Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 8-12, 15-16, 18-21, 30-31, 36-37 and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ericsson-104 (Ericsson - “Discussion on RAN1 aspects for NR small data transmission on INACTIVE state” - 3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 Meeting #104b-e-R12103994) in view of Intel-114 (Intel – “Failure and successful handling for an SDT session” - 3GPP TSG WG2 Meeting #114-R22104881).
Regarding claim 1, Ericsson-104 teaches a wireless communication method for execution by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message with a small data transmission (SDT) configuration for the UE (See section 1.2 step 1 which teaches sending to UE an RRC Release msg including SDT configuration); measuring and storing a first reference signal received power (RSRP) value upon receiving the RRC and measuring a second RSRP value upon initiating small data transmission (SDT) (see section 2.2.1 and 2.2.2, fig 1 & fig 3, which teaches recording RSRP at time t1 and t2 wherein t1 is the time UE receives from network and t2 is the time UE has SDT data to send).
Ericsson-104 further teaches using a RSRP change threshold and TAT (time alignment timer) as two criteria for TA validation for CG-SDT transmission (see section 2.2.1). In this case CG-SDT transmission would be enabled if both criteria are met.
However, Ericsson-104 does not explicitly teach transmitting uplink small data via random access small data transmission (RA-SDT) when a first portion of criteria associated with an SDT threshold for RA-SDT is satisfied, but an RSRP difference between the first RSRP value and the second RSRP value does not satisfy a second portion of the criteria associated with SDT threshold. However, such feature is well known in the art for providing a fallback feature in case the condition for CG-SDT transmission is not met. Specifically, Intel-114 teaches that when a first portion of criteria associated with an SDT threshold for RA-SDT is satisfied, but an RSRP difference between the first RSRP value and the second RSRP value does not satisfy a second portion of the criteria associated with SDT threshold, then RA-SDT transmission would be enabled (See figure 6, step 5 for 1st portion of criteria and step 6 for 2nd portion of the criteria and step 10 or step 11 for RA-SDT transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Intel-114’s teaching of transmitting uplink small data via random access small data transmission (RA-SDT) when a first portion of criteria associated with an SDT threshold for RA-SDT is satisfied, but an RSRP difference between the first RSRP value and the second RSRP value does not satisfy a second portion of the criteria associated with SDT threshold in Ericsson-104’s system with the motivation being to enhance SDT communication reliability by enabling RA-SDT transmission in case the condition for CG-SDT transmission is not met.
Regarding claim 5, Ericsson-104 further teaches that the SDT threshold comprises an RSRP difference threshold (see section 2.2.1) and that the criteria associated with SDT threshold comprises a criterion associated with the RSRP difference threshold; the RSRP difference between the first RSRP value and the second RSRP value satisfies the second portion of the criteria associated with SDT threshold when the RSRP difference between the first RSRP value and the second RSRP value satisfies the criterion associated with the RSRP difference threshold (see section 2.2.1); and the RSRP difference between the first RSRP value and the second RSRP value does not satisfy the second portion of the criteria associated with SDT threshold when the RSRP difference does not satisfy the criterion associated with the RSRP difference threshold.
Regarding claim 6, in Ericsson-104’s system, all RSRP measurements and thresholds are performed and utilized per UE.
Regarding claim 8. In Ericsson-104’s system the UE performs configured grant small data transmission (CG-SDT) when the first portion of criteria (TAT) associated with the SDT threshold for RA-SDT is satisfied, and RSRP difference between the first RSRP value and the second RSRP value satisfies the second portion of the criteria (RSRP) associated with SDT threshold.
Regarding claim 9, in Ericsson-104’s system, the UE starts a timer (TAT) to time a waiting window upon initiating the CG-SDT and monitors, during the waiting window, a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for a response that responds the CG-SDT (see section 2.2).
Regarding claim 10, In Intel-114 teaches that dynamic grant SDT (DG-SDT) could be performed following a failure of CG-SDT. This teaching implies that the network sends a dynamic grant assignment for SDT to the UE beforehand. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ericsson-104 in view of Intel-114 to receive a dynamic grant assignment for the UE during the waiting window with the motivation being to enable DG-SDT following a failure of CG-SDT, thereby improving SDT communication reliability.
Regarding claim 11, Ericsson-104 teaches synchronization signal block (SSB) level RSRP threshold; and the UE selects a subset of SSBs for small data transmission based on the SSB level RSRP threshold (see section 2.2.1; proposal 3).
Regarding claim 12, in Ericsson-104’s system the SSB level RSRP threshold is UE-specific (see section 2.2.1 and 2.2.2).
Regarding claim 15, in both Ericsson-104 and Intel-114, UE determines one or more conditions of SDT failure (TAT, RSRP, data volume. Etc.).
Regarding claim 16, in Ercisson-104’s system, UE starts an SDT time alignment timer (TAT) upon receiving the RRC message (See section 2.2, step 4) and upon expiration of the TAT, the UE releases CG resources for CG-SDT (See section 2.2, step 6 and section 2.2.2).
Regarding claim 18, Ericsson does not teach that the SDT threshold comprises at least one data volume threshold. However, keeping a low data volume as one of the conditions for CG-SDT is well known in the art. Intel-114 does teach that one portion of the criteria for CG-SDT is data volume (See section 2.2, step 6b). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Intel-114’s teaching of using data volume threshold as one of the criteria for CG-SDT in Ericsson-104’s system with the motivation being to save bandwidth and preserve SDT communication reliability by keeping the data volume low for CG-SDT transmission.
Regarding claim 19, in Intel-114’s system, the UE performs the RA-SDT multiplexed with feedback information for subsequent SDT (DG-SDT) from the UE (see section 2.1.4.3 & figure 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Intel-114’s teaching of the UE performing the RA-SDT multiplexed with feedback information for subsequent SDT (DG-SDT) from the UE using data volume threshold as one of the criteria for CG-SDT in Ericsson-104’s system with the motivation being to enable the subsequent SDT transmission and enhance SDT communication reliability.
Regarding claims 20 and 21, Intel-114 teaches that wherein the UE receives a response (figure 5; step N) that responds to the feedback information (figure 5, step 3); and the UE performs a subsequent SDT (DG-SDT) according to the response. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Intel-114’s teaching of the UE’s receiving a response that responds to the feedback information and performing a subsequent SDT (DG-SDT) according to the response in Ericsson-104’s system with the motivation being to enable the successful subsequent SDT transmission and enhance SDT communication reliability.
Regarding claim 30, the UE transmits an initiating uplink message for random access small data transmission (RA-SDT), and the initiating uplink message carries at least a portion of uplink small data of the RA-SDT and comprises common control channel (CCCH) information.
Regarding claim 31, since a processor is old and well known in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a processor in the user equipment of Ercisson-104 in view of Intel-114 to execute the communication method with the motivation being to improve the efficiency and execution of the communication method.
Regarding claim 36, Ericsson teaches a small data transmission method for execution by a base station, comprising:
configuring small data transmission (SDT) threshold and pre-configured SDT resources for uplink SDT; transmitting a radio resource control (RRC) message with a small data transmission (SDT) configuration for the UE (See section 1.2 step 1 which teaches sending to UE an RRC Release msg including SDT configuration). Ericsson further teaches that the UE measuring and storing a first reference signal received power (RSRP) value upon receiving the RRC and measuring a second RSRP value upon initiating small data transmission (SDT) and the base station will receive CG-SDT from the UE if the CG-SDT conditions are met (see section 2.2.1 and 2.2.2, fig 1 & fig 3, which teaches recording RSRP at time t1 and t2 wherein t1 is the time UE receives from network and t2 is the time UE has SDT data to send).
Ericsson does not teach receiving a random-access small data transmission (RA-SDT) when a first portion of criteria associated with the SDT threshold for uplink SDT is satisfied while a reference signal received power (RSRP) difference between a first RSRP value and a second RSRP value does not satisfy a second portion of the criteria associated with SDT threshold. However, such feature is well known in the art for providing a fallback feature in case the condition for CG-SDT transmission is not met. Specifically, Intel-114 teaches that when a first portion of criteria associated with an SDT threshold for RA-SDT is satisfied, but an RSRP difference between the first RSRP value and the second RSRP value does not satisfy a second portion of the criteria associated with SDT threshold, then RA-SDT transmission would be enabled (See figure 6, step 5 for 1st portion of criteria and step 6 for 2nd portion of the criteria and step 10 or step 11 for RA-SDT transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Intel-114’s a BS receiving uplink small data via random access small data transmission (RA-SDT) when a first portion of criteria associated with an SDT threshold for RA-SDT is satisfied, but an RSRP difference between the first RSRP value and the second RSRP value does not satisfy a second portion of the criteria associated with SDT threshold in Ericsson-104’s system with the motivation being to enhance SDT communication reliability by enabling RA-SDT transmission in case the condition for CG-SDT transmission is not met.
Regarding claim 37, Ericsson teaches that the first reference signal received power (RSRP) value is measured by a user equipment (UE) when the UE receives the RRC message; and the second RSRP value is measured by the UE upon initiation of a small data transmission (SDT) (See sections 2,2, 2.2.1 and 2.2.2).
Regarding claim 67, since a processor is old and well known in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a processor in the base station of Ercisson-104 in view of Intel-114 to execute the communication method with the motivation being to improve the efficiency and execution of the communication method.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ericsson-104 Ericsson-104 (Ericsson - “Discussion on RAN1 aspects for NR small data transmission on INACTIVE state” - 3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 Meeting #104b-e-R12103994) in view of Intel-114 (Intel – “Failure and successful handling for an SDT session” - 3GPP TSG WG2 Meeting #114-R22104881) and further in view of Huang et al (US 2022/0086946) (hereinafter referred to as Huang).
Regarding claim 23, Ericsson-104 in view Intel-114 does not explicitly teach the feedback information comprising power headroom reporting information. However, Huang teaches the feedback of power headroom reporting information to improve subsequent SDT transmission (See par [272]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Huang’s teaching of sending feedback of power headroom reporting information in the system of Ercisson-104 in view of Intel-114 with the motivation being to improve the reliability of the SDT transmission.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Let et al (US 2022/0182949 A1) teaches the feedback of power headroom report for SDT transmission. See par [102].
HUY D. VU
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461