
For claim 13, Tsai discloses a configuration information obtaining method, performed by a terminal (Fig 2A, UE 202), comprising:
receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) release message sent by a base station ([0201] UE receives RRC release message from base station); and
obtaining configuration information ([0201] the RRC release message comprises CG configuration information) for performing small data transmission (SDT) in an inactive state from the RRC release message ([0203] while in an RRC inactive state, UE performs SDT transmission using CG configuration information).
For claim 15, Tsai discloses using the configuration information when performing the SDT in the inactive state ([0203] while in an RRC inactive state, UE performs SDT transmission using CG configuration information).
For claim 16, Tsai discloses releasing the configuration information when entering a connected state or an idle state ([0044] UE transitions from RRC connected state to RRC idle state after performing the RRC release procedure).
For claim 17, Tsai discloses when the configuration information comprises the LC configuration information, the terminal stores LC configuration information received in a connected state [0159].
For claim 24, Tsai discloses a communication apparatus (Fig 4, wireless node 400), comprising: a processor (Fig 4, processor 426); and a memory (Fig 4, memory 428) for storing computer programs; wherein the computer programs are executed by the processor is configured to perform the configuration information sending method of claim 1 (Fig 2A, UE 202 performs the method steps of claim 1).
For claim 25, Tsai discloses a communication apparatus (Fig 4, wireless node 400), comprising: a processor (Fig 4, processor 426); and a memory (Fig 4, memory 428) for storing computer programs; wherein the processor is configured to:
receive a Radio Resource Control (RRC) release message sent by a base station ([0201] UE receives RRC release message from base station); and
obtain configuration information ([0201] the RRC release message comprises CG configuration information) for performing small data transmission (SDT) in an inactive state from the RRC release message ([0203] while in an RRC inactive state, UE performs SDT transmission using CG configuration information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US 2021/0337625 A1) in view of ZTE et al., The Issues on User Plane Common Aspects for SDT, August 16, 2021 (reference disclosed by applicant)
For claim 7, Tsai does not expressly disclose the BSR configuration information comprises at least one of: a periodic buffer status report timer (periodicBSR-Timer); or a retransmission buffer status report timer (retxBSR-Timer).
ZTE, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the BSR configuration information comprises at least one of: a periodic buffer status report timer (periodicBSR-Timer); or a retransmission buffer status report timer (retxBSR-Timer) (page 1, section 2, periodicBSRTimer is one of the parameters of the BSR configuration information for the SDT procedure on the UE side). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use BSR periodic timer in the BSR configuration information to perform SDT in the communication network of Tsai at the time of the invention.
For claim 8, ZTE discloses when it is determined that the SDT of the terminal supports a scheduling request, the BSR configuration information further comprises: a logical channel scheduling request delay timer (logicalChannelSR-DelayTimer) (page 1, section 2, the logicalchannelDR-DelayTimer is applied for SR transmission for the SDT procedure).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 10-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
9. Claims 18-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/ELISABETH BENOIT MAGLOIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471