DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11918125. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims generally provide for a modular chair comprising a support structure including a frame, a membrane/fabric designed to support a user, an edge attached to the frame, a guide, a slider accommodated within a part of the guide, a protuberance, a receiving portion configured to accommodate the protuberance such that the frame, membrane, and slider are attached. Dependent claims 2-13 and 15 are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "said secondary filament" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "said secondary filament" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "said secondary filament" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 8-9, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20090013172 U (hereinafter, the ‘172 document).
Regarding claim 1, the ‘172 document teaches a modular chair comprising: a support structure including a frame (Figure 1) extending at least in part along an extension trajectory, a membrane (16) including a support surface designed to support a user, an edge (S) designed to be at least partially attached to said frame (12', 14’), and a tubular guide (S') arranged at said edge (S), a slider (12, 14) defining an extension direction at least partially parallel to said extension trajectory and accommodated within at least part of said guide (S’), and wherein said frame (12', 14’) includes at least one protuberance (5) protruding in a direction incident to said extension trajectory, and said slider (12, 14) includes at least one receiving portion (15) configured to accommodate at least part of said protuberance (5) in such a way as to firmly attach, at least one fixed point, said frame (12', 14’), said membrane (16), and said slider (12, 14; ¶ [0017]).
Regarding claim 2, the ‘172 document teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein said extension trajectory rotates about at least two main axes in three-dimensional space in such a way that said frame determines a complex curvilinear path extending in space in a three-dimensional way (inasmuch as applicant has claimed).
Regarding claim 5, the ‘172 document teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein said protuberance includes at least one tooth (5) extending perpendicularly to said extension trajectory and said slider (12, 14) comprises at least one hole making said receiving portion (15) and configured to accommodate at least part of said tooth and said membrane (as depicted in Figure 1 inasmuch as applicant has claimed).
Regarding claim 8, the ‘172 document teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein said slider (4) is slidably bound within said guide in such a way that it can be extracted along said extension direction by said membrane (as depicted in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, the ‘172 document teaches the invention in claim 1,wherein said slider is integrated into said membrane and attached within said guide in such a way that it is locked along said extension direction in relation to said membrane (Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 14, the ‘172 document teaches a method for making a modular chair comprising: - providing a support structure including at least one frame (Figure 1) extending along an extension trajectory and including at least one protuberance (5) protruding skew to said extension trajectory - providing a membrane (16) including a support surface designed to support a user (Figure 1), an edge (S) designed to be at least partially attached to said frame (12’, 14’), and a tubular guide (S’) arranged at said edge (S), - inserting a slider (12, 14), which includes at least one receiving portion (15) configured to accommodate at least part of said protuberance (5), within said guide (S’), and characterized in that - hooking said receiving portion onto said protuberance in such a way as to firmly attach at least one fixed point said frame, said membrane, and said slider (as depicted in Figures 1-2. ¶ [0017]).
Regarding claim 15, the ‘172 document teaches the invention in claim 1, comprising: - attaching said slider and said guide together in such a way as to lock said slider and said guide along said extension direction between said insertion step and said hooking step (as depicted in Figures 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20090013172 U (hereinafter, the ‘172 document).
Regarding claim 12, the ‘172 document teaches the invention in claim 1, but fails to specifically teach wherein a secondary filament is woven within said weave at said guide in such a way as to be "hooked in English" or in "false English rib". However, Examiner takes Official Notice that the English rib is a well-known knitting stitch (see Wikipedia: List of Knitting Stitches for extrinsic supporting evidence). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to specify that the type of knit-technique used for the weave at the guide in the ‘172 document is an English rib, in order to incorporate shaping for the weave at the guide.
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20090013172 U (hereinafter, the ‘172 document) in view of Rathgeber (EP 2319967 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the ‘172 document teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein said protuberance includes a bar (12’, 14’) extending continuously parallel to said extension trajectory (Figure 1) and said slider (12, 14) includes an open tubular element extending along said extension direction (Figures 1 and 2) along planes perpendicular to said extension direction (Figure 1) making said receiving portion (15) and configured to trap at least part of said bar (12’, 14’) and of said membrane (as depicted in Figure 2). The ‘172 document fails to specifically teach wherein the slider defines a c-shaped profile with the tubular element. However, use of counter-shaped c-shaped profiles as slides are a well known alternative in the art as is evidenced by Figure 1, elements 3 and 4 of Rathgeber. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to incorporate a C-shaped profile capable of receiving a counter-shaped T-shaped slider, in order to provide a slider with increased load-bearing capabilities.
Regarding claim 7, the ‘172 document teaches the invention in claim 6, wherein said protuberance and said open tubular element are counter-shaped to each other (as depicted in Figures 1 and 2 of the ‘172 document).
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20090013172 U (hereinafter, the ‘172 document) in view of Ulmer (DE 102014003099 A1).
Regarding claim 10, the ‘172 document teaches the invention in claim 1, but fails to specifically teach wherein said membrane includes a periodic weave the base of which comprises at least one main filament woven into a mesh and said support surface comprises one or more portions with controlled behavior including said periodic weave wherein at least one secondary filament is inserted, the secondary filament being arranged in a weft along a predetermined trajectory in such a way as to vary, in a controlled manner, the mechanical behavior of said support surface at said portions with controlled behavior by varying the type or number of said secondary filaments. However, use of a periodic weave comprising a main filament and secondary filament arranged in a weft along a predetermined trajectory in a manner that varies in a controlled manner, by varying the type and number of secondary filaments is well known in the art as is evidenced by ¶ [0042-0043, 0048, 0056-0058, 0072-0073] and Figures 3, 5-9, and 15 of Ulmer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to incorporate the weave of Ulmer into the membrane of the ‘172 document, in order to provide a weave that opposes greater resistance loads (as taught by Ulmer).
Regarding claim 11, the ‘172 document teaches the invention in claim 1, but fails to specifically teach wherein a secondary filament defines at least one winding within said guide in such a way as to create a row extending parallel to said guide at which said main filament and said secondary filament are locked and joined to each other. However, use of a periodic weave comprising a main filament and secondary filament arranged such that a filament defines a row extending parallel wherein the filaments are joined together is well known in the art as is evidenced by ¶ [0042-0043, 0048, 0056-0058, 0072-0073] and Figures 3, 5-9, and 15 of Ulmer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to incorporate the weave of Ulmer into the membrane of the ‘172 document, in order to provide a weave that opposes greater resistance loads (as taught by Ulmer).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20090013172 U (hereinafter, the ‘172 document) in view of Roell (US Patent No. 6227010).
Regarding claim 13, the ‘172 document teaches the invention in claim 1, but fails to specifically teach wherein a secondary filament comprises at least one heat-shrink component in such a way that the local tension of said portions with controlled behavior can vary according to a heat to which said membrane is subjected. However, use of heat-shrinking portions of knits in order to cause the knit to contract to a defined tension for chairs is well known in the art as is evidenced by Col. 5, line 12- Col. 6, line 5 of Roell. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to use the heat-shrinking method on the knit of the guide weave of the ‘172 document, in order to provide a defined tension such that the woven guide section could provide adequate structural support when in use.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN MICHAEL HESTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3644