DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference signs mentioned in the description: “cleaner system 10” (first mention on page 8, line 18), “handle 216” (first mention on page 10, line 15), “suction motor 214” (first mention on page 10, line 16), “dust separator 213” (first mention on page 10, line 19), “housing 110” (first mention on page 12, line 15), “bottom surface 111” (first mention on page 14, line 6), “top surface 113” (first mention on page 14, line 7), “passage 180” (first mention on page 16, line 10–12), “cleaning hose 1842” (first mention on page 19, line 11), and “connecting member 1843” (first mention on page 26, line 8). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract improperly uses the implied phrase “The present disclosure relates . . . .” The abstract improperly states in the first sentence, “cleaner station and a cleaner system including the same” and then improperly repeats the preceding quoted information by stating that “the cleaner system includes the cleaner station.” These two statements of the abstract essentially repeat the title “CLEANER STATION AND CLEANER SYSTEM COMPRISING THE SAME.” The abstract also is not concise because it states that “a surrounding cleaning device . . . cleans a surrounding area of the housing. Since the surrounding cleaning device can clean the surrounding area of the housing . . . .” Additionally, the abstract is unclear on how the surrounding cleaning device cleans an area. It is assumed that the abstract is replaced with the following suggestion:
A cleaner station a housing, and a surrounding cleaning device which is disposed in a passage of the housing a dust collection motor has an end that is removable from the passage and housing, and thereby can clean Thus, a handheld or robotic suction cleaner cleaner station.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12–13, 15–16, 18–20, 22–23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention that is by Na et al. (US 20210000315 A1).
In reference to claim 12, Na discloses a cleaner station (“robot cleaner station 100”) comprising: a housing (“station housing 110”) that couples to a cleaner (“robot cleaner 10”). (paragraph 73–74; Fig. 4). Na discloses that the cleaner station comprises a dust collector (“collector 130” may include a “collection chamber 133” or “dust bag 136”) disposed within the housing and configured to collect dust from a dust bin (“dust collection chamber 16”) of the cleaner. (paragraph 74, 76–77, 82–84, 88; Fig. 3–4). Na discloses that the cleaner station also comprises a passage (“suction port 121,” and a “guide portion 210” comprising a “communication opening 211,” “guide flow path 219,” and “suction tube 260”) disposed within the housing and configured to guide the dust, the passage having (i) a first end (“suction port 121”) in fluid communication with the dust bin and (ii) a second end (“suction tube 260” comprising an “insertion portion 261”) in fluid communication with the dust collector. (paragraph 88–95; Fig. 4). Na discloses that the cleaner station also comprises a dust collection motor (“station suction device 131”) disposed at a downstream portion of the passage and configured to provide a suction force to the passage. (paragraph 88–89; Fig. 4). Na discloses that the cleaner station also comprises a surrounding cleaning device (“connection hose 220”) connected to the passage and configured to be driven by the suction force of the dust collection motor, the surrounding cleaning device being configured to clean a surrounding area of the housing. (paragraph 13–14, 18, 89, 92–95, 101; Fig. 4, 8).
Annotated Fig. 3 of Na.
Annotated Fig. 4 of Na.
Annotated Fig. 8 of Na.
In reference to claim 13, Na further discloses that the surrounding cleaning device (“connection hose 220”) comprises a cleaning hose (“connection hose 220”) comprising: an elastic portion (“stretch hose with adjustable length” portion of the “connection hose 220” in paragraph 92), having a wrinkled surface portion (wrinkly portion of “connection hose 220” shown in Fig. 5–11); and a support (“second fastener 240” in paragraph 15, 22–24, 29–30, 93, 95, 106–107, 129–130, 133, 139, 146–148, 153–154) having a first end coupled to the passage and a second end coupled to the elastic portion (“connection hose 220 may include . . . a second fastener 240 detachably fastened to the suction tube 260” in paragraph 93; Fig. 8, 12; see also paragraph 95, 106–107).
In reference to claim 15, Na further teaches that the surrounding cleaning device comprises a cleaning nozzle (“first fastener 230” that can be considered a nozzle because it is a cylindrical component at the end of a flexible hose that is also the opening where fluid or dust enters the hose). And Na discloses that the cleaning nozzle (“first fastener 230”) is coupled to an end of the elastic portion (“stretch hose with adjustable length” portion of the “connection hose 220” in paragraph 92) because Na discloses that “[t]he connection hose 220 may include the first fastener 230” (paragraph 93) and their attachment is depicted in Fig. 6–10, and 13. Moreover, Na teaches that the cleaning nozzle (“first fastener 230”) is configured to suction dust from the surrounding area of the housing (“station housing 110”) because Na discloses that the “connection hose 220 [which includes the first fastener 230 at one end] may be separated from the guide portion 210 to clean the floor around the robot cleaner station 100” (paragraph 101), and Na discloses that the “robot cleaner station 100 may include a station housing 110” (paragraph 73).
In reference to claim 16, Na teaches that the support (“second fastener 240”) and the cleaning nozzle (“first fastener 230”) are arranged opposite to each other along the elastic portion (“stretch hose with adjustable length” portion of the “connection hose 220” in paragraph 92). (paragraph 92–93; Fig. 5, 8, 13).
In reference to claim 18, Na teaches that the passage (“suction port 121,” and a “guide portion 210” comprising a “communication opening 211,” “guide flow path 219,” and “suction tube 260”) is configured to guide the dust in a direction from the dust bin (“collection chamber 16”) to the dust collector (“collector 130” may include a “collection chamber 133” or “dust bag 136”), and wherein the downstream portion (“suction tube 260”) of the passage is disposed closer to the dust collector (“collector 130” may include a “collection chamber 133” or “dust bag 136”) than to the dust bin (“collection chamber 16”). (paragraph 10, 16, 89–90; Fig. 4).
In reference to claim 19, Na teaches that the surrounding cleaning device (“connection hose 220”) comprises a cleaning hose (“connection hose 220”) configured to be stored inside the housing, “The connection hose 220 may be accommodated inside the station housing 110” (paragraph 92; Fig. 4). Na then implicitly teaches that the surrounding cleaning device (“connection hose 220”) extends to an outside of the housing by teaching expressly that “the connection hose 220 may be separated from the guide portion 210 to clean the floor around the robot cleaner station 100” (paragraph 101; Fig. 8).
In reference to claim 20, Na teaches that the housing (“station housing 110”) comprises an outer wall (“front housing 111” and “rear housing 113”) that defines a communication hole (hole remaining after one opens “rear housing 113” or “rear cover 117” or “connection hose cover 370”) at a position corresponding to the cleaning hose (“connection hose 220”), and wherein the cleaning hose is configured to extend to the outside of the housing through the communication hole. (paragraph 75, 101, 117, 123; Fig. 1–2, 8, 15, 18).
In reference to claim 22, it is assumed that claimed “supports that are disposed at ends of the elastic portion, respectively” includes disposition of supports at least at the ends of the elastic portion, respectively, to render definite the limitation of claim 23, “a lower support spaced apart from the elastic portion and disposed below a lower end of the elastic portion . . . .” Na teaches that the cleaning hose (“connection hose 220”) comprises: an elastic portion (“stretch hose with adjustable length” portion of the “connection hose 220” in paragraph 92) having a wrinkled surface (wrinkly portion of “connection hose 220” shown in Fig. 5–11); and a plurality of supports (“second fastener 240” in paragraph 15, 22–24, 29–30, 93, 95, 106–107, 129–130, 133, 139, 146–148, 153–154, and in Fig. 8, 11–13; and “first connection hose fastener 213” in paragraph 90–91, 97–99, in Fig. 6–7, and in annotated Fig. 4 of Na) that are disposed at ends of the elastic portion, respectively.
In reference to claim 23, Na teaches an upper support (“second fastener 240” in paragraph 15, 22–24, 29–30, 93, 95, 106–107, 129–130, 133, 139, 146–148, 153–154, and in Fig. 8, 11–13) disposed at an upper end of the elastic portion and coupled to the passage and to the elastic portion; and a lower support (“first connection hose fastener 213” in paragraph 90–91, 97–99, and in Fig. 6–7, and in annotated Fig. 4 of Na) spaced apart from the elastic portion and disposed below a lower end of the elastic portion, wherein the surrounding cleaning device further comprises a cleaning nozzle (“first fastener 230”) coupled to the lower end of the elastic portion, and wherein the lower support is configured to support (paragraph 98) the cleaning nozzle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na.
In reference to claim 14, Na teaches a support (“second fastener 240”) and elastic portion (“stretch hose with adjustable length” portion of the “connection hose 220” in paragraph 92). Although Na does not explicitly teach that the hardness of the support (“second fastener 240”) is greater than the hardness of the elastic portion (“stretch hose with adjustable length” portion of the “connection hose 220” in paragraph 92), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the hardness of the support is greater than the hardness of the elastic portion, in order for the support and elastic portion to properly work as intended.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na, as applied to the rejection of claim 12 above, and in further view of Semeck et al. (DE 102019004417 A1) as evidenced by its translation into English.
In reference to claim 17, Na teaches a passage but does not teach that the passage is disposed above the dust collector. Semeck does.
Semeck teaches that the passage (“first fluidic connection 40F” or “fluidic connection 40F”) is disposed above the dust collector (“container (50G)” and “filter 50H”), and the dust collection motor (“fan (50J)”) is disposed below the dust collector. (Translation of Semeck into English page 7–9, 13, 15, 17, 19–20, 23; Semeck Fig. 1). Annotated Fig. 1 of Semeck labels a portion of the passage (“first fluidic connection 40F” or “fluidic connection 40F”) that is disposed above the dust collector (“container (50G)”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Na by routing the passage of Na (“suction port 121,” and a “guide portion 210” comprising a “communication opening 211,” “guide flow path 219,” and “suction tube 260” of Na Fig. 4) to above the dust collector of Na (“collector 130” may include a “collection chamber 133” or “dust bag 136” of Na Fig. 4) as taught by Semeck in order to achieve the benefits of gravity pulling dust down into the dust collector, at any fill level of the dust collector (“container (50G)” and “filter 50H” of Semeck Fig. 1), whereas in Na the passage enters the collector at a location (“insertion portion 261” of Na Fig. 4) that requires dust to move perpendicular or against gravity once the fill level of the dust collector reaches the height of the location where the passage enters the collector. The arrangement of the passage of Semeck thereby facilitates filling the dust collector.
Annotated Fig. 1 of Semeck.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na, as applied above, and in further view of Graves (US 20160242612 A1).
In reference to claim 21, Na teaches a surrounding cleaning device cover (“rear housing 113” or “rear cover 117” or “connection hose cover 370”) but does not teach how it opens and closes. Like Na, Graves teaches a surrounding cleaning device cover, but Graves additionally teaches how the surrounding cleaning device cover opens and closes.
Graves teaches a surrounding cleaning device cover because a person of ordinary skill would have understood that the structure labeled “B” in annotated Fig. 3 of Graves is a surrounding cleaning device cover that is disposed at the housing (“airtight chamber 11” of paragraph 54 or “airtight container 11” of paragraph 52 or “chamber” of paragraph 55, any of the preceding comprising a “hose chamber 10” of paragraph 52–53, 55; or “Air Tight Container (11)” of Fig. 3) and configured to open and close the communication hole (labeled “A” in annotated Fig. 3 of Graves) at a position corresponding to the cleaning hose (“hose” or “flexible hose” or “flexible hose 21” or “vacuum hose” of paragraph 52 and 54; or “Vacuum Hose (21)” of Fig. 3). Moreover, one of ordinary skill would have understood that annotated Fig. 3 of Graves shows that the surrounding cleaning device cover is configured to rotate relative to the outer wall (labeled “C” in annotated Fig. 3 of Graves) of the housing because he or she would have understood that the cover is shown as having been rotated to an open position about the axis of rotation defined by a cover end (dotted line labeled “H” in annotated Fig. 3 of Graves), which is against the outer wall (labeled “C” in annotated Fig. 3 of Graves).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Na by employing a rotatable mechanism, as taught by Graves, to open and close the surrounding cleaning device cover of Na (“rear housing 113” or “rear cover 117” or “connection hose cover 370”) to achieve the benefit of eliminating a burden of storing the cover after separating the cover from the housing (and, Na Fig. 1, 2, 3, or 15, compared with Na Fig. 5, 8, or 18, shows that the cover of Na is separable from the housing of Na “station housing 110”).
Annotated Fig. 3 of Graves.
Claims 24–30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20230148813 A1), and further in view of Na.
In reference to claim 24, Kim teaches a cleaner (“cleaning apparatus 1A”) configured to couple to the cleaner station (“docking station 50A”), wherein the cleaner comprises: a main body (“cleaner body 10A”) configured to be coupled to the cleaner station (“docking station 50A”), a suction portion (“extension pipe 11A” and “suction unit 16A”) that is coupled to the main body. (paragraph 130–139; Fig. 12). The “extension pipe 11A” and “suction unit 16A” together define a suction passage configured to receive air. (paragraph 130–139; Fig. 12). Kim further teaches a dust separator comprising at least one cyclone (“multicyclone 22” in paragraph 77 and 87) that is configured to separate dust from the air.
Kim further discloses a dust bin (“dust collection bin 20” that may include a “second dust collector 24”; “20A” in the embodiment of Fig. 12) configured to store the dust separated through the dust separator (“multicyclone 22”). (paragraph 77, 87, 131, 141; Fig. 12). Kim further teaches that the cleaner station comprises: a dust collector (“dust bag 55” in paragraph 75; “55A” in the embodiment of Fig. 12) configured to collect the dust from the dust bin. (paragraph 75; Fig. 12). Kim further teaches that the cleaner station comprises a dust collection motor (“suction device 70A”) configured to generate a suction force for suctioning the dust from the dust bin into the dust collector. (paragraph 138; Fig. 12).
Kim further teaches that the cleaner station comprises a housing (“docking station housing 51A”) that accommodates the dust collector and the dust collection motor therein along in a longitudinal direction of the housing (dotted line labeled “D” in annotated Fig. 12 of Kim), wherein a longitudinal axis of the dust bin (dotted line labeled “E” in annotated Fig. 12 of Kim) and a longitudinal axis of the cleaner station (dotted line labeled “D” in annotated Fig. 12 of Kim) intersect each other in a state in which the main body of the cleaner is coupled to the cleaner station. (paragraph 134, 138–139; annotated Fig. 12 of Kim). Kim further teaches a passage (“suction flow path 53A”) within the housing and configured to guide the dust from the dust bin, the passage having (i) a first end (“suction flow path 53A” top end labeled “F” in annotated Fig. 12 of Kim) in fluid communication with the dust bin and (ii) a second end (“suction flow path 53A” bottom end labeled “G” in annotated Fig. 12 of Kim) in fluid communication with the dust collector. (paragraph 138; annotated Fig. 12 of Kim).
Kim does not teach a surrounding cleaning device.
Na discloses a cleaner station (“robot cleaner station 100”) comprising: a passage (“suction port 121,” and a “guide portion 210” comprising a “communication opening 211,” “guide flow path 219,” and “suction tube 260”) disposed within a housing (“station housing 110”) and configured to guide the dust from a dust bin (“dust collection chamber 16”). (paragraph 73–74, 76–77, 82–84, 88–95; Fig. 3–4, 8). Na also discloses the passage having (i) a first end (“suction port 121”) in fluid communication with the dust bin and (ii) a second end (“suction tube 260” comprising an “insertion portion 261”) in fluid communication with a dust collector (“collector 130” may include a “collection chamber 133” or “dust bag 136”). (paragraph 88–95; Fig. 4). Na discloses that the cleaner station also comprises a surrounding cleaning device (“connection hose 220”) connected to the passage and configured to be driven by the suction force of a dust collection motor (“station suction device 131”), the surrounding cleaning device being configured to clean a surrounding area of the housing. (paragraph 13–14, 18, 88–89, 92–95, 101; Fig. 4, 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner station of Kim by replacing “suction flow path 53A” of Kim (paragraph 138; Fig. 12) with the surrounding cleaning device of Na as taught by Na, in order to achieve the benefit of decreasing: downtime to empty the cleaner of Kim, or frequency of docking/undocking the cleaner of Kim, when setting about to clean the area beyond and surrounding, the cleaner station of Kim.
Annotated Fig. 12 of Kim.
In reference to claim 25, Kim does not teach a surrounding cleaning device.
Na discloses that the surrounding cleaning device (“connection hose 220”) comprises a cleaning hose (“connection hose 220”) comprising: an elastic portion (“stretch hose with adjustable length” portion of the “connection hose 220” in paragraph 92) having a wrinkled surface portion (wrinkly portion of “connection hose 220” shown in Fig. 5–11); and a support (“second fastener 240” in paragraph 15, 22–24, 29–30, 93, 95, 106–107, 129–130, 133, 139, 146–148, 153–154) having a first end coupled to the passage and a second end coupled to the elastic portion (“connection hose 220 may include . . . a second fastener 240 detachably fastened to the suction tube 260” in paragraph 93; Fig. 8, 12; see also paragraph 95, 106–107).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner station of Kim by replacing “suction flow path 53A” of Kim (paragraph 138; Fig. 12) with the surrounding cleaning device of Na as taught by Na, in order to achieve the benefits of ease of maneuvering the surrounding cleaning device to clean an area, and reinforcement of the location where the elastic portion couples to the passage, which is otherwise a weak point by virtue of this location being a connection or joint location.
In reference to claim 26, Kim does not teach the specifics of the surrounding cleaning device support.
Na teaches a support (“second fastener 240”) and elastic portion (“stretch hose with adjustable length” portion of the “connection hose 220” in paragraph 92). Although Na does not explicitly teach that the hardness of the support (“second fastener 240”) is greater than the hardness of the elastic portion (“stretch hose with adjustable length” portion of the “connection hose 220” in paragraph 92), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the hardness of the support is greater than the hardness of the elastic portion, in order for the support and elastic portion to properly work as intended. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to incorporate the teachings of Na into the invention of Kim in order to achieve the benefit of decreasing: downtime to empty the cleaner of Kim, or frequency of docking/undocking the cleaner of Kim, when setting about to clean the area beyond and surrounding, the cleaner station of Kim.
In reference to claim 27, Kim does not teach a nozzle.
Na teaches a cleaning nozzle (“first fastener 230”) coupled to an end of the elastic portion (“stretch hose with adjustable length” portion of the “connection hose 220” in paragraph 92) because Na discloses that “[t]he connection hose 220 may include the first fastener 230” (paragraph 93) and their attachment is depicted in Fig. 6–10, and 13. Moreover, Na teaches that the nozzle is configured to suction dust from the surrounding area of the housing (“station housing 110”) because Na discloses that the “connection hose 220 [which includes the first fastener 230 at one end] may be separated from the guide portion 210 to clean the floor around the robot cleaner station 100” (paragraph 101), and Na discloses that the “robot cleaner station 100 may include a station housing 110” (paragraph 73). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Na into the invention of Kim in order to ensure proper functioning of the surrounding cleaning device by utilizing a known nozzle for cleaning.
In reference to claim 28, Kim further discloses that the passage (“suction flow path 53A”) is disposed above the dust collector (“dust bag 55” in paragraph 75; “55A” in the embodiment of Fig. 12), and that the dust collection motor (“suction device 70A”) is disposed below the dust collector (paragraph 138; Fig. 12).
In reference to claim 29, Kim discloses all limitations of base claim 24, except for the surrounding cleaning device.
Na teaches that the surrounding cleaning device (“connection hose 220”) comprises a cleaning hose (“connection hose 220”) configured to be stored inside the housing, “The connection hose 220 may be accommodated inside the station housing 110” (paragraph 92; Fig. 4). Na then implicitly teaches that the surrounding cleaning device (“connection hose 220”) extends to an outside of the housing by teaching that “the connection hose 220 may be separated from the guide portion 210 to clean the floor around the robot cleaner station 100, as illustrated in FIG. 8” (paragraph 101; Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaner station of Kim by replacing “suction flow path 53A” of Kim (paragraph 138; Fig. 12) with the surrounding cleaning device of Na as taught by Na in order to achieve at least one of the benefits described above in the rejection to claim 24. Additionally, storing the cleaning device of Na inside the housing of Kim, and extending the device to outside of the housing of Kim as taught by Na, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to achieve the benefit of protecting the surrounding cleaning device until employed to clean an area.
In reference to claim 30, Kim discloses all limitations of claim 30 except for a communication hole.
Na teaches a housing (“station housing 110”) that comprises an outer wall (“front housing 111” and “rear housing 113”) that defines a communication hole (hole remaining after one opens “rear housing 113” or “rear cover 117” or “connection hose cover 370”) at a position corresponding to the cleaning hose (“connection hose 220”), and wherein the cleaning hose is configured to extend to the outside of the housing through the communication hole. (paragraph 75, 101, 117, 123; Fig. 1–2, 8, 15, 18).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim by designing into the housing of Kim (“docking station housing 51A”): the communication hole of Na (hole remaining after one opens “rear housing 113” or “rear cover 117” or “connection hose cover 370”). The motivation for this design modification would have been to achieve the benefit as taught by Na, of providing access to the cleaning hose of Na (“connection hose 220”) from the housing of Kim compared to providing no access to the cleaning hose of Na.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and in further view of Na, and further in view of Graves.
In reference to claim 31, Kim discloses a housing (“docking station housing 51A”). Na teaches a surrounding cleaning device cover (“rear housing 113” or “rear cover 117” or “connection hose cover 370”) but does not teach how it opens and closes. Like Na, Graves teaches a surrounding cleaning device cover, but Graves additionally teaches how the surrounding cleaning device cover opens and closes.
Na teaches a surrounding cleaning device cover (“rear housing 113” or “rear cover 117” or “connection hose cover 370”) that is disposed at the housing (“station housing 110”) and configured to open and close the communication hole (hole remaining after one opens “rear housing 113” or “rear cover 117” or “connection hose cover 370”). (paragraph 75, 101, 117, 123; Fig. 1–2, 8, 15, 18).
Graves teaches a surrounding cleaning device cover because one of ordinary skill would have understood that the structure labeled “B” in annotated Fig. 3 of Graves is a surrounding cleaning device cover that is disposed at the housing (“airtight chamber 11” of paragraph 54 or “airtight container 11” of paragraph 52 or “chamber” of paragraph 55, any of the preceding comprising a “hose chamber 10” of paragraph 52–53, 55; or “Air Tight Container (11)” of Fig. 3) and configured to open and close the communication hole (labeled “A” in annotated Fig. 3 of Graves) at a position corresponding to the cleaning hose (“hose” or “flexible hose” or “flexible hose 21” or “vacuum hose” of paragraph 52 and 54; or “Vacuum Hose (21)” of Fig. 3). Moreover, one of ordinary skill would have understood that annotated Fig. 3 of Graves shows that the surrounding cleaning device cover is configured to rotate relative to the outer wall (labeled “C” in annotated Fig. 3 of Graves) of the housing because he or she would have understood that the cover is shown in an open position and that a cover end touches the axis of rotation (dotted line labeled “H” in annotated Fig. 3 of Graves).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing of Kim (“docking station housing 51A”) by integrating a surrounding cleaning device cover of Na (“rear housing 113” or “rear cover 117” or “connection hose cover 370”) into the housing of Kim, and by employing a rotatable mechanism, as taught by Graves, to open and close the surrounding cleaning device cover of Na (“rear housing 113” or “rear cover 117” or “connection hose cover 370”) to achieve the benefit of eliminating a burden of storing the cover after separating the cover from the housing (and, Na Fig. 1, 2, 3, or 15, compared with Na Fig. 5, 8, or 18, shows that the cover of Na is separable from the housing of Na “station housing 110”).
Conclusion
The following prior art is not relied upon in this office communication and is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bruno et al. (US 6785934 B2);
Gordon (US 20070119014 A1);
Farland et al. (US 20150198274 A1);
White et al. (US 20090188067 A1).
/ENRICO MIOTTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763